DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/23/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-16 are withdrawn.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-6 and 17-20 rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 10, 11 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,983582. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of the application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 2 of the application is anticipated by claim 2 of the patent.
Claim 3 of the application is anticipated by claim 3 of the patent.
Claim 4 of the application is anticipated by claim 4 of the patent.
Claim 5 of the application is anticipated by claim 5 of the patent.
Claim 6 of the application is anticipated by claim 6 of the patent.
Claim 17 of the application is anticipated by claim 11 of the patent.
Claim 18 of the application is anticipated by claim 11 of the patent.
Claim 19 of the application is anticipated by claim 11 of the patent.
Claim 20 of the application is anticipated by claim 20 of the patent.
Claim 7 rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,582 in view of Well Known Prior Art (Official Notice).
Claim 1 of the patent anticipates most of the features recited in claim 7 of the application. However claim 1 of the patent fails to explicitly teach wherein wirelessly detecting the network identifier and the product identifier that were wirelessly transmitted by the item at the geographic location comprises wirelessly detecting a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID).
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize RFID for transmission of information by an item.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to claim 1 of the patent to help improve the energy efficiency of the wireless transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0252405 (Bales et al.).
The applied reference has a common Assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As to claims 1 and 17, Bales teaches a wireless communication network comprising:
a wireless radio (411, fig 4) to wirelessly detect a network identifier and a product identifier that were wirelessly transmitted by an item (401, fig 4) at a geographic location (see paragraph 27, 5GID and GTIN sent by item 401 to transceiver 411);
receiver circuitry to select an Application Programming Interface (API) based on the network identifier, wherein the selected API is associated with a wireless network slice (see paragraph 27, based on received 5GID, API selected for slice X);
the receiver circuitry to generate an API call based on the selected API, wherein the API call indicates the product identifier and the geographic location for the item (see paragraph 27, API call comprising GTIN and location generated); and
the receiver circuitry to transfer the API call for delivery to the wireless network slice (see paragraph 27, API call sent for slice X).
As to claim 2, Bales further teaches wherein selecting the API based on the network identifier comprises selecting the API based on the product identifier and the network identifier (see paragraph 27, API called based on GTIN and 5GID).
As to claim 3, Bales further teaches wherein selecting the API based on the network identifier comprises selecting the API based on the geographic location and the network identifier (see paragraph 27, API called based on location and 5GID).
As to claim 5, Bales further teaches wherein generating the API call that indicates the product identifier and the geographic location for the item based on the selected API comprises generating the API call that indicates the network identifier, the product identifier, and the geographic location for the item based on the selected API (see paragraph 27, API call indicates 5GID, GTIN and location).
As to claims 6 and 20, Bales further teaches where the product identifier comprises a Global Trade Item Number (GTIN) (see paragraph 27).
As to claim 7, Bales further teaches wherein wirelessly detecting the network identifier and the product identifier that were wirelessly transmitted by the item at the geographic location comprises wirelessly detecting a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) (see paragraph 20).
As to claim 18, Bales further teaches a network controller (422, fig 4) to authenticate the receiver circuitry, and in response, to transfer the selected API to the receiver circuitry (see paragraph 26, AMF 422 authenticates transceiver 411).
As to claim 19, Bales further teaches the wireless network slice to receive the API call from the receiver circuitry; the wireless network slice to select an application that is associated with the item based on the product identifier for the item; and the wireless network slice to transfer the product identifier and the geographic location for the item for delivery to selected application (see paragraphs 25-27, slice X delivers API call information to dAPP).
Conclusion
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641