DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 214996237 U ( Feng et al.).
Regarding Claim 1 Feng et al. discloses
A telescopic partition, comprising a lower partition ( Figure 1 element 2 is the lower base plate of the bottom partition), an upper partition ( Figure 1 element 4 is the lower base plate of the upper partition), and a first positioning mechanism ( Figure 4 element 10 is the sliding pin of the position mechanism), wherein the lower partition comprises a first lower base plate ( Figure 1 element 2) , a first upper base plate ( Figure 1 element 5), and one or more first vertical rods distributed equidistantly and vertically between the first lower base plate and the first upper base plate ( Figure 1 element 3 is the first rod distributed equidistantly and vertically between element 2 and 5); the upper partition comprises a second lower base plate ( Figure 1 element 4), a second upper base plate ( Figure 1 element 7), and one or more second vertical rods distributed equidistantly and vertically between the second lower base plate and the second upper base plate (Figure 1 element 6 is the first rod distributed equidistantly and vertically between element 4 and 7); the first upper base plate is arranged above the second lower base plate ( Figure 1 element 5 is above element 4), the first upper base plate is provided with one or more first through holes for the one or more second vertical rods to pass therethrough respectively ( Figures 2 and 3 the second vertical rods element 6 passing completely though the first upper base plate element 5 to connect to the second lower base plate element 4), and the second lower base plate is provided with one or more second through holes for the one or more first vertical rods to pass therethrough respectively ( Figures 2 and 3 the first vertical rods element 3 passing completely though the second lower base plate element 4 to connect the first upper base plate element 5); the one or more first vertical rods and the one or more second vertical rods are arranged in a staggered and equidistant manner (Figure 3 shows the first vertical rods element 3 and the second vertical rods element 6 are arranged in an alternating staggered and equidistant manner) and the first positioning mechanism is arranged at an end of the second lower base plate to lock the second lower base plate ( Figure 4 element 10 is a sling pin arranged at the end of element 4 to lock the sliding components).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214996237 U (Feng et al.) in view of CN 213297232 U (Chen) and GB 2349412 A (VINEY).
Regarding Claim 2 Feng et al. discloses the telescopic partition according to claim 1 but fails to disclose the first positioning mechanism comprises a first mounting groove, a first end cover, a first bolt, and one or more first positioning holes; the first mounting groove is arranged at the end of the second lower base plate, the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove, and the one or more first positioning holes are arranged equidistantly on a side wall of a corresponding one of the one or more first vertical rods along a telescoping direction of the telescopic partition; and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover, and an end of the first bolt is configured to extend into a first positioning hole of the one or more first positioning holes
However, Chen teaches a telescopic partition, comprising a first positioning mechanism comprises a first mounting groove ( Figure 4 the groove of element 32), a first bolt ( Figure 4 element 32), and one or more first positioning holes ( Figure 4 element 111) ; the first mounting groove is arranged at the end of the second lower base ( Right/left element 21 as shown in figure 5), and the one or more first positioning holes are arranged equidistantly on a side wall of a corresponding one of the one or more first vertical rods along a telescoping direction of the telescopic partition ( As shown in figure 5 element 111is arranged equidistantly on a side wall of the fist vertical rods); and an end of the first bolt ( 32) is configured to extend into a first positioning hole of the one or more first positioning holes ( See figure 4 where element 32 extends into the hole 111).
It would therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the telescopic partition of Feng with the first positioning mechanism comprises a first mounting groove, a first bolt, and one or more first positioning holes; the first mounting groove is arranged at the end of the second lower base plate, and the one or more first positioning holes are arranged equidistantly on a side wall of a corresponding one of the one or more first vertical rods along a telescoping direction of the telescopic partition; and an end of the first bolt is configured to extend into a first positioning hole of the one or more first positioning holes, as taught by CHEN, such modification would provide the benefit of gradually adjusting the heigh of the partition to the desired height.
Feng in view of CHEN does not teach a first end cover, the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove, and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover.
However, VINEY teaches an end cover (14), the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove (Figure 6 shows element 10 to be detachable and can be added to the first mounting groove), and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover (Shown in figure 1 where element 22 goes through the first end cover element 14).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the telescopic partition of Feng as modified by CHEN with a first end cover, the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove, and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover, as taught by VINEY, such modifications would provide the predictable and advantageous results of securely housing and retaining the internal locking components within the mounting groove, while allowing the cover to be easily detached for assembly, maintenance or replacement of sliding the sidling bolt mechanism.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214996237 U (Feng et al.) in view of CN 213297232 U (CEHN) and GB 2349412 A (VINEY) and in further of US 20130056995 A1 (Hudson et al.).
Regarding Claim 3, Feng as modified by CHEN and VINEY teach the telescopic partition according to claim 2, but fail to teach the first positioning mechanism further comprises a first pin and a first spring arranged inside the first mounting groove, wherein the first pin extends through the first bolt; and the first spring is sleeved on the first bolt, and has a first end engaged with the first pin and a second end abutting against an inner wall of the first end cover.
However, Hudson et al teaches a first positioning mechanism further comprises a first pin and a first spring arranged inside the first mounting groove (118 U shaped box acting as the grove), wherein the first pin extends through the first bolt ( 130 is inserted into a transverse hole in the sliding pin 122 acting as the first bolt shown in figure 10); and the first spring is sleeved on the first bolt ( 128 is coaxially disposed and positioned over the sliding pin 122 shown in figure 10) , and has a first end engaged with the first pin ( the proximal end of the coil spring 128 is retained by the retaining pin 120, paragraph 27 ) and a second end abutting against an inner wall of the first end cover ( the other end of the coil spring 128 is seated against the distal mounting block 112 acting as the inner wall of the cover).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the telescopic partition of Feng as modified by CHEN and VINEY to include first positioning mechanism further comprises a first pin and a first spring arranged inside the first mounting groove, wherein the first pin extends through the first bolt; and the first spring is sleeved on the first bolt, and has a first end engaged with the first pin and a second end abutting against an inner wall of the first end cover as taught by Hudson since the simple substitution of one known element ( a first pin extending transversely through the first bolt where the spring is sleeved on the first bolt and engaged with the first pin by Hudson) with for another ( a locking piece by CEHN) would have yielded predictable results of utilizing the pin to provide secure, retain and tension the biasing spring on the sliding bolt (see KSR Int’’l Co. v. Telefex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1285, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214996237 U (Feng et al.) in view of US 20130152867 A1 (Kaneda et al.)
Regarding Claim 6 Feng discloses the telescopic partition according to claim 1, but fails to disclose comprising at least two telescopic partitions according to claim 1, wherein the first lower base plates of two adjacent ones of the at least two telescopic partitions are connected by a first one of first connection members, and the first upper base plates of two adjacent ones of the at least two telescopic partitions are connected by a second one of the first connection members.
However, Kaneda teaches a barrier assembly comprising a plurality of panels ( Figure 1 shows panels 102, 104 and 106 acting as the two telescopic partitions), wherein the lower frame members of two adjacent ones of the panels are connected by bottom hinges ( Figure 1 shows bottom hinges 112acting as the first one of firs connection members) and the upper frame members of two adjacent ones of the panels are connected top hinges ( Figure 1 shows top hinges 110 acting as the second of the first connection members).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the calmed inventio to provide the telescopic partition of Feng wit at least two partitions where the adjacent lower base plates and adjacent upper base plates are connected by connection members as taught be Kaneda. Such modification would provide the benefit of allowing someone to modularly connect multiple partitions end-to end to create a continuous, self-supporting safety fence or a freestanding enclosure of varying shapes and sizes.
Regarding Claim 11, Feng in view of Kaneda teach the telescopic partition assembly according to claim 6 and wherein Kaneda teaches a barrier assembly comprising a second connection member ( 110), wherein two ends of the second connection member are respectively connected to second upper base plates of two adjacent ones of the at least two telescopic partitions ( Figure 1 shows top hinges 110 acting as the second connection member, where two ends of the top hinges 110 are respectively connected to the upper frame members of adjacent panels 102, 104, and 106).
Claim 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214996237 U (Feng et al.) in view of US 20130152867 A1 (Kaneda et al.) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of CN 213297232 U (Chen) and GB 2349412 A (VINEY).
Regarding Claim 7 FENG as modified by Kaneda teach the telescopic partition assembly according to claim 6 but fail to teach wherein the first positioning mechanism comprises a first mounting groove, a first end cover, a first bolt, and one or more first positioning holes; the first mounting groove is arranged at the end of the second lower base plate, the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove, and the one or more first positioning holes are arranged equidistantly on a side wall of a corresponding one of the one or more first vertical rods along a telescoping direction of each of the at least two telescopic partitions; and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover, and an end of the first bolt is configured to extend into a first positioning hole of the one or more first positioning holes.
However, Chen teaches a telescopic partition, comprising a first positioning mechanism comprises a first mounting groove ( Figure 4 the groove of element 32), a first bolt ( Figure 4 element 32), and one or more first positioning holes ( Figure 4 element 111) ; the first mounting groove is arranged at the end of the second lower base ( Right/left element 21 as shown in figure 5), and the one or more first positioning holes are arranged equidistantly on a side wall of a corresponding one of the one or more first vertical rods along a telescoping direction of the telescopic partition ( As shown in figure 5 element 111is arranged equidistantly on a side wall of the fist vertical rods); and an end of the first bolt ( 32) is configured to extend into a first positioning hole of the one or more first positioning holes ( See figure 4 where element 32 extends into the hole 111).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the telescopic partition of Feng as modified by Kaneda with the first positioning mechanism comprises a first mounting groove, a first bolt, and one or more first positioning holes; the first mounting groove is arranged at the end of the second lower base plate, and the one or more first positioning holes are arranged equidistantly on a side wall of a corresponding one of the one or more first vertical rods along a telescoping direction of the telescopic partition; and an end of the first bolt is configured to extend into a first positioning hole of the one or more first positioning holes, as taught by CHEN, such modification would provide the benefit of gradually adjusting the heigh of the partition to the desired height.
Feng as modified by Kaneda in view of CHEN does not teach a first end cover, the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove, and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover.
However, VINEY teaches an end cover (14), the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove (Figure 6 shows element 10 to be detachable and can be added to the first mounting groove), and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover (Shown in figure 1 where element 22 goes through the first end cover element 14).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the telescopic partition of Feng as modified by Kaneda and CHEN with a first end cover, the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove, and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover, as taught by VINEY, such modifications would provide the predictable and advantageous results of securely housing and retaining the internal locking components within the mounting groove, while allowing the cover to be easily detached for assembly, maintenance or replacement of sliding the sidling bolt mechanism.
Regarding Claim 12 Feng in view of Kaneda in further view of CEHN in further view of CHEN teach the telescopic partition assembly according to claim 7 and wherein Kaneda further teaches a second connection member (110), wherein two ends of the second connection member are respectively connected to second upper base plates of two adjacent ones of the at least two telescopic partitions ( Figure 1 shows top hinges 110 acting as the second connection member, where two ends of the top hinges 110 are respectively connected to the upper frame members of adjacent panels 102, 104, and 106).
Claim 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214996237 U (Feng et al.) in view of US 20130152867 A1 (Kaneda et al.) in further view of CN 213297232 U (Chen) in further GB 2349412 A (VINEY) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 20130056995 A1 (Hudson et al.).
Regarding Claim 8 Feng in view of Kaneda in further view of CHEN in further of VINEY teach the telescopic partition assembly according to claim 7 but fails to teach the first positioning mechanism further comprises a first pin and a first spring arranged inside the first mounting groove, wherein the first pin extends through the first bolt; and the first spring is sleeved on the first bolt, and has a first end engaged with the first pin and a second end abutting against an inner wall of the first end cover.
However, Hudson et al teaches a first positioning mechanism further comprises a first pin and a first spring arranged inside the first mounting groove (118 U shaped box acting as the grove), wherein the first pin extends through the first bolt ( 130 is inserted into a transverse hole in the sliding pin 122 acting as the first bolt shown in figure 10); and the first spring is sleeved on the first bolt ( 128 is coaxially disposed and positioned over the sliding pin 122 shown in figure 10) , and has a first end engaged with the first pin ( the proximal end of the coil spring 128 is retained by the retaining pin 120, paragraph 27 ) and a second end abutting against an inner wall of the first end cover ( the other end of the coil spring 128 is seated against the distal mounting block 112 acting as the inner wall of the cover).
It would therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the telescopic partition of Feng as modified by Kaneda and CHEN and VINEY to include first positioning mechanism further comprises a first pin and a first spring arranged inside the first mounting groove, wherein the first pin extends through the first bolt; and the first spring is sleeved on the first bolt, and has a first end engaged with the first pin and a second end abutting against an inner wall of the first end cover as taught by Hudson since the simple substitution of one known element ( a locking piece by CEHN) with for another ( a first pin extending transversely through the first bolt where the spring is sleeved on the first bolt and engaged with the first pin by Hudson) would have yielded predictable results of utilizing the pin to provide secure, retain and tension the biasing spring on the sliding bolt (see KSR Int’’l Co. v. Telefex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1285, 1395-97 (2007)).
Regarding Claim 13 FENG in View of Kaneda in further view of CHEN in further view of VINEY teach the telescopic partition assembly according to claim 8 and wherein Kaneda further teaches a second connection member (110), wherein two ends of the second connection member are respectively connected to second upper base plates of two adjacent ones of the at least two telescopic partitions ( Figure 1 shows top hinges 110 acting as the second connection member, where two ends of the top hinges 110 are respectively connected to the upper frame members of adjacent panels 102, 104, and 106).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214996237 U (Feng et al.) in view of US 20130152867 A1 (Kaneda et al.)
Regarding Claim 16 Feng discloses the telescopic partition according to claim 1 but fails to disclose comprising at least three telescopic partitions according to claim 1, wherein a first telescopic partition of the telescopic fence is connected end-to-end to a last telescopic partition of the telescopic fence, the first lower base plates of two adjacent ones of the at least three telescopic partitions are connected by a first one of first connection members, and the first upper base plates of two adjacent ones of the at least three telescopic partitions are connected by a second one of the first connection members.
However, Kaneda teaches a barrier assembly comprising at least three partitions ( Figure 1 shows panes 102, 104 and 106 acting as the three telescopic partitions), wherein a first telescopic partition of the telescopic fence is connected end-to-end to a last telescopic partition of the telescopic fence ( Figure 2a shows the plurality of panels can be self-enclosing meaning that the end panels couple together form a closed loop), the first lower base plates of two adjacent ones of the at least three telescopic partitions are connected by a first one of first connection members ( Figure 2 shows bottom hinges 112 acting as the first one of first connection member), and the first upper base plates of two adjacent ones of the at least three telescopic partitions are connected by a second one of the first connection members ( Figure 1 shows top hinges 110 acting as the second on for hew first connection members).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the telescopic partition of Feng with at least three partitions where the adjacent lower base plates and adjacent upper base plates are connected by connection members as taught be Kaneda. Such modification would provide the benefit of allowing someone to modularly connect multiple partitions end-to end to create a continuous, self-supporting safety fence or a freestanding enclosure of varying shapes and sizes.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214996237 U (Feng et al.) in view of US 20130152867 A1 (Kaneda et al.) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of CN 213297232 U (Chen) and GB 2349412 A (VINEY).
Regarding Claim 17 Feng in view of Kaneda teach the telescopic fence according to claim 16 but fail to teach a first positioning mechanism comprises a first mounting groove, a first end cover, a first bolt, and one or more first positioning holes; the first mounting groove is arranged at the end of the second lower base plate, the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove, and the one or more first positioning holes are arranged equidistantly on a side wall of a corresponding one of the one or more first vertical rods along a telescoping direction of each of the at least three telescopic partitions; and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover, and an end of the first bolt is configured to extend into a first positioning hole of the one or more first positioning holes.
However, Chen teaches a telescopic partition, comprising a first positioning mechanism comprises a first mounting groove ( Figure 4 the groove of element 32), a first bolt ( Figure 4 element 32), and one or more first positioning holes ( Figure 4 element 111) ; the first mounting groove is arranged at the end of the second lower base ( Right/left element 21 as shown in figure 5), and the one or more first positioning holes are arranged equidistantly on a side wall of a corresponding one of the one or more first vertical rods along a telescoping direction of at least three telescopic partition ( As shown in figure 5 element 111is arranged equidistantly on a side wall of the fist vertical rods); and an end of the first bolt ( 32) is configured to extend into a first positioning hole of the one or more first positioning holes ( See figure 4 where element 32 extends into the hole 111).
It would therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the telescopic partition of Feng as modified by Kaneda with the first positioning mechanism comprises a first mounting groove, a first bolt, and one or more first positioning holes; the first mounting groove is arranged at the end of the second lower base plate, and the one or more first positioning holes are arranged equidistantly on a side wall of a corresponding one of the one or more first vertical rods along a telescoping direction of at least three telescopic partition; and an end of the first bolt is configured to extend into a first positioning hole of the one or more first positioning holes, as taught by CHEN, such modification would provide the benefit of gradually adjusting the heigh of the partition to the desired height.
Feng in view of CHEN does not teach a first end cover, the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove, and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover.
However, VINEY teaches an end cover (14), the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove (Figure 6 shows element 10 to be detachable and can be added to the first mounting groove), and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover (Shown in figure 1 where element 22 goes through the first end cover element 14).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the telescopic partition of Feng as modified by Kaneda and CHEN with a first end cover, the first end cover is detachably connected to an opening of the first mounting groove, and the first bolt slidably extends through the first end cover, as taught by VINEY, such modifications would provide the predictable and advantageous results of securely housing and retaining the internal locking components within the mounting groove, while allowing the cover to be easily detached for assembly, maintenance or replacement of sliding the sidling bolt mechanism.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214996237 U (Feng et al.) in view of US 20130152867 A1 (Kaneda et al.) in further view of CN 213297232 U (Chen) in further GB 2349412 A (VINEY) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US 20130056995 A1 (Hudson et al.).
Regarding Claim 18 Feng in view of Kaneda in further view of CHEN in further of VINEY teach the telescopic partition assembly according to claim 17 but fails to teach the first positioning mechanism further comprises a first pin and a first spring arranged inside the first mounting groove, wherein the first pin extends through the first bolt; and the first spring is sleeved on the first bolt, and has a first end engaged with the first pin and a second end abutting against an inner wall of the first end cover.
However, Hudson et al teaches a first positioning mechanism further comprises a first pin and a first spring arranged inside the first mounting groove (118 U shaped box acting as the grove), wherein the first pin extends through the first bolt ( 130 is inserted into a transverse hole in the sliding pin 122 acting as the first bolt shown in figure 10); and the first spring is sleeved on the first bolt ( 128 is coaxially disposed and positioned over the sliding pin 122 shown in figure 10) , and has a first end engaged with the first pin ( the proximal end of the coil spring 128 is retained by the retaining pin 120, paragraph 27 ) and a second end abutting against an inner wall of the first end cover ( the other end of the coil spring 128 is seated against the distal mounting block 112 acting as the inner wall of the cover).
It would therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the telescopic partition of Feng as modified by Kaneda and CHEN and VINEY to include first positioning mechanism further comprises a first pin and a first spring arranged inside the first mounting groove, wherein the first pin extends through the first bolt; and the first spring is sleeved on the first bolt, and has a first end engaged with the first pin and a second end abutting against an inner wall of the first end cover as taught by Hudson since the simple substitution of one known element( a first pin extending transversely through the first bolt where the spring is sleeved on the first bolt and engaged with the first pin by Hudson) with for another ( a locking piece by CEHN would have yielded predictable results of utilizing the pin to provide secure, retain and tension the biasing spring on the sliding bolt (see KSR Int’’l Co. v. Telefex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1285, 1395-97 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 9-10, 14-15 and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 4-5, 9-10, 14-15 and 19-20, Feng in view of CHEN in further view of VINEY in further view of Kaneda inf Further view of Hudson fails to teach the limitation of the telescopic partition comprising a second positioning mechanism. CHEN and VINEY together fully teaches the first positioning mechanism however they don’t teach antoher positioning mechanism that is above, CHEN only teaches its invention to only have one positioning mechanism that is in a left and right direction and a duplication of parts would require improper hindsight reconstruction of the invention.
Conclusion
/A.H.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678