DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply filed on 4/20/2026 amended claims 1-6, 8, and 9, and added new claim 10, Claims 1-10 are currently pending herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026 regarding the 35 USC 102 rejections and the Golembeski reference have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments not rendered moot by the claim amendments have been addressed below. Regarding the Applicant’s contentions, the Examiner maintains that the Golembeski reference provides for the disputed claim limitations based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. Specifically, while the Golembeski reference does not specifically recite the cited components as external/internal flow heat exchange panels in the same terms as the Applicant’s disclosure, it is clear from the disclosure and cited figures that the cited components are assembled in the same manner as the claims currently recite (See, e.g., Golembeski: Fig.1-4). One of ordinary skill in the art would not necessarily interpret the disputed limitations as the Applicants argue, and Applicants are reminded, that [t]he invention disclosed in [a] written description may be outstanding in its field, but the name of the game is the claim. In re Hiniker Co., 47 USPQ 1523, 1529 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Specifically, if Applicants believe that an invention has differences over the prior art, particularly regarding the external/internal flow of the claimed heat exchange panel, Applicants must find a way to convey this argument in the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See, e.g., In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, these arguments are not persuasive.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “mechanically and thermally coupled to one or more demand systems” (Claim 10) and “one or more motors, one or more inverters, one or more batteries, and a cabin” (Claim 6) must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
It is noted that in the response, Applicant states: “Applicant concurrently files an e-terminal disclaimer to overcome this alleged actual rejection based on non-statutory double patenting grounds” However no terminal disclaimer has been filed.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,752,830 and claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,975,591. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,752,830 and claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,975,591. In other words, claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,752,830 and claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,975,591, fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 1-10, and therefore anticipate claims 1-10. Since claims 1-10 are anticipated by claims 1-5 and 1-4 of the patents, they are not patentably distinct from claims 1-5 and 1-4. Thus, the invention of claims 1-5 and 1-4 of the patents are in effect a species of the generic invention of claims 1-10. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1-10 are anticipated (fully encompassed) by claims 1-5 and 1-4 of the patents, claims 1-10 are not patentably distinct from claims 1-5 and 1-4, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claims 1-10.
Claim Objections
The previous objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “to plant system” (line 3) should be rewritten as: “to the plant system”. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of the claims under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the rejections that remain are detailed below.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “said body” (line 8) which is of unclear antecedent basis and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2, 10, and 6 (by dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2/10, the claim include limitations linked by the phrase "and/or." This renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear if the combination of limitations is required or optional. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Golembeski et al. (US 9,926,022 B1).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Golembeski discloses: A heat exchanger (See, e.g., Fig.1-4) comprising:
an aerodynamic panel (See, e.g., Fig.1-4, 54) having a smooth exterior surface exposed to an ambient environment (See, e.g., Fig.1-4, 54), said aerodynamic panel comprising;
one or more chambers including an inner chamber portion and an outer chamber portion (See, e.g., Fig.1-4, 54+64+etc.), said inner chamber portion having one or more inlet and an outlet pairs (See, e.g., Fig.1-4) each pair having one or more fluid channels extending between the inlet and the outlet (See, e.g., Fig.1-4), wherein at least a portion of said outer chamber forms at least a portion of said body (See, e.g., Fig.1-4),
said one or more chambers being adapted to receive a fluid at said inlet (See, e.g., Fig.1-4), to expel said fluid at said outlet (See, e.g., Fig.1-4), said fluid passing along said one or more fluid channels such that heat exchanges with said ambient environment through said smooth exterior surface (See, e.g., Fig.1-4).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Golembeski discloses: wherein said heat exchanger is mechanically and thermally coupled to a plant system at one or more of said inlet and outlet pairs said plant system comprising a chiller, one or more heating elements, and/or one or more cooling coils (See, e.g., Fig.1-4, 52+46+48), said plant system being mechanically and thermally coupled to one or more demand systems (See, e.g., Fig.1-4, 52+38+etc.) and adapted to transfer heat to or from said heat exchanger to thereby be rejected to, or absorbed from, said ambient environment (See, e.g., Fig.1-4).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, Golembeski discloses: wherein at least two of said one or more chambers are coupled to plant system in a parallel configuration (See, e.g., Fig.1-4, 54+64).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, Golembeski discloses: wherein at least a first chamber of said one or more chambers is thermally decoupled from a second chamber thereof (See, e.g., Fig.1-4, 54+64).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, and 7-9 are allowed.
Claims 10 and 6 (by dependency) would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record when taken alone or in combination with another does not teach or fairly suggest at this time at least, among other limitations: An aerodynamic vehicle comprising: a body including upper and lower body portions extending from a front end to a trailing end, said front end forming a tapered profile; an aerodynamic heat exchanger disposed along at least a portion of said lower body portion and having a smooth surface exposed to an ambient environment, said aerodynamic heat exchanger comprising: one or more chambers including an inner chamber portion and an outer chamber portion, said inner chamber portion having one or more inlet and outlet pairs, each pair having one or more fluid channels extending between the inlet and the outlet, wherein at least a portion of said outer chamber forms at least a portion of said body; said one or more chambers being adapted to receive a fluid at said inlet and expel said fluid at said outlet, said fluid passing along said one or more fluid channels such that heat exchanges with said ambient environment through said smooth exterior surface; at least a first wheel assembly and a second wheel assembly; and first and second strut assemblies each comprising one or more aerodynamic struts, said first strut assembly coupling said first wheel assembly to said body, said second strut assembly coupling said second wheel assembly to said body, at least a portion of said first and second strut assemblies disposed between said aerodynamic heat exchanger and said front end, along and coupled to said lower body portion, wherein at least a portion of said aerodynamic heat exchanger is fluidly unimpeded by said first and second strut assemblies so that, when the aerodynamic vehicle moves, laminar airflow surrounds at least the unimpeded portions of said aerodynamic heat exchanger, as claimed in Claim 5 (emphasis added to allowable limitations not suggested or taught by the prior art).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613