DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilon et al (US 20210207428 A1) in view of Van Overmeere et al (US 2018/0093456 A1) and further in view of Vinayak et al (Journal of the Korean Chemical Society, 2017, vol. 61, No. 3, PP. 184-194).
Applicants’ claimed invention is directed to a method of making a hydrophobic silica aerogel, comprising the steps of: preparing a silica wet gel from a precursor material comprising a first alkoxysilane, solvent, catalyst and water, wherein the first alkoxysilane is selected from methyl silicate 51 and tetramethoxysilane; preparing a hydrophobic treatment solution from a second alkoxysilane and diluent, wherein the second alkoxysilane is selected from methyltrimethoxysilane and methyltriethoxysilane; exposing the silica wet gel to the hydrophobic treatment solution to form a hydrophobic silica wet gel; aging either the silica wet gel or the hydrophobic silica wet gel for an aging time period; subjecting the hydrophobic silica wet gel to solvent extraction with an extraction solvent for an extraction time period of less than 24 hours; and subjecting the hydrophobic silica wet gel to drying to form a hydrophobic silica aerogel.
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 24, Pilon teaches mixing alkoxysilane precursors, an alcohol solvent, an acid or base catalyst, and water to form a clear silica wet get matrix [0020, 0058, 0123]. It teaches aging the gel framework over a period of hours to days to allow crosslinking to stabilize [0063, 0074, 0123]. Pilon details treating the pore surfaces post-gelation to replace hydroxy (-OH) groups with organic groups to impart hydrophobicity [0025, 0062, 0106], and drying under ambient temperature and pressure conditions [0027, 0064, 0123]. Pilon explicitly targets a narrow pore size distribution under 15 nm, a visible transmittance exceeding 95% [0093, 0100, 0112] and low haze [0050, 0100, 0112].
Pilon exhibits distinct gaps when compared to the claimed invention. First, pilon relies primarily on slower-reacting ethoxy-based tetraethoxysilane (TEOS) matrices, which suffer from a massive volumetric shrinkage collapse in excess of 30% upon drying to force pore narrowing [0097, 0109] rather than a stable shrinkage of 4% or less. Second, Pilon’s surface silylation steps requires aggressive, corrosive chlorosilanes (such as TMCS, PTCS or TECS) [0025, 0106], which release hazardous hydrochloric acid gas. Third, to survive ambient drying forces without cracking, Pilon mandates a complex, multi-day solvent extraction shifting across multiple distinct chemical classes (alcohol to acetone to nonpolar alkanes like n-heptane, octane, or cyclohexane) [0064, 0096, 0132]. Failing to teach a rapid, integrated extraction time period of less than 24 hours or a single continuous fluid lifecycle utilizing methanol exclusively.
Curing the deficiencies of Pilon: However, Van Overmeere teaches a method that directly addresses the solvent lifecycle and rapid processing deficiencies of Pilon. Van Overmeere explicitly discloses using methanol as a highly preferred, low-surface tension processing solvent, diluent, and liquid extraction carrier for clear window-insulation aerogels [0022, 0042]. Van Overmeere teaches that selecting highly compatible, low-surface tension solvent matrices allows for efficient fluid extraction and quick pore stabilization. This enables the network to survive ambient fluid evaporation without collapsing [022, 0051]. Additionally, Van Overmeere provides the baseline methodology for pushing optical transparency past standard metrics, targeting an elite visible transmittance tier of 70% to 97% [0017, 0042] and extremely low haze value equal to 2% or less [0018, 0042].
While the combination of Pilon and Van Overmeere provides a technical parameters for single-solvent rapid processing and high optical clarity, Van Overmeere achieves this by abandoning silica chemistry entirely for standalone window layer applications. Van Overmeere explicitly teaches away from silica aerogels, declaring them unsuitable due to moisture-driven optical degradation and low structural tensile strength [0049, 0074]. Consequently, Van Overmeere relies on a completely different chemical class: an organic, radical chain-growth polymer matrix (such as acrylics, polyacrylates urethanes, or epoxies) driven by thermal radical initiators like azobisisobutyronitrile (AIBN) at 700 C [0042, 0053, 0083]. Thus, the combined art still fails to teach an inorganic silica network that inherently reaches ultra-high hydrophobicity and structural flexibility while utilizing non-corrosive, alcohol-yielding alkoxysilane surface modifiers.
However, Vinayak curing this deficiencies by teaching the structural silica and non-corrosive silylation gaps remaining in the combined art. Vinayak provides a comprehensive review specifically focused on synthesis parameters for generating flexible, transparent, and superhydrophobic silica-based aerogels [p. 184]. Vinayak teaches that the physical shortcomings of pure silica (the water absorption and brittleness noted by Van Overmeere) are cleanly cured by introducing stable, non-hydrolysable organic Si-C bonds to create an organic-inorganic hybrid matrix [p, 184, p. 185]. Vinayak explicitly teaches utilizing tri-functional alkoxysilanes, specifically methyltrimethoxysilane (MTMS) and methyltriethoxysilane (MTES) as highly active precursors and network modifiers [p. 185]. Vinayak teaches that the presence of these specific alkoxysilane methyl groups inherently maximizes matrix flexibility and repels water to yield an elite, stable water contact angle up to 1640 [p. 185]. Crucially, because these art alkoxysilanes, their condensation reactions release harmless, standard low-boiling alcohols rather than the corrosive, hazardous HCl gas byproducts inherent to the chlorosilanes of Pilon and Van Overmeere [p. 185].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ambiently dried silica sol-gel method of pilon, which teaches mixing alkoxysilane precursors, catalysts, and water to form a clear wet gel matrix that is aged, surface-silylated for hydrophobicity, and ambiently dried, by substituting pilon’s primary TEOS/MTES matrix blend with tetramethoxysilane (TMOS) or methyl silicate 51 as the first alkoxysilane. This is because Pilon explicitly identifies TMOS as a highly preferred alternative silica alkoxide precursor [Pilon 0059].
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Pilon’s corrosive chlorosilane surface modifying agents (TMCS/PTCS/TECS) [Pilon 0025, 0106] with a non-corrosive second alkoxysilane selected from MTMS and MTES as claimed in claims 1, 13, and 24, because Vinayak teaches that MTMS and MTES possesses hydrolytically stable methyl groups that successfully impart super-hydrophobicity (water contact angle up to 1640) and mechanical flexibility within a silica network inherently, without generating corrosive acid byproducts or destroying the structural clarity of the gel matrix [Vinayak p. 185].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to compress Pilon protracted, multi-day, multi-solvent exchange timeline [Pilon 0096, 0132] into a single, unified extraction step taking less than 24 hours as claimed in claims 1, 13, and 24 and to utilize methanol as the exclusive solvent, diluent, and extraction fluid as claimed. This is because Van Overmeere teaches that using methanol as a uniform processing solvent successfully enables clean, rapid liquid extraction and pore-wall silyation without structure collapse, yielding elite window-grade optical metrics including a visible transmittance up to 97% and haze below 2% [Van Overmeere 0022, 0042, 0069].
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to create a streamlined, low-cost industrial manufacturing pipeline that eliminates Pilon’s corrosive HCl gas vents, toxic formamide requirements, and multi-week drying lines [Pilon 0061, 0075, 0106], while reliably hitting the high transmission thresholds demanded for structural daylighting installations. The modification of the extraction timeline to under 24 hours and the integration of a single polar solvent lifecycle represent the predictable optimization of sol-gel kinetics, fluid dynamics, and surface energy adjustments well within the routine experimentation of a sol-gel engineer.
As to claims 2, 15, and 26: The limitation of an aging time period of at least 7 days (168 hours) is unpatentable over Pilon, which explicitly discloses that gelling and matrix crosslinking typically takes place over a baseline period of 1 to 7 days or up to 14 days [Pilon 0074, 0086]. One ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, seeking to ensure maximum siloxane crosslinking and to minimize cracking during subsequent fluid extraction would be motivated to optimize this known parameter to at least 7 days through routine experimentation.
As to claims 3, 16 and 27: The limitation of performing the step of aging either the silica wet get or the hydrophobic silica wet gel at room temperature is unpatentable over Pilon, which discloses that the produced gel is allowed to age for a period at standard ambient temperatures and pressures [Pilon 0063, 0123]. Modifying a sol-gel process to run at room temperature represents a standard baseline design choice to lower manufacturing thermal utility costs.
As to claims 4, 17, and 28: The limitation of aging unit structural changes no longer occur is unpatentable over Pilon, which teaches aging the gel framework over extended durations to allow structural rearrangements and crosslinking to reach finality [Pilon 0078, 0080]. It would be completely obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to track network stabilization and maintain the aging phase until syneresis or condensation structural dynamics cease to guarantee mechanical stability during drying.
As to claims 5, 13, and 29: The negative limitation requiring method to be devoid of using a surfactant is unpatentable over Pilon, which teaches a core alternative embodiment that explicitly utilizes a template-free water and alcohol-based sol-gel method to synthesize thick transparent slabs, which inherently omits block-copolymer or surfactant templates [Pilon 0029, 0039, 0066]. Bypassing a surfactant phase is a known processing option disclosed directly by the primary reference.
As to claims 6, 14, and 25: The negative limitation requiring the method to be devoid of using a hydrophobic agent other than the stated second alkoxysilane solution is unpatentable over Vinayak, which establishes that tri-functional precursors like MTMS or MTES function perfectly as a single precursor or isolated modification phase to yield complete network hydrophobicity inherently [Vinayak p. 185]. Omitting unnecessary tertiary silylation reagents represents standard chemical optimization to save material costs.
As to claims 7, 19, and 30: The requirement that each of the solvent, the diluent and the extraction solvent is methanol is unpatentable over Pilon in view of Van Overmeere. Pilon explicitly identifies methanol as a preferred baseline alcohol option for sol-gel configurations [Pilon 0060], while Van Overmeere successfully implements methanol as a uniform high-clarity carrier throughout the entirely of its processing steps to maintain structural integrity [Van Overmeere 0022, 0042]. Utilizing a single continuous alcohol species across all fluid steps is a predictable design optimization.
As to claims 8 and 18: The restriction of the extraction time period to less than 20 hours is unpatentable over Pilon in view of Van Overmeere. Given Van Overmeere’s teaching that selecting a highly compatible, low-surface tension solvent like methanol enables accelerated, rapid liquid extraction and pore stabilization [Van Overmeere 0022, 0051], it would be a matter of routine process engineering and fluid flow optimization for a person of ordinary skill in the art to design the bath kinetics to complete the exchange cycle in under 20 hours to maximize industrial manufacturing throughput.
As to claims 9, 22, and 32: Hitting a water contact angle of at least 900 is unpatentable over Pilon in view of Vinayak. Vinayak explicitly establishes the baseline for hitting ultra-high hydrophobic angles up to 1640 using tri-functional silane modifiers like MTMS/MTES [Vinayak p. 185]. Hitting a contact angle above 900 is an inherent, result-effective physical property that arises inherently when modifying pore surfaces according to these known methods.
As to claims 10, 21, and 33: The limitation requiring less than 1% solvent remaining within the hydrophobic silica aerogel is unpatentable over Pilon in view of Van Overmeere. Van Overmeere teaches utilizing highly volatile, low-boiling processing alcohols like methanol followed by controlled thermal or ambient evaporation specifically to remove latent solvents and clear the pore volume completely [Van Overmeere 0022, 0069]. Optimizing drying duration or vacuum conditions to drive remaining solvent levels below 1% is a standard quality-control protocol.
As to claims 11, 20, 31 and 34: Minimizing the aerogel matrix to a shrinkage value of 4% or less is unpatentable over Pilon in view of Van Overmeere. While Pilon permits large shrinkage contractions to force pore sizing [Pilon 0102], Van Overmeere explicitly demonstrates that treating the pore walls via silylation with low-surface tension silane structures actively eliminates capillary drying stresses, successfully preventing network structural collapse during ambient solvent evaporation [Van Overmeere 0051, 0069, 0083]. Maintain a near-zero shrinkage value represents the predictable result of optimizing network silylation density.
As to claims 12, 23, and 33: Securing a visible transmission of at least 97.8% and haze value of 3% or less is unpatentable over Pilon in view of Van Overmeere. Pilon explicitly achieves a baseline visible light transmittance greater than 95% and a haze value below 3.1% throughout the visible spectrum by limiting pore widths below 15 nm to suppress scattering the 97% transmittance and 2% haze boundaries for optically transparent thermal insulation barrier substrates by suppressing larger pore formations [Van Overmeere 0017, 0018, 0082, 0083]. Adjusting the sol parameters to hit a transmission rate of 97.8% and a haze under 3% represents the predictable, routine optimization of optical clarity parameters well within the capabilities of a sol-gel chemist.
/JAFAR F PARSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692