DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on April 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,958,099 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences which exist between the claims would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art upon review of the accompanying claims and disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nobles (US 2017/0095849).
With regards to claim 1, Nobles discloses a pipe bender comprising:
a bender head (110) comprising an arcuate-shaped rocker (112);
a handle (120) attached to the bender head and having a free end; and
an angle indicator display device comprising:
a housing (130) that is selectively coupleable to the handle;
at least one sensor (not labeled, as described in at least paragraph 0035) coupled to the housing and configured to determine an orientation angle of the sensor in or on the pipe bender; and
a display (132) configured to display the orientation angle of the sensor.
With regards to claim 2, Nobles discloses wherein the display is coupled to the housing, as seen in at least Figure 1.
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wood (US Patent 5,144,823).
With regards to claim 1, Wood discloses a pipe bender comprising:
a bender head comprising an arcuate-shaped rocker, as seen in Figure 4;
a handle attached to the bender head and having a free end, as seen in Figure 4; and
an angle indicator display device comprising:
a housing (12, 13) that is selectively coupleable to the handle;
at least one sensor (not labeled, as described in at least Column 3) coupled to the housing and configured to determine an orientation angle of the sensor in or on the pipe bender; and
a display (24) configured to display the orientation angle of the sensor.
With regards to claim 2, Wood discloses wherein the display is coupled to the housing, as seen in Figure 1.
With regards to claim 4, Wood discloses wherein the housing is configured to clamp to the handle [Column 2, lines 45-60].
With regards to claim 6, Wood discloses wherein the housing comprises a main portion (12) and a coupling portion (13), wherein the coupling portion is securable to the handle and the main portion is selectively coupleable to the coupling portion, wherein the sensor is coupled to the main portion [as seen in Figure 1 and described in Column 2, lines 45-60].
With regards to claim 7, Wood discloses wherein the handle is ferromagnetic and the housing comprises a magnet configured to secure the housing to the handle [Column 2, lines 45-60].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood in view of Ramsey (US Patent 6,980,880).
Wood discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the magnet is disposed in a longitudinal groove defined by the housing, wherein the groove comprises a radius that is substantially similar to a radius of the handle. Ramsey is relied upon to teach as conduit bending system having an angle indicator display device (26) with a housing (30) have a longitudinal groove defined by the housing where the magnet (37) is disposed and wherein the groove comprises a radius that is substantially similar to a radius of the handle, as seen in Figure 2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that Wood’s housing would have groove, as taught by Ramsey, since Ramsey teaches its commonly known that a display device’s housing has a groove to hold the magnet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725