DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duong et al. (US 2010/0180607).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Duong, Figures 1, and 3-9 & Figure 2 as annotated by Examiner below)
Duong et al. (Duong) discloses:
A hydrogen fueling station including a cryogenic pump, the cryogenic pump comprising:
a cold end portion base plate (A);
a cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12) attached to the cold end portion base plate (A) and extending away from the cold end portion base plate (A) (See Duong, Paragraph [0024] w/respect to Dewar assembly);
a first hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B) positioned within the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12);
a second hydrogen pump cylinder (28,C) positioned within the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12), the second hydrogen pump cylinder (28,C) oriented parallel to the first hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B);
a first hydraulic cylinder (18,D) positioned outside of the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12) and aligned with the first hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B), the cold end portion base plate (A) positioned between the first hydraulic cylinder (18,D) and the first hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B) (See Duong, Paragraphs [0024] & [0029] w/respect to hydraulic linear actuators and said actuators will include a cylinder); and
a second hydraulic cylinder (18,E) located outside of the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12) and adjacent to, and oriented parallel to, the first hydraulic cylinder (18,D) and aligned with the second hydrogen pump cylinder (28,C), the cold end portion base plate (A) positioned between the second hydraulic cylinder (18,E) and the second hydrogen pump cylinder (28,C). (See Duong, Paragraphs [0024] & [0029] w/respect to hydraulic linear actuators and said actuators will include a cylinder).
The Examiner notes that a Dewar storage tank is a well-known cryogenic vacuum jacket insulated storage tank. Additionally, the Examiner notes that the claim recitations merely require the baseplate (A) between positioned between hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B-C) and hydraulic cylinder (18,D-E), accordingly baseplate (A) is positioned between the elements in the vertical direction. Finally, the cold end portion base plate is attached to the vacuum insulated jacket via the other components of the pump assembly.
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Duong, Figures 1, and 3-9 & Figure 2 as annotated by Examiner below)
Duong discloses:
A cryogenic pump comprising:
a cold end portion base plate (A);
a cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12) attached to the cold end portion base plate (A) and extending away from the cold end portion base plate (A) (See Duong, Paragraph [0024] w/respect to Dewar assembly);
a first hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B) positioned within the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12);
a second hydrogen pump cylinder (28,C) positioned within the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12), the second hydrogen pump cylinder (28,C) oriented parallel to the first hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B);
a first hydraulic cylinder (18,D) positioned outside of the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12) and aligned with the first hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B), the cold end portion base plate (A) positioned between the first hydraulic cylinder (18,D) and the first hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B) (See Duong, Paragraphs [0024] & [0029] w/respect to hydraulic linear actuators and said actuators will include a cylinder); and
a second hydraulic cylinder (18,E) located outside of the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (12) and adjacent to, and oriented parallel to, the first hydraulic cylinder (18,D) and aligned with the second hydrogen pump cylinder (28,C), the cold end portion base plate (A) positioned between the second hydraulic cylinder (18,E) and the second hydrogen pump cylinder (28,C). (See Duong, Paragraphs [0024] & [0029] w/respect to hydraulic linear actuators and said actuators will include a cylinder).
The Examiner notes that a Dewar storage tank is a well-known cryogenic vacuum jacket insulated storage tank. Additionally, the Examiner notes that the claim recitations merely require the baseplate (A) between positioned between hydrogen pump cylinder (28,B-C) and hydraulic cylinder (18,D-E), accordingly baseplate (A) is positioned between the elements in the vertical direction. Finally, the cold end portion base plate is attached to the vacuum insulated jacket via the other components of the pump assembly.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brasche et al. (US 2017/0058878).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Brasche, Figures 1-3, and 5-10 & Figure 4 as annotated by Examiner below)
Brasche et al. (Brasche) discloses:
A hydrogen fueling station including a cryogenic pump, the cryogenic pump comprising:
a cold end portion base plate (A);
a cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121) attached to the cold end portion base plate (A) and extending away from the cold end portion base plate (A) (See Brasche, Paragraph [0019]);
a first hydrogen pump cylinder (B) positioned within the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121) (See Brasche, Paragraph [0030]);
a second hydrogen pump cylinder (C) positioned within the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121), the second hydrogen pump cylinder (C) oriented parallel to the first hydrogen pump cylinder (B) (See Brasche, Paragraph [0030]);
a first hydraulic cylinder (D) positioned outside of the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121) and aligned with the first hydrogen pump cylinder (B), the cold end portion base plate (A) positioned between the first hydraulic cylinder (D) and the first hydrogen pump cylinder (B) (See Brasche, Paragraphs [0026]-[0027]); and
a second hydraulic cylinder (E) located outside of the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121) and adjacent to, and oriented parallel to, the first hydraulic cylinder (D) and aligned with the second hydrogen pump cylinder (C), the cold end portion base plate (A) positioned between the second hydraulic cylinder (E) and the second hydrogen pump cylinder (C). (See Brasche, Paragraphs [0026]-[0027]).
The Examiner notes that components located within cavity (117) are separated from the components/fluid within the tank chamber (105) and therefore are positioned outside of the cylindrical insulated jacket. (See Brasche, Paragraph [0019]).
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Brasche, Figures 1-3, and 5-10 & Figure 4 as annotated by Examiner below)
Brasche discloses:
A cryogenic pump comprising:
a cold end portion base plate (A);
a cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121) attached to the cold end portion base plate (A) and extending away from the cold end portion base plate (A) (See Brasche, Paragraph [0019]);
a first hydrogen pump cylinder (B) positioned within the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121) (See Brasche, Paragraph [0030]);
a second hydrogen pump cylinder (C) positioned within the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121), the second hydrogen pump cylinder (C) oriented parallel to the first hydrogen pump cylinder (B) (See Brasche, Paragraph [0030]);
a first hydraulic cylinder (D) positioned outside of the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121) and aligned with the first hydrogen pump cylinder (B), the cold end portion base plate (A) positioned between the first hydraulic cylinder (D) and the first hydrogen pump cylinder (B) (See Brasche, Paragraphs [0026]-[0027]); and
a second hydraulic cylinder (E) located outside of the cylindrical insulated vacuum jacket (103,107,113,121) and adjacent to, and oriented parallel to, the first hydraulic cylinder (D) and aligned with the second hydrogen pump cylinder (C), the cold end portion base plate (A) positioned between the second hydraulic cylinder (E) and the second hydrogen pump cylinder (C). (See Brasche, Paragraphs [0026]-[0027]).
The Examiner notes that components located within cavity (117) are separated from the components/fluid within the tank chamber (105) and therefore are positioned outside of the cylindrical insulated jacket. (See Brasche, Paragraph [0019]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “wherein: a portion of a supply header extends through the cold end portion base plate; the portion of the supply header is in fluid communication with the first hydrogen pump cylinder and the second hydrogen pump cylinder; a portion of a discharge header extends through the cold end portion base plate; and the portion of the discharge header is in fluid communication with the first hydrogen pump cylinder and the second hydrogen pump cylinder.” In claims 2 and 10, respectively. Specifically, no portion of the supply header extends through the cold end portion baseplate the prior art of record, alone or in combination, as the supply header is a bottom plate not located between the hydraulic and pump cylinders.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pre-appeal brief, filed 26 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 under 103 to Brown and Zwick have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Duong and Brasche.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hatami, Stockner, Noble, and Tschopp show hydrogen cryogenic pumping devices within the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746