DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0210350 by Kim et al. (“Kim”).
As for claim 1, Kim discloses a sensor for selectively detecting a volatile organic compound (VOC) vapor, comprising:
an insulating substrate (110);
a pair of interdigitated electrodes (112, 114) disposed on the insulating substrate;
a sensing layer (120) of a semi-conductive material (paragraph [0036]) disposed on (paragraph [0033]) the pair of interdigitated electrodes, the sensing layer (120) exhibiting an electrical property that is dependent on the concentration of the VOC vapor to which the sensing layer is exposed (paragraph [0036]); and
a filtering layer (130) of a polymer (paragraph [0043]) or metal organic framework disposed on the sensing layer, the filtering layer (130) enhancing selectivity of the sensing layer to the VOC vapor (paragraphs [0044] and [0051]-[0057]),
wherein the filtering layer (130) modifies interaction between the VOC vapor and the sensing layer (paragraphs [0051]-[0057]).
As for claim 2, Kim discloses that the electrical property is conductivity (paragraph [0036]), capacitance, or inductance.
As for claim 8, Kim discloses that the filtering layer (130) modifies the interaction of the VOC vapor with the sensing layer by modifying surface chemistry of the sensing layer (paragraphs [0044] and [0051]-[0057]).
As for claim 13, Kim discloses a system for selectively sensing a volatile organic compound (VOC) vapor, comprising: a plurality of sensors, each sensor according to claim 1 (paragraphs [0025] and [0030]).
As for claim 14, Kim discloses a control unit (210), wherein for each sensor of the plurality of sensors, the control unit:
induces an electric current to flow through each sensor (paragraph [0068]); and
generates a concentration measurement of the VOC vapor based on the electrical property (step 440 and paragraph [0036]).
As for claim 15, Kim discloses a method for selectively detecting a volatile organic compound (VOC) vapor, comprising:
exposing a sensor to an environment in need of detecting the VOC vapor, the sensor comprising
an insulating substrate (110),
a pair of interdigitated electrodes (112, 114) disposed on the insulating substrate a sensing layer (120) of a semi-conductive material (paragraph [0036]) disposed on (paragraph [0033]) the pair of interdigitated electrodes, the sensing layer (120) exhibiting an electrical property that is dependent on a concentration of the VOC vapor to which the sensing layer is exposed (paragraph [0036]), and
a filtering layer (130) of a polymer (paragraph [0043]) or metal organic framework disposed on the sensing layer, the filtering layer (130) enhancing a selectivity of the sensing layer to the VOC vapor (paragraphs [0044] and [0051]-[0057]); and
generating a signal (step 440) when the sensor is exposed to a sample of the VOC vapor having a gas density, gas concentration, or gas partial pressure greater than or equal to a VOC vapor detection threshold of the sensor (inherent);
wherein the sensor has a VOC vapor detection limit that spans a detection range (inherent).
As for claim 16, Kim discloses that the method is carried out at a temperature of 30 °C or lower (paragraph [0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0025271 by Yan et al. (“Yan”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0124556 by BelBruno et al. (“BelBruno”) and CN 111638252 by Xie et al. (“Xie”).
As for claim 1, Yan discloses a sensor for selectively detecting a volatile organic compound (VOC) vapor, comprising:
an insulating substrate (110);
a pair of electrodes (120) disposed on the insulating substrate;
a sensing layer (130) of a semi-conductive material (paragraph [0017]) disposed on the pair of interdigitated electrodes, the sensing layer exhibiting an electrical property that is dependent on the concentration of the VOC vapor to which the sensing layer is exposed (paragraph [0017]); and
a filtering layer (140) of a polymer or metal organic framework (paragraph [0018]) disposed on the sensing layer, the filtering layer enhancing the selectivity of the sensing layer to the VOC vapor (paragraph [0018]).
Yan does not disclose that the electrodes are interdigitated electrodes.
However, BelBruno discloses electrodes (330) that are interdigitated electrodes (paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the electrodes of Yan to be interdigitated as disclosed by BelBruno in order to ensure good spatial averaging (BelBruno: paragraph [0032]).
Yan as modified by BelBruno does not explicitly disclose that the filtering layer modifies the interaction between the VOC vapor and the sensing layer because Yan as modified by BelBruno does not disclose that the filtering layer comprises ZIF-8.
However, Xie discloses a filtering layer that comprises ZIF-8 (Xie: ZIF-8; see the paragraph beginning ”As a preference, the hole diameter of the metal organic frame coating is greater …”).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the metal organic framework of Yan and BelBruno to be made of non-conductive ZIF-8 on order to improve sensing selectivity (Xie: see the paragraph beginning ”As a preference, the hole diameter of the metal organic frame coating is greater …”).
Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses that the filtering layer modifies the interaction between the VOC vapor and the sensing layer (Since Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses a sensor with the same structure as the disclosed invention, the sensor performs the same function).
As for claim 2, Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses that the electrical property is conductivity (Yan: paragraph [0017]), capacitance, or inductance.
As for claim 6, Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses that the semi-conductive material of the sensing layer is a metal salt or metal oxide (Yan: paragraph [0017]).
As for claim 7, Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses that the semi-conductive material of the sensing layer is tin oxide (SnO₂) (Yan: paragraph [0017]).
As for claim 9, Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses that the filtering layer comprises a non-conductive metal organic framework that is non-conductive (Xie: ZIF-8; see the paragraph beginning ”As a preference, the hole diameter of the metal organic frame coating is greater …”).
As for claim 10, Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses that the filtering layer comprises ZIF-7, ZIF-8 (Xie: ZIF-8; see the paragraph beginning ”As a preference, the hole diameter of the metal organic frame coating is greater …”), ZIF-67, ZIF-L, HKUST-1, and/or UIO-66.
As for claim 13, Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses system for selectively sensing a volatile organic compound (VOC) vapor, comprising: a plurality of sensors (Yan: paragraph [0041]), each sensor according to claim 1.
As for claim 14, Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses a control unit (Yan:660), wherein for each sensor of the plurality of sensors, the control unit:
induces an electric current to flow through each sensor (Yan: paragraph [0027]); and
generates a concentration measurement of the VOC vapor based on the electrical property (Yan: paragraph [0027]).
Claims 3-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0025271 by Yan et al. (“Yan”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0124556 by BelBruno et al. (“BelBruno”) and CN 111638252 by Xie et al. (“Xie”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0326168 by BelBruno et al. (“BelBruno ‘168”).
As for claim 3, Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses the sensor of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie does not disclose that the electrical property changes as recited.
However, BelBruno ‘168 discloses that an electrical property of a sensing layer increases or decreases by a first level with increasing concentration of an aldehyde (see Table 1) and the electrical property of the sensing layer increases or decreases by a second level with increasing concentration of a non-aldehyde VOC vapor (see Table 1), the first level being different from the second level.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the sensor of Yan and BelBruno and Xie such that the electrical property of the sensor changes as disclosed by BelBruno ‘168 in order to be more responsive to a desired target than a potentially interfering molecule (BelBruno ‘168: paragraph [0083]) and to detect formaldehyde (BelBruno ‘168: paragraph [0043]).
As for claim 4, Yan as modified by Bel Bruno, Xie and BelBruno ‘168 discloses that n the non-aldehyde VOC vapor is water (BelBruno ‘168: see Table 1), an alcohol, acetone, or ammonia.
As for claim 5, Yan as modified by Bel Bruno and BelBruno ‘168 discloses that
the aldehyde is formaldehyde (BelBruno ‘168: see Table 1), acetaldehyde, or glutaraldehyde.
As for claim 12, Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie discloses the sensor of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1) and that the semi-conductive material of the sensing layer is tin oxide (SnO₂)(Yan: paragraph [0017]) and that the filtering layer comprises a non-conductive (Xie: ZIF-8; see the paragraph beginning ”As a preference, the hole diameter of the metal organic frame coating is greater …”) metal organic framework (Yan: paragraph [0018]).
Yan as modified by BelBruno and Xie does not disclose that the electrical property changes as recited.
However, BelBruno ‘168 discloses that an electrical property of a sensing layer increases or decreases by a first level with increasing concentration of an aldehyde (see Table 1) and the electrical property of the sensing layer increases or decreases by a second level with increasing concentration of a non-aldehyde VOC vapor (see Table 1), the first level being different from the second level.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the sensor of Yan, BelBruno and Xie such that the electrical property of the sensor changes as disclosed by BelBruno ‘168 in order to be more responsive to a desired target than a potentially interfering molecule (BelBruno ‘168: paragraph [0083]) and to detect formaldehyde (BelBruno ‘168: paragraph [0043]).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0025271 by Yan et al. (“Yan”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0124556 by BelBruno et al. (“BelBruno”).
As for claim 15, Yan discloses a method for selectively detecting a volatile organic compound (VOC) vapor, comprising:
exposing a sensor to an environment in need of detecting the VOC vapor (see Fig. 1), the sensor comprising
an insulating substrate (110),
a pair of electrodes (120) disposed on the insulating substrate,
a sensing layer (130) of a semi-conductive material (paragraph [0017]) disposed on the pair of interdigitated electrodes, the sensing layer exhibiting an electrical property that is dependent on a concentration of the VOC vapor to which the sensing layer is exposed (paragraph [0017]), and
a filtering layer (140) of a polymer or metal organic framework (paragraph [0018]) disposed on the sensing layer, the filtering layer enhancing a selectivity of the sensing layer to the VOC vapor (paragraph [0018]); and
generating a signal (paragraph [0027]) when the sensor is exposed to a sample of the VOC vapor having a gas density, gas concentration, or gas partial pressure greater than or equal to a VOC vapor detection threshold of the sensor (inherent);
wherein the sensor has a VOC vapor detection limit that spans a detection range (inherent).
Yan does not disclose that the electrodes are interdigitated electrodes.
However, BelBruno discloses electrodes (330) that are interdigitated electrodes (paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the electrodes of Yan to be interdigitated as disclosed by BelBruno in order to ensure good spatial averaging (BelBruno: paragraph [0032]).
As for claim 16, Yan as modified by BelBruno discloses that the method is carried out at a temperature of 30 °C or lower (Yan: paragraph [0031]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Kim does not disclose that the filtering layer modifies interaction between the VOC vapor and the sensing layer. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim discloses this function in paragraphs [0051]-[0057].
On page 8 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Yan does not disclose that the filtering layer modifies interaction between the VOC vapor and the sensing layer. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 regarding the rejection using Yan and BelBruno have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853