Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Southern Gun Co, 9mm Lever Action Rifle, submitted by 3rd party, hereinafter (“Southern Gun”). Southern Gun discloses a lever action firearm (0:25 sec mark) comprising: an upper frame defining a bolt passage; a bolt carrier assembly (inherent for AR rifles) received in the upper frame and operable to reciprocate between an open position and a closed position; a lower frame defining a magazine well configured to removably receive a box magazine; the lower frame removably connected to the upper frame by way of a retained takedown pin (see video); an action lever movable between a retracted position and an extended position and having a first pivot, and pivotally connected to the lower frame at the first pivot; the upper frame including a rear lug received by a recess in the lower frame; the rear lug and lower frame defining registered pin bores receiving the retained takedown pin; and wherein the action lever engages with the bolt carrier assembly forward of the rear lug.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giannelli et al. (US 9,328,990), hereinafter (“Giannelli”), in view of Luth (US 6,293,040). Gianelli (Fig 1) discloses a lever action firearm comprising: an upper frame (12) defining a bolt passage; a bolt carrier assembly (Fig 11) received in the upper frame and operable to reciprocate between an open position and a closed position; a lower frame (16) defining a magazine well configured to removably receive a box magazine; the lower frame removably connected to the upper frame by way of a retained takedown pin (Fig 19, 19); and an action lever movable between a retracted position and an extended position and having a first pivot (72), and pivotally connected to the lower frame at the first pivot (Fig 15).
Gianelli does not disclose, however, the upper frame including a rear lug received by a recess in the lower frame; the rear lug and lower frame defining registered pin bores receiving the retained takedown pin; and wherein the action lever engages with the bolt carrier assembly forward of the rear lug. However, this a commonly known and used structure used for connecting upper and lower receivers together. For example, Luth (Fig 6) teaches an upper frame (24) and a lower frame (22), wherein the upper frame includes a rear lug (86) received by a recess in the lower frame; the rear lug and lower frame defining registered pin bores (92) receiving a retained takedown pin (94a). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify/substitute the retained takedown pin in Gianelli with the connection taught by Luth. The motivation would simply be to replace/substitute one known upper and lower receiver connection with another commonly known and used upper and lower receiver connection. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,988,480. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the current application are broader in scope and therefore fully encompass the subject matter claimed in U.S. Patent No. 11,988,480.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 18 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,988,480. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5-4-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that Southern Gun does not anticipate at least claim 17 because Southern does not disclose “the action lever engaging with the bolt carrier assembly forward of the rear lug is not persuasive because claim 17 does not recite this limitation. All remaining limitations of claim 17 are either clearly shown in the video or are inherent.
Applicant does not provide any arguments regarding the obviousness rejection of claim 17 of Giannelli in view of Luth (US 6,293,040).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641