Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the term “about 5 μm to about 100 μm” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In order to expedite prosecution, the term “about” is construed as how it might be interpreted by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, there is no antecedent basis for the term “the base structure” and it is not clear whether this should be construed as: “the barrier base structure” or as: “[[the]] a base structure”.
The Examiner believes that claim 20 should be construed as: “the barrier base structure” and in an effort to expedite prosecution, claim 20 is construed as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Beyer” (US 2020/0111750) in view of “Marbell” (US 2024/0106397).
Regarding claim 14, Beyer discloses 14. A semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate comprising an active area (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054]; a semiconductor substrate 200 comprising an active area 226);
a metal layer structure over the active area, wherein the metal layer structure is configured to form an electrical contact, the metal layer structure comprising: a solder area (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054]; a metal layer structure 108 over the active area 226, wherein the metal layer structure 108 is configured to form an electrical contact, the metal layer structure comprising: a solder area 230);
a buffer area (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054]; a buffer area 232);
a barrier area between the solder area and the buffer area (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054]; a barrier area 220, 220_2 between the solder area 230 and the buffer area 232);
wherein, in the barrier area, the metal layer structure is arranged over a barrier base structure (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054]; in the barrier area 220, 220_2, the metal layer structure 108 is arranged over a barrier base structure 228, 228_2),
wherein the barrier base structure is formed as a contiguous structure that surrounds the solder area (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054]; the barrier base structure 228, 228_2 is formed as a contiguous structure that surrounds the solder area 230).
Beyer does not disclose an insulated metal structure extending from an edge region of the semiconductor device to the solder area, and gaps in the barrier base structure through which the insulated metal structure extends.
Marbell an insulated metal structure extending from an edge region of the semiconductor device to the solder area (Fig. 2A, [0091]; the gate finger 152 is an insulated metal structure extending from an edge region of the semiconductor device to the solder area),
and gaps in the barrier base structure through which the insulated metal structure extends (Fig. 2A, [0091]; the gaps between the structure of the common drain bus 148 and the source finger 156 through which the gate finger 152 extends).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Beyer’s semiconductor substrate with Marbell’s package structure in order to provide for a patterned backside metal layer providing the respective gate, drain, and/or source terminals on a bottom surface of the semiconductor structure, and a barrier metal layer thereon, as suggested by Marbell at [0058].
Regarding claim 17, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Beyer does not disclose the limitations of claim 17.
Marbell discloses 17. The semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the insulated metal structure traverses the solder area, extending from the edge region of the semiconductor device to an opposite edge region of the semiconductor device (Fig. 2A, [0091]; the gate finger 152 traverses the solder area, extending from the edge region of the semiconductor device to an opposite edge region of the semiconductor device).
Regarding claim 18, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Beyer does not disclose the limitations of claim 18.
Marbell discloses 18. The semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the insulated metal structure is a gate finger or a connection to a sensor (Fig. 2A, [0091]; the insulated metal structure is a gate finger 152).
Regarding claim 19, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Beyer discloses 19. The semiconductor device of claim 14, further comprising: a further barrier area between the barrier area and the buffer area (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054]; the barrier area 220_2 is a further barrier area between the barrier area 220 and the buffer area 232).
Regarding claim 20, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 19, above.
Beyer discloses 20. The semiconductor device of claim 19, wherein, in the further barrier area, the metal layer structure is arranged over a further barrier base structure, and wherein the barrier base structure and the further barrier base structure are connected by a curved connecting segment (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054]; in the further barrier area 220_2, the metal layer structure 108 is arranged over a further barrier base structure 228_2, and wherein the barrier base structure 228 and the further barrier base structure 228_2 are connected by a curved connecting segment. Examiner’s note: see the 112 rejection above regarding the construction of this limitation.).
Regarding claim 21, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Beyer discloses 21. The semiconductor device of claim 14, further comprising: a further electrical contact, wherein the barrier area is arranged between the solder area and the further electrical contact (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054], [0073]; the subject-matter of any of Examples 1 to 10 may further optionally include a further electrical contact, wherein the barrier area is arranged between the solder area and the further electrical contact).
Regarding claim 22, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Beyer discloses 22. The semiconductor device of claim 14, further comprising: a metal contact structure having a solder portion soldered to the solder area (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054], [0056]; the semiconductor device 200 may include the metal contact structure 104, e.g. a metal clip, having a solder portion soldered to the solder area 230 of the metal layer structure 108),
wherein lateral dimensions of the solder area are configured to be larger than the lateral dimensions of the solder portion (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0054], [0056]-[0057]; the solder area 230, may be just slightly larger (e.g. by about 5% to about 10% in each dimension) than the solder portion of the metal contact structure 104).
Regarding claim 23, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 22, above.
Beyer discloses 23. The semiconductor device of claim 22, wherein the metal contact structure is a metal clip (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0027]-[0028], [0033], [0043], [0054], [0056]; the metal contact structure is a metal clip 104).
Regarding claim 24, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Beyer discloses 24. The semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the semiconductor device is configured to have a current flow in a vertical direction through the semiconductor device (Figs. 2C, 5A, [0031]; the semiconductor device 200 may be configured to have a current flow in a vertical direction through the semiconductor device 200.).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer in view of Marbell and “Adachi” (US 2024/0079480).
Regarding claim 15, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Beyer does not disclose the limitations of claim 15.
Adachi discloses 15. The semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein a distance between the insulated metal structure and the barrier base structure is in a range from about 5 μm to about 100 μm (Fig. 1A, [[0103], [0105]; a distance between the conductors is 50 μm or more. Examiner’s note: see the 112 rejection above regarding the construction of this limitation.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Beyer’s semiconductor substrate, as modified by Marbell, with Adachi’s semiconductor structure in order to achieve both downsizing and a configuration in which a plurality of gate wirings do not interfere at the time of modularization, as suggested by Adachi at [0005].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer in view of Marbell and “Yang” (US 2023/0154788).
Regarding claim 16, Beyer in view of Marbell discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Beyer does not disclose the limitations of claim 16.
Yang discloses 16. The semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein a terminal portion of the barrier base structure adjacent to the insulated metal structure is rounded (Fig. 1A, [0095]; the semiconductor device structure includes a conductive line with a rounded end portion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Beyer’s semiconductor substrate, as modified by Marbell, with Yang’s semiconductor structure in order to form reliable semiconductor devices at smaller and smaller sizes as feature sizes (e.g., diameters of conductive via structures) continue to decrease, as suggested by Yang at [0004].
Conclusion
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847