DETAILED ACTION
This non-final action is responsive to application filed on 04/15/2024. In this application, claims 1-20 are pending, with claims 1, 9 and 15 being independent.
Priority
This application claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/459,876, filed on April 17, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2024 and 11/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 11, 14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek et al. (US 2017/0212530, Pub. Date: Jul. 27, 2017), in view of Park (US 2007/0110058, Pub. Date: May 17, 2007), in view of Hess et al. (US 2022/0069368, Pub. Date: Mar. 3, 2022).
As per claim 1, Potucek discloses a method of self-assigning an IP address to an item of pool or spa equipment (Potucek pg. 61, a network communication subsystem in communication with the processor, the network communication subsystem (i) assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the pump; Potucek para. [0051-0052], the pool and spa equipment 14a-14h could include various types of pool and spa equipment, such as a pump 14a … the subsystems 12a-12h could be installed in pool/ spa equipment (e.g., within the physical housings of the equipment 14a-14h), the method comprising:
selecting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, an IP address (Potucek pg. 61, a network communication subsystem in communication with the processor, the network communication subsystem (i) assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the pump; Potucek para. [0051-0052], the pool and spa equipment 14a-14h could include various types of pool and spa equipment, such as a pump 14a … the subsystems 12a-12h could be installed in pool/ spa equipment (e.g., within the physical housings of the equipment 14a-14h);
completing a startup process by the item of pool or spa equipment ([per specification of examined application, page 15 indicates completing the startup process comprises establishing two-way communication]. Potucek pg. 61, assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the pump and establishing a network connection between the processor and a remote device).
Potucek does not explicitly disclose:
randomly selecting an IP address from a predetermined IP address range;
transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the IP address and a serial number to a target parent node;
listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for a broadcast topology message from the target parent node;
determining, by the item of pool or spa equipment, that the IP address is valid based on the broadcast topology message; and
upon determining that the IP address is valid, completing a startup process.
Park teaches:
randomly selecting an IP address from a predetermined IP address range (Park fig. 4, at steps S404-S405 and para. [0082-0083], The controller 250 acquires one or more IP addresses for the mobile Internet access within the IP address range of the base station A … The controller 250 first selects a specific one of the acquired IP addresses; Park fig. 2, mobile terminal 310 comprises a controller 250);
transmitting, by the equipment, the IP address to a target node (Park fig. 4, step S406 and para. [0085], The controller 250 controls the RF unit 210 to transmit a signal requesting use of the selected IP address to the IP address server [target node] through the base station A (S406));
listening, by the equipment, for a message from the target node (Park fig. 4, ACK received at step S407-YES and para. [0086], If an IP address use permission signal ACK associated with the IP address use request signal from the IP address server is received through the RF unit 210 (S407));
determining, by the equipment, that the IP address is valid based on the message (Park fig. 4 and para. [0086], If an IP address use permission signal ACK associated with the IP address use request signal from the IP address server is received through the RF unit 210 (S407), the controller 250 gains access to the mobile Internet to provide a mobile Internet service to the user; Park para. [0092], The IP address allocation system according to the present invention further comprises an IP address server 530 for receiving the IP address use request signal from the mobile terminal 510 through the base station 520 and determining whether to permit the use of the selected IP address. [Receiving an IP address use permission signal ACK indicates the IP address is valid to use]); and
upon determining that the IP address is valid, completing a startup process (Park fig. 4 and para. [0086], If an IP address use permission signal ACK associated with the IP address use request signal from the IP address server is received through the RF unit 210 (S407), the controller 250 gains access to the mobile Internet to provide a mobile Internet service to the user).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Park in order to incorporate an item of pool or spa equipment for randomly selecting an IP address from a predetermined IP address range; transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the IP address to a target parent node; listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for a message from the target parent node; determining, by the item of pool or spa equipment, that the IP address is valid based on the message; and upon determining that the IP address is valid, completing a startup process by the item of pool or spa equipment.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of determining whether to permit the use of the selected IP address (Park para. [0092]).
Potucek-Park does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting a serial number;
listening for a broadcast topology message.
Hess teaches:
transmitting a serial number (Hess para. [0039], The cell monitoring unit for each CMA may be programmed to automatically upload the log file, or predefined portions thereof, to the WBMS database 116. This preliminary log file may contain a distinct MAC address (or an internet protocol (IP) address), a serial number; Hess para. [0011], the CMAs may be programmed to transmit their respective MAC addresses and ID data to the WBMS database prior to creation of the manager ACL);
listening for a broadcast topology message (Hess para. [0043]. Responsive to a determination that the manager ACL successfully updated (Block 211 =YES), method 200 advances to process block 213 and broadcasts an electronic ping to the individual CMUs of the selected CMAs in order to establish a wireless connection between each CMU and the manager device. For at least some system architectures, the electronic ping may include a network data packet with, among other control and payload information).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Hess for transmitting the IP address and a serial number to a target parent node; listening for a broadcast topology message from the target parent node.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of creating a manager access control list and establishing connection between devices (see Hess para. [0041-0043]).
As per claim 4, Potucek-Park-Hess discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Potucek-Park also discloses completing the startup process comprises establishing two-way communication between the item of pool or spa equipment (Potucek pg 61, assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the pump and establishing a network connection between the processor and a remote device) and the target parent node (Park fig. 4, step S406 and para. [0085], The controller 250 controls the RF unit 210 to transmit a signal requesting use of the selected IP address to the IP address server through the base station A (S406).
Similar rationale in claim 1 is applied.
As per claim 7, Potucek-Park-Hess discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Potucek also discloses wherein the item of pool or spa equipment is selected from the group consisting of a pump (Potucek para. [0051], the pool and spa equipment 14a-14h could include various types of pool and spa equipment, such as a pump 14a), a heater, a cleaner, a light, a cover, a valve, a skimmer, a filter, a chlorinator, and a pH system.
As per claim 9, Potucek discloses a method (Potucek pg. 61, a network communication subsystem in communication with the processor, the network communication subsystem (i) assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the pump) comprising:
determining, by an item of pool or spa equipment, an IP address (Potucek pg. 61, a network communication subsystem in communication with the processor, the network communication subsystem (i) assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the pump; Potucek para. [0051-0052], the pool and spa equipment 14a-14h could include various types of pool and spa equipment, such as a pump 14a … the subsystems 12a-12h could be installed in pool/ spa equipment (e.g., within the physical housings of the equipment 14a-14h);
completing a startup process by the item of pool or spa equipment ([per specification of examined application, page 15 indicates completing the startup process comprises establishing two-way communication]. Potucek pg 61, assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the pump and establishing a network connection between the processor and a remote device).
Potucek does not explicitly disclose:
determining an IP address from a globally unique serial number;
transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the IP address and the globally unique serial number to a target parent node;
listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for a broadcast topology message from the target parent node;
determining, by the item of pool or spa equipment, that the IP address is valid based on the broadcast topology message; and
upon determining that the IP address is valid, completing a startup process.
Park teaches:
determining an IP address from a globally unique serial number (Park para. [0083], The controller 250 first selects a specific one of the acquired IP addresses using any one of an Electronic Serial Number (ESN) and Media Access Control (MAC) address of the mobile terminal; Park fig. 2, mobile terminal 310 comprises a controller 250);
transmitting, by an equipment, the IP address to a target node (Park fig. 4, step S406 and para. [0085], The controller 250 controls the RF unit 210 to transmit a signal requesting use of the selected IP address to the IP address server through the base station A (S406));
listening, by the equipment, for a message from the target node (Park fig. 4, ACK received at step S407-YES and para. [0086], If an IP address use permission signal ACK associated with the IP address use request signal from the IP address server is received through the RF unit 210 (S407));
determining, by the equipment, that the IP address is valid based on the message (Park fig. 4 and para. [0086], If an IP address use permission signal ACK associated with the IP address use request signal from the IP address server is received through the RF unit 210 (S407), the controller 250 gains access to the mobile Internet to provide a mobile Internet service to the user; Park para. [0092], The IP address allocation system according to the present invention further comprises an IP address server 530 for receiving the IP address use request signal from the mobile terminal 510 through the base station 520 and determining whether to permit the use of the selected IP address. [Receiving an IP address use permission signal ACK indicates the IP address is valid to use]); and
upon determining that the IP address is valid, completing a startup process (Park fig. 4 and para. [0086], If an IP address use permission signal ACK associated with the IP address use request signal from the IP address server is received through the RF unit 210 (S407), the controller 250 gains access to the mobile Internet to provide a mobile Internet service to the user).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Park in order to incorporate an item of pool or spa equipment for determining an IP address from a globally unique serial number; transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the IP address to a target parent node; listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for a message from the target parent node; determining, by the item of pool or spa equipment, that the IP address is valid based on the message; and upon determining that the IP address is valid, completing a startup process by the item of pool or spa equipment.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of determining whether to permit the use of the selected IP address (Park para. [0092]).
Potucek-Park does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting the globally unique serial number;
listening for a broadcast topology message.
Hess teaches:
transmitting the globally unique serial number (Hess para. [0039], The cell monitoring unit for each CMA may be programmed to automatically upload the log file, or predefined portions thereof, to the WBMS database 116. This preliminary log file may contain a distinct MAC address (or an internet protocol (IP) address), a serial number; Hess para. [0011], the CMAs may be programmed to transmit their respective MAC addresses and ID data to the WBMS database prior to creation of the manager ACL);
listening for a broadcast topology message (Hess para. [0043]. Responsive to a determination that the manager ACL successfully updated (Block 211 =YES), method 200 advances to process block 213 and broadcasts an electronic ping to the individual CMUs of the selected CMAs in order to establish a wireless connection between each CMU and the manager device. For at least some system architectures, the electronic ping may include a network data packet with, among other control and payload information).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Hess for transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the IP address and the globally unique serial number to a target parent node; listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for a broadcast topology message from the target parent node.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of creating a manager access control list and establishing connection between devices (see Hess para. [0041-0043]).
As per claim 16, Potucek discloses a system (Potucek fig. 2, system 12a-12h) comprising:
a processor (Potucek fig. 2, processor 22); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Potucek fig. 2, non-volatile memory 28) comprising instructions that are executable by the processor to perform operations comprising:
determining, by an item of pool or spa equipment, an IP address (Potucek pg. 61, a network communication subsystem in communication with the processor, the network communication subsystem (i) assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the pump; Potucek para. [0051-0052], the pool and spa equipment 14a-14h could include various types of pool and spa equipment, such as a pump 14a … the subsystems 12a-12h could be installed in pool/ spa equipment (e.g., within the physical housings of the equipment 14a-14h);
completing a startup process by the item of pool or spa equipment ([per specification of examined application, page 15 indicates completing the startup process comprises establishing two-way communication]. Potucek pg. 61, assigning an Internet Protocol (IP) address to the pump and establishing a network connection between the processor and a remote device).
Potucek does not explicitly disclose:
determining an IP address from a globally unique serial number;
transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the IP address and the globally unique serial number to a target parent node;
listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for a broadcast topology message from the target parent node;
determining, by the item of pool or spa equipment, that the IP address is invalid based on the broadcast topology message;
randomly selecting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, an updated IP address from a predetermined IP address range;
transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the updated IP address and the globally unique serial number to the target parent node;
listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for an updated broadcast topology message from the target parent node;
determining, by the item of pool or spa equipment, that the IP address is valid based on the updated broadcast topology message; and
upon determining that the IP address is valid, completing a startup process by the item of pool or spa equipment.
Park teaches:
determining an IP address from a globally unique serial number (Park para. [0083], The controller 250 first selects a specific one of the acquired IP addresses using any one of an Electronic Serial Number (ESN); Park fig. 2, mobile terminal 310 comprises a controller 250);
transmitting, by an equipment, the IP address number to a target node (Park fig. 3, transmitting a request use of selected IP address to IP address server at S305);
listening, by the equipment, for a message from the target node (Park fig. 3, receiving IP address use inhibition NAK at S306);
determining, by the equipment, that the IP address is invalid based on the message (Park fig. 3, receiving IP address use inhibition NAK at S306 and re-select IP address from among acquired IP addresses at S307; Park para. [0092], The IP address allocation system according to the present invention further comprises an IP address server 530 for receiving the IP address use request signal from the mobile terminal 510 through the base station 520 and determining whether to permit the use of the selected IP address. [Receiving IP address use inhibition NAK indicates the IP address is invalid to use]);
randomly selecting, by the equipment, an updated IP address from a predetermined IP address range (Park fig. 3, re-select IP address from among acquired IP addresses at S307 and para. [0053], The controller 250 acquires one or more IP addresses for the mobile Internet access within the IP address range using the identifier information (S303));
transmitting, by the equipment, the updated IP address to the target parent node (Park para. [0074] The controller 250 controls the RF unit 210 to re-transmit a signal requesting use of the re-selected IP address to the IP address server 330 through the base station 320 (S308));
listening, by the equipment, for an updated message from the target node (Park fig.3 at S309 and para. [0076], The controller 250 receives the IP address use permission signal ACK associated with the IP address use request signal from the IP address server 330 through the RF unit 210);
determining, by the equipment, that the IP address is valid based on the updated message (Park para. [0077], The controller 250 provides a mobile Internet service to the user (S310) if the IP address use permission signal ACK associated with the IP address use request signal from the IP address server 330 is received through the RF unit 210 (S309); Park para. [0092], The IP address allocation system according to the present invention further comprises an IP address server 530 for receiving the IP address use request signal from the mobile terminal 510 through the base station 520 and determining whether to permit the use of the selected IP address. [Receiving an IP address use permission signal ACK indicates the IP address is valid to use]); and
upon determining that the IP address is valid, completing a startup process by the equipment (Park para. [0077], 0077] The controller 250 provides a mobile Internet service to the user (S310) if the IP address use permission signal ACK associated with the IP address use request signal from the IP address server 330 is received through the RF unit 210 (S309)).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Park in order to incorporate an item of pool or spa equipment for determining an IP address from a globally unique serial number; transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the IP address to a target parent node; listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for a message from the target parent node; determining, by the item of pool or spa equipment, that the IP address is invalid based on the message; randomly selecting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, an updated IP address from a predetermined IP address range; transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the updated IP address to the target parent node; listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for an updated message from the target parent node; determining, by the item of pool or spa equipment, that the IP address is valid based on the updated message; and upon determining that the IP address is valid, completing a startup process by the item of pool or spa equipment.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of determining whether to permit the use of the selected IP address (Park para. [0092]).
Note: Park teaches listening a message and an updated message (Park fig. 3, at S306 and para. [0076]). However, Potucek-Park does not explicitly disclose a message is a broadcast topology message; an updated message is an updated broadcast topology message and transmitting the globally unique serial number (i.e., transmitting the globally unique serial number; listening for a broadcast topology message; listening for an updated broadcast topology message
Hess teaches:
transmitting serial number (Hess para. [0039], The cell monitoring unit for each CMA may be programmed to automatically upload the log file, or predefined portions thereof, to the WBMS database 116. This preliminary log file may contain a distinct MAC address (or an internet protocol (IP) address), a serial number; Hess para. [0011], the CMAs may be programmed to transmit their respective MAC addresses and ID data to the WBMS database prior to creation of the manager ACL);
listening for a broadcast topology message (Hess para. [0043]. Responsive to a determination that the manager ACL successfully updated (Block 211 =YES), method 200 advances to process block 213 and broadcasts an electronic ping to the individual CMUs of the selected CMAs in order to establish a wireless connection between each CMU and the manager device. For at least some system architectures, the electronic ping may include a network data packet with, among other control and payload information).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Hess for transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the IP address and the globally unique serial number to a target parent node; listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for a broadcast topology message from the target parent node; transmitting, by the item of pool or spa equipment, the updated IP address and the globally unique serial number to the target parent node; and listening, by the item of pool or spa equipment, for an updated broadcast topology message from the target parent node .
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of creating a manager access control list and establishing connection between devices (see Hess para. [0041-0043]).
Per claims 11 and 18, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 4. As such, claims 14 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Per claim 14, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 7. As such, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Claims 2, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek et al. (US 2017/0212530, Pub. Date: Jul. 27, 2017), in view of Park (US 2007/0110058, Pub. Date: May 17, 2007), in view of Hess et al. (US 2022/0069368, Pub. Date: Mar. 3, 2022), in view of Lu et al. (US 2015/0032861, Pub. Date: Jan. 29, 2015).
As per claim 2, Potucek-Park-Hess discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Potucek does not explicitly disclose wherein the IP address comprises an IPv4 network address, and wherein the predetermined IP address range comprises a set of link-local addresses from 169.254.1.0 to 169.254.254.255.
Lu teaches:
IP address comprises an IPv4 network address (Lu para. [0030], an IPv4 network address allocation is illustrated and a specific network address space is used for internal IP address allocation), and wherein the predetermined IP address range comprises a set of link-local addresses from 169.254.1.0 to 169.254.254.255 (Lu para. [0018], in an IPv4 network, the link local address space may be an Automatic Private Internet Protocol Addressing (APIPA) space, which includes addresses from 169.254.1.0 to 169.254.254.255)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Lu for the IP address comprises an IPv4 network address, and wherein the predetermined IP address range comprises a set of link-local addresses from 169.254.1.0 to 169.254.254.255.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of providing an IPv4 network address allocation and a specific network address space is used for internal IP address allocation (see Lu para. [0030]).
Per claims 10 and 17, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 2. As such, claims 10 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek et al. (US 2017/0212530, Pub. Date: Jul. 27, 2017), in view of Park (US 2007/0110058, Pub. Date: May 17, 2007), in view of Hess et al. (US 2022/0069368, Pub. Date: Mar. 3, 2022), in view of Blaine et al. (US 2014/0336821, Pub. Date: Nov. 13, 2014).
As per claim 3, Potucek-Park-Hess discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Potucek does not explicitly disclose wherein the target parent node comprises an automation controller of the pool or spa equipment.
Blaine teaches:
target parent node comprises an automation controller of the pool or spa equipment (Blaine fig. 1, controller 160 and para. [0022], FIG. 1 is a diagram of a pool or spa pump system 100 with a plurality of networked pool or spa devices 110-150 connected to a controller 160. The controller 160 could be a central pool/spa system controller).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Blaine for the target parent node comprises an automation controller of the pool or spa equipment.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of providing operational control of pool/spa system (Blaine para. [0023]).
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek et al. (US 2017/0212530, Pub. Date: Jul. 27, 2017), in view of Park (US 2007/0110058, Pub. Date: May 17, 2007), in view of Hess et al. (US 2022/0069368, Pub. Date: Mar. 3, 2022), in view of Yamada et al. (US 2008/0052647, Pub. Date: Feb. 28, 2008).
As per claim 5, Potucek-Park-Hess discloses the method according to claim 4, as set forth above, Potucek does not explicitly disclose wherein messages communicated in the two-way communication are formatted and transported using Serial Line Internet Protocol (SLIP).
Yamada teaches:
messages communicated in the two-way communication are formatted and transported using Serial Line Internet Protocol (SLIP) (Yamada para. [0216], the connection is established between these computers by a communications scheme such as SLIP (Serial Line Internet Protocol) or PPP (Point to Point Protocol)).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Yamada for the target parent node comprises an automation controller of the pool or spa equipment.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of simplicity, minimal processing overhead.
Per claims 12 and 19, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 5. As such, claims 12 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek et al. (US 2017/0212530, Pub. Date: Jul. 27, 2017), in view of Park (US 2007/0110058, Pub. Date: May 17, 2007), in view of Hess et al. (US 2022/0069368, Pub. Date: Mar. 3, 2022), in view of Zhou (CN101031093A, Pub. Date: September 05, 2007).
As per claim 6, Potucek-Park-Hess discloses the method according to claim 4, as set forth above, Potucek does not explicitly disclose the broadcast topology message from the target parent node comprises an indication of valid IP address and serial number pairs of a set of items of pool or spa equipment.
Zhou teaches:
broadcast topology message from a node comprises an indication of valid IP address and serial number pairs of a set of terminals (Zhou para. [0009], The management console sends the serial numbers and IP addresses of the multiple terminals to each terminal respectively).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Zhou for broadcasting topology message from the target parent node comprises an indication of valid IP address and serial number pairs of a set of items of pool or spa equipment.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of maintaining the correct identity of devices.
Per claims 13 and 20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 6. As such, claims 13 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek et al. (US 2017/0212530, Pub. Date: Jul. 27, 2017), in view of Park (US 2007/0110058, Pub. Date: May 17, 2007), in view of Hess et al. (US 2022/0069368, Pub. Date: Mar. 3, 2022), in view of Dutt et al. (US 2019/0219294, Pub. Date: Jul. 18, 2019).
As per claim 8, Potucek-Park-Hess discloses the method according to claim 4, as set forth above, Potucek does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
receiving, by the item of pool or spa equipment, a discovery message from the target parent node requesting IP addresses from all unregistered items of pool or spa equipment, wherein the IP address is randomly selected by the item of pool or spa equipment in response to receiving the discovery message.
Dutt teaches:
receiving, by a node, a discovery message from the target parent node requesting IP addresses (Dutt fig. 4, Receive A Query From Master Device Requesting Whether Any Slave Device Is Using The Default Unconfigured Address at step 403 and para. [0046], in step 403 slave device 102 may receive a query from the master device [target parent node] requesting whether the slave device is using the default reserved address. In some embodiments, the query may be a global query to all slave devices on network 101) from all unregistered nodes (Dutt para. [0011], the master device will continuously monitor the networked addresses to detect the addition of a new device and the master device will command the new device to enter an address selection round; Dutt para. [0043], The master device may use processing circuitry 220 to save the received address from the slave device to memory 210. The received address from the slave device may be saved to the memory 210 in a table. For example, the received address may be saved to the memory 210 along with other stored addresses from other slave devices, these addresses may be saved in a Modbus map), wherein the IP address is randomly selected by the node in response to receiving the discovery message (Dutt fig. 4 and para. [0052-53], in step 409 the slave device will select an address from the list of available addresses provided by the master device in step 406 to be used as the slave device's address … rather than configuring the master device to provide the list of unused/available addresses in step 406, the slave device may be pre-configured to perform random address selection from a predetermined pool of addresses (e.g., the pool may comprise any address in the range of addresses included on network 101).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Potucek with the teaching of Dutt for receiving, by the item of pool or spa equipment, a discovery message from the target parent node requesting IP addresses from all unregistered items of pool or spa equipment, wherein the IP address is randomly selected by the item of pool or spa equipment in response to receiving the discovery message.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of continuously monitoring the starting address for the presence of devices and automatic assignment of device addresses (Dutt para. [0001&0018]).
Per claim 15, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 8. As such, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Naka et al. (US 2020/0015307) Non-Transitory Computer-Readable Recording Medium Storing Computer-Readable Instructions For Terminal Device, Terminal Device, And Communication Device;
Kunimoto (US 2022/0129216) Terminal Apparatus And Non-Transitory Computer-Readable Medium;
Huffington et al. (US 2002/0069460) Flexible SPA Control System And Method Of Using Same.
/VINH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453