DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “oxygen source … for providing the periodic hypoxia challenge” in claim 17 - see [0047] of instant specification as filed “oxygen tank 135”..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Christodoulou et al., Abstract #0154 "Probing Mitochondria Function in Intact Fetal Brains with Ungated 4D Oxy-wavelet MRI in an Irradiation Injury Mouse Model" “Abstract #0154”.
Regarding claim 1, Abstract #0154 discloses a method of non-invasively assessing mitochondrial function in live tissue of a subject (see e.g., Title, Synopsis section and Introduction sections), comprising: providing periodic hypoxia challenges to the subject during a cyclic oxygenation period (page 2, under methods sub-heading “During acquisition, shortbursts of 3-min hypoxia (10% O2) interleaved with 3-min hyperoxia (100% O2) were supplied …”); acquiring 4D BOLD fMRI data from the live tissue of the subject during the cyclic oxygenation period (page 2, under methods sub-heading “4D-fMRI was acquired …During acquisition…”); and analyzing the acquired 4D BOLD fMRI data to determine a measure of mitochondrial function for each of a number of regions of the live tissue ((page 2, under introduction subheading “…analyzed by a continuous wavelet transform” and/or page methods sub-heading or page 3 text associated with Fig. 3 “automated time-frequency analysis scheme for 4D oxy-wavelet MRI”).
Regarding claim 16, see overlapping subject matter in claim 1 above, see page 2 methods section regarding “a 7-Tesla preclinical scanner (Bruker Biospec USR 70/30) … automated time-frequency analysis scheme” and Fig. 3, the scanner is an fMRI system that includes a magnet RF system and controller, and the controller will be configured to perform the associated method steps.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 18-19, see Fig. 3 and associated text in page 3.
Regarding claims 4 and 20, see page 2, under methods sub-heading “During acquisition, shortbursts of 3-min hypoxia (10% O2) interleaved with 3-min hyperoxia (100% O2) …”).
Regarding claim 17, an oxygen source that is an equivalent oxygen tank 135 in [0047] of instant specification is an inherent feature, to provide the shortbursts of hypoxia and hyperoxia discussed in the method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims are 1, 5-8, 15-16 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant cited Wu et al., US 20210349167 A1 ("Wu") in view of Christodoulou et al. Abstract #3202 "4D Real-time BOLD MRI in Genetically Engineered Mouse Brains with Acute Hypoxia Challenge" (“Abstract #3202”).
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 16, Wu discloses A method, system and associated non-transitory computer readable medium storing instruction to perform the method of non-invasively assessing mitochondrial function in live tissue of a subject (see Title, Abstract, Fig. 1, [0003], [0018] and [0050] “… once the dynamic 4D is generated as described herein, it may be used for any of a number of potential measurements and applications including … BOLD responses including normal to hyperoxygenation and oscillating hypoxia challenge to probe mitochondrial functions… automatic diagnosis…”), comprising: providing periodic hypoxia challenges to the subject during a cyclic oxygenation period (inherent step in [0050] “… BOLD responses including normal to hyperoxygenation and oscillating hypoxia challenge to probe mitochondrial functions”); acquiring 4D BOLD fMRI data from the live tissue of the subject during the cyclic oxygenation period ([0037] and Fig. 2 @ 100 “… spatially encoded data is collected for patient 6 using MRI system 2”); and analyzing the acquired 4D BOLD fMRI data to determine a measure of mitochondrial function for each of a number of regions of the live tissue ([0050] “.. to probe mitochondrial function” requires analysis of the 4D BOLD fMRI data), the system is disclosed as comprising an fMRI system including a magnet, an RF system and a controller configured to perform the method (see Fig. 1, [0033-0034]) and associated computer readable medium ([0018] and [0035]).
Even in the event it is argued that Wu does not explicitly disclose providing step and the acquiring step, "Abstract #3202" discloses this aspect in Results section and second figure and associated text in page 3. In view of the teachings of "Abstract #3202”, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include providing periodic hypoxia challenges to the subject during a cyclic oxygenation period and include acquiring 4D BOLD fMRI data from the live tissue of the subject during the cyclic oxygenation period, so as to obtain BOLD responses that include normal to hyperoxygenation and oscillating hypoxia challenge, so as to probe mitochondrial functions form the BOLD responses as suggested by Wu.
Regarding claims 5 and 21, see Wu, Fig. 2, @100 and @105 and associated discussion in e.g., [0037] and [0043], training data read on D1 and non-training data read on D2 as claimed and/or "Abstract #3202” methods section.
Regarding claims 6 and 22, see Wu Fig. 2 @ 115 and 120 and associated discussion in [0044-0045], and/or "Abstract #3202” methods section.
Regarding claim 7 and 23, see Wu Fig. 2 @ 125 , @130 and associated discussion in [0046] and/or "Abstract #3202” methods section.
Regarding claims 8 and 24, see Wu Fig. 2 @ 125, @130 and associated discussion in [0046] and/or "Abstract #3202” methods section. Wu does not disclose wherein the analyzing comprises segmenting the final 4D image signal to create a segmented BOLD waveform, however, "Abstract #3202” discloses in Results section, “Temporal BOLD signal responses to the oscillating hypoxia challenge in selected regions (R1, R2, R3) are displayed as magnitude (Fig.2, G-I) and phase (Fig.2 J-L)”, see second figure in page 3, a process that involve segmentation of regions R1, R2 and R3 to perform analysis. In view of these teachings, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wu to include analyzing that comprises segmenting the final 4D image signal to create a segmented BOLD waveform, so as to analyze different sections within the final 4D image signal for diagnosis purposes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 and 25-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the claims include subject matter of claim 9 or 25, that when combined with the subject matter of claim 8 or 24, would be nonobvious over the combined prior art of record, as the claimed invention further require forcing the BOLD waveform to be zero-mean and frequency normalized to create a modified segmented BOLD waveform for analysis. It is noted that "Abstract #3202” teaches in text associated with Figure 2, normalizing of color scales that is distinct from forcing the BOLD waveform to be zero-mean and frequency normalized. In light of the prior art failing to fully disclose the features of claims 9 and 25, the claims would be allowable over the prior art, but are currently objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. Claims 10-14 and 26-30 are likewise objected to, as they include all limitations of base claim 9 or 25 and would be allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797