DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al (WO 2019/089696).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches a manufacturing method of an electrode (200) comprising: fabricating a first electrode layer (box 205) disposed on a current collector (box 230); and fabricating a second electrode layer (box 210) disposed on the first electrode layer (box 220) (Fig. 6, paragraph 93-96), wherein the first electrode layer is fabricated by electrostatic film formation, wet film formation, or rolled film formation, the second electrode layer is fabricated by rolled film formation (both layers fabricated by rolled film formation, “an active electrode material and a binder are combined, blended or processed to form an active layer mixture, and calendered or pressed to form a self-supporting active layer”, paragraph 34), and when the first electrode layer is fabricated by rolled film formation, at least part of a surface of active material particles used in the rolled film formation is coated with a resin that is different from polytetrafluoroethylene (“The binder may comprise a PTFE and one or more of a cellulose, a polyolefin, a polyether … ”, paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 2, Shin teaches that the rolled film formation includes fibrillation of polytetrafluoroethylene in a mixture containing active material particles and polytetrafluoroethylene. ( “a process for forming an active layer can include fibrillizing the fibrillizable binder component”, paragraph 51, “The binder may comprise PTFE”, paragraph 55)
Regarding claim 3, Shin teaches the resin different from polytetrafluoroethylene is polyvinylidene fluoride. (“The binder may comprise one or more polyolefins … the one or more polyolefins can include … polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF)”, paragraph 55)
Regarding claim 4, Shin teaches an electrode, comprising: a current collector (current collector) ; a first electrode layer (layer 1) disposed on the current collector; and a second electrode layer (layer 2) disposed on the first electrode layer (layer 1) (Fig 2, paragraph 74), wherein the first electrode layer contains active material particles and a resin having a polytetrafluoroethylene content of 0% by mass or more and less than 5% by mass, or contains active material particles of which at least part of a surface is coated with a resin different from PTFE, and fibrous PTFE, and the second electrode layer includes active material particles and fibrous PTFE. (both active layers comprise active material, a resin different from PTFE and fibrous PTFE, “the binder may comprise PTFE and one or more of a cellulose, polyolefin…”, paragraph 55, “a process for forming an active layer can include fibrillizing the fibrillizable binder component”, paragraph 51)
Regarding claim 5, Shin teaches a battery, comprising the electrode according to claim 4. (“an electrode fabricated from an active layer mixture described herein may be a component of … a lithium ion battery”, paragraph 41)
Conclusion
/KAZIAH OWUSU-ANSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748