DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US 5,534,788).
With regard to claims 1 & 2, Smith, in Figures 1 & 6, discloses an overcurrent protection method (column 3, lines 5-12) comprising: using a sensing circuit (134) that, in response to an overcurrent condition being present at a current node, detects a current; using a current-mode comparator (column 7, lines 6-26 teaches that sense circuit may comprise a current mode comparator) to convert the current to a control signal (654); and using a control circuit (136) that, in response receiving the control signal, turns off a set of switching devices that are coupled to a to-be-protected current node to create a high-impedance electrical path between the current node and the to-be-protected current node (column 5, lines 5-23) (re claim 1), wherein the overcurrent condition is a current level outside of an operating current range of the to-be-protected current node (column 1, lines 12-16 teaches that the overcurrent condition can damage or compromise the safety of the device which would necessarily have an overcurrent limit that reacts within the operating range to prevent damage) (re claim 2).
With regard to claims 8, 9 & 14, Smith, in Figure 1, discloses a dual-polarity high-current protection circuit (column 5, lines 5-23 teaches that over current protection is provided in both directions thus providing dual polarity protection) comprising: a protection circuit coupled to a to-be-protected current node and an output current node (node coupled to sense resistor 122); a current sensing circuit (134) that, in response to sensing an overcurrent condition present at the output current node , generates an output signal indicative of the overcurrent condition; and a control circuit (136) coupled to the current sensing circuit, the control circuit, in response to receiving the output signal, causes the protection circuit to assume a high impedance to isolate the to-be-protected current node from the overcurrent condition (column 5, lines 5-23) (re claim 8), wherein the overcurrent condition is a current level outside of an operating current range of the to-be-protected current node (column 1, lines 12-16 teaches that the overcurrent condition can damage or compromise the safety of the device which would necessarily have an overcurrent limit that reacts within the operating range to prevent damage) (re claim 9), wherein the current sensing circuit comprises a switch (604 of Fig. 6) coupled to the output current node, the switch generating the output signal in form of a current (re claim 14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10-13 & 15-19 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest an overcurrent protection method comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with the sensing circuit being a current sensing circuit and the control signal is a state signal that controls a set of bias currents.
Claims 4-7 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because they depend on claim 3 which would also be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest an overcurrent protection method comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with the protection circuit comprises two sets of switches, each set comprising opposing body diodes.
Claims 11 & 19 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because they depend on claim 10 which would also be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest an overcurrent protection method comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with the operating current range being controlled by an output stage state of an operational amplifier that is coupled to the to-be-protected current node.
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because it depends on claim 12 which would also be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a circuit comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with an additional current sensing circuit coupled to the current sensing circuit, the additional current sensing circuit, in response to receiving the current, outputs a state signal that controls a set of bias currents.
Claims 16-18 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because they depend on claim 15 which would also be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowable.
Claim 20 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a switch network for bidirectional high-current protection of a current node comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with generating a low-level signal to control bias currents to cause the two sets of switches to turn on, such that a current flowing between the to-be-protected current node and the output current node is determined by on-resistances of the two sets of switches and a load voltage present at the output current node; and in response to the current at the output current node falling outside the current range, a drain current exceeding a current value causing a corresponding comparator in the set of comparators generating a high-level signal that causes the bias currents and, thus, the two sets of switches to turn off, thereby, creating a high-impedance path between the to-be-protected current node and the output current node, the current at the to-be-protected current node being controlled by an output stage state of an operational amplifier to be within the current range, the current at the output current node assuming values between a lower current threshold and a higher current threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hogari (US 2002/0017896), Hasegawa (US 5,789,900), Suzuki (US 9,172,261) and Kim (US 10,389,148) all teach circuits that provide overcurrent protection using dual polarity switches.
/Scott Bauer/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838