Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In regards to claim 6, the body of the claim contradicts the preamble since it is not further limiting the subject matter of the preamble. It is unclear if applicant intends the clamp assembly as an intended use of if applicants instead intends to claim a clamp assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKiernan (US 2013/02636774). McKiernan discloses a clamp assembly and fastener washer assembly comprising: two curved bands (22 and 24) terminating in two clamp members (28, 34); a threaded fastener (14) tightened with a nut (18) for fastening the clamp members towards each other to apply a clamping force; and a fastener washer assembly (10) coupled to the threaded fastener for providing a visual inspection of the tightening. The fastener washer assembly (10) comprising: a first member (54) with a visual indicator (62); a second member (38) with a window (58) in a outer rim (40) extending from a plate member (52); a biasing spring (50) between the first and second members to bias the members away from each other; wherein the visual indicator is moveable to be visible through the window when tightened to a predetermined torque (p.[0042]-[0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKiernan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krausz (US 2012/0145270). McKiernan does not disclose washer assembly including washers. Krausz discloses a clamp assembly similar to McKiernan and teaches the option of having washers (p.[0020]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the washer assembly of McKiernan with washers as disclosed in Krausz because Krausz teaches them as a option for yield the same results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Veiga (US 9,494,237), Suggs (US 5,316,319), Suggs (US 5,024,453), Payne (US 4,170,163) and Dillon (US 2,830,486) teach other examples of fastener washer assemblies with visual indicators. Belen (US 11,796,095) is cited to teach another example of clamp assembly with a visual indicator.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675