DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-16 are examined.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: a space should be added between the words “to” and “learn” in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Prediction information provider” in claims 1 and 8: interpreted as software/hardware specifically programmed to performed the claimed functions (see [0059], [0101] of specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “an artificial intelligence model configured to be trained to predict” (line 6) renders the claim indefinite because the claim does not require training or predicting with the model. This limitation suggests that the model is not trained yet and therefore does not predict anything; thus, the scope is unclear. The Examiner has interpreted the limitation to read “trained to predict”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter of abstract ideas under the mental processes grouping, without significantly more.
The framework for establishing a prima facie case of lack of subject matter eligibility requires that the Examiner determine: (1) Does the claim fall within the four categories of patent eligible subject matter; (2a) Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon and (2a) Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application; and (2b) Does the claim recite additional elements that amount of significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step (1)
The claimed invention in claims 1-16 are directed to a device and method, and thus, the claims all fall under one of the four patent eligible categories.
Step (2a) Prong 1 (Judicial Exception)
Regarding claims 1-16, the recited steps are directed towards mental processes of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (III)).
Independent claim 1 recites:
acquire individual ECG pairs measured at a certain period of time and generate a difference between the ECG pairs…;
predict an onset-AF possibility from an ECG difference.
Independent claim 9 recites:
acquiring individual electrocardiogram (ECG) pair measured at a certain period of time, and predicting a probability of onset-AF for an ECG difference between the ECG pairs
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations require finding a difference between two ECG measurements and predicting the possibility/probability of onset atrial fibrillation based on the difference. These limitations are processes that, as drafted, cover that which can be wholly performed in a person’s mind via a series of mental observations and judgements. In particular, a person can analyze the differences between a patient’s ECG measurements to predict their chances of onset AF. These are data gathering and processing steps (acquire, generate, predict) that reflect mental processes.
Accordingly, claims 1 and 9 are directed to a judicial exception including one or more abstract ideas, specifically mental processes.
Independent claims 1 and 9 recite the corresponding apparatus associated with the system/method, including a processor and ECG preprocessor. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these claims also recite a judicial exception including one or more abstract ideas under the mental processes bucket.
The additional limitations in dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, including:
Claims 2 and 11- extract features from ECG signals/generate feature difference
Claims 3 and 12- ECG features are waveform features
Claims 4 and 13- ECG features include beat similarity, fibrillation wave energy, P-wave features
Claims 5 and 14- input data includes gender/age
Claims 6 and 10- AI model training based on patient visit data
Claims 7 and 16- performance indicator
Claims 8 and 15- provide decision-making assistance
These limitations comprise additional abstract ideas and/or further limit the abstract ideas of claims 1 and 9.
Step (2a) Prong 2 (Integration into a Practical Application)
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d).
For claims 1-16, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of providing the AF prediction to a designated device amounts to recitation of a generic results communication mechanism. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these elements are nothing more than the post-solution activity of providing results using generic components.
Regarding claims 1-16, the additional elements of a processor, ECG preprocessor, artificial intelligence model, and prediction information provider amount to recitation of a generic computer/processor. This additional element merely defines the field of use of the current claim. This additional element does not practically integrate the judicial exception because this element does not provide improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any the technical field under MPEP 2106.05(a). Furthermore, when the claims, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it is still in the mental processes grouping unless the claim limitation cannot practically be performed in the mind. Likewise, performance of a claim limitation using generic computer components does not preclude the claim limitation from being in the mental processes grouping.
Step (2b) (Inventive Concept)
The claims also do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, the additional elements of a processor and ECG pre-processor in the field of cardiac monitoring are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry as indicated in the following references:
Scheinowitz et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0343233) teaches that an ECG monitor/analyzer (embodied as a processor) has commercially available programs to detect cardiac conditions of interest [0046].
Cox et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0071570) teaches a commercially available processor [0113].
Accordingly, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 1-16 are thus rejected under 35 USC 101 for reciting patent-ineligible subject matter- abstract ideas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Attia et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0047201), hereinafter ‘Attia’.
Regarding claim 1, Attia teaches an apparatus (system 100, Fig. 1) for predicting atrial fibrillation (AF) (abstract, generate an atrial fibrillation prediction) operated by at least one processor ([0069], processor), comprising:
an electrocardiogram (ECG) preprocessor (interface 106, Fig. 1) configured to acquire individual ECG pairs (first/second NN inputs 118, 124, Fig. 1) measured at a certain period of time ([0042], interface receives ECG recording 116 from ECG recorder 104) and generate a difference between the ECG pairs (Fig. 4, ECG NN Input 402, 404, [0052], differences between ECG recordings) as input data for an artificial intelligence model (atrial fibrillation detection neural network 108, Fig. 1);
an artificial intelligence model (atrial fibrillation detection neural network 108, Fig. 1) configured to be trained (Fig. 2, training of neural network) to predict an onset-AF possibility (A-Fib prediction 120, Fig. 4) from an ECG difference ([0052], process inputs to generate prediction) and output a probability of onset-AF predicted from the input data (Fig. 10, [0038], generate output representing likelihood of patient developing AF); and
a prediction information provider configured to provide AF prediction including the probability of onset-AF to a designated device ([0075], feedback provided to user, display device, [0071], software).
Regarding claim 2, Attia teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the ECG preprocessor is configured to extract ECG features (morphological feature extractor 110, Fig. 1) from ECG signals of each ECG included in the ECG pair ([0044], measure various morphological features from ECG recording), and generate a feature difference between the two ECGs as the input data ([0052], features representing differences between ECG recordings).
Regarding claim 3, Attia teaches the device of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the ECG features include P-QRS-T waveform features ([0044], ECG morphological features include P-wave, QRS-complex, T-wave, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Attia teaches the device of claim 3, further comprising:
wherein the ECG features further include at least one of ECG beat similarity, fibrillation wave energy, and P-wave features ([0044], area of the P-wave).
Regarding claim 5, Attia teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the input data further includes at least one of an individual gender and age (third NN input 126, Fig. 1, [0045], third NN input can be patient profile data and can include age, sex of patient).
Regarding claim 7, Attia teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the AF prediction further includes a performance indicator for the probability of onset-AF (Fig. 9, model performance study, [0054], accuracy, sensitivity, specificity).
Regarding claim 8, Attia teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the prediction information provider is configured to provide decision-making assistance information related to the AF prediction ([0040], recommend monitoring/treatment for patient based on likelihood of patient developing AF).
Regarding claim 9, Attia teaches an operating method of an apparatus for predicting atrial fibrillation (AF) ([0040], generate an atrial fibrillation prediction 120, Fig. 1) operated by at least one processor ([0069], processor), comprising:
acquiring individual electrocardiogram (ECG) pair (first/second NN inputs 118, 124, Fig. 1) measured at a certain period of time ([0042], interface receives ECG recording 116 from ECG recorder 104), and
predicting a probability of onset-AF for an ECG difference between the ECG pairs using an artificial intelligence model (atrial fibrillation detection neural network 108, Fig. 4) trained to predict an onset-AF possibility from the ECG difference ([0052], generate AF prediction based on features representing differences between ECG recordings).
Regarding claim 11, Attia teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
extracting ECG features (morphological feature extractor 110, Fig. 1) from ECG signals of each ECG included in the ECG pair ([0044], measure various morphological features from ECG recording), and generating a feature difference between the two ECGs as input data of the artificial intelligence model ([0052], features representing differences between ECG recordings, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Attia teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising:
wherein the ECG features include P-QRS-T waveform features ([0044], ECG morphological features include P-wave, QRS-complex, T-wave, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Attia teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising:
wherein the ECG features further include at least one of ECG beat similarity, fibrillation wave energy, and P-wave features ([0044], area of the P-wave).
Regarding claim 14, Attia teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising:
wherein the input data further includes at least one of an individual gender and age (third NN input 126, Fig. 1, [0045], third NN input can be patient profile data and can include age, sex of patient).
Regarding claim 15, Attia teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
predicting the AF including the probability of onset-AF ([0038], generate output representing likelihood of patient developing AF); and
providing decision-making assistance information related to the AF prediction to a designated device ([0040], recommend monitoring/treatment for patient based on likelihood of patient developing AF).
Regarding claim 16, Attia teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising:
wherein the AF prediction further includes a performance indicator for the probability of onset-AF (Fig. 9, model performance study, [0054], accuracy, sensitivity, specificity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attia et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0047201).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Attia teaches the device/method of claims 1/9, further comprising:
wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained to learn a relationship between an input and a label tagged in the input using training data (Fig. 2, model training, [0049], compares predictions 208 to labels in training examples 204 that indicate target predictions) to output a value between 0 and 1 predicted for the input data ([0040], prediction is a probability), and the training data is generated using ECGs of patients whose first ECG is normal ([0049], ECG of a patient under normal sinus rhythm), and whose ECG measured at another visit is normal or has AF, and the label is given according to the ECG measured at another visit ([0049], label indicates whether the patient is known to have actually experienced AF at another time).
Attia additionally teaches an atrial fibrillation detection neural network 108 that processes ECG recordings at a first time 402 and a second time 404, both under normal sinus rhythm (see [0052], Fig. 4), then processes the inputs to generate an AF prediction. Attia also teaches the training neural network subsystem 206 has the same architecture of the neural network 108 (see [0047], Fig. 2)
Attia does not specifically teach that the training data is generated using patient ECGs from three visits, the first two being normal and the third being normal or AF.
It is the Examiner’s position that the atrial fibrillation detection neural network 108 of Fig. 4 would require a training dataset. Based on the system of Fig. 4, this training dataset would contain two normal ECGs and a label indicating if that patient experienced AF at another time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Edelberg et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2024/0350095) teaches a system/method for detecting a cardiac health status for a subject using ECG data (abstract). See Figs. 6 and 12, [0124] (identifying changes in P wave from past measurements, patient follow up visit ECGs).
Zimmerman (US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0384045) teaches a system/method for predicting the likelihood that a patient will suffer from a cardiac event (abstract). See Fig. 5B, [0151] (multiple ECG measurements).
Lange (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0258406) teaches a system/method for monitoring cardiac function and providing a clinical indication associated with a disease (abstract). See Fig. 2, [0036] (recording ECG data periodically).
/E.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/SHIRLEY X JIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792
July 23, 2026