Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pivotal connector” (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 8, “pivotal connector”, e.g. connector for pivoting, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure repeats the limitation without describing the element or elements that provide or allow lateral members to pivot. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 1, 2, 4-9 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 12 & 14 each recite the limitation "a vehicle". Antecedent basis for the limitation "vehicle" is provided by line 11. Thus, claims 12 & 14 should be rewritten as –the vehicle--. Claims 2 & 4-9 are rejected by virtue of depending from claim 1.
Claim 18 recites "engage the engage the load bearing frame" in line 2 which is grammatically confusing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17, 18 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neill (US 4,397,607) in view of Young (US 10,307,634).
Interpretative note 1. With respect to the claim language that the first/second lateral members connect the hitch of a vehicle to the firs/second uprights, it is noted that according to Applicants specification lateral members 42, 446 connect to a connector which connects to hitch adapter 46 which connects to the hitch of the vehicle. In other words, for purposes of examination the claim limitation in claims 1, lines 12-15 the term "connects" in the limitation "connects the hitch of a vehicle" allows for intervening elements forming the connection.
Neill discloses a support comprising:
a load bearing frame having a first upright support 12, a second upright support 12, and a top connector 18, e.g. top end, that secures a first upright support in spaced relation to a second upright support such that a load bearing frame defines an animal receiving area below a top end and between a first upright support and a second upright support;
a load attachment 20 at a top end of a load bearing frame, a load attachment being supported by a first and second upright supports; and
a lateral support having a first lateral member 14, a second lateral member 14, wherein:
a first lateral member 14 connects to a vehicle;
a second lateral member 14 connects to a vehicle; and
in use, a lateral support stabilizes a load bearing frame in an upright orientation relative to a ground surface with the load attachment adapted to suspend an animal relative to the ground surface.
Neill does not disclose a first and second lateral members that connect to a hitch of a vehicle to respective first and second upright supports. Neil also does not disclose sleeves that respectively engage first and second upright supports.
Young discloses vertically adjustable first and second upright supports 108, 108 FIGS. 3-5), a top connector 125 and first and second lateral members 103. Young further discloses
a connector 102 is configured to attach to a hitch or hitch receiver 135 of a vehicle 200;
a first lateral member 103 connects a hitch of a vehicle to a first upright support 108;
a second lateral member 103 connects a hitch of a vehicle to a first upright support 108; and
a first lateral member 103 and a second lateral member 103 each comprise a sliding sleeve 104, 104 (FIG.2) that engages respective first and second upright supports 108, 108 (FIGS. 3-5; C6/L2440) such that a vertical position of a lateral support along a load bearing frame is continuously adjustable.
in use, a lateral support stabilizes a load bearing frame in an upright orientation relative to a ground surface with the load attachment adapted to suspend an animal relative to the ground surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Neill to include a connector that comprises a hitch attachment adapted to connect to a hitch or hitch receiver of a vehicle, a first and second lateral members that connect to a hitch of a vehicle to respective first and second upright supports and sleeves that respectively slidingly engage first and second upright supports, as taught by Young, which improves stability of stationary supports from which articles of several hundred pounds or more are suspended without the support shifting position or tipping.
Claim(s) 2 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neill in view of Young and further in view of Summerfield (US 11,019,828).
Neill in view of Young disclose resting the respective bottom ends of first and second supports on the ground. Neill does not disclose ground engaging feet.
Summerfield discloses a first support 18 and s second support 20 comprise ground-engaging feet 38 at a bottom end opposite a top end. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Neill to include feet on a bottom end of first and second supports, as taught by Summerfield, which reduces tipping of vertically oriented animal supports.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 15 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neill in view of Young and further in view of McAllister (US 2021/0094370) which discloses that first lateral member 130a and second lateral member 130b are connected to a connector 110, 120 by a pivotal connector (depicted as hex-head bolts, unlabeled in FIG. 1) that has a vertical pivot axis. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Neill to include a first lateral member and a second lateral member connected to a connector by a pivotal connector that has a vertical pivot axis, as taught by McAllister, which allows adjustability in a width direction of the opposite end of the lateral supports relatively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Aug. 25, 2025 with respect to the drawing object(s) has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants arguments quote the specification but fail to identify by reference character the pivotal connection, e.g. hinge, pin, bolt…etc.-some connector that allows relative pivoting movement between two elements. A drawing objection is not a question of what a skilled artisan would understand. Rather, according to 37 CFR 1.83 Applicants must represent their invention such that a skilled artisan would understand the elements of the invention without under guesswork. In this case, given the myriad of possibilities that can be interpreted as providing a pivotal connector a skilled artisan would be unable to comprehend that which Applicant considers the invention. Figures 3 & 5 show different first and second lateral members pivoted relative to the connector via a pivotal connector, possibly a pin. The examiner will accept a replacement Fig. 3 with a reference character identifying the pin with a reference character.
Applicant's arguments filed Aug. 25, 2025 with respect to the 35 USC 112 rejection(s) has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Again, Applicants arguments quote the specification but fail to identify an element or elements that comprise the connector itself. Merely stating that two elements pivot relatively is not enough.
Applicant's arguments AND amendment filed Aug. 25, 2025 with the 35 USC 103 rejection(s) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments have been addressed in the rejection above.
With respect to lack of disclosure of a "sliding sleeve" in the cited prior art Young discloses sleeve 104 connected to later members 103 through which upright supports 108 slides until such time as user desired position is achieve. Young discloses a sliding sleeve discussed starting at column 6, line 24:
Accordingly, when assembling portable fitness device 100 for use, vertical member 108 is moved in position with respect to adjustable attachment 104 to engage stable surface 107. Vertical member 108 and adjustable attachment 104 are then removably coupled to one another by an adjustment system. In some embodiments, this adjustment system comprises a plurality of holes 122 in adjustable attachment 104 corresponding to an additional plurality of holes 122 in vertical member 108. In these, and some other embodiments, a hole 122 of adjustable attachment 104 is aligned with a corresponding hole 123 in vertical member 108 and the aligned holes 122 and 123 are engaged by a pin 114 (as shown by FIG. 1), thus removably coupling vertical member 108 to adjustable attachment 104 and retaining the respective position of vertical member 108 with adjustable attachment 104. (It is noted that reference to the pin as #114 appears to be a typographical error. Fig. 1 shows pin as #128.)
Thus, Young teaches moving an upright support 108 through sleeve 104, e.g. sliding, allowing continuous adjustability.
Applicant argues that Young's disclosure of "lifting the vehicle prior to locking the vertical member" teaches away from a sliding sleeve that allows continuous adjustment. Continuous adjustment, according to Young, can be interpreted as a user not inserting pin 114/128 and allowing upright 108 and sleeve 104 to move forever while in use. Or, continuous adjustment, according to Young, can be interpreted as the term defined by a user inserting upright 108 into sleeve 104 ending when the desired amount of movement is achieved whereupon a user inserts pin 114/128. In other words, the movement of upright 108 through sleeve 104 is continuous until pin locks the elements respectively. Nowhere does Applicant define the term for continuous. Therefore, either interpretation is allowed under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation standard established by the MPEP.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652