DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 10 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicants have not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below.
Akahane (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2011/0063671 A1) specifies a recording device, a control method for a recording device, and a program can record even when recording using a font that is not internally stored by the recording device. A printer that records on a recording medium using a font specified by a host computer has font substitution information that correlates specified fonts to internal fonts based on the number of columns per line that can be recorded on the recording medium using the specified font. When a font is specified by the host computer, the printer substitutes an internal font for the specified font based on the font substitution information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2015/0278658 A1, hereinafter ‘Hara’) in view of Tabushi (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2021/0303945 A1, hereinafter ’Tabushi’).
With respect to claim 1, Hara teaches a printer (e.g., an image forming apparatus 1, Fig. 2) comprising: a memory (e.g., a storage unit 19, Fig. 2); a print engine (e.g., an image forming unit 17, Fig. 2); and a controller (e.g., a control unit 10, Fig. 2) configured to perform: a first acquisition process to acquire print data specifying a character (e.g., acquiring drawing data that includes a character, ¶0082 with ¶0089); a second acquisition process to acquire specific information from the print data, the specific information specifying a font (e.g., extracting/recognizing font (or attribute data) from the drawing data, ¶0004, ¶0087, ¶0155 - ¶0159, Fig. 10); an identification process to identify a target font file, using the piece of allocation information stored in the memory, from among the plurality of font files, the piece of allocation information being for associating the specific information with the target font file (e.g., selecting a font, where the degree of similarity is the highest. When the selected font and character size have the degree of similarity greater than or equal to a specified threshold value, the font matching unit 120 determines as corresponding to the font and the character size and establishing matching. In addition, when the degree of similarity is lower than the specified threshold value, the font matching unit 120 determines that there are no corresponding font and no corresponding character size and matching is not established, ¶0082, Claim 5), the identification process being to reference the piece of allocation information to identify the target font file associated with the specific information acquired in the second acquisition process (e.g., the identification process is to select one of the plurality of fonts related to the attribute data from the drawing data, ¶0011 with ¶0082); and a drawing process to draw an image of the character using the target font file to generate image to be used in printing by the print engine (e.g., drawing an image of the character using the selected font to generate ¶0043 with ¶0096, ¶0129, ¶0159); but fails to teaches: an identification process to identify a target font file, using the piece of allocation information stored in the memory, from among the plurality of font files, the piece of allocation information being for associating the specific information with the target font file, the identification process being to reference the piece of allocation information to identify the target font file associated with the specific information acquired in the second acquisition process; and a drawing process to draw an image of the character using the target font file to generate image data to be used in printing by the print engine.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printers and font(s), the mentioned claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Tabushi. In particular, Tabushi teaches an identification process to identify a target font file, using the piece of allocation information stored in the memory, from among the plurality of font files, the piece of allocation information being for associating the specific information with the target font file (e.g., identify/select a font, using operators, from plurality of fonts, said operators are associated with a glyph with the selected font, the operators includes font assignment, ¶0004 - ¶0006, ¶0028, ¶0039, ¶0065, Figs. 6 & 7), the identification process being to reference the piece of allocation information to identify the target font file associated with the specific information acquired in the second acquisition process (e.g., the selected font identified is referring to the operator to identify/point out the font associated with glyph, ¶0028, ¶0039, ¶0065, Figs. 6 & 7); and a drawing process to draw an image of the character using the target font file to generate image data to be used in printing by the print engine (e.g., drawing a glyph of the character using the selected font to generate an image data that is further used to be printed, ¶0060, Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the printer of Hara as taught by Tabushi since Tabushi suggested within ¶0028, ¶0039, ¶0065, Figs. 6 & 7 that such modification of having operators (e.g., with font assignment) would determine a glyph width, which represents a distance between two adjacent glyph origins in order to ensure that these don’t conflict each other’s or be supported.
With respect to claim 2, Hara in view of Tabushi teaches the printer according to claim 1, wherein the identification process performs: searching the piece of allocation information for the specific information; and when the specific information is found in the piece of allocation information as a result of the searching the piece of allocation information for the specific information, identifying the target font file associated with the specific information found as the result of the searching the piece of allocation information for the specific information (e.g., it merely points the operation for the glyph, and when the glyph is included, designate the font associated with the glyph, ¶0039, ¶0049).
With respect to claim 3, Hara in view of Tabushi teaches the printer according to claim 1, wherein Tabushi, teaches a second acquisition process acquires, as a specific information, a specific font name included in a print data, the specific font name being a name of the font (e.g. acquiring font name that is within a PDF (print data), ¶0031 - ¶0035).
With respect to claim 4, Hara in view of Tabushi teaches the printer according to claim 3, wherein Tabushi teaches the target font file includes first-font name information on a first font name and second-font name information on a second font name, wherein the piece of allocation information is for associating each of the first font name and the second font name with the target font file, wherein the identification process performs: determining whether a character string of one of the first font name and the second font name includes a character string of the specific font name; and when the character string of the one of the first font name and the second font name includes the character string of the specific font name, identifying the target font file associated with each of the first font name and the second font name by referencing the piece of allocation information (e.g., It simple determines which of the fonts should be selected in order to draw a glyph based on selected operator, ¶0059 - ¶0060, ¶0065, ¶0068, Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 5, Hara in view of Tabushi teaches the printer according to claim 1, wherein Tabushi teaches the second acquisition process acquires, as the specific information, a specific font identifier included in the print data, the specific font identifier identifying the font (e.g. acquiring font name (identifier) that is within a PDF (print data), ¶0031 - ¶0035), wherein the piece of allocation information is for associating the specific font identifier with the target font file, wherein the identification process identifies the target font file associated with the specific font identifier acquired in the second acquisition process by referencing the piece of allocation information (e.g., and the operators refer to attributes/specification within the font, ¶028, ¶0032, ¶0039).
With respect to claim 6, Hara in view of Tabushi teaches the printer according to claim 1, wherein the second acquisition process acquires, as the specific information, one of a specific font name and a specific font identifier included in the print data, the specific font name being a name of the font, the specific font identifier identifying the font, wherein the piece of allocation information is for associating each of the specific font name and the specific font identifier with the target font file, wherein the identification process identifies the target font file associated with the one of the specific font name and the specific font identifier acquired in the second acquisition process by referencing the piece of allocation information (e.g. the acquired/received PDF data should include any name or identifier in order to be analyzed, identified and determined using operator(s), ¶0039, ¶0049, ¶0059 - ¶0060).
With respect to claim 7, Hara in view of Tabushi teaches the printer according to claim 1, wherein Tabushi teaches the identification process identifies the target font file by searching a plurality of pieces of allocation information stored in the memory for the specific information acquired in the second acquisition process, each of the plurality of pieces of allocation information being for associating specific information, which specifies a respective one of a plurality of fonts, with a respective one of a plurality of font files, the plurality of pieces of allocation information including the piece of allocation information (e.g. identifies a font by detecting operators, each of the operator associated with glyph, which select one of the fonts, the operators including several attributes to define the font specification or attribute to assign, ¶0026, ¶0061 - ¶0066, Figs. 5 &6).
Claims 8 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara in view of Tabushi and further in view of Gonzalez et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2008/0306916 A1, hereinafter ‘Gonzalez’).
With respect to claim 8, Hara in view of Tabushi teaches the printer according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to further perform: a storing process to store the target font file including font-name information on a font name in the memory; a reading process to read the font-name information from the target font file; a setting process to set a font identifier for the target font file stored in the memory; a creating process to create the piece of allocation information, the piece of allocation information being for associating the font name of the font-name information read in the reading process with the target font file and further being for associating the font identifier set in the setting process with the target font file; and a saving process to save the piece of allocation information created in the creating process in the memory.
However, in the same field of endeavor of font processing, the remaining of the claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Gonzalez. In particular, Gonzalez teaches wherein the controller is configured to further perform: a storing process to store the target font file including font-name information on a font name in the memory; a reading process to read the font-name information from the target font file; a setting process to set a font identifier for the target font file stored in the memory; a creating process to create the piece of allocation information, the piece of allocation information being for associating the font name of the font-name information read in the reading process with the target font file and further being for associating the font identifier set in the setting process with the target font file; and a saving process to save the piece of allocation information created in the creating process in the memory (Gonzalez: e.g., font attribute, font identifiers (name) or metadata can be registered as separated, so that via a font management, font can be read, edited, set and/or be registered as separated method in order to avoid name confusion, ¶0003, ¶0021, ¶0024, ¶0028 - ¶0030, & Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the printer of Hara in view of Tabushi as taught by Gonzalez since Gonzalez suggested within ¶0003, ¶0021, ¶0024 - ¶0030 that such modification of having a font management would allow the user to retrieve from a system so that the user can edit, re-create or install font/glyph in order to make it convenient for the user to collect a printed document along with a new or edited glyph.
With respect to claim 9, Hara in view of Tabushi and further in view of Gonzalez teaches the printer according to claim 8, wherein the storing process performs receiving the target font file and storing the target font file in the memory, wherein the reading process, the setting process, the creating process, and the saving process are performed in response to the target font file being received in the storing process (Gonzalez: e.g., under interpretation, in the font management, the user selects a font among registered fonts, determine if the font is found; if not then sets for a new or replacement font in order to be registered as new font after the font has been registered in a system, ¶0018 - ¶0021, ¶0024, ¶0030, Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 10, Hara in view of Tabushi teaches the printer according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to further perform: a selection process to receive a selection operation to select a font file, as a selected font file, from among the plurality of font files in the memory; a reading process to read font-name information from the selected font file, the font-name information indicating a font name; a setting process to set a font identifier for the selected font file; a creating process to create a piece of allocation information that: is for associating the font name indicated in the font-name information read in the reading process with the selected font file; and further is for associating the font identifier set in the setting process with the selected font file; and a saving process to save the piece of allocation information created in the creating process in the memory.
However, Gonzalez teaches wherein the controller is configured to further perform: a selection process to receive a selection operation to select a font file, as a selected font file, from among the plurality of font files in the memory; a reading process to read font-name information from the selected font file, the font-name information indicating a font name; a setting process to set a font identifier for the selected font file; a creating process to create a piece of allocation information that: is for associating the font name indicated in the font-name information read in the reading process with the selected font file; and further is for associating the font identifier set in the setting process with the selected font file; and a saving process to save the piece of allocation information created in the creating process in the memory (Gonzalez: e.g., under interpretation, in a font management, the user selects a font among registered fonts, determine if the font is found; if not then sets for a new or replacement font in order to be registered as new font, ¶0018, ¶0021, ¶0024, ¶0030, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the printer of Hara in view of Tabushi as taught by Gonzalez since Gonzalez suggested within ¶0003, ¶0021, ¶0024 - ¶0030 that such modification of having a font management would allow the user to retrieve from a system so that the user can edit, re-create or install font/glyph in order to make it convenient for the user to collect a printed document along with a new or edited glyph.
Conclusion
/JUAN M GUILLERMETY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682