DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/11/2021 has been entered. Claims 1, 11 and 15 have been amended. Claim 10 has been cancelled. Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decoster et al. (US 2020/0094634 A1 – of record), in view of Kim (US 2020/0031183 A1 – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Decoster discloses a tire 10 with printed sensors 34, 36, see [0053]. The tire comprising: a pair of bead areas 12; a ground-contacting tread 18 disposed radially outwardly of the pair of bead areas; a pair of sidewalls 16, including an inboard sidewall 16a extending from a first one of the bead areas 12a to the tread, and an outboard sidewall 16b extending from a second one of the bead areas 12b to the tread; a carcass 20 extending toroidally between each of the bead areas radially inwardly of the tread; an innerliner 22 formed on an inside surface of the carcass; a set of sensors 34 consisting of a plurality of sensors 34a-34p printed on the innerliner. The plurality of sensors are printed in a sidewall zone of the inboard sidewall 16a, see at least [0081]; and/or in a sidewall zone of the outboard sidewall 16b; and the plurality of sensors being configured to measure deformation in the sidewall zone and wherein the plurality of printed sensors are arranged about the circumference of the tire, see at least [0053], [0081].
Decoster does not explicitly disclose the plurality of sensors being daisy-chained so that the set of sensors provides a single deformation signal, the single deformation signal being based on the measured deformations of the plurality of sensors.
Kim discloses a systemized multi-point sensors unit for a tire. The unit being sufficient for monitoring conditions of the tire – (under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner this would include deformation measurements); and whose plurality of sensors are attached to an inner surface of the tire – (under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner this would include printing on an innerliner); the sensors being coupled by a connection member wire 200, see at least [0041] – (construed as the plurality of sensors being daisy-chained). Kim further discloses arrangement of the sensors in such a manner provides more precise monitoring of the overall conditions of tires and road surfaces, see at least [0041] – [0042].
Further regarding “so that the set of sensors provides a single deformation signal, the single deformation signal being based on the measured deformations about the circumference of the tire of the plurality of sensors”.
Decoster discloses its plurality of sensors are suitable for measuring deformation; to include having the sum of each corresponding set of shear strain signals from the outboard shear sensor 36 and the inboard shear sensor 34 is directly related to the dynamic vertical loading acting on the tire. And where the sensors are arranged about the circumference of the tire, see [0076], [0081].
And Kim discloses coupling a plurality of sensors in a Daisy-chain manner, the sensors being suitable for monitoring tire conditions. It is considered the claimed functionality and would is met by coupling Decoster’s sensor in a Daisy-chain manner as taught by Kim. That is, Decoster sensor orientation of positioning the sensors about the circumference of the tire with the functionality of summing the set of sensor signals to build causality with vertical loading is simplified by monitoring of the set of signals as a single unit. This being obtained by connecting the sets of sensors in series as taught by Kim.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decoster’s plurality of printed sensors which are arranged about the circumference of the tire to be connected in a daisy-chain manner as taught by Kim to provide the tire with an enhanced means for monitoring of the overall conditions of tire as suggested by Kim.
Regarding claim 2, as previously discussed, modified Decoster discloses the single deformation signal is the sum of the measured deformations of the plurality of sensors, see at least Decoster [0076] and the discussion with Kim in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 3-4, 9, modified Decoster discloses each sensor is printed on the innerliner by at least one of ink-jet and three-dimensional printing; and each sensor is printed directly on the innerliner; and the plurality of sensors includes a conductive ink with a known electrical resistance, see Decoster [0052].
Regarding claim 5, modified Decoster discloses each sensor is printed on a substrate that is attached to the innerliner, see Decoster [0054].
Regarding claims 6-7, modified Decoster discloses the plurality of shear sensors 34a – 34p each transmit a signal indicating shear deformation, see Decoster [0081] – (construed as the plurality of sensors is a plurality of shear sensors, the measured deformations being shear deformation, the single deformation signal being a single shear deformation signal). Likewise, modified Decoster discloses the plurality/each sensors measure deformation as strain, see at least [0049], [0055], [0058] – (construed as the plurality of sensors is a plurality of strain sensors, the measured deformations being strain deformation, the single deformation signal being a single strain deformation signal).
Regarding claim 8, modified Decoster discloses the shear sensors 34 and 36 are disposed in the same horizontal plane 38 extending laterally across the tire 10, see Decoster [0050] – (construed as the tire comprises a second set of sensors on the other sidewall zone of the inboard sidewall and the outboard sidewall, so as to provide the tire with a set of sensors in both sidewall zones).
Regarding claim 11, modified Decoster discloses the sensors of the plurality of printed sensors are substantially evenly spaced apart along the circumference of the tire, see Decoster [0081].
Regarding claim 12, modified Decoster discloses daisy-chaining the sensors as taught by Kim. Moreover, as depicted in Kim’s FIG. 2, each of the plurality of sensors comprises a first and a second terminal, the first terminal of each sensor of the plurality of sensors being electrically connected to the second terminal of the following sensor of the plurality of sensors so as to daisy-chain the plurality of sensors, except a first terminal of a first sensor of the plurality of sensors that is not connected to a second terminal of a second sensor of the plurality of sensors. Thus, it is considered the first and second terminals are configured to provide a single deformation signal as they aren’t daisy chained like the interior sensors.
Regarding claims 13-14, modified Decoster discloses the set of sensors is in electronic or wireless communication with a tire pressure monitoring system, see Decoster [0050]; and the tire pressure monitoring system is configured to compute a static tire load based on the single deformation signal, see Decoster [0081].
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decoster et al. (US 2020/0094634 A1 – of record), in view of Kim (US 2020/0031183 A1 – of record as US 11285766B2).
Regarding claim 15, Decoster discloses a tire 10 with printed sensors 34, 36, see [0053]. The tire comprising: a pair of bead areas 12; a ground-contacting tread 18 disposed radially outwardly of the pair of bead areas; a pair of sidewalls 16, including an inboard sidewall 16a extending from a first one of the bead areas 12a to the tread, and an outboard sidewall 16b extending from a second one of the bead areas 12b to the tread; a carcass 20 extending toroidally between each of the bead areas radially inwardly of the tread; an innerliner 22 formed on an inside surface of the carcass; a first set of sensors 34 consisting of a plurality of sensors 34a-34p printed on the innerliner, wherein the plurality of sensors are printed in a sidewall zone of the inboard sidewall 16a, see at least [0081]; a second set of sensors 36 consisting of a plurality of sensors 36a-36p printed on the innerliner, wherein the plurality of sensors are printed in a sidewall zone of the outboard sidewall 16b, see [0080] using sensor 34 as an example; and the plurality of sensors of both the first and second set of sensors being configured to measure deformation in the sidewall zones of the inboard sidewall and of the outboard sidewall; and wherein the plurality of printed sensors of the first/second set of sensors are arranged about the circumference of the tire, see at least [0053], [0081].
Decoster does not explicitly disclose the plurality of sensors of each of the first and second set of sensors being daisy-chained so that the respective set of sensors provide first and second single deformation signals, the single deformation signals being the combination of the measured deformations of the respective plurality of sensors.
Kim discloses a systemized multi-point sensors unit for a tire. The unit being sufficient for monitoring conditions of the tire – (under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner this would include deformation measurements); and whose plurality of sensors are attached to an inner surface of the tire – (under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner this would include printing on an innerliner); the sensors being coupled by a connection member wire 200, see at least [0041] – (construed as the plurality of sensors being daisy-chained). Kim further discloses arrangement of the sensors in such a manner provides more precise monitoring of the overall conditions of tires and road surfaces, see at least [0041] – [0042].
Further regarding “so that the set of sensors provides a single deformation signal, the single deformation signal being based on the measured deformations about the circumference of the tire of the plurality of sensors”.
Decoster discloses its plurality of sensors are suitable for measuring deformation; to include having the sum of each corresponding set of shear strain signals from the outboard shear sensor 36 and the inboard shear sensor 34 is directly related to the dynamic vertical loading acting on the tire; and where the sensors are arranged about the circumference of the tire, see [0076], [0081].
And Kim discloses coupling a plurality of sensors in a Daisy-chain manner, the sensors being suitable for monitoring tire conditions. It is considered the claimed functionality would is met by coupling Decoster’s sensor in a Daisy-chain manner as taught by Kim. That is, Decoster sensor orientation of positioning the sensors about the circumference of the tire, with functionality of summing the set of sensor signals to build causality with vertical loading is simplified by monitoring of the set of signals as a single unit. This being obtained by connecting the sets of sensors in series as taught by Kim.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decoster’s plurality of sensors of each of the first and second set of sensors to be connected in a daisy-chain about the circumference of the tire as reasonably suggested by Kim to provide the tire with an enhanced means for monitoring of the overall conditions of tire as suggested by Kim.
Regarding claim 16, modified Decoster discloses the set of sensors is in electronic or wireless communication with a tire pressure monitoring system, see Decoster [0050].
Regarding claim 17, as previously discussed, modified Decoster discloses the single deformation signal is the sum of the measured deformations of the plurality of sensors, see at least Decoster [0076] and the discussion with Kim in the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 18, modified Decoster discloses the tire pressure monitoring system is configured to compute a cornering condition based on a difference between the first and second single deformation signals, see Decoster [0073].
Regarding claim 19, modified Decoster discloses the tire pressure monitoring system is configured to compute a dynamic rolling condition based one the first and second single deformation signals and other first and second single deformation signals stored in tire pressure monitoring system, the other first and second single deformation signals being obtained without said dynamic rolling condition, the dynamic rolling condition being at least one of braking and acceleration., see at least Decoster [0074], [0078].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed date have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument #1
Applicant argues that: Decoster and Kim fails to disclose or teach a plurality of sensors to include a first and second set of sensors that are daisy-chained about the circumference of the tire so that the respective set of sensors provide first and second single deformation signals, in which the single deformation signals are the combination of the measured deformations about the circumference of the tire, as recited in amended independent Claims 1 and 15.
Examiner’s Response #1
Examiner respectfully disagrees: Decoster discloses the use of a plurality of printed sensors, the plurality of sensors being configured to measure deformation in the sidewall zone and wherein the plurality of printed sensors are arranged about the circumference of the tire, see at least [0053], [0081]. Kim discloses a system of multi-point sensors, the sensors being coupled by a connection member wire 200, see at least [0041]. This being construed as a “daisy-chained” connection. Thus, Decoster and Kim presents a reasonable pathway in forming the claimed printed sensor arrangement. And one would modify Decoster’s plurality of printed sensors according to Kim’s plurality of sensors connecting technique where doing so provides for more precise monitoring of the overall conditions of tires, as suggested by Kim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749