DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanishi et al. (US-20200373626-A1) in view of Kaiduka et al. (US-20100233525-A1).
With regards to claim 1, Imanishi teaches a battery that reads on a power storage cell (¶ 0017). Imanishi teaches that the power storage cell (battery) comprises a cell case (battery case); and a wound electrode assembly (winding type electrode body), wherein the cell case is cylindrical, the cell case accommodates the wound electrode assembly (¶ 0017). In ¶ 0018, Imanishi teaches that the wound electrode assembly (electrode body) includes a first electrode (positive electrode), a separator, and a second electrode (negative electrode). Imanishi goes on to teach tapes that are adhered to the wound electrode body to maintain its winding structure (¶ 0032). This tape reads on a fixing member. In ¶ 0046, Imanishi teaches that the first electrode (positive electrode) includes a current collector formed of aluminum foil which reads on a first foil. Imanishi also teaches that the second electrode (negative electrode) includes a current collector formed of copper foil which reads on a second foil. In ¶ 0018, Imanishi teaches that the electrode body has a winding structure in which the first electrode, negative electrode and the separator are spirally wound. This reads on the wound electrode assembly including a first electrode (positive electrode), a separator, a second electrode (negative electrode), and a fixing member (tape), the first electrode (positive electrode) includes a first foil (aluminum foil), the second electrode (negative electrode) includes a second foil (copper foil), in a winding direction of the wound electrode assembly. In ¶ 0025, Imanishi teaches a winding-finish end of the electrode assembly. Imanishi teaches that one end of the positive electrode in the longitudinal direction located at the winding-finish end of the electrode assembly is a winding-finish side end of the positive electrode (¶ 0025). This winding-finish end of the positive electrode is shown below in Fig. 2 and reads on the first electrode (positive electrode) having a first end portion (31e) in the winding direction. Similarly, Imanishi also teaches that one end of each of the negative electrode in the longitudinal direction located at the winding-finish side of the electrode body is a winding-finish side end of the negative electrode (¶ 0025). This winding-finish end of the negative electrode is shown below in Fig. 2 and reads on the second electrode (negative electrode) having a second end portion (41e) in the winding direction. Imanishi teaches another winding-finish end (12e) of the negative electrode that is located at the winding finish end of the electrode body (¶ 0025). In ¶ 0032, Imanishi teaches that this negative electrode winding-finish end 12e functions as the winding-finish end of the electrode body. Imanishi goes on to explain that the separator may be partially present at the outermost circumferential surface of the electrode body and may function as the winding-finish end of the electrode body (¶ 0032). In this case, the winding-finish end (12e) as shown in Fig. 2 below, reads on the separator winding-finish end. This separator winding-finish end (12e) reads on the separator having a third end portion (12e) in the winding direction. As shown in Fig. 2 below, the second end portion (41e) is positioned within a region spanning from the first end portion (31e) to the third end portion (12e). Imanishi teaches that the outermost circumferential surface of the electrode assembly includes an exposed portion (42) that comprises an exposed portion of the second foil (negative electrode current collector) (¶ 0028). Imanishi also discloses that when the fixing member (tape) is adhered to a position that is not to be overlapped with at least one of the first end portion (winding-finish side end of positive electrode) and second end portion ( winding-finish side end of negative electrode), the electrode plate deformation can be suppressed (¶ 0016). Imanishi teaches that the fixing member (tape) is adhered so as to extend from a winding-finish side end portion (12e) and past a winding-finish end of the electrode assembly which functions as the winding-finish end of the separator (¶ 0032). Since the winding-finish end of the separator reads on the third end portion, as discussed earlier, this reads on the fixing member (tape) fixing the wound electrode assembly at the third end portion (12e). Although Imanishi teaches that the first electrode (positive electrode) and second electrode (negative electrode) include a first foil (positive collector) and second foil (negative collector), respectively, Imanishi is silent on the first end portion consisting of
the first foil and the second end portion consisting of the second foil.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kaiduka teaches secondary battery including a cylindrical battery case (outer can) and wound electrode assembly (rolled electrode assembly) that includes a first electrode (positive electrode plate), a second electrode (negative electrode plate) and a separator (¶ 0010). Similar to Imanishi, Kaiduka teaches that the positive electrode plate comprises a substrate made of aluminum foil (¶ 0010 and ¶ 0037) and the negative plate comprises a substrate made of copper foil (¶ 0010 and 0039). The positive electrode substrate reads on the first foil while the negative electrode substrate reads on the second foil. Kaiduka teaches that the separator is placed on the outermost periphery of the electrode assembly and, similar to Imanishi, is fixed with a fixing member (tape) for fixing a roll end (¶ 0011). In an example shown in Fig. 6, Kaiduka teaches a roll end of the positive electrode (11d) that consists an exposed portion of the first foil (positive electrode substrate) (¶ 0050). This roll end of the positive electrode reads on the first end portion consisting of the first foil. Kaiduka also teaches a roll end of the negative electrode (12d) that consists an exposed portion of the second foil (negative electrode substrate) (¶ 0050). This roll end of the negative electrode reads on the second end portion consisting of the second foil. In this example as shown in Fig. 6, where the first send second ends consist of the first and second foils respectively, Kaiduka teaches that the breakage of the negative electrode plate can be effectively inhibited (¶ 0058). See Fig. 6 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to expose the first and second foils (positive and negative electrode current collectors) at the first and second end portions (positive and negative electrode winding-finish ends, 31e and 41e) as taught by Kaiduka. This will predictably inhibit the breakage of the negative electrode plate with no unpredictable results. Through this modification, modified Imanishi renders obvious the first end portion consisting of the first foil and the second end portion consisting of the second foil.
Imanishi does not specifically teach that the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×T2≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T1+T2) where T1 represents a thickness of the first foil, T2 represents a thickness of the second foil, and Tf represents a maximum thickness of the fixing member. However, Imanishi teaches that the first foil (aluminum foil) may have a thickness of 15 µm (¶ 0047) which reads on T1. Imanishi teaches that the second foil (copper foil) may have a thickness of 8 µm (¶ 0049) which reads on T2. Imanishi also teaches that the fixing member (tape) may have a thickness of 10 to 60 µm (¶ 0034). Any value within this range may be interpreted as Tf.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the fixing member (tape) to have a maximum thickness (Tf) such as 10 µm as taught be Imanishi as this is within the workable range taught by Imanishi. In a case where T1 is 15 µm, T2 is 8 µm, and Tf is 10 µm, the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×T2≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T1+T2).
With regards to claim 2, as discussed above, Imanishi teaches that T1 may be 15 µm (¶ 0047), T2 may be 8 µm, and Tf may be 10 to 60 µm. However, Imanishi does not teach that the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×T2≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T2).
Similar to Imanishi, Kaiduka teaches that the first foil (positive electrode substrate) may have a thickness of 15 µm (¶ 0037) which reads on T1. Kaiduka goes on to teach that the second foil (negative electrode substrate) may have a thickness of 6 to 10 µm (¶ 0018) which reads on T2. Kaiduka explains that when T2 is within this range, it reduces the chances of the electrode plate breaking (¶ 0018). It is well known to form T2 within this range as disclosed by Kaiduka. Imanishi also teaches a T2 of 8 µm which falls within this well-known range.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the second foil (negative electrode collector) taught by Imanishi to have a thickness such as 10 µm instead of 8 µm as this still falls within a range that would reduce the chances of the electrode plate breaking. Through this modification, modified Imanishi renders obvious a case where T1 is 15 µm, T2 is 10 µm, and Tf is 10 µm. In this case, the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×T2≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T2).
With regards to claim 3, Imanishi shows a cross section orthogonal to an axis of winding of the wound electrode assembly in Fig. 2. Imanishi shows an angle formed by a first half line and a second half line (Fig. 2). In ¶ 0042, Imanishi goes on to teach that this angle may be within a range of 10° to 60° which overlaps with the claimed range of greater than 30°. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Imanishi teaches that each of an endpoint of the first half line and an endpoint of the second half line is a center of winding (¶ 0041 and Fig. 2). As shown in Fig. 2 and discussed in ¶ 0041, the first half line passes the first end portion, and the second half line passes the second end portion. See Fig. 2 below.
With regards to claim 4, as discussed earlier, modified Imanishi teaches that T1 may be 15 µm (¶ 0047), T2 may be 8 µm (¶ 0049) and Tf may be 10 µm (¶ 0034). As mentioned above, Imanishi teaches that the thickness of the fixing member (tape) may be within a range of 10 to 60 µm. Any value within this range may be interpreted as Tf. Imanishi does not specifically teach that the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×(T1+T2) ≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T1+T2).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify the fixing member taught by Imanishi
to have a maximum thickness (Tf) such as 22 µm as this is within the workable range taught by Imanishi. In a case where T1 is 15 µm, T2 is 8 µm, and Tf is 22 µm, the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×(T1+T2)≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T1+T2).
With regards to claim 5, Imanishi shows a cross section orthogonal to an axis of winding of the wound electrode assembly in Fig. 2. Imanishi shows an angle formed by a first half line and a second half line (Fig. 2). In ¶ 0042, Imanishi goes on to teach that this angle may be within a range of 10° to 60° which overlaps with the claimed range of 30° or less. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Imanishi teaches that each of an endpoint of the first half line and an endpoint of the second half line is a center of winding (¶ 0041 and Fig. 2). As shown in Fig. 2 and discussed in ¶ 0041, the first half line passes the first end portion, and the second half line passes the second end portion. See Fig. 2 above.
With regards to claim 6, modified Imanishi teaches the power storage cell of claim 1. Imanishi teaches that the fixing member (tape) is adhered to the exposed portion of the electrode body (42), in a manner that does not overlap with the winding-finish side ends (31e and 41e) (¶ 0040). As shown in Fig. 3, the fixing member (tape, 50) has a first edge and a second edge, in the winding direction. This first edge reads on a starting edge of the fixing member, in the winding direction. In Fig. 3, the second edge is located opposite to the first edge. In ¶ 0034, Imanishi teaches that the fixing member (tape) may have a thickness of 10 to 60 µm. Any value withing this range, such as 10 µm reads on the fixing member having a maximum thickness at the first edge. See Fig. 3 below.
With regards to claim 8, in ¶ 0018, Imanishi teaches a positive electrode and a negative electrode which read on the that the first electrode and the second electrode respectively.
With regards to claim 9, Imanishi teaches that the electrode assembly (electrode body) is formed of a positive electrode, a negative electrode and a separator and the electrode assembly has a winding structure in which the electrodes and the separator are spirally wound with the separator interposed between therebetween (¶ 0018). This formation reads on a method of producing a power storage cell (battery), the method comprising forming a wound electrode assembly. Imanishi teaches that the wound electrode assembly (winding type electrode body) is received in a cell case (battery case) to form the battery (¶ 0017). This reads on placing the wound electrode assembly into a cell case to produce a power storage cell. In ¶ 0017, Imanishi teaches that the cell case is cylindrical. In ¶ 0018, Imanishi teaches that the wound electrode assembly (electrode body) includes a first electrode (positive electrode), a separator, and a second electrode (negative electrode). Imanishi goes on to teach tapes that are adhered to the wound electrode body to maintain its winding structure (¶ 0032). This tape reads on a fixing member. In ¶ 0046, Imanishi teaches that the first electrode (positive electrode) includes a current collector formed of aluminum foil which reads on a first foil. Imanishi also teaches that the second electrode (negative electrode) includes a current collector formed of copper foil which reads on a second foil. In ¶ 0018, Imanishi teaches that the electrode body has a winding structure in which the first electrode, negative electrode and the separator ae spirally would. This reads on the wound electrode assembly including a first electrode (positive electrode), a separator, a second electrode (negative electrode), and a fixing member (tape), the first electrode (positive electrode) includes a first foil (aluminum foil), the second electrode (negative electrode) includes a second foil (copper foil), in a winding direction of the wound electrode assembly. In ¶ 0025, Imanishi teaches a winding-finish end of the electrode assembly. Imanishi teaches that one end of the positive electrode in the longitudinal direction located at the winding-finish end of the electrode assembly is a winding-finish side end of the positive electrode (¶ 0025). This winding-finish end of the positive electrode is shown below in Fig. 2 and reads on the first electrode (positive electrode) having a first end portion (31e) in the winding direction. Similarly, Imanishi also teaches that one end of each of the negative electrode in the longitudinal direction located at the winding-finish side of the electrode body is a winding-finish side end of the negative electrode (¶ 0025). This winding-finish end of the negative electrode is shown below in Fig. 2 and reads on the second electrode (negative electrode) having a second end portion (41e) in the winding direction. Imanishi teaches another winding-finish end (12e) of the negative electrode that is located at the winding finish end of the electrode body (¶ 0025). In ¶ 0032, Imanishi teaches that this negative electrode winding-finish end 12e functions as the winding-finish end of the electrode body. Imanishi goes on to explain that the separator may be partially present at the outermost circumferential surface of the electrode body and may function as the winding-finish end of the electrode body (¶ 0032). In this case, the winding-finish end (12e) as shown in Fig. 2 below, reads on the separator winding-finish end. This separator winding-finish end (12e) reads on the separator having a third end portion (12e) in the winding direction. As shown in Fig. 2 below, the second end portion (41e) is positioned within a region spanning from the first end portion (31e) to the third end portion (12e). Imanishi teaches that the outermost circumferential surface of the electrode assembly includes an exposed portion (42) that comprises an exposed portion of the second foil (negative electrode current collector) (¶ 0028). Imanishi also discloses that the fixing member (tape) is adhered to a position that is not to be overlapped with at least one of the first end portion (winding-finish side end of positive electrode) and second end portion ( winding-finish side end of negative electrode (¶ 0016). Imanishi teaches that the fixing member (tape) is adhered so as to extend from a winding-finish side end portion (12e) and past a winding-finish end of the electrode assembly which functions as the winding-finish end of the separator in this case (¶ 0032). Since the winding-finish end of the separator reads on the third end portion, as discussed earlier, this reads on the fixing member (tape) fixing the wound electrode assembly at the third end portion (12e). Although Imanishi teaches that the first electrode (positive electrode) and second electrode (negative electrode) include a first foil (positive collector) and second foil (negative collector), respectively, Imanishi is silent on the first end portion consisting of the first foil and the second end portion consisting of the second foil. See Fig. 2 above.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kaiduka teaches secondary battery including a cylindrical battery case (outer can) and wound electrode assembly (rolled electrode assembly) that includes a first electrode (positive electrode plate), a second electrode (negative electrode plate) and a separator (¶ 0010). Similar to Imanishi, Kaiduka teaches that the positive electrode plate comprises a substrate made of aluminum foil (¶ 0010 and ¶ 0037) and the negative plate comprises a substrate made of copper foil (¶ 0010 and 0039). The positive electrode substrate reads on the first foil while the negative electrode substrate reads on the second foil. Kaiduka teaches that the separator is placed on the outermost periphery of the electrode assembly and, similar to Imanishi, is fixed with a fixing member (tape) for fixing a roll end (¶ 0011). In an example shown in Fig. 6, Kaiduka teaches a roll end of the positive electrode (11d) that consists an exposed portion of the first foil (positive electrode substrate) (¶ 0050). This roll end of the positive electrode reads on the first end portion consisting of the first foil. Kaiduka also teaches a roll end of the negative electrode (12d) that consists an exposed portion of the second foil (negative electrode substrate) (¶ 0050). This roll end of the negative electrode reads on the second end portion consisting of the second foil. In this example as shown in Fig. 6, where the first send second ends consist of the first and second foils respectively, Kaiduka teaches that the breakage of the negative electrode plate can be effectively inhibited (¶ 0058). See Fig. 6 above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to expose the first and second foils (positive and negative electrode current collectors) at the first and second end portions (positive and negative electrode winding-finish ends, 31e and 41e) as taught by Kaiduka. This will predictably inhibit the breakage of the negative electrode plate with no unpredictable results. Through this modification, modified Imanishi renders obvious the first end portion consisting of the first foil and the second end portion consisting of the second foil.
Imanishi does not specifically teach that the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×T2≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T1+T2) where T1 represents a thickness of the first foil, T2 represents a thickness of the second foil, and Tf represents a maximum thickness of the fixing member. However, Imanishi teaches that the first foil (aluminum foil) may have a thickness of 15 µm (¶ 0047) which reads on T1. Imanishi teaches that the second foil (copper foil) may have a thickness of 8 µm (¶ 0049) which reads on T2. Imanishi also teaches that the fixing member (tape) may have a thickness of 10 to 60 µm (¶ 0034). Any value within this range may be interpreted as Tf.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the fixing member (tape) to have maximum thickness (Tf) such as 10 µm as taught be Imanishi as this is within the workable range taught by Imanishi. In a case where T1 is 15 µm, T2 is 8 µm, and Tf is 10 µm, the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×T2≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T1+T2).
With regards to claim 10, as discussed above, Imanishi teaches that T1 may be 15 µm (¶ 0047), T2 may be 8 µm, and Tf may be 10 to 60 µm. However, Imanishi does not teach that the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×T2≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T2).
Similar to Imanishi, Kaiduka teaches that the first foil (positive electrode substrate) may have a thickness of 15 µm (¶ 0037) which reads on T1. Kaiduka goes on to teach that the second foil (negative electrode substrate) may have a thickness of 6 to 10 µm (¶ 0018) which reads on T2. Kaiduka explains that when T2 is within this range, it reduces the chances of the electrode plate breaking (¶ 0018). It is well known to form T2 within this range as disclosed by Kaiduka. Imanishi also teaches a T2 of 8 µm which falls within this well-known range.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the second foil (negative electrode collector) taught by Imanishi to have a thickness such as 10 µm instead of 8 µm, as this still falls within a range that would reduce the chances of the electrode plate breaking. Through this modification, modified Imanishi renders obvious a case where T1 is 15 µm, T2 is 10 µm, and Tf is 10 µm. In this case, the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×T2≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T2).
With regards to claim 11, as discussed earlier, modified Imanishi teaches that T1 may be 15 µm (¶ 0047), T2 may be 8 µm (¶ 0049) and Tf may be 10 µm (¶ 0034). As discussed earlier, Imanishi teaches that the thickness of the fixing member (tape) may be within a range of 10 to 60 µm. Any value within this range may be interpreted as Tf. Imanishi does not specifically teach that the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×(T1+T2) ≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T1+T2).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify the fixing member taught by Imanishi
to have a maximum thickness (Tf) such as 22 µm as this is within the workable range taught by Imanishi. In a case where T1 is 15 µm, T2 is 8 µm, and Tf is 22 µm, the fixing member (tape) satisfies a relationship of the following expression: 0.9×(T1+T2)≤ Tf ≤1.1×(T1+T2).
With regards to claim 13, in ¶ 0018, Imanishi teaches a positive electrode and a negative electrode which read on the that the first electrode and the second electrode respectively.
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanishi et al. ( US-20200373626-A1) in view of Kaiduka et al.(US-20100233525-A1) as applied to claim 6 and 9 above, and further in view of Azuma et al. (US-20190074551-A1).
With regards to claim 7, modified Imanishi renders the power storage cell of claim 6 obvious. Imanishi teaches that an exposed region is provided at the outermost circumferential surface of the electrode assembly where the fixing member (tape) is adhered (¶ 0033). The outermost circumferential surface includes the end portion of the electrode assembly (¶ 0032). Since this surface is exposed, not including an active material, the thickness at the end portion of the electrode assembly is smaller than the thickness of the inner region that is not exposed, including the active material coating. Imanishi explains that since the mixture layer is thicker than current collector at the exposed end, a step is formed at the winding-finish end (¶ 0016). In Fig. 3, Imanishi teaches a first edge and second edge of the fixing member (tape) on the outer surface of the electrode assembly that includes the end portion of the electrode assembly. In ¶ 0034, Imanishi also teaches that the fixing member (tape) may have a thickness of 10 to 60 µm. However, Imanishi does not teach that at least a part between the first edge and the second edge, a thickness of the fixing member decreases in a direction from the first edge toward the second edge. See Fig. 3 below.
In a similar field of endeavor, Azuma teaches a battery including winding electrode sheets and a separator to form a rolled electrode assembly (¶ 0009). Azuma teaches securing an end portion of the electrode assembly on an outer side of the electrode assembly using an adhesive tape (¶ 0009). This adhesive tape reads on a fixing member. As shown in Fig. 4, the fixing member (tape) has a first and second edge. Similar to Imanishi, Azuma teaches that the fixing member (tape) is adhered to the end portion of the separator (third portion) (¶ 0025). Azuma also teaches that a step is formed by this end portion and the fixing member is deformed around this step to attach the fixing member which secures the end portion (¶ 0025 and Fig. 4). As shown in Fig. 4 below, this deformation causes a decrease in a thickness of the fixing ember (tape) from the first edge toward the second edge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary kill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to deform the fixing member (tape) around step formed at the winding-finish end of the electrode body as taught by Azuma as this would predictably secure the winding finish end with no unpredictable results. Through this modification, the fixing member (tape) taught by modified Imanishi, comprises a part between the first edge and the second edge where a thickness of the fixing member (tape) decreases in a direction from the first edge toward the second edge.
With regards to claim 12, modified Imanishi renders the method of claim 9 obvious. As discussed earlier, the separator winding-finish end (12e) taught by Imanishi reads on the separator having a third end portion (12e) in the winding direction. Imanishi teaches that the fixing member (tape) is adhered so as to extend from a winding-finish side end portion (12e) and past a winding-finish end of the electrode assembly which also functions as the winding-finish end of the separator (¶ 0032). Since the winding-finish end of the separator reads on the third end portion, this reads on the fixing member (tape) being affixed to the third end portion (12e) to fix the wound electrode assembly. Imanishi teaches that the fixing member (tape) is adhered to the exposed portion of the electrode body (42), in a manner that does not overlap with the winding-finish side ends (31e and 41e) (¶ 0040). In ¶ 0016, Imanishi teaches that a step is formed at the winding-finish end of the electrode body. As shown in Fig. 3, the fixing member (tape, 50) has a first edge and a second edge, in the winding direction. This first edge reads on a starting edge of the fixing member, in the winding direction. In Fig. 3, the second edge is located opposite to the first edge. See Fig. 3 below.
Imanishi does not specifically teach that affixation of the fixing member is started from the first edge, however, Imanishi teaches adhering the tape from the first edge (starting edge)
to the second edge as shown in Fig. 3, Thus it would be obvious to start the affixation of the fixing member from the first edge as there are no unpredictable results.
Imanishi does not teach that during at least one period of time from beginning of the affixation of the fixing member to completion of the affixation, tension applied to the fixing member is increased.
In a similar field of endeavor, Azuma teaches a method for producing a battery including winding electrode sheets and a separator to form a rolled electrode assembly (¶ 0009). Azuma teaches an attaching step including securing an end portion of the electrode assembly on an outer side of the electrode assembly using an adhesive tape (¶ 0009). This adhesive tape reads on a fixing member. Similar to Imanishi, Azuma teaches that the fixing member (tape) is adhered to the end portion of the separator (third portion) (¶ 0025). Azuma also teaches that a step is formed by this end portion and the fixing member is deformed around this step to attach the fixing member (¶ 0025 and Fig. 2). ¶ 0027, Azuma teaches that this deformation is caused by stretching the fixing member (tape) along a direction in which the fixing member (adhesive layer) extends. This deformation (stretch) reads on a tension applied to the fixing member being increased during a period of time from beginning of affixation of the fixing member to completion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary kill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to adhere the fixing member (tape) taught by Imanishi from the starting edge and deforming the fixing member (tape) around the second edge, to fix the fixing member (tape) around the step formed at the winding-finish end of the electrode body as taught by Azuma as there are no unpredictable results. Through this modification, modified Imanishi teaches that during at least one period of time from beginning of the affixation (first edge) of the fixing member to completion of the affixation (second edge), tension (stretch) applied to the fixing member is increased.
Conclusion
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728