Claims Status
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16617740, filed on 11/27/2019. This CIP introduces new subject matter that is not present in the parent Application. For example, claim 1 introduces the concept of “at least three freeze/thaw cycles” and step (f) decontaminating the cartilage graft scaffold. The parent application does not appear to teach step (f) at all and teaches “alternately kept at -20 °C and room temperature for 1 hour respectively, twice frozen dryly” [0086] and “the cartilage samples are kept at about -20 °C and room temperature for about 1 hour respectively, several times frozen dryly” [0072]. The term “twice” refers to two cycles and the term “several”, while not an exact number indicates a limited number of cycles. In contrast, the term “at least three freeze/thaw cycles” is open ended and includes 3 and many more cycles without limit. All dependent claims depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. Accordingly, step (f) and “at least three freeze/thaw cycles” are new concepts and the effective filing date for the application of prior art against the claimed subject matter is 04/16/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/3/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 introduces the acronym “GAG”. It is customary to provide the term represented by the acronym first. In this case, it is “glycosaminoglycan”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 ends with 2 periods:
. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the step (g)" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no step (g) in claim 1. Correction is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the step (h)" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no step (h) in claim 1. Correction is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "step (g)" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no step (g) in claims 1, 11 or 13. Correction is required. Step (g) is found in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redl et al. (WO2018220047; published 06 December 2018) and Vangsness, C.T. (Chapter 9 Allografts in Noyes’ Knee Disorders: Surgery, Rehabilitation, Clinical Outcomes. 2020 June 22: pages 240-244).
Applicant claims:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a tissue engineering research scientist, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will have comprehensive knowledge of tissue engineering biomaterials for implantation as well as current good tissue practice (CGTP) to prevent the introduction, transmission or spread of communicable diseases and draw conventional ideas from tissue engineering principles to design 3D platforms for cell attachment, proliferation and differentiation upon implantation to produce new tissue— without being told to do so. In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claim 1, Redl et al. teach in claims 16-20:
Redl et al. also teach incising a plurality of notches after decellularizing and/or devitalizing the cartilage biomaterial [0026]:
Regarding steps (a)-(e), Redl et al. further teach:
The enzyme solution serves to deplete GAG of step (d). Redl et al. teach GAG-depleted cartilage graft scaffold [0071]. See also claim 15:
The sodium hydroxide is a basic solution.
Redl et al. also teach that the freeze/thaw can be performed several times [0072]. Accordingly, the artisan performing the method of Redl et al. obtains a cartilage graft scaffold biomaterial comprising a plurality of notches in the form of lamellae or grid. (See also Figures 1-6 and 8).
Regarding claims 2-6, Redl et al. teach:
See also claims 4-6.
Regarding claims 7-10, Redl et al. teach:
See also claims 7-8.
Regarding claim 11, Redl et al. teach:
See also claim 9.
Regarding claim 12-15, Redl et al. teach:
Thus, step (g) is taught by Redl et al.
The cartilage graft scaffold is implanted into a subject in need thereof [0079-0080]. Also see claims 21-22. Redl et al. implanted osteochondral plugs into a mouse ([0038]; Figure 7). Thus, step (h) is taught by Redl et al.
Regarding claim 1 step (f), Vangsness teaches that there are two ways to transmit disease with allograft tissue. One is by direct transmission of the infection from an infected donor and the other is through tissue handling, processing and packaging (Page 241, right column critical points TISSUE PROCESSING). Vangsness teaches current sterilization methods (Table 9-1, page 243) and states that: “The last step of preparation before tissues are distributed for implantation involves packaging and terminal sterilization… To remove concerns about this contamination, terminal sterilization is the final processing step to prepare tissues for shipping in their prepared
packages.” (Page 342, right column Step Three: Packaging and Terminal Sterilization).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
1. The difference between the instant application and Redl et al. is that Redl et al. do not expressly teach providing a plurality of notches in the form of lamellae or grids (step (b)) after devitalizing (step (a)) and before decellularizing (step (c)) and finally decontaminating the cartilage graft scaffold (step (f)). This deficiency in Redl et al. is cured by the teachings of Vangsness.
1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of notches in the form of lamellae or grids (step (b)) after devitalizing (step (a)) and before decellularizing (step (c)) and finally decontaminating the cartilage graft scaffold (step (f))decontaminate the cartilage graft scaffold of Redl et al., as suggested by Vangsness, and produce the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because the order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04 IV: “See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results). Redl et al. teach steps of devitalizing, decellularizing and notching the biomaterial cartilage graft scaffold. Thus, providing the plurality of notches after devitalizing and before decellularizing is obvious to the ordinary artisan as ultimately the process steps produce the same product.1 With regard to step (f), there is a concern about contamination of the graft prior to implantation into a subject as taught by Vangsness. The solution taught by Vangsness is to decontaminate the graft via terminal sterilization as a last step. Thus, it is desirable to decontaminate the cartilage graft scaffold of Redl et al. prior to implantation into a patient to avoid infecting the patient. The ordinary artisan would do so with a reasonable expectation of success.
2. The difference between the instant application and Redl et al. as modified by Vangsness is that Redl et al. as modified by Vangsness do not expressly teach at least three freeze/thaw cycles of step (a).
2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform at least three freeze/thaw cycles of step (a) in the method of Redl et al. as modified by Vangsness, and produce the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Redl et al. teach: “alternately kept at -20 °C and room temperature for 1 hour respectively, twice frozen dryly” [0086] and “the cartilage samples are kept at about -20 °C and room temperature for about 1 hour respectively, several times frozen dryly” [0072]. The term “twice” refers to two cycles and a reasonable interpretation of the term “several” is that it is not an exact number but indicates a limited number of cycles greater than 2 but less than 10, which would overlap with the claimed limitation of at least three. See MPEP 2144.05(I): In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Consequently, conducting at least three freeze/thaw cycles is obvious in the absence of unexpected results.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613
1 The specification teaches notching the scaffold first first followed by devitalization and decellularization [00101-00102, 00111-00112].