DETAILED ACTION
Notes Regarding Election/Restrictions
Examiner notes that claims 6 and 7 present distinct configurations of the detection unit. At this time, both claims will be examined. However, should future claim amendments cause the examination of both configurations to become burdensome, Applicant will be required to elect one of the configurations for further examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the transfer member in which “the first member is not in contact with the head, and the second member is in contact with the head” (per claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by Tomimatsu et al. (US 2022/0305827 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Tomimatsu et al. disclose a liquid ejection apparatus comprising:
a head (liquid ejecting head 20) configured to eject a liquid (paragraph 21);
a heat source (at least one of heaters 185, 186); and
a transfer member (at least spacer 181, head cover 23, fixing plate 29) configured to transfer heat generated by the heat source to the head (Figs. 4, 11-12),
wherein the head includes:
a nozzle plate (74) having a nozzle surface where a nozzle (N) configured to eject a liquid opens (Figs. 4, 7); and
a main body portion (at least substrates 71, 77) to which the nozzle plate is attached (Fig. 4) and which includes a supply flow path (714) in communication with the nozzle (Fig. 4), and
wherein the transfer member surrounds the nozzle plate (Figs. 4, 7).
Regarding claim 2:
Tomimatsu et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the transfer member surrounds the nozzle plate and the main body portion (Figs. 4, 11-12).
Regarding claim 3:
Tomimatsu et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and also that the transfer member includes:
a first member (fixing plate 29) configured to surround the nozzle plate (Figs. 4, 7); and
a second member (head cover 23) configured to surround the main body portion (Figs. 5, 11-12),
wherein the heat source is attached to the second member (Figs. 11-12), and
wherein the first member is in contact with the second member (Figs. 5, 11-12).
Regarding claim 5:
Tomimatsu et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the apparatus further comprises:
a carriage (18) on which the head is mounted (Fig. 1), wherein the heat source is attached to the carriage (Figs. 8, 10).
Regarding claims 8-9:
Tomimatsu et al. disclose all the limitations of claims 1/5, and also that the transfer member holds the head (Fig. 5, 11-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomimatsu (US 2022/0305827 A1) in view of Kamiyama (US 2008/0174627 A1).
Regarding claim 6:
Tomimatsu et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose a detection unit configured to detect a temperature of a liquid.
However, Kamiyama discloses a liquid ejection apparatus that is able to warm up a head according to a detected temperature (paragraph 223) by including a detection unit (temperature sensor 91) configured to detect a temperature of a liquid (paragraph 206), wherein the detection unit is attached to the nozzle plate (Fig. 12) and detects a temperature of a liquid located in the nozzle (paragraph 206).
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a detection unit, such as that taught by Kamiyama, into Tomimatsu et al.’s apparatus.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomimatsu (US 2022/0305827 A1) in view of Hagiwara et al. (US 2014/0240386 A1).
Regarding claim 7:
Tomimatsu et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose a detection unit configured to detect a temperature of a liquid.
However, Hagiwara et al. disclose a liquid ejection apparatus that is able to suppress erroneous ink discharge (paragraph 12) by including a detection unit (temperature sensor 115) configured to detect a temperature of a liquid (paragraph 40), wherein the detection unit is attached to a main body portion (head main body 21: Fig. 3) and detects a temperature of a liquid located in the supply flow path (paragraph 51 & Fig. 3).
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a detection unit, such as that taught by Hagiwara, into Tomimatsu et al.’s apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 appears to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record does not disclose or make obvious a liquid ejection apparatus comprising a transfer member having first and second members, wherein “the first member is not in contact with the head, and the second member is in contact with the head.” It is this combination of limitations, in combination with other features and limitations of claim 4, that indicates allowable subject matter over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tanaka (US 2019/0283429 A1) disclose a liquid ejection apparatus having a heat source (50, 52) and a transfer member (60), wherein the transfer member surrounds the nozzle plate (Figs. 4, 6).
Kasuga (US 2006/0262153 A1) discloses a liquid ejection apparatus having a heat source (HA) and a transfer member (HB), wherein the transfer member surrounds the nozzle plate (Figs. 5, 6).
Yamamori et al. (US 2012/0092408 A1) disclose a liquid ejection apparatus having a heat source (17) and a transfer member (20), wherein the transfer member surrounds the nozzle plate (paragraph 29 & Fig. 3A).
Sato et al. (US 2011/0316935 A1) disclose a liquid ejection apparatus having a heat source (56) and a transfer member (33), wherein the transfer member surrounds the nozzle plate (Fig. 3).
Watanabe (US 2019/0381794 A1) disclose a liquid ejection apparatus comprising a heat source (drive circuit 80 of e.g. the central head unit 261: paragraph 37 & Fig. 3) and a transfer member (any of support plate 643, fixing plate 263, and support 265), wherein the transfer member surrounds the nozzle plate (Figs. 3-4).
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853