DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment, filed 05/12/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1-20 have been amended. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11, 12, 15, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (Pub. No. 2020/0104022), Kumetani (Pub. No. US 2014/0267105), and Bedi et al. (“Bedi”, Pat. No. US 11,366,872).
Per claim 1, Nakashima teaches a method of summoning a toolbar, the method comprising:
receiving, data related to a collaboration workspace including (i) a first toolbar displayed, by a display of client device, at a first location in the collaboration workspace displayed on the display, and (ii) a second toolbar displayed at a second location in the collaboration workspace, wherein each of the first toolbar and the second toolbar include a user interface element for interacting with the collaboration workspace using the display (fig. 1 and fig. 27, a first toolbar 120; [0135]… the image/audio processing unit 23 obtains drawn image data, which is drawn on the display 220 by the user using the electronic pen 2500 or the user's hand H, and converts the drawn image data to coordinate data. For example, when one electronic whiteboard (e.g., first electronic whiteboard 2a) provided in one site transmits coordinate data to another electronic whiteboard (e.g., second electronic whiteboard 2b) provided in another site, the second electronic whiteboard 2b causes the display 220 to display the drawn image having the same content with the image drawn at the first electronic whiteboard 2a based on the received coordinate data. [0285]…the writing/reading unit 29 searches the process management DB 2001 to read out display information of the menu bar 120 (step S405). At this stage, the writing/reading unit 29 reads out information on the display position and display size of the menu bar 120 using the process ID and the windows handle of the menu bar 120 as a search key. In addition, figs. 28A-28C, 29-30 and 32 show a second toolbar displayed at the bottom of user interface 150 comprising a memo input icon 155, an “add participant” icon 156 and file data stored icon 157, see [0279]-0282] ),
determining an alternative first location for the first toolbar and an alternative second location for the second toolbar (figs. 29-30; [0286]…if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the left side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a on the left side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, for example, if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the right side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 30, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a to the right side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. [0298]… In step S417, if the receiving unit 22 receives a request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S417: YES), the sequence proceeds to step S418. The receiving unit 22 receives the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 when the user selects (presses) the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, if the receiving unit 22 does not receive the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S417: NO), that is if the user does not select the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120, the sequence ends. [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30.)), and
sending collaboration data causing the first toolbar to move to the alternative first location and causing the second toolbar to move to the second alternative location, and causing display of the first toolbar at the alternative first location and the second toolbar at the second alternative location (figs. 29 and 30; [0286]…if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the left side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a on the left side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, for example, if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the right side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 30, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a to the right side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120; [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30.)
Nakashima does not specifically teach a large format display of a client device and using a server device for managing the menu bar.
However, Kumetani teaches a large format display of a client device (fig. 4; [0005]; [0057]; [0058]; which show a whiteboard including a large display screen). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Kumetani in the invention of Nakashima to include a large display screen because doing so would enhance users’ experience by allowing a plurality of users to interact with the large whiteboard concurrently.
Bedi teaches using a server device for managing the menu bar (col. 4, lines 4-8… The navigation menu management server 120 may be configured to generate the navigation menu for presentation at the user device. For example, the navigation menu management server 120 may execute one or more operations to generate navigation menus with dynamic content placement. At a first operation 130, the navigation menu management server 120 may receive a request for navigation menu card data. The navigation menu presented at the first user interface 110 may be a card or other user interface element that can be interacted with, and may include a menu list, or a list of selectable elements. Col. 5, lines 28-34…the navigation menu management server 120 may send the navigation menu to the user device. For example, the navigation menu management server 120 may send data for the navigation menu user interface to the user device for presentation. The user device may render the navigation menu using the data received from the navigation menu management server 120). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Bedi in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to provide the user with the navigation menu management server, because doing so would allow remote access and/or quicker and better processing power.
Per claim 3, (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein each of the alternative first location of the first toolbar and the alternative second location of the second toolbar is determined independence upon a location of a first user input received by the server device ([0286]…if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the left side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a on the left side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, for example, if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the right side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 30, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a to the right side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. [0298]… In step S417, if the receiving unit 22 receives a request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S417: YES), the sequence proceeds to step S418. The receiving unit 22 receives the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 when the user selects (presses) the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, if the receiving unit 22 does not receive the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S417: NO), that is if the user does not select the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120, the sequence ends. [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30. It is noted that locations of menu bar 120 and toolbar of user interface 150 are not changed or not dependent or independence upon a location of user input on any icon 125a-125h being selected or pressed on by the user, see [0267]-0274]. In other words, an alternative location of menu bar 120 and an alternative location for toolbar of user interface 150 are determined in dependence upon a location of user input directed to position change icon 130 only).
Per claim 4, the modified Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, further including: receiving, by the server device, data related to the alternative first location in the collaboration workspace, and sending, by the server device, the collaboration data causing the first toolbar to return to the first location, and causing display of the first toolbar at the first location (Nakashima, figs. 29 and 30, display position change icon 130. [0294] and [0299], which show the user can change the position of the menu bar 120 from left to right or vice versa by selecting display position change icon 130 in fig. 29 or 30).
Per claim 11, the modifieid Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, further including: receiving, by the server device, user input identifying at least one digital asset to move to a third location, sending, by the server device, collaboration data including an updated location of the at least one digital asset wherein the updated location is at or near the third location and causes the display of the at least one digital asset at or near the third location (Nakashima, fig. 29 and 30 show digital access 150a is move from one location to another location. [0288]…if the display position change icon 130, to be described later, is selected while the application display screen 150a is being displayed adjacently on one side of the menu bar 120 (e.g., the right side of the menu bar 120 as indicated in FIG. 29), the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a adjacent to another side of the menu bar 120 (e.g., the left side of the menu bar 120 as indicated in FIG. 30).)
Per claim 12, Nakashima teaches a system including one or more processors coupled to memory, the memory loaded with instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, implement, at device, actions comprising:
receiving data related to a collaboration workspace including a first toolbar displayed, by a display of a client device, at a first location in the collaboration workspace displayed on the large format display, wherein the first toolbar includes a user interface element for interacting with the collaboration workspace (figs. 28A-28C, 29-30 and 32 show a first toolbar displayed at the bottom of user interface 150 comprising a memo input icon 155, an “add participant” icon 156 and file data stored icon 157, see [0279]-0282]. [0135]… the image/audio processing unit 23 obtains drawn image data, which is drawn on the display 220 by the user using the electronic pen 2500 or the user's hand H, and converts the drawn image data to coordinate data. For example, when one electronic whiteboard (e.g., first electronic whiteboard 2a) provided in one site transmits coordinate data to another electronic whiteboard (e.g., second electronic whiteboard 2b) provided in another site, the second electronic whiteboard 2b causes the display 220 to display the drawn image having the same content with the image drawn at the first electronic whiteboard 2a based on the received coordinate data. [0285]…the writing/reading unit 29 searches the process management DB 2001 to read out display information of the menu bar 120 (step S405). At this stage, the writing/reading unit 29 reads out information on the display position and display size of the menu bar 120 using the process ID and the windows handle of the menu bar 120 as a search key. ),
determining a second an alternative first location in the collaboration workspace using the received data (figs. 29-30; [0286]…if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the left side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a on the left side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, for example, if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the right side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 30, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a to the right side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. [0298]… In step S417, if the receiving unit 22 receives a request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S417: YES), the sequence proceeds to step S418. The receiving unit 22 receives the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 when the user selects (presses) the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, if the receiving unit 22 does not receive the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S417: NO), that is if the user does not select the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120, the sequence ends. [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30.)), and
sending collaboration data causing the first toolbar elements to move to the alternative first location in the collaboration workspace, and causing display of the first toolbar at the alternative first location (figs. 29 and 30; [0286]…if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the left side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a on the left side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, for example, if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the right side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 30, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a to the right side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120; [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30.),
wherein the alternative first location of the first toolbar is determined in dependence on a location of a graphical icon of a second toolbar displayed on the large format display ([0279]…each of the application display screens 150a to 150c includes, for example, a docking icon 151 for changing the link setting with the menu bar 120, and a close icon 153 for closing the application display screens 150a to 150c. [0286]…if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the left side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a on the left side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, for example, if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the right side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 30, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a to the right side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. [0298]… In step S417, if the receiving unit 22 receives a request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S417: YES), the sequence proceeds to step S418. The receiving unit 22 receives the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 when the user selects (presses) the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120. [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30. Accordingly, the location of the toolbar of user interface 150 is moved to the alternative first location in dependence on a location of position change icon 130 of menu bar 120. )
Nakashima does not specifically teach a large format display of a client device and using a server device for managing the menu bar.
However, Kumetani teaches a large format display of a client device (fig. 4; [0005]; [0057]; [0058]; which show a whiteboard including a large display screen). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Kumetani in the invention of Nakashima to include a large display screen because doing so would enhance users’ experience by allowing a plurality of users to interact with the large whiteboard concurrently.
Bedi teaches using a server device for managing the menu bar (col. 4, lines 4-8… The navigation menu management server 120 may be configured to generate the navigation menu for presentation at the user device. For example, the navigation menu management server 120 may execute one or more operations to generate navigation menus with dynamic content placement. At a first operation 130, the navigation menu management server 120 may receive a request for navigation menu card data. The navigation menu presented at the first user interface 110 may be a card or other user interface element that can be interacted with, and may include a menu list, or a list of selectable elements. Col. 5, lines 28-34…the navigation menu management server 120 may send the navigation menu to the user device. For example, the navigation menu management server 120 may send data for the navigation menu user interface to the user device for presentation. The user device may render the navigation menu using the data received from the navigation menu management server 120). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Bedi in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to provide the user with the navigation menu management server, because doing so would allow remote access and/or quicker and better processing power.
Claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 respectively.
Per claim 17, Nakashima teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed on a processor, implement operations, of a server node, comprising:
receiving data related to a collaboration workspace including a first toolbar displayed, by a display of a client device, at a first location in the collaboration workspace displayed on display, wherein the first toolbar includes a user interface element for interacting with the collaboration workspace (fig. 1 and fig. 27, a first toolbar 120; [0135]… the image/audio processing unit 23 obtains drawn image data, which is drawn on the display 220 by the user using the electronic pen 2500 or the user's hand H, and converts the drawn image data to coordinate data. For example, when one electronic whiteboard (e.g., first electronic whiteboard 2a) provided in one site transmits coordinate data to another electronic whiteboard (e.g., second electronic whiteboard 2b) provided in another site, the second electronic whiteboard 2b causes the display 220 to display the drawn image having the same content with the image drawn at the first electronic whiteboard 2a based on the received coordinate data. [0285]…the writing/reading unit 29 searches the process management DB 2001 to read out display information of the menu bar 120 (step S405). At this stage, the writing/reading unit 29 reads out information on the display position and display size of the menu bar 120 using the process ID and the windows handle of the menu bar 120 as a search key.),
determining an alternative first location in the collaboration workspace using the received data (figs. 29-30; [0294]…When a user selects (presses) the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120, the receiving unit 22 receives a request to change the display position of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, if the receiving unit 22 does not receive the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S415: NO), that is, when the user does not select (press) the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120, the sequence ends. [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30.)), and
sending, by the server device, collaboration data causing the first toolbar including the user interface element to move to the alternative first location in the collaboration workspace, and causing display of the first toolbar including the user interface element at the alternative first location (figs. 29 and 30; [0286]…if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the left side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a on the left side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, for example, if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the right side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 30, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a to the right side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120; [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30.),
wherein the alternative first location of the first toolbar is determined independence upon a location of a first user input ([0298]… In step S417, if the receiving unit 22 receives a request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S417: YES), the sequence proceeds to step S418. The receiving unit 22 receives the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 when the user selects (presses) the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120. [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30. It is noted that locations of menu bar 120 and toolbar of user interface 150 are not changed or not dependent or independence upon a location of user input on any icon 125a-125h being selected or pressed on by the user, see [0267]-0274]. In other words, an alternative location of menu bar 120 and an alternative location for toolbar of user interface 150 are determined in dependence upon a location of user input directed to position change icon 130 only).
Nakashima does not specifically teach a large format display of a client device and using a server device for managing the menu bar.
However, Kumetani teaches a large format display of a client device (fig. 4; [0005]; [0057]; [0058]; which show a whiteboard including a large display screen). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Kumetani in the invention of Nakashima to include a large display screen because doing so would enhance users’ experience by allowing a plurality of users to interact with the large whiteboard concurrently.
Bedi teaches using a server device for managing the menu bar (col. 4, lines 4-8… The navigation menu management server 120 may be configured to generate the navigation menu for presentation at the user device. For example, the navigation menu management server 120 may execute one or more operations to generate navigation menus with dynamic content placement. At a first operation 130, the navigation menu management server 120 may receive a request for navigation menu card data. The navigation menu presented at the first user interface 110 may be a card or other user interface element that can be interacted with, and may include a menu list, or a list of selectable elements. Col. 5, lines 28-34…the navigation menu management server 120 may send the navigation menu to the user device. For example, the navigation menu management server 120 may send data for the navigation menu user interface to the user device for presentation. The user device may render the navigation menu using the data received from the navigation menu management server 120). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Bedi in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to provide the user with the navigation menu management server, because doing so would allow remote access and/or quicker and better processing power.
Claim 20 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (Pub. No. 2020/0104022), Kumetani (Pub. No. US 2014/0267105), Bedi et al. (“Bedi”, Pat. No. US 11,366,872), and Stringham et al. (“Stringham”, Pub. No. 2022/0108276).
Per claim 2, the modified Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each of the alternative first location of the first toolbar and the alternative second location of the second toolbar is determined in dependence on a location of the graphical icon of a toolbar ([0279]…each of the application display screens 150a to 150c includes, for example, a docking icon 151 for changing the link setting with the menu bar 120, and a close icon 153 for closing the application display screens 150a to 150c. [0286]…if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the left side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a on the left side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. On the other hand, for example, if the display position of the menu bar 120 is displayed on the right side of the display 220, as indicated in FIG. 30, the display control unit 24 displays the application display screen 150a to the right side of the display 220 as similar to the display position of the menu bar 120. [0298]… In step S417, if the receiving unit 22 receives a request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 (S417: YES), the sequence proceeds to step S418. The receiving unit 22 receives the request to change the display position of the menu bar 120 when the user selects (presses) the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120. [0299]… If the display position change icon 130 of the menu bar 120 is selected (S417: YES), in step S418, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the display position of the menu bar 120 to be changed based on the selection of the display position change icon 130 (an example of second display control step). For example, if the display position change icon 130 is selected on the display screen 100 indicated in FIG. 29, the display control unit 24 changes the display position of the application display screen 150 in connection with the change of the display position of the menu bar 120 so that the display screen 100 is displayed in a state indicated in FIG. 30. Accordingly, the locations the first toolbar 120 and the toolbar of user interface 150 are moved to the alternative locations in dependence on a location of position change icon 130 of menu bar 120. )
The modified Nakashima does not specifically teach third toolbar.
However, Stringham teaches third toolbar having one or more graphical icons (fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Stringham in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to include a third toolbar because doing so would enhance usability by allowing access various toolbars and linking/docking the various toolbars to quickly move the various toolbars from one location to another location.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (Pub. No. 2020/0104022), Kumetani (Pub. No. US 2014/0267105), Bedi et al. (“Bedi”, Pat. No. US 11,366,872), and Moran et al. (“Moran”, Pat. No. 5,500,935).
Per claim 5, the modified Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, but does not specifically teach sending, by the server device, the collaboration data causing display of a particular user interface element at or near the first alternative location of the collaboration workspace in response to a first user input, receiving, by the server device, a second user input indicating selection of the particular user interface element, and sending, by the server device, the collaboration data causing moving of the first toolbar to or near the first alternative location, and causing display of the first toolbar at or near the alternative first location.
However, Moran teaches sending, by the server device, the collaboration data causing display of a particular user interface element at or near the first alternative location of the collaboration workspace in response to a first user input, receiving, by the server device, a second user input indicating selection of the particular user interface element, and sending, by the server device, the collaboration data causing moving of the first toolbar to or near the first alternative location, and causing display of the first toolbar at or near the alternative first location (col. 7, line 5-12; fig. 4(a)-4(c), which show path and information message indicating where to move the stylus so that the menu will be displayed at a destination location (i.e. “Move to Here” UI element). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Moran in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to include a guided path and/or visual indicator for a destination location because doing so would provide the user with a friendly graphical user interface that would visually indicate to the user a “move to” location when the user switching a location of the menu bar of the modified Nakashima.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (Pub. No. 2020/0104022), Kumetani (Pub. No. US 2014/0267105), Bedi et al. (“Bedi”, Pat. No. US 11,366,872), and Mo (Pub. No. US 2021/0064196).
Per claim 6, the modified Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, but does not specifically teach receiving, by the server device, data related to the alternative first location in the collaboration workspace, and sending, by the server device, the collaboration data causing collapsing of the first toolbar to a compact form, the collapsed first toolbar in the compact form being of a smaller display size than the first toolbar and hiding at least one user interface element, causing moving of the collapsed toolbar to the alternative first location and causing the display of the collapsed toolbar at the alternative first location.
However, Mo teaches receiving, by the server device, data related to the alternative first location in the collaboration workspace, and sending, by the server device, the collaboration data causing collapsing of the first toolbar to a compact form, the collapsed first toolbar in the compact form being of a smaller display size than the first toolbar and hiding at least one user interface element, causing moving of the collapsed toolbar to the alternative first location and causing the display of the collapsed toolbar at the alternative first location ([0013]…before the floating toolbar is moved, whether the floating toolbar is in an expanded state is determined first, and when it is determined the floating toolbar is in the expanded state, an operation of collapsing the floating toolbar is performed before moving the floating toolbar). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Mo in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to provide the user with collapsing toolbar during moving of the toolbar because doing so would enhance visual effect and avoid interference with other contents during the move.
Per claim 7, Nakashima teaches the method of claim 6, but does not specifically teach receiving, by the server device, data related to the alternative first location in the collaboration workspace, and sending, by the server device, the collaboration data causing expanding of the collapsed first toolbar to display the first toolbar, at the alternative first location, to include at least one of the hidden user interface element.
However, Mo teaches receiving, by the server device, data related to the alternative first location in the collaboration workspace, and sending, by the server device, the collaboration data causing expanding of the collapsed first toolbar to display the first toolbar, at the alternative first location, to include at least one of the hidden user interface element ([0014]…after moving the floating toolbar is completed, the floating toolbar is placed in the expanded state.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Mo in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to provide the user with collapsing toolbar during moving of the toolbar because doing so would enhance visual effect and avoid interference with other contents during the move.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (Pub. No. 2020/0104022), Kumetani (Pub. No. US 2014/0267105), Bedi et al. (“Bedi”, Pat. No. US 11,366,872), and Wilson et al. (“Wilson”, Pub. No. US 2016/0274781).
Per claim 8, the modified Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, but does not specifically teach receiving, by the server device, a first input via the large format display, wherein the collaboration workspace includes at least one digital asset, of a plurality of digital assets, positioned at a first location, generating, by the server device, a minified map of the collaboration workspace, wherein the minified map includes a miniaturized representation the at least one digital asset of the plurality of digital assets, determining, by the server device, a third location in the collaboration workspace representing a location on the large format display on which the first input is received, sending, by the server device, collaboration data causing display of the minified map on the large format display at the third location, receiving, by the server device, a second input on the large format display, the second input selecting the miniaturized representation of the at least one digital asset in the minified map, and sending, by the server device, collaboration data causing panning the collaboration workspace, such that the panning moves the at least one digital asset close to a location of the minified map on the large format display.
However, Wilson teaches receiving, by the server device, a first input via the large format display, wherein the collaboration workspace includes at least one digital asset, of a plurality of digital assets, positioned at a first digital access location (figs. 1a and 2 show a workspace with a plurality of digital assets 130, 232, and 234), generating, by the server device, a minified map of the collaboration workspace, wherein the minified map includes a miniaturized representation the at least one digital asset of the plurality of digital assets (fig. 1a and 2 show a mini-map 140), determining, by the server device, a third location in the collaboration workspace representing a location on the large format display on which the first input is received (fig. 2 shows icon 130, 232, and 234 corresponds to one or more locations on a geographic area. [0066]…The user may adjust the portion of the larger geographic area that is depicted in the window 120 by moving the box 145 within the mini-map 140 (ie. to view second location).), sending, by the server device, collaboration data causing display of the minified map on the large format display at the third location (figs. 1and 2. [0066]…The user may adjust the portion of the larger geographic area that is depicted in the window 120 by moving the box 145 within the mini-map 140 (ie. to view second location).), receiving, by the server device, a second input on the large format display, the second input selecting the miniaturized representation of the at least one digital asset in the minified map ([0066]…The user may adjust the portion of the larger geographic area that is depicted in the window 120 by moving the box 145 within the mini-map 140 (ie. to view second location)), and sending, by the server device, collaboration data causing panning of the collaboration workspace, such that the panning moves the at least one digital asset close to a location of the minified map on the large format display ([0066]…The user may adjust the portion of the larger geographic area that is depicted in the window 120 by moving the box 145 within the mini-map 140 (ie. to view second location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Wilson in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to provide the user with display various geographic maps and an interactive user interface to view one or more digital objects within a geographic area because doing so would enhance usability by allowing the user to navigate a larger display area utilizing mini-map and moving box feature.
Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (Pub. No. 2020/0104022), Kumetani (Pub. No. US 2014/0267105), Bedi et al. (“Bedi”, Pat. No. US 11,366,872), Wilson et al. (“Wilson”, Pub. No. US 2016/0274781), and Kenyon et al. (“Kenyon”, Pub. No. US 2002/0067379).
Per claim 9, the modified Nakashima teaches the method of claim 8, but does not teach the minified map includes partitions of the collaboration workspace, wherein at least one partition of the collaboration workspace comprises the at least one digital asset of the plurality of digital assets, and wherein the method further includes: receiving, by the server device, the second input on the large format display, the second input selecting the at least one partition of the collaboration workspace comprising the at least one digital asset of the plurality of digital assets.
However, Kenyon teaches the minified map includes partitions of the collaboration workspace, wherein at least one partition of the collaboration workspace comprises the at least one digital asset of the plurality of digital assets, and wherein the method further includes: receiving, by the server device, the second input on the large format display, the second input selecting the at least one partition of the collaboration workspace comprising the at least one digital asset of the plurality of digital assets (figs. 12 and 13; [0065]… the "mini-map" processing logic first forms the mini-map 1220 of the "greater area" (that is, the central zone plus all the immediately adjacent zones having their map tiles provided), using the miniaturized versions of the map tiles 1222, and causes the mini-map 1220 to be superimposed on displayed map 1290. [0069]… as the user moves "visibility area" demarcation window 1224, the "mini map" processing logic further determines if demarcation window 1224 is within a predetermined threshold from a side of the mini-map 1220 (block 1312). If so, the "mini-map" processing logic requests that additional map tiles, (both the "full" as well as the "miniaturized" versions) in the user's movement direction, be pre-fetched (block 1314). [Such pre-fetching may involving fetching of map tiles in both the horizontal and vertical directions to reflect "diagonal" movement by the user.]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Kenyon in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to provide the user with display various geographic maps and an interactive user interface to view one or more digital objects within a geographic area because doing so would allow easily panning and exploring a "greater area" surrounding an original requested location. Accordingly, usability of user panning is further improved.
Per claim 10, the modified Nakashima teaches the method of claim 8, further including: receiving, by the server device, a user input identifying a fourth location for summoning the minified map, and sending, by the server device, collaboration data causing moving of the minified map to a location at or near the third location and causing display of the minified map at the location (figs. 12 and 13; [0065]… the "mini-map" processing logic first forms the mini-map 1220 of the "greater area" (that is, the central zone plus all the immediately adjacent zones having their map tiles provided), using the miniaturized versions of the map tiles 1222, and causes the mini-map 1220 to be superimposed on displayed map 1290. [0069]… as the user moves "visibility area" demarcation window 1224, the "mini map" processing logic further determines if demarcation window 1224 is within a predetermined threshold from a side of the mini-map 1220 (block 1312). If so, the "mini-map" processing logic requests that additional map tiles, (both the "full" as well as the "miniaturized" versions) in the user's movement direction, be pre-fetched (block 1314). [Such pre-fetching may involving fetching of map tiles in both the horizontal and vertical directions to reflect "diagonal" movement by the user.]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Kenyon in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to provide the user with display various geographic maps and an interactive user interface to view one or more digital objects within a geographic area because doing so would allow easily panning and exploring a "greater area" surrounding an original requested location. Accordingly, usability of user panning is further improved.
Claim(s) 13-14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (Pub. No. 2020/0104022), Kumetani (Pub. No. US 2014/0267105), Bedi et al. (“Bedi”, Pat. No. US 11,366,872), and Ledet (Pat. No. US 10,025,462).
Per claim 13, the modified Nakashima teaches the method of claim 12, but does not teach sending, by the server device, collaboration data causing the first toolbar including the user interface element to move near the alternative first location in the collaboration workspace, and causing display of the first toolbar including the user interface element at a location that is at a distance of least ten pixels from the alternative first location.
However Ledet teaches sending, by the server device, collaboration data causing the first toolbar including the user interface element to move near the alternative first location in the collaboration workspace, and causing display of the first toolbar including the user interface element at a location that is at a distance of least ten pixels from the alternative first location (col. 5, line 4-line 36…the context menu can move to any other location on the screen, such as to the left or right of the touched location. In response to received touching or input, the application causes the computer to record the X-axis and Y-axis present location of the user's pointing device touching the screen, and calculate a location on the screen where the context menu will appear in an area on the touchscreen away from where the pointing device last touched the screen. For example, the detected location may represent a starting point and the final location may be calculated based on a threshold distance from the initial location (i.e., 5, 10, 15 units of distance). The final location may be a reference point for the center of the menu as it is displayed and may be linked to a particular portion of the menu prior to being used as the location of the menu on the display. Accordingly, the user can freely move the menu any location of the user’s choosing). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Lede in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to include the feature of allowing the user to freely move a menu to any location on the screen because doing so would allow more appropriate spacing and location purposes for the convenience for the user.
Per claim 14, the modified Nakashima teaches the method of claim 12, but does not teach wherein the first toolbar including the user interface element is displayed at a location that is at a distance of at least one inch from the alternative first location.
However, Ledet teaches wherein the first toolbar including the user interface element is displayed at a location that is at a distance of at least one inch from the alternative first location (col. 5, line 4-line 36…the context menu can move to any other location on the screen, such as to the left or right of the touched location. In response to received touching or input, the application causes the computer to record the X-axis and Y-axis present location of the user's pointing device touching the screen, and calculate a location on the screen where the context menu will appear in an area on the touchscreen away from where the pointing device last touched the screen. For example, the detected location may represent a starting point and the final location may be calculated based on a threshold distance from the initial location (i.e., 5, 10, 15 units of distance). The final location may be a reference point for the center of the menu as it is displayed and may be linked to a particular portion of the menu prior to being used as the location of the menu on the display. Accordingly, the user can freely move the menu any location of the user’s choosing). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Lede in the invention of the modified Nakashima in order to include the feature of allowing the user to freely move a menu to any location on the screen because doing so would allow more appropriate spacing and location purposes for the convenience for the user.
Claim 18-19 are rejected under the same rationale of claim 13-14 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments in the Amendment have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s primary argument is that “as discussed during the interview, at least the bold-faced limitations are not found in Nakashima, Kumetani, and Bedi or any other cited prior art, because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest moving two different toolbars to two different alternative locations for display, as required by claim 1”, “as discussed during the interview, at least the bold-faced limitations are not found in Nakashima, Kumetani, and Bedi or any other cited prior art, because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest that the "alternative first location of the first toolbar is determined in dependence on a location of a graphical icon of a second toolbar displayed on the large format display," as recited in claim 12”. and “As discussed during the interview, at least the bold-faced limitations are not found in Nakashima, Kumetani, and Bedi or any other cited prior art, because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest that the "alternative first location of the first toolbar is determined independence upon a location of a first user input," as recited in claims 17”.
It is noted during the interview, only the framework of the claim language was discussed without any specific detail of the claim language being discussed. However, upon closely review of the cited prior art and based on broadest reasonable interpretation of the amended claim language, the cited prior art still reasonably discloses the amened claim language as fully address in the rejections above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (Pub. No. 2024/0338121) discloses display device and display method for menu bar.
Holguin et al. (Pub. No. 2023/0305661) discussed optimize the utility and functionality of large-scale display screen devices through the use of user interfaces.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179