DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/12/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are hereby under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 6 recites “polyaniline-emraldine”, however it appears it should read --polyaniline-emeraldine-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 3, line 1 recites “the porous omniphobic pad”, however it appears it should read --the porous, omniphobic pad-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choudhury et al. (US 20200100711 A1), hereinafter referred to as Choudhury, in view of Aizenberg et al. (US 20150209198 A1), hereinafter referred to as Aizenbeg, in view of Wang et al. (US 20170325724 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wang, in view of Ochoa et al. (“Flexible Sensors for Chronic Wound Management”) (cited in the IDS filed 10/10/2024), hereinafter referred to as Ochoa.
The claims are generally directed towards a device comprising: a bandage comprising a first surface with an adhesive layer configured to face healthy skin or wounded tissue and a second surface on an opposite side of the first surface, wherein the adhesive layer has openings; a sensor comprising a porous, omniphobic pad on which are printed two or more electrodes between which is dropcasted a PANi-EB/Ag comprising a polyaniline-emeraldine base and silver microflake composite film, wherein the sensor is placed on the adhesive layer of the bandage and measures a pH of a wound exudate using an impedance; an absorbent pad, which has been placed on the sensor; and a detachable potentiostat comprising an electrochemical sensing application chip and an impedance analyzer chip to perform electrochemical measurements and impedance spectroscopy, respectively, a microcontroller, a battery, and a communication module, wherein the detachable potentiostat is interfaced through the openings of the adhesive layer with the sensor for detecting and monitoring a wound condition.
Regarding claim 1, Choudhury discloses a device (Abstract, “sensor system …”, Fig. 2A-2B, Fig. 3A-3B, para. [0016]) comprising:
a bandage comprising a first surface with an adhesive layer configured to face healthy skin or wounded tissue and a second surface on an opposite side of the first surface, wherein the adhesive layer has openings (Fig. 2A-2B, “front side”, “back side”, Fig. 3A, para. [0094], “wound care platform … adhesive vinyl sheet, bandage …”, para. [0107], “patch applied on the skin …”);
a sensor comprising printed two or more electrodes (Fig. 2A-2B, Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 31, para. [0075], “working electrode, a reference electrode and a counter electrode”, para. [0102-0104], para. [0143-0144], “flexible sensors were prepared by screen printing the electrodes …”), between which is dropcasted a polyaniline and silver microflake composite film (para. [0082], “PANI”, para. [0084-0085], “metal nano-materials … metal catalysts … silver …”, para. [0121], “polymer (polyaniline) … based matrix …”), wherein the sensor is placed on the adhesive layer of the bandage (Fig. 2A-2B, para. [0102-0107], “integrated on a fabric-based material … integrated on dressing materials … on a bandage …”) and measures a pH of a wound exudate (para. [0019], “measures both a biomarker as well as pH …”, para. [0095], para. [0210]);
an absorbent pad, which has been placed on the sensor (Fig. 2A-2B, para. [0102-0107], “integrated on dressing materials … flexible fabric-based material such as gauze, bandages, or dressing materials …”); and
a detachable potentiostat comprising an electrochemical sensing application chip and an impedance analyzer chip to perform electrochemical measurements and impedance spectroscopy, respectively, a microcontroller, a battery, and a communication module (Fig. 31, para. [0097], “reusable …”, para. [0211], “wearable platform … miniaturized potentiostat and a microcontroller, integrated with a low power Bluetooth for wireless data transmission … battery …”), wherein the detachable potentiostat is interfaced through the openings of the adhesive layer with the sensor for detecting and monitoring a wound condition (Fig. 2A-2B, Fig. 31, para. [0211], “all three electrodes have been connected to corresponding pins of the AFE, linked to the microcontroller …”).
However, Choudhury does not explicitly disclose the sensor comprises a porous, omniphobic pad on which the electrodes are printed on.
Aizenberg teaches an analogous device for wound dressings (para. [0009]). Aizenberg further teaches the use of a porous, omniphobic pad for wound dressings (para. [0100], para. [0171]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor disclosed by Choudhury to additionally include a porous, omniphobic pad on which the electrodes are printed on, as taught by Aizenberg. This is because Aizenberg teaches omniphobic surfaces allow for bacteria to be repelled (para. [0100]) and allows for drainage of exudate fluid (para. [0118]), which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being beneficial for wound monitoring to prevent the harboring of bacteria within the dressing.
However, modified Choudhury does not explicitly disclose PANi-EB comprising a polyaniline-emeraldine base composite film.
Wang teaches of an analogous bandage device for measuring a pH of a wound exudate (Abstract, Fig. 1A-1B, para. [0004]). Wang further teaches utilizing PANi-EB comprising a polyaniline-emeraldine base composite film for monitoring pH (para. [0281-0282]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PANi/Ag composite film taught by modified Choudhury to explicitly be a PANi-EB comprising polyaniline-emeraldine base composite film, as taught by Wang. This is because Wang teaches PANi-EB is a known and suitable polymer for monitoring pH, and is beneficial due to the reversable emeraldine salt(ES0-emeraldine base (EB) transition (para. [0282]).
However, modified Choudhury does not explicitly disclose the sensor measures the pH using an impedance.
Ochoa teaches an analogous device comprising a bandage for monitoring a wound condition (Abstract). Ochoa further teaches measuring the pH using an impedance (pg. 79, “Flexible pH sensors”, right col., para. 3”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensors disclosed by modified Choudhury to measure the pH using an impedance, as taught by Ochoa. This is because Ochoa teaches pH sensing using impedance can easily be incorporated into wound dressings, as compared to traditional pH meters (pg. 79, “Flexible pH sensors”).
Regarding claim 2, modified Choudhury discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the wound condition to be monitored comprises a bacterial infection (para. [0119], “wound status and infection …”, para. [0188], “bacterial toxicity”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choudhury et al. (US 20200100711 A1), hereinafter referred to as Choudhury, in view of Aizenberg et al. (US 20150209198 A1), hereinafter referred to as Aizenbeg, in view of Wang et al. (US 20170325724 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wang, in view of Ochoa et al. (“Flexible Sensors for Chronic Wound Management”) (cited in the IDS filed 10/10/2024), hereinafter referred to as Ochoa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Glavan et al. (“Rapid fabrication of pressure-driven open-channel microfluidic devices in omniphobic RF paper”) (cited in the IDS filed 10/10/2024), hereinafter referred to as Glavan.
Regarding claim 3, modified Choudhury discloses the device of claim 1.
However, modified Choudhury does not explicitly disclose wherein the porous omniphobic pad is chemically modified pad by treating the porous pad with RSiCl3 fluorinated alkyltrichlorosilane.
Glavan teaches of an analogous porous, omniphobic pad (Abstract, pg. 2922-2923, “Introduction”). Glavan further teaches the omniphobic pad is treated with fluorinated alkyltrichlorosilane (Abstract, pg. 2923, “Choices of materials”, left col., para. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porous omniphobic pad taught by modified Choudhury to explicitly be chemically modified by treating the porous pad with RSiCl3 fluorinated alkyltrichlorosilane, as taught by Glavan. This is because Glavan teaches treating the pad with fluorinated alkyltrichlorosilane is known and easy method, due to no specialized equipment, for providing the hydrophobic properties of omniphobic pads (pg. 2923, “Choices of materials”, left col., para. 2), while also preserving the mechanical properties of the paper (Abstract).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choudhury et al. (US 20200100711 A1), hereinafter referred to as Choudhury, in view of Aizenberg et al. (US 20150209198 A1), hereinafter referred to as Aizenbeg, in view of Wang et al. (US 20170325724 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wang, in view of Ochoa et al. (“Flexible Sensors for Chronic Wound Management”), hereinafter referred to as Ochoa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Futashima et al. (US 20200305746 A1), hereinafter referred to as Futashima.
Regarding claim 4, modified Choudhury discloses the device of claim 1.
However, modified Choudhury does not explicitly disclose wherein the silver in the PANi-EB/Ag composite film has a particle size of 2-5 µm.
Futashima teaches an analogous device including a sensor with two or more electrodes (Abstract, para. [0048]). Futashima teaches the electrodes include a silver coating layer to achieve electrical conduction (para. [0059]). Futashima further teaches the silver coating includes silver microflakes with a particle size of 2-5 µm (para. [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the silver microflakes taught by modified Chowdhury to explicitly have a particle size of 2-5 µm, as taught by Futashima. This is because Futashima teaches a particle size of 2-5 µm is a suitable size for allowing uniform distribution, while also providing conductivity of the electrode (para. [0101]).
Conclusion
/K.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791