DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 05/26/2026. Claims 1 is canceled. Claims 2, 15 have been amended. Presently, Claims 2-18 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Previous rejections under 35 USC § 112(a) are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 05/26/2026. As noted in the previous office action filed on 02/24/2026, on page 3, “a change in scope in view of the requested corrections will require further search and consideration.”. Accordingly, the amendment field on 05/26/2026, change the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities and should recite:
Claim 9: line 2, “ultraviolet (UV)-transmitting material”.
Claim 11: line 2, “ultraviolet (UV)-transmitting material”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 15, 17-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitzumoto et al (US 6,115,147 A1) in view of Lin (US 5467228).
Claim 2: Mitzumoto discloses, An mount (support base 60, FIG. 5) for a plurality of sensors (line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r, FIG. 5) and a lens assembly (condenser lens 30) of an imaging system ([Abstract], ‘An image reading apparatus has line sensors for optically reading an image carried on an image placed on a subject table and producing an image signal.’), comprising:
a sensor assembly comprising the plurality of sensors (line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r, FIG.5) and one or more prisms (prisms 66b, 66g, 66r, FIG. 5) ([Col. 5 l.10-17], ‘As shown in FIG. 5, dichroic filters 146a, 146b are disposed between the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r on the bracket 64 for dividing the illuminating light L into light rays having different wavelengths representing colors B (blue), G (green), R (red), and guiding these light rays respectively to the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r. The line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r serve to photoelectrically convert the respective light rays corresponding electric signals’; [Col. 6 l.28-29], ‘The line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r are fixedly mounted on the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r, respectively.’; [Col 11-Col 12 l.67 to L1-5], ‘The condenser lens 30 converges the transmitted light onto the transducer 28. In the transducer 28, the transmitted light is divided by the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r into respective light rays, which are led to the respective line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r that convert the light rays into respective electric signals.’),
-Note; in view of the Applicant’s specification FIG. 3F the Lens Assembly is fixed. Accordingly, Mitzumoto discloses [Col 6, lines 2-4], ‘the transducer 28 and the condenser lens 30 are fixed to a reference place 42 that is secured to a lower surface of the partition 40’).
-The sensor assembly configuration comprises sensors 26b, 26g, 26r and prisms 66b, 66g, 66r all fixed to each other, FIG. 2. The individual sensors and prims are mounted on different planes with respect to the condenser lens 30, lens assembly, resulting in a tilted configuration (and thus, the sensor with respect to the lens assembly of the imaging system).
Mitzumoto further discloses, the prisms and line sensors are secured to a platform view screws, [Col. 9 l.1-9], ‘the bracket 64 on which the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r and the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r are mounted is fixed to the lower surface of the vibratory base 62. Specifically, the upper surface of the bracket 64 and the lower surface of the vibratory base 62 are held against each other, and the bracket 64 is positioned on the vibratory base 62, after which screws 144 are threaded through the bracket 64 into the vibratory base 62. The installation of the attachment unit 88 on the support base 60, and the installation of the bracket 64 on the vibratory base 62 are now completed.’)
Mitzumoto fails to disclose:
An adjustable mount for aligning an assembly comprising:
wherein the sensor assembly is configured to be tilted about at least one axis, and
wherein the convex surface of the sensor assembly and the sensor combined with the lenses rotate about an axis of rotation that passes through, such that the elements contained/held/supported by the sensor assembly is translationally fixed at the axis of rotation during rotation while the sensor combined with the lenses rotate by adjusting an orientation of the sensor assembly relative to the platform.
However, Lin in the context of adjustable photosensitive elements discloses,
wherein the sensor assembly (core member 2 combined with socket shell 3, which holds the sensor components (photosensitive element (100), lenses (24, 32, etc.)) is configured to be tilted about at least one axis with respect to the assembly (the integral features involved with the mounting holes, [Col. 2 l.4-6], ‘mounting holes 15 spaced around the border for mounting on the wall, ceiling, etc., by screws, and a center through hole 13 through the center of the half-round recess 14’) (FIG. 2) of the system, and
a platform (base 1) having a first shape, wherein the sensor assembly (2,3) has a second shape that is corresponding and complementary to the first shape of the platform (FIG. 2), wherein the second shape comprises a convex surface, (See FIG. 2 highlighted below)
wherein the convex surface of the sensor assembly and the sensor (100) combined with the lenses (24, 25) rotate about an axis of rotation that passes through (when viewing FIG. 1 and 2 of Lin), such that the elements (i.e., 100, 24, 25) contained/held/supported by the sensor assembly (2, 3) is translationally fixed (See below) at the axis of rotation during rotation while the sensor (100) combined with the lenses (24, 25) rotate by adjusting an orientation of the sensor assembly relative (2,3) to the platform (1).
Specifically, the base frame 1 (the platform) and a sensor assembly comprising the core member 2 and socket shell 3. The core member 2 is connected to the base frame 1 via the ball and socket joint, where the ball head 21 at the top of the core member is received and turned within the recess 14 of the ball socket 12 on the base frame, see Lin, col. 2, lines 40-42. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the ball and socket joint restricts linear translation, the ball does not translate in the x/y direction (i.e., does not slide laterally or move out of the socket) while permitting rotational and angular movement in multiple dimensions, see Lin, col. 2, lines 1-42 & Abstract & Summary of the Invention, Col 2, lines 37-53. The physical center of the ball head is a fixed pivot point (i.e., the interaction of the axes of rotation). Consequently, the sensor assembly (2,3) remains translationally fixed at its axes/point of rotation relative to the platform (1) during its angular adjustment. Furthermore, the core member 2 and the socket shell 3 (i.e., the sensor assembly) pivot dynamically as a single body relative to the base 1 (i.e., the platform). This movement “chang[s] the detecting angle of the photosensitive element [...] by pivoting the core member relative to the base frame”- Summary of the Invention, Col 2, lines 37-53. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation this teaches the by adjusting an orientation of the sensor assembly relative to the platform.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor assembly of Mitzumoto to incorporate the platform and teachings of Lin for the advantage of providing an improved system being able to provide adjustment of the detecting direction of the sensor, as suggested by (see Lin, col. 2, lines 40-42). The modified combination would disclose: An adjustable mount for aligning a plurality of sensors and a lens assembly of an imaging system, comprising: a sensor assembly comprising the plurality of sensors and one or more prisms, wherein the sensor assembly is configured to be tilted about at least one axis with respect to the lens assembly of the imaging system, and a platform having a first shape, wherein the sensor assembly has a second shape that is corresponding and complementary to the first shape of the platform, wherein the second shape comprises a convex surface, wherein the convex surface of the sensor assembly and the plurality of sensors rotate about an axis of rotation that passes through one of the one or more prisms, such that the one of the one or more prisms is translationally fixed at the axis of rotation during rotation while the plurality of sensors rotate by adjusting an orientation of the sensor assembly relative to the platform.
Claim 3: Mitzumoto as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 2, Mitzumoto fails to disclose: wherein the first shape comprises a concave surface.
However, Lin is relied upon above discloses, wherein the first shape comprises a concave surface. (see FIG. 2 highlighted above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first shape of modified Mitzuomoto to comprise a concave surface as taught by Lin for the advantage of providing an improved system being able to provide adjustment of the detecting direction of the sensor, as suggested by (see Lin, col. 2, lines 40-42).
Claim 4: Mitzumoto as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 2, Mitzumoto discloses the sensor assembly comprising the plurality of sensors and one or more prisms (prisms 66b, 66g, 66r, FIG. 5) ([Col. 5 l.10-17], ‘As shown in FIG. 5, dichroic filters 146a, 146b are disposed between the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r on the bracket 64 for dividing the illuminating light L into light rays having different wavelengths representing colors B (blue), G (green), R (red), and guiding these light rays respectively to the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r. The line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r serve to photoelectrically convert the respective light rays corresponding electric signals’; [Col. 6 l.28-29], ‘The line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r are fixedly mounted on the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r, respectively.’; [Col 11-Col 12 l.67 to L1-5], ‘The condenser lens 30 converges the transmitted light onto the transducer 28. In the transducer 28, the transmitted light is divided by the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r into respective light rays, which are led to the respective line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r that convert the light rays into respective electric signals.’)
Mizumoto fails to disclose: wherein the at least one axis comprises two axes about which the sensor assembly is configured to be tilted via a movement of the sensor assembly relative to the platform.
However, Lin is relied above discloses: wherein the at least one axis comprises two axes about which the sensor assembly is configured to be tilted via a movement of the sensor assembly relative to the platform. Specifically, the base frame 1 (the platform) and a sensor assembly comprising the core member 2 and socket shell 3. The core member 2 is connected to the base frame 1 via the ball and socket joint, where the ball head 21 at the top of the core member is received and turned within the recess 14 of the ball socket 12 on the base frame, see Lin, col. 2, lines 40-42. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the ball and socket joint restricts linear translation, the ball does not translate in the x/y direction (i.e., does not slide laterally or move out of the socket) while permitting rotational and angular movement in multiple dimensions, see Lin, col. 2, lines 1-42 & Abstract & Summary of the Invention, Col 2, lines 37-53. The physical center of the ball head is a fixed pivot point (i.e., the interaction of the axes of rotation). Consequently, the sensor assembly (2,3) remains translationally fixed at its axes/point of rotation relative to the platform (1) during its angular adjustment. Furthermore, the core member 2 and the socket shell 3 (i.e., the sensor assembly) pivot dynamically as a single body relative to the base 1 (i.e., the platform). This movement “chang[s] the detecting angle of the photosensitive element [...] by pivoting the core member relative to the base frame”- Summary of the Invention, Col 2, lines 37-53. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation this teaches the by adjusting an orientation of the sensor assembly relative to the platform. Accordingly, such a ball-socket-mechanism would teach wherein the at least one axis comprises two axes about which the sensor assembly is configured to be tilted via a movement of the sensor assembly relative to the platform because this ball-socket joint mechanism is a multi-axis movement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one axis of modified Mitzuomoto to comprise two axes about which the sensor assembly is configured to be tilted via a movement of the sensor assembly relative to the platform as taught by Lin for the advantage of providing an improved system being able to provide adjustment of the detecting direction of the sensor, as suggested by (see Lin, col. 2, lines 40-42).
Claim 15: Mitzumoto, discloses, A imaging system (image reading apparatus 10, FIG. 1), comprising:
an imaging head ([Col 5 l.40-52]; ‘a transducer 28 having three line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r (see FIGS. 4 and 5) for photoelectrically converting transmitted light from the transmissive subject 22 into electric signals representative of an image’));
a light source assembly (light sources 20a/20b part of the illuminating system 24) configured to provide illumination to the imaging head; and ([Col 5 l.40-52], ‘The image reading apparatus 10 has a pair of light sources 20a, 20b disposed in opposite sides of an upper portion of the housing 16 and having respective light-emitting surfaces facing each other, an illuminating system 24 for leading illuminating light emitted from the light sources 20a, 20b toward a transmissive subject 22 housed in the subject cassette 12, a transducer 28 having three line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r (see FIGS. 4 and 5) for photoelectrically converting transmitted light from the transmissive subject 22 into electric signals representative of an image carried by the transmissive subject 22, a condenser lens 30 for converging the illuminating light from the illuminating system 24 onto the three line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r, ‘; [Col 6 l.10-17], ‘dichroic filters 146a, 146b are disposed between the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r on the bracket 64 for dividing the illuminating light L into light rays having different wavelengths representing colors B (blue), G (green), R (red), and guiding these light rays respectively to the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r. The line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r serve to photoelectrically convert the respective light rays corresponding electric signals.’)
an image acquisition assembly (transducer 28, [Col 5 l.40-52]; ‘a transducer 28 having three line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r (see FIGS. 4 and 5) for photoelectrically converting transmitted light from the transmissive subject 22 into electric signals representative of an image’) comprising a mount (support base 60, FIG. 5) for a plurality of sensors (line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r, FIG.5) and a lens assembly (condenser lens 30), wherein the mount comprises:
a sensor assembly comprising the plurality of sensors (line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r, FIG.5) and one or more prisms, (prisms 66b, 66g, 66r, FIG. 5) ([Col. 5 l.10-17], ‘As shown in FIG. 5, dichroic filters 146a, 146b are disposed between the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r on the bracket 64 for dividing the illuminating light L into light rays having different wavelengths representing colors B (blue), G (green), R (red), and guiding these light rays respectively to the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r. The line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r serve to photoelectrically convert the respective light rays corresponding electric signals’; [Col. 6 l.28-29], ‘The line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r are fixedly mounted on the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r, respectively.’; [Col 11-Col 12 l.67 to L1-5], ‘The condenser lens 30 converges the transmitted light onto the transducer 28. In the transducer 28, the transmitted light is divided by the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r into respective light rays, which are led to the respective line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r that convert the light rays into respective electric signals.’),
-Note; in view of the Applicant’s specification FIG. 3F the Lens Assembly is fixed. Accordingly, Mitzumoto discloses [Col 6, lines 2-4], ‘the transducer 28 and the condenser lens 30 are fixed to a reference place 42 that is secured to a lower surface of the partition 40’).
-The sensor assembly configuration comprises sensors 26b, 26g, 26r and prisms 66b, 66g, 66r all fixed to each other, FIG. 2. The individual sensors and prims are mounted on different planes with respect to the condenser lens 30, lens assembly, resulting in a tilted configuration (and thus, the sensor with respect to the lens assembly of the imaging system).
Mitzumoto fails to disclose:
wherein the sensor assembly is configured to be tilted about at least one axis with respect to the assembly of the system, wherein the adjustable mount comprises, and
a platform (base 1) having a first shape, wherein the sensor assembly (2,3) has a second shape that is corresponding and complementary to the first shape of the platform, wherein the second shape comprises a convex surface, wherein the convex surface of the sensor assembly and the sensor combined with the lenses rotate about an axis of rotation that passes through, such that the elements contained/held/supported by the sensor assembly is translationally fixed at the axis of rotation during rotation while the sensor combined with the lenses rotate by adjusting an orientation of the sensor assembly relative to the platform.
However, Lin in the context of adjustable photosensitive elements discloses,
wherein the sensor assembly (core member 2 combined with socket shell 3, which holds the sensor components (photosensitive element (100), lenses (24, 32, etc.)) is configured to be tilted about at least one axis with respect to the assembly (the integral features involved with the mounting holes, [Col. 2 l.4-6], ‘mounting holes 15 spaced around the border for mounting on the wall, ceiling, etc., by screws, and a center through hole 13 through the center of the half-round recess 14’) (FIG. 2) of the system, wherein the adjustable mount comprises, and
a platform (base 1) having a first shape, wherein the sensor assembly (2,3) has a second shape that is corresponding and complementary to the first shape of the platform (FIG. 2), wherein the second shape comprises a convex surface, (See FIG. 2 highlighted above)
wherein the convex surface of the sensor assembly and the sensor (100) combined with the lenses (24, 25) rotate about an axis of rotation that passes through (when viewing FIG. 1 and 2 of Lin), such that the elements (i.e., 100, 24, 25) contained/held/supported by the sensor assembly (2, 3) is translationally fixed (See below) at the axis of rotation during rotation while the sensor (100) combined with the lenses (24, 25) rotate by adjusting an orientation of the sensor assembly relative (2,3) to the platform (1).
Specifically, the base frame 1 (the platform) and a sensor assembly comprising the core member 2 and socket shell 3. The core member 2 is connected to the base frame 1 via the ball and socket joint, where the ball head 21 at the top of the core member is received and turned within the recess 14 of the ball socket 12 on the base frame, see Lin, col. 2, lines 40-42. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the ball and socket joint restricts linear translation, the ball does not translate in the x/y direction (i.e., does not slide laterally or move out of the socket) while permitting rotational and angular movement in multiple dimensions, see Lin, col. 2, lines 1-42 & Abstract & Summary of the Invention, Col 2, lines 37-53. The physical center of the ball head is a fixed pivot point (i.e., the interaction of the axes of rotation). Consequently, the sensor assembly (2,3) remains translationally fixed at its axes/point of rotation relative to the platform (1) during its angular adjustment. Furthermore, the core member 2 and the socket shell 3 (i.e., the sensor assembly) pivot dynamically as a single body relative to the base 1 (i.e., the platform). This movement “chang[s] the detecting angle of the photosensitive element [...] by pivoting the core member relative to the base frame”- Summary of the Invention, Col 2, lines 37-53. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation this teaches the by adjusting an orientation of the sensor assembly relative to the platform.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor assembly of Mitzumoto to incorporate the platform and teachings of Lin for the advantage of providing an improved system being able to provide adjustment of the detecting direction of the sensor, as suggested by (see Lin, col. 2, lines 40-42). The modified combination would disclose: a medical imaging system, comprising: an imaging head; a light source assembly configured to provide illumination to the imaging head; and an image acquisition assembly comprising an adjustable mount for aligning a plurality of sensors and a lens assembly, wherein the adjustable mount comprises: a sensor assembly comprising the plurality of sensors and one or more prisms, wherein the sensor assembly is configured to be tilted about at least one axis with respect to the lens assembly of the medical imaging system, and a platform having a first shape, wherein the sensor assembly has a second shape that is corresponding and complementary to the first shape of the platform, wherein the second shape comprises a convex surface, wherein the convex surface of the sensor assembly and the plurality of sensors rotate about an axis of rotation that passes through one of the one or more prisms, such that the one of the one or more prisms is translationally fixed at the axis of rotation during rotation while the plurality of sensors rotate by adjusting an orientation of the sensor assembly relative to the platform.
In regards to the feature of the preamble, “A medical imaging system”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device of the modified Mitzumoto to be configured for a medical imaging system since if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. Specifically, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, modified Mitzumoto above meets the claim at least because the modified structure comprises the claimed structural features. See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim 17: Mitzumoto as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 15, Mitizumoto as modified discloses the structure of the system of clam 15 above. Accordingly, in regards to the feature of the preamble, “the medical imaging system is an endoscopic medical imaging system and the imaging head is a laparoscope.”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device of the modified Mitzumoto to be configured for a medical imaging system since if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. Specifically, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, modified Mitzumoto above meets the claim at least because the modified structure comprises the claimed structural features. See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim 18: Mitizumoto as modified discloses the structure of the system of clam 15 above. Accordingly, in regards to the feature of the preamble, “wherein the medical imaging system is an open field medical imaging system and the imaging head is an open field imaging head.”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device of the modified Mitzumoto to be configured for a medical imaging system since if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. Specifically, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, modified Mitzumoto above meets the claim at least because the modified structure comprises the claimed structural features. See MPEP 2111.02.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitzumoto et al (US 6,115,147 A1) in view of Lin (US 5467228), as applied to claim 2, in further view of in view of Konishi et al (US 2011/0115975 A1).
Claim 5: Mitzumoto as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 2, Mitzumoto discloses further comprising a fastener. Specifically, Mitzumoto further discloses, the prisms and line sensors are secured to a platform view screws, a fastener equates to a screw, [Col. 9 l.1-9], ‘the bracket 64 on which the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r and the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r are mounted is fixed to the lower surface of the vibratory base 62. Specifically, the upper surface of the bracket 64 and the lower surface of the vibratory base 62 are held against each other, and the bracket 64 is positioned on the vibratory base 62, after which screws 144 are threaded through the bracket 64 into the vibratory base 62. The installation of the attachment unit 88 on the support base 60, and the installation of the bracket 64 on the vibratory base 62 are now completed.’)
Mitzumoto fails to disclose: wherein the fastener is configured to tilt the sensor assembly when tightened.
However, Konishi is relied upon above discloses, wherein the fastener is configured to tilt the sensor assembly when tightened. (¶ 0075, "one of the screws #41b and #41c may be either tightened or loosened depending on whether the angle defined by the second portion #50b with respect to the master flange #48 should be adjusted along the X-axis or the Y-axis"; ¶ 0076, "angle defined by the second portion #50b, to which the CCD #44 is attached, can be adjusted in the X- or Y-axis direction independently of each other by tightening or loosening the screws").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fastener of modified Mitzumoto such that it is configured to tilt the sensor assembly when tightened as taught by Konishi for the advantage of avoiding repeated disassembly/reassembly and make precise adjustments via screws, ¶0004 of Konishi; thereby providing an efficient adjustment without reassembly.
Claim 6: Mitzumoto as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Mitzumoto discloses wherein the fastener is a first screw, specifically, Mitzumoto further discloses, the prisms and line sensors are secured to a platform view screws, a fastener equates to a screw, [Col. 9 l.1-9], ‘the bracket 64 on which the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r and the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r are mounted is fixed to the lower surface of the vibratory base 62. Specifically, the upper surface of the bracket 64 and the lower surface of the vibratory base 62 are held against each other, and the bracket 64 is positioned on the vibratory base 62, after which screws 144 are threaded through the bracket 64 into the vibratory base 62. The installation of the attachment unit 88 on the support base 60, and the installation of the bracket 64 on the vibratory base 62 are now completed.’)
Mitzumoto fails to disclose: and wherein the adjustable mount comprises three additional screws configured to tilt the sensor assembly when tightened.
However, Konishi is relied upon above discloses, wherein the adjustable mount comprises three additional screws configured to tilt the sensor assembly when tightened. (¶0062, ‘By inserting the screws 41 a and 41 c into the fixing screw hole 42 a and the screw hole 42 c, respectively, and tightening them, the sheet metal 42 can be positioned precisely with respect to the master flange 48 using the screws 41 a and 41 c because those round and elongated holes 42 a and 42 c work differently from each other.’; ¶0065, ‘Although the screws 41 a, 41 c and 41 b are supposed to be screwed into their holes in this order, this is just an example and they may be screwed in reverse order as well.’; ¶ 0075, "one of the screws #41b and #41c may be either tightened or loosened depending on whether the angle defined by the second portion #50b with respect to the master flange #48 should be adjusted along the X-axis or the Y-axis"; ¶ 0076, "angle defined by the second portion #50b, to which the CCD #44 is attached, can be adjusted in the X- or Y-axis direction independently of each other by tightening or loosening the screws"; ¶0077, ‘by screwing only the screw 41 a as tight as possible, the tilt can be adjusted in both of the X- and Y-axis directions independently of each other and with good stability. On top of that, the sheet metal also has a very simple structure.’; ¶0079, ‘The sheet metal 42 is positioned two-dimensionally (i.e., within the X-Y plane) by the outside diameter of the stepped portion q2 of each of the screws 41 a and 41 c, which is provided right under its flange (i.e., screw head) portion q1. Also, even when the tilt of the CCD is adjusted by the screws 41 b and 41 c, the sheet metal 42 can always be positioned two-dimensionally (within the X-Y plane) by the outside diameter of the stepped portion q2 of the screws 41 a and 41 c.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjustable mount of modified Mitzumoto such that it is configured to comprise three additional screws configured to tilt the sensor assembly when tightened as taught by Konishi for the advantage of avoiding repeated disassembly/reassembly and make precise adjustments via screws, ¶0004 of Konishi; thereby providing an efficient adjustment without reassembly.
Claim 7: Mitzumoto as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 2, Mitzumoto discloses further comprising a fastener. Specifically, Mitzumoto further discloses, the prisms and line sensors are secured to a platform view screws, a fastener equates to a screw, [Col. 9 l.1-9], ‘the bracket 64 on which the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r and the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r are mounted is fixed to the lower surface of the vibratory base 62. Specifically, the upper surface of the bracket 64 and the lower surface of the vibratory base 62 are held against each other, and the bracket 64 is positioned on the vibratory base 62, after which screws 144 are threaded through the bracket 64 into the vibratory base 62. The installation of the attachment unit 88 on the support base 60, and the installation of the bracket 64 on the vibratory base 62 are now completed.’)
Mitzumoto fails to disclose: wherein the fastener is configured to tilt the sensor assembly when loosened.
However, Konishi is relied upon above discloses, wherein the fastener is configured to tilt the sensor assembly when loosened. (¶ 0075, "one of the screws #41b and #41c may be either tightened or loosened depending on whether the angle defined by the second portion #50b with respect to the master flange #48 should be adjusted along the X-axis or the Y-axis"; ¶ 0076, "angle defined by the second portion #50b, to which the CCD #44 is attached, can be adjusted in the X- or Y-axis direction independently of each other by tightening or loosening the screws")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fastener of modified Mitzumoto such that it is configured to tilt the sensor assembly when loosened as taught by Konishi for the advantage of avoiding repeated disassembly/reassembly and make precise adjustments via screws, ¶0004 of Konishi; thereby providing an efficient adjustment without reassembly.
Claim 8: Mitzumoto as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Mitzumoto discloses wherein the fastener is a first screw, specifically, Mitzumoto further discloses, the prisms and line sensors are secured to a platform view screws, a fastener equates to a screw, [Col. 9 l.1-9], ‘the bracket 64 on which the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r and the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r are mounted is fixed to the lower surface of the vibratory base 62. Specifically, the upper surface of the bracket 64 and the lower surface of the vibratory base 62 are held against each other, and the bracket 64 is positioned on the vibratory base 62, after which screws 144 are threaded through the bracket 64 into the vibratory base 62. The installation of the attachment unit 88 on the support base 60, and the installation of the bracket 64 on the vibratory base 62 are now completed.’)
Mitzumoto fails to disclose: and wherein the adjustable mount comprises three additional screws configured to tilt the sensor assembly when tightened.
However, Konishi is relied upon above discloses, wherein the adjustable mount comprises three additional screws configured to tilt the sensor assembly when tightened. (¶0062, ‘By inserting the screws 41 a and 41 c into the fixing screw hole 42 a and the screw hole 42 c, respectively, and tightening them, the sheet metal 42 can be positioned precisely with respect to the master flange 48 using the screws 41 a and 41 c because those round and elongated holes 42 a and 42 c work differently from each other.’; ¶0065, ‘Although the screws 41 a, 41 c and 41 b are supposed to be screwed into their holes in this order, this is just an example and they may be screwed in reverse order as well.’; ¶ 0075, "one of the screws #41b and #41c may be either tightened or loosened depending on whether the angle defined by the second portion #50b with respect to the master flange #48 should be adjusted along the X-axis or the Y-axis"; ¶ 0076, "angle defined by the second portion #50b, to which the CCD #44 is attached, can be adjusted in the X- or Y-axis direction independently of each other by tightening or loosening the screws"; ¶0077, ‘by screwing only the screw 41 a as tight as possible, the tilt can be adjusted in both of the X- and Y-axis directions independently of each other and with good stability. On top of that, the sheet metal also has a very simple structure.’; ¶0079, ‘The sheet metal 42 is positioned two-dimensionally (i.e., within the X-Y plane) by the outside diameter of the stepped portion q2 of each of the screws 41 a and 41 c, which is provided right under its flange (i.e., screw head) portion q1. Also, even when the tilt of the CCD is adjusted by the screws 41 b and 41 c, the sheet metal 42 can always be positioned two-dimensionally (within the X-Y plane) by the outside diameter of the stepped portion q2 of the screws 41 a and 41 c.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjustable mount of modified Mitzumoto such that it is configured to comprise three additional screws configured to tilt the sensor assembly when tightened as taught by Konishi for the advantage of avoiding repeated disassembly/reassembly and make precise adjustments via screws, ¶0004 of Konishi; thereby providing an efficient adjustment without reassembly.
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitzumoto et al (US 6,115,147 A1) in view of Lin (US 5467228), as applied to claim 2, in further view of Harada et al (US 2008/0088730 A1).
Claims 9-14, Mitzumoto in view of Lin, in further view of Harada.
Mitzumoto discloses, a sensor assembly includes at least a portion of the sensor assembly -FIG. 5, [Col. 6 l.28-29], [Col 11-Col 12 l.67 to L1-5].
Lin discloses, a platform (base 1) with a concave surface (See FIG. 2 highlighted above)and a convex surface (See FIG. 2 highlighted above) that supports a sensor assembly (2,3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor assembly of modified Mitzumoto to include the of platform Okamuro that includes such that the second shape is corresponding to and complementary to the first shape that is concave, wherein the second shape comprises a convex surface, as taught by Okamuro, for the advantage of reducing the time taken for adjustments due to suppression of unwanted displacements, ¶0015.
Mitzumoto in view of Lin fail to disclose: incorporating UV-transmitting material such as glass in sensor components to allow UV light curing of adhesive or bonding agents for fixation.
However, Harada in the context of image capture apparatus and method of manufacturing discloses, “wherein the fixing plate and the fixing members are made of glass materials permeable to UV light for curing the UV-curing adhesive”, Claim 7. Note; the Applicant specification recites ¶0099, ‘components of the sensor assembly and/or platform may be made of a UV-transmitting material (e.g., glass),’
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the concave and convex surfaces of modified Mitzumoto such that material is glass as taught by Harada. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as to cure a UV adhesive to increase the fixing accuracy between respective members, ¶0033 of Harada. Hence, the sensor assembly would comprise the UV transmitting material since the claims don’t define what portion & the platform would also comprise the UV transmitting material since the claims don’t define what portion.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitzumoto et al (US 6,115,147 A1) in view of Lin (US 5467228), as applied to claim 15, in further view of Fengler et al (US 2011/0063427 A1).
Claim 16: Mitzumoto as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 15, Mitzumoto further discloses: wherein the light source assembly (light sources 20a/20b part of the illuminating system 24) comprises a visible light source ([Col 11 l.56-57], ‘The illuminating system 24 also includes the light sources 20a, 20b such as halogen lamps, for example,’)
Note; the sensor assembly comprises [Col 6 l.10-17], ‘dichroic filters 146a, 146b are disposed between the prisms 66b, 66g, 66r on the bracket 64 for dividing the illuminating light L into light rays having different wavelengths representing colors B (blue), G (green), R (red), and guiding these light rays respectively to the line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r. The line sensors 26b, 26g, 26r serve to photoelectrically convert the respective light rays corresponding electric signals.’). Hence, the transducer is capable for B, G, R color sensing.
Mitzumoto fails to disclose: and an excitation light source.
However, Fengler in the context of imaging systems for combined full-color reflectance and near-infrared imaging discloses, an excitation light source, ([Abstract], ‘An imaging system for acquisition of NIR and full-color images includes a light source providing visible light and NIR light to an area under observation, such as living tissue, a camera having one or more image sensors configured to separately detect blue reflectance light, green reflectance light, and combined red reflectance light/detected NIR light returned from the area under observation. A controller in signal communication with the light source and the camera is configured to control the light source to continuously illuminate area under observation with temporally continuous blue/green illumination light and with red illumination light and NIR excitation light. At least one of the red illumination light and NIR excitation light are switched on and off periodically in synchronism with the acquisition of red and NIR light images in the camera.’; ¶0032, ‘a multimode light source 11 that provides both visible and NIR illumination, connected to an endoscope 12 by way of an illumination guide, for example a fiber optic cable 17, suitable for transmission of both color and NIR illumination, a color camera 13, illustrated here as having three different sensors 34, 36, 38 (see FIG. 3a) for blue, green and red/NIR imaging, respectively, mounted to the endoscope image guide, and a camera controller 14 connected to the camera 13 and the light source 11 for controlling and synchronizing illumination and image acquisition’)
Fengler further discloses, ¶0033, ‘he illustrated light sources are constructed to supply in normal color imaging mode visible illumination light yielding a substantially continuous spectral distribution. The light source maybe an arc lamp, a halogen lamp, one or more solid state sources (e.g. LEDs, semiconductor lasers) or any combination thereof and may be spectrally filtered or shaped (e.g. with bandpass filters, IR filters, etc.). The continuous spectrum may be produced as primary colors (RGB) either concurrently or sequentially, for example, using a rotating filter wheel.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the light source of the light source assembly of modified Mitzumoto to include a multimode light source that provides both visible and NIR illination as taught by Fengle for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus to image tissue structure and function that is not easily seen with standard visible light imaging technology, ¶0002 of Fengler.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon (US 2015/0323755 A1) discloses, a camera module and a tilt frame with respect to the housing may be adjustable by tilting adjusting units such as screws and ball bearings.
Ozaki (US 2011/0034768 A1) discloses an endoscope having sensor assembly comprising a plurality of sensors and one or more prisms
.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798