DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liebold (DE 102017117658 A1) in view of Kemnitz et al. (US 2021/0008942) and Groen et al. (US 2016/0311287)
In Re claim 1, Liebold disclose a damping arrangement for an active chassis of an axle of a motor vehicle, comprising: a damper (5) having a piston (4) and being coupled to a wheel suspension system (not shown; par. 0017); a hydraulic pump (11); an electric motor (12); a hydraulic unit (30) having a reservoir (13) and valves (26-33). Liebold fails to specifically disclose that the hydraulic pump and motor are combined to form a unit attached via a carrier to a subframe or an auxiliary frame of the axle.
Kemnitz et al. is related to the art of damping arrangements for an active chassis, and teaches combining the hydraulic pumps (11, 21) and electric motors (12, 22) into a single unit (10) attachable to a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the like elements into a single unit, as taught by Kemnitz et al., to meet packaging constraints, increase functional efficiency, and streamline manufacturing.
Groen et al. is related to the art of vehicle subframes, and teaches that it was known to integrate functional components (20, 12) with a carrier (cross member 28) of a vehicle subframe (10). A subframe is used to support heavy vehicle components, while spreading out high physical loads and blocking road noise and shaking from reaching the passenger cabin. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have integrated the hydraulic pumps and motors with a carrier of a vehicle sub frame, as taught by Groen et al., to effectively support the similar vehicle suspension components, spread out high physical loads, and block road noise and shaking from reaching the passenger cabin.
In Re claims 2 and 3, see cross member (28) and stabilizer lane (30; par. 0037).
In Re claims 8 and 9, Groen et al. teaches integrating the functional components into the carrier. In the damping arrangement as modified, the same would be true for the motor-pump unit of Liebold, as modified above.
In Re claim 10, see figs. 2 and 4.
In Re claim 12, see par. 0017 of Liebold.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616