DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsuhashi (TW M539487 U).
Regarding claim 1, Mitsuhashi discloses a wrapping bag for food such as a sandwich, comprising: two films (110/120) that are overlapped to each other and sealed together along their opposite lateral edges (Last paragraph of Page 2, and first paragraph of page 3 of the translation); a seal part (113) formed by sealing the two films between the opposite lateral edges in a vicinity of one longitudinal edges of the two films; a header (111) part formed between the one longitudinal edges of the two films and the seal part; a cutting line (112/1121), from which opening of the wrapping bag is started, being formed in the header part of one of the two films (Fig. 1); an opening (115) formed in the opposite longitudinal edges of the two films that are not sealed together; a housing part (Fig. 3) surrounded by the opening, the opposite lateral edges sealed together, and the seal part, of the two films; and an unsealing device (130) that is provided in the one film to extend from a vicinity of the cutting line to a vicinity of the opening while crossing the seal part (Fig. 3), wherein the cutting line comprises a first cutting line (112) having both ends extending toward the edges of the opposite longitudinal end and being projected toward the edges of the one longitudinal end to form a tab, and at least one second cutting line (1121) extending toward at least one of the lateral edges, the seal part has a portion with a smaller width (Fig. 1) in an unsealing direction at which the seal part crosses the unsealing device than a width in the unsealing direction of a portion, at which the seal part does not cross the unsealing device, and the at least one second cutting line (1121) is located to be in contact with the seal part (113) at a portion other than a portion at which the seal part crosses the unsealing device, and a base end of the at least one second cutting line is located closer to the lateral edge of the film than the unsealing device in a direction crossing the unsealing direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Mitsuhashi discloses the two films each are formed into a trapezoid shape (Last paragraph of Page 2, and first paragraph of page 3 of the translation) to have a narrower longitudinal end and a wider longitudinal end (Fig. 3), the header part (111) is provided on the narrower longitudinal end, and the opening (115) is provided on the wider longitudinal end.
Regarding claim 4, Mitsuhashi discloses (Shown below in Annotated Fig. 1) the opposite ends on the opposite longitudinal edges of the two films are cut out (at portions C) to have cutout with a narrower distance between the opposite lateral edges of the two films.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuhashi (TW M539487 U) in view of Fukuda (TW 201034910 A).
Regarding claim 5, Mitsuhashi discloses the claimed invention, especially the opposite ends on the opposite longitudinal edges of the two films being cut out to have cutout with a narrower distance between the opposite lateral edges of the two films, as discussed above regarding claim 4.
Mitsuhashi does not disclose the cutouts each are formed in a continuous line of a circular-arc section on the side of a corresponding one of the lateral edges and a straight line section on the side of the opening.
Fukuda teaches that it is known in the art to form cutouts (10) in a continuous line of a circular-arc section (10a) on a side of a corresponding one of lateral edges and a straight line section (10b) on a side of an opening in an analogous wrapping bag.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cutouts in a continuous line of a circular-arc section on a side of a corresponding one of the lateral edges and a straight line section on a side of the opening in the wrapping bag of Mitsuhashi, as in Fukuda, in order to provide reduced overlapped portions of the film when the lower ed is folded to set the bottom.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/M.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734