DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to communications filed August 05, 2026, Claims 2, 4-6, 8, 12 and 17 have been amended. Claims 7 and 13 have been cancelled. Claims 21 and 22 have been newly added. Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 14-22 are currently pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatni et al. (Chatni; US Pub No. 2023/0394964 A1) in view Levkova et al. (Levkova; US Pub No. 2018/0126901 A1).
As per claim 1, Chatni teaches a method of determining a driver score for a driver of a vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving at least one human influencing factor (paragraph [0047], lines 13-14) and embedding the at least one human influencing factor into a human vector (Fig. 9, 904, 924; paragraph [0083], 1-8 & lines 30-35);
receiving at least one vehicle influencing factor (paragraph [0047], lines 16-18) and embedding the at least one vehicle influencing factor into a vehicle vector (Fig. 9, 904, 924; paragraph [0083], lines 1-8 & 30-35);
receiving at least one context influencing factor (paragraph [0047], lines 19-21) and embedding the at least one context influencing factor into a context vector (Fig. 9, 906, 926; paragraph [0083], lines 1-8 & 30-35);
concatenating the human vector, the vehicle vector, and the context vector to generate a concatenated vector (Fig. 9; paragraph [0083], lines 30-38); and
… based on the concatenated vector utilizing a machine learning algorithm (Fig. 9, Calculated Probability 940, Concatenated Vector 930; paragraph [0083], lines 30-38; paragraph [0084]: calculated probability teaches the claimed driver score).
Chatni does not expressly teach determining the driver score for the driver.
Levkova teaches determining the driver score for the driver (paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the driver score as taught by Levkova, since Levkova states in paragraph [0072] that such a modification would result in implementing systems for ensuring the safe operation of a vehicle, i.e. notifying a third-party when a driver score drops below a predetermined threshold.
As per claim 2, Chatni in view of Levkova further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one human influencing factor includes a driving characteristic of the driver (Chatni, paragraph [0047], lines 13-14) and the embedding occurs with a neural network utilizing a transform encoder that transforms the at least one human influencing factor into the human vector (Chatni, Fig. 9, 904, 924; paragraph [0083], lines 1-8 & 30-38).
As per claim 4, Chatni in view of Levkova further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one vehicle influencing factor includes a mechanical status of the vehicle (Chatni, paragraph [0035], lines 5-7: motor power) and the embedding occurs with a neural network utilizing a transform encoder that transforms the at least one vehicle influencing factor into the vehicle vector (Chatni, Fig. 9, 904, 924; paragraph [0083], lines 1-8 & 30-38).
As per claim 6, Chatni in view of Levkova further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one context influencing factor includes at least one of a temporal context, a spatial context, a spatiotemporal context, or a social context for the driver and the vehicle (Chatni, paragraph [0047], lines 19-21) and the embedding occurs with a neural network utilizing a transform encoder that transforms the at least one context influencing factor into the context vector (Chatni, Fig. 9, 906, 926; paragraph [0083], lines 1-8 & 30-38).
As per claim 14, (see rejection of claim 1 above) a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium embodying programmed instructions which, when executed by a processor, are operable for performing a method comprising:
receiving at least one human influencing factor and embedding the at least one human
influencing factor into a human vector;
receiving at least one vehicle influencing factor and embedding the at least one vehicle
influencing factor into a vehicle vector;
receiving at least one context influencing factor and embedding the at least one context
influencing factor into a context vector;
concatenating the human vector, the vehicle vector, and the context vector to generate a
concatenated vector; and
determining a driver score for a driver based on the concatenated vector utilizing a neural
network.
As per claim 19, (see rejection of claim 1 above) a vehicle comprising:
a body defining a passenger compartment (Chatni, paragraph [0001]: vehicle);
a plurality of wheels supporting the body (Chatni, paragraph [0001]: vehicle; paragraph [0035]);
a plurality of sensors fixed relative to the body (Chatni, paragraph [0057], lines 1-6); and
a controller in communication with the plurality of sensors (Chatni, paragraph [0003]: microprocessor), the controller being programmed to:
receive at least one human influencing factor and embedding the at least one human influencing factor into a human vector;
receive at least one vehicle influencing factor and embedding the at least one vehicle influencing factor into a vehicle vector;
receive at least one context influencing factor and embedding the at least one context influencing factor into a context vector;
concatenate the human vector, the vehicle vector, and the context vector to generate a concatenated vector; and
determine a driver score for a driver based on the concatenated vector utilizing a machine learning algorithm.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 8, 15, 16 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatni in view of Levkova as applied above, and further in view of Gallagher et al. (Gallagher; US Pub No. 2019/0332902 A1).
As per claim 3, Chatni in view of Levkova teaches the method of claim 2.
Chatni in view of Levkova does not expressly teach wherein the driving characteristic includes at least one of a duration of vehicle operation for the driver or a health and emotional status of the driver.
Gallagher teaches wherein the driving characteristic includes at least one of a duration of vehicle operation for the driver or a health and emotional status of the driver (paragraph [0072], lines 12-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the emotional valence and arousal level determination for a driver as taught by Gallagher, since Gallagher states that such a modification would result in evaluating a driver’s state, e.g., mental state, focus, irritation and attention.
As per claim 5, Chatni in view of Levkova teaches the method of claim 1… and the embedding occurs with a neural network utilizing a transform encoder that transforms the at least one vehicle influencing factor into the vehicle vector (Chatni, Fig. 9, 904, 924; paragraph [0083], lines 1-8 & 30-38).
Chatni in view of Levkova does not expressly teach wherein the at least one vehicle influencing factor includes at least one of a load type carried by the vehicle, a load status carried by the vehicle, or a service history of the vehicle.
Gallagher teaches wherein the at least one vehicle influencing factor includes at least one of a load type carried by the vehicle, a load status carried by the vehicle, or a service history of the vehicle (paragraph [0083], lines 4-5: check engine indicator – service history).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the engine indicator as taught by Gallagher, since Gallagher states that such a modification would result in evaluating the state of a vehicle when determining a driver state.
As per claim 8, Chatni in view of Levkova teaches the method of claim 1 [[7]].
Chatni in view of Levkova does not expressly teach including determining an adaptive response by utilizing an adaptive response engine to evaluate the driver score and a major influencer to the driver score to determine the adaptive response, wherein the major influencer is determined based on selecting which of the human vector, the vehicle vector, or the context vector provided a greatest contribution to the driver score.
Gallagher teaches including determining an adaptive response by utilizing an adaptive response engine to evaluate the driver score and a major influencer to the driver score to determine the adaptive response, wherein the major influencer is determined based on selecting which of the human vector, the vehicle vector, or the context vector provided a greatest contribution to the driver score (paragraph [0038], lines 9-14; paragraph [0058], lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the adaptive braking system as taught by Gallagher, since Gallagher states in paragraph [0038] that such a modification would result in optimizing the response of the system in view of a driver condition.
As per claim 15, (see rejection of claim 8 above) the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein the method includes determining an adaptive response by utilizing an adaptive response engine to evaluate the driver score and a major influencer to the driver score to determine an adaptive response.
As per claim 16, (see rejection of claim 8 above) the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the major influencer is determined based on selecting which of the human vector, the vehicle vector, or the context vector provided a greatest contribution to the driver score.
As per claim 20, (see rejection of claim 8 above) the vehicle of claim 19, wherein the controller is programmed to determine an adaptive response by utilizing an adaptive response engine to evaluate the driver score and a major influencer on the driver score.
As per claim 21, Chatni in view of Levkova, and further in view of Gallagher, further teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the at least one human influencing factor includes a driving characteristic of the driver (Chatni, paragraph [0047], lines 13-14) and the embedding occurs with a neural network utilizing a transform encoder that transforms the at least one human influencing factor into the human vector (Chatni, Fig. 9, 904, 924; paragraph [0083], lines 1-8 & 30-38) and the driving characteristic includes at least one of a duration of vehicle operation for the driver or a health and emotional status of the driver (Gallagher, paragraph [0072], lines 12-14);
wherein the at least one vehicle influencing factor includes a mechanical status of the vehicle (Chatni, paragraph [0035], lines 5-7: motor power) and the embedding occurs with a neural network utilizing a transform encoder that transforms the at least one vehicle influencing factor into the vehicle vector (Chatni, Fig. 9, 904, 924; paragraph [0083], lines 1-8 & 30-38); and
wherein the at least one context influencing factor includes at least one of a temporal context, a spatial context, a spatiotemporal context, or a social context for the driver and the vehicle (Chatni, paragraph [0047], lines 19-21) and the embedding occurs with a neural network utilizing a transform encoder that transforms the at least one context influencing factor into the context vector (Chatni, Fig. 9, 906, 926; paragraph [0083], lines 1-8 & 30-38).
As per claim 22, Chatni in view of Levkova and Gallagher further teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the driver score is categorized into one of a plurality of tiers including a low score, a medium score, and a high score (Levkova, paragraph [0058], lines 19-20).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatni in view of Levkova and Gallagher as applied above, and further in view of Hu et al. (Hu; US Patent No. 9,574,888 B1).
As per claim 9, Chatni in view of Levkova and Gallagher teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the adaptive response includes updating a route for the vehicle (Gallagher, paragraph [0096]).
Chatni in view of Levkova and Gallagher does not expressly teach wherein the adaptive response includes updating a route for the vehicle when the context vector provided the greatest contribution to the driver score and the driver score was below a predetermined threshold value.
Hu teaches wherein the adaptive response includes updating a route for the vehicle when the context vector provided the greatest contribution to the driver score and the driver score was below a predetermined threshold value (col. 8, lines 52-67; col. 9, line 55-col. 11, line 26: weighting different factors and determining a driver safety level).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the weighting technique as taught by Hu, since Hu states in column 8, lines 52-67 that such a modification would result in controlling a vehicle output based on data which is determined to be of the most importance.
As per claim 10, Chatni in view of Levkova and Gallagher teaches the method of claim 8.
Chatni in view of Levkova and Gallagher does not expressly teach wherein the adaptive response includes providing the driver a driver score explanation when the human vector provided the greatest contribution to the driver score and the driver score was below a predetermined threshold value.
Hu teaches wherein the adaptive response includes providing the driver a driver score explanation (col. 12, lines 8-10) when the human vector provided the greatest contribution to the driver score and the driver score was below a predetermined threshold value (col. 8, lines 52-67; col. 9, line 55-col. 11, line 26: weighting different factors and determining a driver safety level).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the weighting technique as taught by Hu, since Hu states in column 8, lines 52-67 that such a modification would result in controlling a vehicle output based on data which is determined to be of the most importance.
As per claim 11, Chatni in view of Levkova and Gallagher teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the adaptive response includes providing a vehicle maintenance alert (Gallagher, paragraph [0083]: check engine indicator).
Chatni in view of Levkova and Gallagher does not expressly teach when the vehicle vector provided the greatest contribution to the driver score and the driver score was below a predetermined threshold value.
Hu teaches teach when the vehicle vector provided the greatest contribution to the driver score and the driver score was below a predetermined threshold value (col. 8, lines 52-67; col. 9, line 55-col. 11, line 26: weighting different factors and determining a driver safety level).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the weighting technique as taught by Hu, since Hu states in column 8, lines 52-67 that such a modification would result in controlling a vehicle output based on data which is determined to be of the most importance.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatni in view of Levkova as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hu and Gupta et al. (Gupta; US Pub No. 2024/0326873 A1).
As per claim 17, Chatni in view of Levkova teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16.
Chatni in view of Levkova does not expressly teach wherein the adaptive response includes providing the driver with a driver score explanation when the human vector provided the greatest contribution to the driver score and the driver score was below a predetermined threshold value and the drive score explanation includes a recommendation to improve the score.
Hu teaches wherein the adaptive response includes providing the driver with a driver score explanation (col. 12, lines 8-10) when the human vector provided the greatest contribution to the driver score and the driver score was below a predetermined threshold value (col. 8, lines 52-67; col. 9, line 55-col. 11, line 26: weighting different factors and determining a driver safety level).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the weighting technique as taught by Hu, since Hu states in column 8, lines 52-67 that such a modification would result in controlling a vehicle output based on data which is determined to be of the most importance.
Gupta teaches and the drive score explanation includes a recommendation to improve the score (paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the drive recommendation as taught by Gupta, since Gupta states in paragraph [0056] that such a modification would result in providing an safer operating condition for the driver.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatni in view of Levkova, Hu and Gupta as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Sicconi et al. (Sicconi; US Pub No. 2023/0112797 A1).
As per claim 18, Chatni in view of Levkova, Hu and Gupta teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17.
Chatni in view of Levkova, Hu and Gupta does not expressly teach wherein the driver score explanation for the driver is generated from a large language model receiving at least the driver score and the major influencer.
Sicconi teaches wherein the driver score explanation for the driver is generated from a large language model receiving at least the driver score and the major influencer (paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the use of artificial intelligence as taught by Sicconi, since Sicconi states that such a modification would result in providing user-specific recommendations based upon predetermined driver and vehicle contributing factors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the above claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NAOMI J SMALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685