DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the limitations “an opening” as recited in claim 1 line 5, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “said lockable lid to diaper housing using one or multiple hinged devices” as recited in claim 1 line 10, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “one or more small rails” as recited in claim 3 line 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “a baby wipe holder that is optionally attached and positioned at the top of the diaper dispensing device and locks to said diaper housing via a male button inserted and received by its female receiver” as recited in claim 9 lines 1-4, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “a foot pedal” as recited in claim 12 line 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “further comprising a foot pedal attached with respect to said housing toward a bottom end of said housing, and wherein downward displacement of said foot pedal causes upward hinging of said lockable lid” as recited in claim 12 lines 1-4, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “wherein said spring is fixedly attached to the top of said diaper housing and fixedly attached to said shelf for moving said shelf in an upward direction” as recited in claim 13 line 1-3, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “has means for causing vertical up-and-down movement” as recited in claim 14 line 3, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “vertical stick” as recited in claim 15 line 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “including a movable vertical stick attached to said diaper housing with means for detecting movement of said shelf for indicating quantity of remaining diapers in said diaper stack” as recited in claim 15 lines 1-3, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations “wherein the body of said diaper housing includes adjustable sides that can be modified to suit different storage needs or spatial constraints, enhancing the versatility of the dispenser's design” as recited in claim 19 line 1-3, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The spacing of the lines of the specification is such as to make reading difficult. New application papers with lines 1 1/2 or double spaced (see 37 CFR 1.52(b)(2)) on good quality paper are required.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spaced on good quality paper are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 recites the limitations “female receive” in line 3. It is suggested the limitations be amended to read -- female receiver --. Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for joining” as recited in claim 1 line 9; “top opening is the means” as recited in claim 11 line 2; “means for causing vertical up-and-down movement” as recited in claim 14 line 3 and “means for detecting movement” as recited in claim 15 line 2.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1,11,14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “means for joining”; “top opening is the means”; “means for causing vertical up-and-down movement” and “means for detecting movement” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the said function cited above. The use of the term “means” are not adequate structure for performing the cited function because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function.
The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which filter structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1,11,14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,6,9,11 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “one or more multiple hinged devices,” in lines 9-11. The one or more multiple hinged devices do not specifically disclose the structure of the claimed invention as recited, the hinged member as recited may be a single member, two members or a plurality greater than two may be included in the multiple hinged devices. Furthermore, the limitations hinged device does specifically disclose as to what specific is the hinged device as recited in the claim. Thus, in view of the specifications and the drawings, it is suggested the applicant positively recite the hinged devices as “hinges” for plural or “hinge” for singular. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a spring mechanism(s)” in line 4. It is unclear as to what specifically is the spring mechanism as recited, whether it is a single mechanism or multiple mechanisms. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “a decorative top that may optionally be attached to said lockable lid” in line 4. It is unclear as to whether decorative top is or not attached to lockable lid. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitations “a baby wipe holder that is optionally attached and positioned at the top of the diaper dispensing device” in line 2. It is unclear as to whether a baby wipe holder is or not attached to the dispenser device. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitations “top opening is the means” as recited in claim 11 line 2. It is unclear as to what specifically is the means for the opening. The limitations as recited are narrative and are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the inventor. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 17 recites the limitations “comprising of a locking mechanism for
said shelf for preventing said shelf from moving during reloading of diapers enabling
convenient reloading of diapers while ensuring secure retention of the shelf in place.” The limitations as recited are narrative and are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the inventor. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 18 recites the limitations “wherein being made in a size and design that is
suitable for use alongside a Diaper Genie and other baby care products” as recited in claim 18 line 1-2. It is unclear as to what specifically being made in a size and design that is suitable for use alongside a Diaper Genie is. The limitations as recited are narrative and are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the inventor. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 19 recites the limitations “wherein the body of said diaper housing includes adjustable sides that can be modified to suit different storage needs or spatial constraints, enhancing the versatility of the dispenser's design.” The limitations as recited are narrative and are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the inventor. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “said lockable lid” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the body” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,6,9,11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Mandle (US 6,230,931).
Referring to claims 1 and 18-20. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) and a method comprising:
a hinged door (15; Figure 7) for accessing the diaper housing (housing of 10);
a shelf (20) in said diaper housing (housing of 10) for storing a diaper stack (articles 30);
a spring mechanism(s) (spring ramp 29; Figure 7);
an opening (beneath 15) in the top of said diaper housing (housing of 10) for easy access to top diaper of said diaper stack (30);
a clear window (12; Figure 2) located vertically along said hinged door (18) for monitoring the quantity of diapers (30a) in said diaper stack (30); and
means for joining (hinge of door 18) said hinged door (18) with diaper housing using one or multiple hinged devices (hinge of door 18) and joining said lockable lid (15) to diaper housing (housing of 10) using one or multiple hinged devices (16).
Referring to claim 2. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein the hinged door (18) is configured to reveal said diaper-housing cavity (interior of housing 10) upon opening for easy loading and retrieval of diapers (see Figure 2).
Referring to claim 3. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) comprising:
one or more small rails (35) positioned vertically adjacent to said spring mechanism (29) are adapted to prevent lateral or improper movement of the shelf while guiding its vertical motion (see Figure 2).
Referring to claim 4. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) comprising:
an optional lockable lid (15) that is hingedly (16) attached to top of said diaper housing (housing of 10), and a decorative top (rounded top of dispenser housing) may be optionally attached to said lockable lid via a male button (33; Figure 7) that is fixedly attached to said decorative top and said male button may be inserted into and received by a female receiver (member of the housing), and said female receiver is fixed to said housing body (housing 10) of the diaper storage and dispensing device (10).
Referring to claim 5. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) comprising:
a lockable lid (15) fixedly attached by one or more hinges (16) to top of said diaper housing (10) for enhancing child safety.
Referring to claim 6. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) comprising:
of a decorative top (rounded top of dispenser housing) that may optionally be attached to said lockable lid (15).
Referring to claim 7. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) comprising:
of a decorative top (rounded top of dispenser housing) that is fixedly attached to said lockable lid (15).
Referring to claim 8. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein the said lockable lid (15) locks to the housing portion (top housing portion) of the device via a male button (33) inserted into its corresponding female receiver (receiving portion of the housing; Figure 6), and the said female receive (receiving portion of the housing; Figure 6) is fixed to the housing portion of said diaper dispensing device (10).
Referring to claim 10. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein said hinged door (18; Figure 2) locks to the housing portion of the device (10) via a male button (portion of 18 connecting to 11 on the open side; Figure 3) inserted into its corresponding female receiver (portion of 11 connecting to 18 on the open side; Figure 3) and the said female receiver is fixed to the housing portion of said diaper dispensing device (see Figure 3).
Referring to claim 11. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein said top opening (beneath 15) is the means for which diaper is dispensed from said diaper stack wherein human user pulls top diaper visible from said top opening and said top is in an uncovered position (see Figure 7).
Referring to claim 16. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1)
wherein the body of the dispenser (10) can be made wholly or in part of a plastic, wood, synthetic wood, metal, or other rigid material (ridged material is not specified thus it is another rigid material not recited).
Referring to claim 17. Mandle discloses an article dispensing device (10; Figure 1)
further comprising of a locking mechanism (19; Figure 2) for said shelf (20) for preventing said shelf from moving during reloading of diapers enabling convenient reloading of diapers while ensuring secure retention of the shelf in place (shelf 20 is locked in place).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandle (US 6,230,931) in view of Park (KR20170106689 A).
Referring to claim 9. Mandle does not specifically disclose wherein a baby wipe holder that is optionally attached and positioned at the top of the diaper dispensing device and locks to said diaper housing via a male button inserted and received by its female receiver.
Park discloses a discloses an article dispensing device (Figure 2a) comprising:
a baby wipe holder (20) that is optionally attached and positioned at the top of the diaper dispensing device (10) and locks to said diaper housing (housing 10) via a male button inserted and received by its female receiver (members 25 and 16).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Mandle to include a baby wipe holder that is optionally attached and positioned at the top of the diaper dispensing device and locks to said diaper housing via a male button inserted and received by its female receiver as taught by Park because a single dispenser would be able to dispenser two separate distinct baby product.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandle (US 6,230,931) in view of Rubin (US6,769,566).
Referring to claims 12 and 14. Mandle does not disclose comprising a foot pedal attached with respect to said housing toward a bottom end of said housing, and wherein downward displacement of said foot pedal causes upward hinging of said lockable lid.
Rubin discloses a diaper dispenser (Figure 1) further comprising a foot pedal (130; Figure 1) attached with respect to said housing toward a bottom end of said housing (see Figure 1), and wherein downward displacement of said foot pedal causes upward hinging of said lockable lid (110; Figure 5).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Mandle to include a foot pedal attached with respect to said housing toward a bottom end of said housing, and wherein downward displacement of said foot pedal causes upward hinging of said lockable lid as taught by Rubin because the dispenser lid maybe open without using hands.
Referring to claim 13. Rubin discloses a diaper dispenser (Figure 1) wherein said spring (200) is fixedly attached to the top of said diaper housing and fixedly attached to said shelf (60) for moving said shelf in an upward direction (see Figure 1).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandle (US 6,230,931) in view of (JP S59173634U).
Referring to claim 15. Reference (JP S59173634U) discloses a sheet storage tray (Figure 1) including a movable vertical stick (8a; Figure 2) attached to said housing (1) with means for detecting movement of said shelf for indicating quantity of remaining diapers in said diaper stack (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Mandle to include a movable vertical stick attached to said housing with means for detecting movement of said shelf for indicating quantity of remaining diapers in said diaper stack as taught by Reference (JP S59173634U) because a quantity of remaining articles within the dispenser can be determined without opening the dispenser.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651