DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the semiconductor die housed in a package (claims 2-5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuan (US 7545645 B2).
As to claim 1, Kuan discloses:
An information handling system (IHS) (computer, see col. 2, lines 22-46; Fig. 1-3) comprising:
an information handling resource 22;
a heatsink 40, coupled to the information handling resource, wherein the heatsink comprises a plurality of fins 401, 402 on a side (top side of flat base beneath fins) of the heatsink away from the information handling resource (entire heatsink is located away from 22), wherein the plurality of fins are configured to create a plurality of air channels 405 that are narrower toward a center (at 408) of the heatsink and wider toward a first edge 406 and a second edge 407 of the heatsink (see col. 2, line 47 – col. 3, line 63); and
an air mover 50 (cooling fan) configured to drive airflow through the air channels.
As to claim 18, Kuan discloses:
A method comprising:
generating heat from an information handling resource 22 (CPU of a computer, see col. 2, lines 22-46; Fig. 1-3) in an information handling system (IHS) (computer), wherein the information handling resource is coupled to a heatsink 40; and
operating an air mover 50 (cooling fan) to create airflow within the IHS, wherein the airflow is directed through a plurality of fins 401, 402 of the heatsink, wherein the fins are configured to create a plurality of air channels 405 that are narrower toward a center (at 408) of the heatsink and wider toward a first edge 406 and a second edge 407 of the heatsink (see col. 2, line 47 – col. 3, line 63).
As to claim 19, Kuan discloses:
further comprising: removing heat from the information handling resource via the airflow (see Abstract, see col. 2, line 47 – col. 3, line 63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuan (US 7545645 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ma (US 20050063159 A1).
As to claim 2, Kuan discloses:
wherein the information handling resource 22 comprises a semiconductor die housed in a package (e.g., a semiconductor chip package – CPU; see col. 2, lines 22-46; Fig. 1-3).
Kuan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heatsink is coupled directly to the package.
However, Ma discloses:
wherein the heatsink 100 is coupled directly (at base 200; par. 0017) to the package (CPU, bridge chip, graphics chip, DIMM);
in order to provide direct contact with heat-generating devices such as the CPU, the south/north bridge chips, the graphics chip, and the DIMM's, avoiding damages due to overheating (see par. 0016, 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kuan as suggested by Ma, e.g., providing:
wherein the heatsink is coupled directly to the package;
in order to provide direct contact with heat-generating devices such as the CPU, the south/north bridge chips, the graphics chip, and the DIMM's, avoiding damages due to overheating.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 3, Kuan in view of Ma discloses:
wherein the information handling resource comprises a processing unit (CPU; see col. 2, lines 22-46; Kuan, par. 0016; Ma).
As to claim 4, Kuan in view of Ma discloses:
wherein the information handling resource comprises a peripheral device (bridge chip, graphics chip, DIMM; par. 0016; Ma).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuan (US 7545645 B2) in view of Ma (US 20050063159 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Eliyahu (US 20210294386 A1).
As to claim 5, Kuan in view of Ma does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the information handling resource comprises a storage drive.
However, Eliyahu discloses:
wherein the information handling resource comprises a storage drive 156 (par. 0045; Fig. 11);
in order to reduce the operating temperature of an SSD (par. 0045).
Examiner Note – an SSD also inherently necessitates a semiconductor die housed in a package in order to form a solid state drive package known as an SSD.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kuan in view of Ma as suggested by Eliyahu, e.g., providing:
wherein the information handling resource comprises a storage drive;
in order to dissipate heat from and reduce the operating temperature of an SSD.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuan (US 7545645 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shabbir (US 20200042052 A1).
As to claim 6, Kuan does not explicitly disclose:
a chassis, wherein the information handling resource and the heatsink are disposed within the chassis.
However, Shabbir discloses:
a chassis 100, 200 (Fig. 1-2) , wherein the information handling resource 104, 103, 204, 203 and the heatsink 116, 216 are disposed within the chassis (par. 0023, 0035);
in order to house the components of the information handling system IHS (par. 0023, 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kuan as suggested by Shabbir, e.g., providing:
a chassis, wherein the information handling resource and the heatsink are disposed within the chassis;
in order to house the components of the information handling system IHS.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuan (US 7545645 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pfeiff (US 20180241103 A1).
As to claim 7, Kuan discloses:
wherein the first edge and the second edge of the heatsink are parallel (top and bottom edges in Fig. 3), further wherein the first edge and the second edge are straight (see Fig. 3) and a third edge and a fourth edge of the heatsink are U-shaped (see left and right sides in Fig. 3).
Kuan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the third edge and the fourth edge of the heatsink are V-shaped.
However, Pfeiff suggests that a V shape 11 (Fig. 4) is a known alternative for a U shape 11 (Fig. 2);
in order to provide a heatsink/cooling plate with a desired cross-section/cooling channel shape (par. 0011, 0013, 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kuan as suggested by Pfeiff, e.g., providing the sides and/or fins with V-shapes instead of U-shapes:
wherein the third edge and the fourth edge of the heatsink are V-shaped;
in order to provide the heatsink with a desired V-shaped cross-section/cooling channel shape; and/or
since there is no evidence that the change in shape is significant (V versus U).
A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence that the change in shape is significant, is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 8, Kuan in view of Pfeiff discloses:
wherein the air mover is arranged to drive the airflow perpendicular to the first edge and the second edge (vertically in Fig. 3; Kuan; from inlet 406 to outlet 407).
As to claim 9, Kuan in view of Pfeiff discloses:
wherein the heatsink is symmetric (top and bottom; Fig. 3; Kuan) about a first axis (from left to right, at center 408), wherein the first axis extends between the third and edge and the fourth edge (from left to right).
As to claim 10, Kuan in view of Pfeiff discloses:
wherein the heatsink is symmetric (left and right; Fig. 3; Kuan) about a second axis (central fin 401), wherein the second axis extends between the first edge and the second edge (from bottom to top).
Claim(s) 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuan (US 7545645 B2) in view of Pfeiff (US 20180241103 A1).
As to claim 11, Kuan discloses:
A heatsink 40 (Fig. 1-3) comprising:
a flat base (lower flat base beneath fins 401, 402), wherein the flat base is configured as U shape pointing inward toward a center of the heatsink, and a fifth side and a sixth side forming a second U shape pointing inward toward the center; and
a plurality of fins 401, 402 coupled to the flat base, the plurality of fins converging from the first side toward a centerline of the heatsink and diverging from the centerline to the second side.
Kuan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the flat base is configured as a six-sided polygon having a first side parallel to a second side, a third side and a fourth side forming a first V shape pointing inward toward a center of the heatsink, and a fifth side and a sixth side forming a second V shape pointing inward toward the center.
However, Pfeiff suggests that a V shape 11 (Fig. 4) is a known alternative for a U shape 11 (Fig. 2);
in order to provide a heatsink/cooling plate with a desired cross-section/cooling channel shape (par. 0011, 0013, 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kuan as suggested by Pfeiff, e.g., providing the sides and/or fins with V-shapes instead of U-shapes:
wherein the flat base is configured as a six-sided polygon having a first side parallel to a second side, a third side and a fourth side forming a first V shape pointing inward toward a center of the heatsink, and a fifth side and a sixth side forming a second V shape pointing inward toward the center;
in order to provide the heatsink with a desired V-shaped cross-section/cooling channel shape; and/or
since there is no evidence that the change in shape is significant (V versus U).
A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence that the change in shape is significant, is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 12, Kuan in view of Pfeiff discloses:
wherein the heatsink is a single piece 40 (Fig. 2).
Kuan in view of Pfeiff does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heatsink is a single piece of aluminum.
However, Kuan further discloses that the heat spreader 20 is made of aluminum;
in order to provide a highly thermally conductive material (col. 2, lines 8-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kuan and Pfeiff as suggested by Kuan, e.g., providing:
wherein the heatsink is a single piece of aluminum;
in order to provide a highly thermally conductive material.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As to claim 13, Kuan in view of Pfeiff discloses:
wherein the plurality of fins comprises:
a first fin conforming to the first V shape and arranged at the third side and the fourth side (e.g., left side/fin in Fig. 3 of Kuan; modified with V-shape instead of U-shape); and
a second fin conforming to the second V shape and arranged at the fifth side and the sixth side (e.g., right side/fin in Fig. 3 of Kuan; modified with V-shape instead of U-shape).
As to claim 14, Kuan in view of Pfeiff discloses:
wherein the plurality of fins further comprises:
a third fin 401 (Fig. 3; Kuan), equidistant between the first fin and the second fin, wherein the third fin is configured as a straight line extending from the first side to the second side.
As to claim 15, Kuan in view of Pfeiff discloses:
wherein the plurality of fins further comprises:
a fourth fin (e.g., 3rd fin 402 to the left of 401; Fig. 3 Kuan), disposed between the first fin and the third fin, the fourth fin having a first angle (when V-shaped), wherein the third side and the fourth side form a second angle smaller than the first angle (the angles become more acute as you move outward from straight line 401).
As to claim 16, Kuan in view of Pfeiff discloses:
wherein the plurality of fins further comprises:
a fifth fin (e.g., 3rd fin 402 to the right of 401; Fig. 3 Kuan), disposed between the second fin and the third fin, the fifth fin having the first angle (same as 3rd fin to the left, left and right sides are symmetrical), wherein the third side and the fourth side form the second angle (left and right sides are symmetrical, will have identical angles when V-shaped, similarly as the identical curves when U-shaped).
As to claim 17, Kuan in view of Pfeiff discloses:
wherein each of the fins have a same height (see Fig. 2; Kuan), and wherein the height is greater than a thickness of the base (see Fig. 2; Kuan).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuan (US 7545645 B2) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Ma (US 20050063159 A1).
As to claim 20, Kuan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the information handling resource comprises a peripheral device, and wherein generating heat from the information handling resource includes powering on and operating the peripheral device.
However, Ma discloses:
wherein the information handling resource comprises a peripheral device (bridge chip, graphics chip, DIMM; par. 0004, 0016), and wherein generating heat from the information handling resource includes powering on and operating the peripheral device (operating the devices generates heat which requires dissipation (par. 0004, 0016, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kuan as suggested by Ma, e.g., providing:
wherein the information handling resource comprises a peripheral device, and wherein generating heat from the information handling resource includes powering on and operating the peripheral device;
in order to dissipate heat from a peripheral device.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Barmoav (US 20050087326 A1), Dibene (US 20020174980 A1), and Macmanus (US 6364009 B1) disclose conventional heat sink arrangements.
/JACOB R CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835