Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,550,885. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims 1-13 and 16-20 of the instant application are anticipated by the limitation recited in the claims 1-7 and 9-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,550,885.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,039,019. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by the limitation recited in the claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,039,019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14, 16 and 18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelo et al. (US 2003/0105971 hereinafter Angelo) in view of Desai (US 2014/0331285) and Maruyama et al. (US 2020/0394326 hereinafter Maruyama) and further in view of Pruthi (US 9,071,618).
Regarding claim 1, Angelo discloses a system, comprising:
a location sensing device that associates a location to a computing device (Abstract, ¶ [0016]; i.e. GPS receiver);
the computing device (FIG. 1), comprising:
a processor (FIG. 1); and
memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor (FIG. 1), cause the computing device to:
determine, based on a geographic location received from the location sensing device and one of a plurality of security keys, whether to enable a user operating system or a false desktop system as a default mode of the computing device (Abstract, ¶ [0014], [0017]-[0018], [0020]; i.e. based on the location area in which the system is located, the system invokes one security mode associated with that particular location area, for example, work location or non-work location security mode, the access/security modes specify certain log on and/or access privileges, e.g. using security key, dependent on the location of the computer relative to a plurality of predetermined or programed location areas);
enable, during a login to the computing device and based on a received input of a first security key of the plurality of security keys, the default mode of the computing device (Abstract, ¶ [0020], [0030]; i.e. applying the security mode associated with that particular location area, work location or non-work location security mode, based on one or more input authenticity information such as software and/or hardware characteristics of the system when a user log on to the local or remote network).
Angelo does not explicitly disclose enable, during the login to the computing device and based on the received input of a second security key of the plurality of security keys, a first false desktop mode of the computing device, wherein the first false desktop mode comprises deleting a partition on a memory device after entry of the second security key as an alternate security measure; and enable, during login to the computing device and based on the received input of a third security key of the plurality of security keys, a second false desktop mode of the computing device comprising read-only access to the computing device, wherein each security key of the plurality of security keys is associated with a different false data set corresponding to a user associated with the first security key, and wherein each false data set is generated based on one or more template false data files.
However, Desai discloses enable, during the login to the computing device and based on the received input of a second security key of the plurality of security keys, a first false desktop mode of the computing device, wherein the first false desktop mode comprises deleting a partition on a memory device after entry of the second security key as an alternate security measure and wherein each security key of the plurality of security keys is associated with a different false data set corresponding to a user associated with the first security key (¶ [0072], [0096]-[0097], [0108]-[0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Desai’s teaching into Angelo in order to control access to the unsecure and/or secure application based on a combination of context for the mobile device and the username or user roles (Desai, ¶ [0112]-[0114]).
Further Maruyama discloses wherein each false data set is generated based on one or more template false data files (¶ [0020], [0067]-[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Maruyama’s teaching into Angelo and Desai in order to utilize dummy information to allow the public display user’s information while maintaining the privacy of that information (Maruyama, ¶ [0002]-[0003]).
Furthermore Pruthi discloses enable, during login to the computing device and based on the received input of a third security key of the plurality of security keys, a second false desktop mode of the computing device comprising read-only access to the computing device (FIG. 5, 7, col. 8, lines 37-62, col. 10 line 27-col. 11, line 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Angelo, Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi in order to provide effective, efficient, scalable and convenient ways of increasing the security of customer information and accounts by allowing customers having more control over the ways in which their information may be accessed (Pruthi, col. 1, lines 7-45).
Regarding claim 2, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to: enable, during the login to the computing device and based on a received input of a third security key of the plurality of security keys, a non-default mode of the computing device (Desai, ¶ [0018], [0020], [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to: configure, by a configuration module, the false desktop system to restrict access to specified files, data stores, applications, and storage drives of the computing device (Desai, ¶ [0019]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 4, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to: configure, by a configuration module, the false desktop system to restrict access to an external network communicatively coupled to the computing device (Desai, ¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 7, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to: configure, by a configuration module, the false desktop system to function as a read-only copy of the user operating system (Desai, ¶ [0020]).
Regarding claim 8, Angelo discloses a computing platform, comprising:
a processor (FIG. 1); and
memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor (FIG. 1), cause the computing platform to:
determine, based on a geographic location received from a location sensing device associated with the computing platform and based on use a received security key, whether to enable a user operating system or a false desktop system as a default mode of the computing platform (Abstract, ¶ [0014], [0017]-[0018], [0020]; i.e. based on the log on credential and the location area in which the system is located, the system invokes one security mode and/or operating mode associated with that particular location area, for example, work location or non-work location security mode);
enable, based on use of a first security key during a login to the computing platform and by a desktop management system, the default mode of the computing platform (Abstract, ¶ [0020], [0030]; i.e. applying the security mode associated with that particular location area, work location or non-work location security mode, based on one or more input authenticity information such as software and/or hardware characteristics of the system when a user log on to the local or remote network).
Angelo does not explicitly disclose enable, based on use of a second security key during the login to the computing platform and by the desktop management system, a first false desktop mode of the computing platform, wherein the first false desktop mode comprises deleting a partition on a memory device after entry of the second security key as an alternate security measure corresponding to a security key-dependent configuration of the false desktop system that is populated with false data associated with a user corresponding to the first security key; and enable, during login to the computing platform and based on the received input of a third security key of the plurality of security keys, a second false desktop mode of the computing device comprising read-only access to the computing platform, and wherein each false data set is generated based on one or more template false data files.
However, Desai discloses enable, based on use of a second security key during the login to the computing platform and by the desktop management system, a first false desktop mode of the computing platform, wherein the first false desktop mode comprises deleting a partition on a memory device after entry of the second security key as an alternate security measure corresponding to a security key-dependent configuration of the false desktop system that is populated with false data associated with a user corresponding to the first security key (¶ [0072], [0096]-[0097], [0108]-[0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Desai’s teaching into Angelo in order to control access to the unsecure and/or secure application based on a combination of context for the mobile device and the username or user roles (Desai, ¶ [0112]-[0114]).
Maruyama discloses wherein each false data set is generated based on one or more template false data files (¶ [0020], [0067]-[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Maruyama’s teaching into Angelo and Desai in order to utilize dummy information to allow the public display user’s information while maintaining the privacy of that information (Maruyama, ¶ [0002]-[0003]).
Pruthi discloses enable, during login to the computing platform and based on the received input of a third security key of the plurality of security keys, a second false desktop mode of the computing device comprising read-only access to the computing platform (FIG. 5, 7, col. 8, lines 37-62, col. 10 line 27-col. 11, line 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Angelo, Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi in order to provide effective, efficient, scalable and convenient ways of increasing the security of customer information and accounts by allowing customers having more control over the ways in which their information may be accessed (Pruthi, col. 1, lines 7-45).
Regarding claim 9, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 10, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 7 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 16, Angelo discloses a method, comprising:
determining, based on a geographic location of a computing platform and a use of a security key, whether to enable a user operating system or a false desktop system as a default mode of the computing platform (Abstract, ¶ [0014], [0017]-[0018], [0020]; i.e. based on the location area in which the system is located, the system invokes one security mode associated with that particular location area, for example, work location or non-work location security mode, the access/security modes specify certain log on and/or access privileges, e.g. using security key, dependent on the location of the computer relative to a plurality of predetermined or programed location areas);
enabling, during a login to the computing platform and by a desktop management system, the default mode of the computing platform based on a received input of a first security key (Abstract, ¶ [0020], [0030]; i.e. applying the security mode associated with that particular location area, work location or non-work location security mode, based on one or more input authenticity information such as software and/or hardware characteristics of the system when a user log on to the local or remote network).
Angelo does not explicitly disclose enabling, during the login to the computing platform and by the desktop management system, a first false desktop mode of the computing platform based on the received input of a second security key, wherein the first false desktop mode comprises deleting a partition on a memory device after entry of the second security key as a first security measure of a plurality of security measures that each correspond to a different security key and comprise a different configuration of the false desktop system; and enabling, during login to the computing platform and based on the received input of a third security key of the plurality of security keys, a second false desktop mode of the computing device comprising read-only access to the computing platform, wherein each different configuration is populated with false data associated with a user corresponding to the first security key; and wherein each false data set is generated based on one or more template false data files.
However, Desai discloses enabling, during the login to the computing platform and by the desktop management system, a first false desktop mode of the computing platform based on the received input of a second security key, wherein the first false desktop mode comprises deleting a partition on a memory device after entry of the second security key as a first security measure of a plurality of security measures that each correspond to a different security key and comprise a different configuration of the false desktop system, wherein each different configuration is populated with false data associated with a user corresponding to the first security key (¶ [0096]-[0097], [0108]-[0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Desai’s teaching into Angelo in order to control access to the unsecure and/or secure application based on a combination of context for the mobile device and the username or user roles (Desai, ¶ [0112]-[0114]).
Maruyama discloses wherein each false data set is generated based on one or more template false data files (¶ [0020], [0067]-[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Maruyama’s teaching into Angelo and Desai in order to utilize dummy information to allow the public display user’s information while maintaining the privacy of that information (Maruyama, ¶ [0002]-[0003]).
Pruthi discloses enabling, during login to the computing platform and based on the received input of a third security key of the plurality of security keys, a second false desktop mode of the computing device comprising read-only access to the computing platform (FIG. 5, 7, col. 8, lines 37-62, col. 10 line 27-col. 11, line 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Angelo, Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi in order to provide effective, efficient, scalable and convenient ways of increasing the security of customer information and accounts by allowing customers having more control over the ways in which their information may be accessed (Pruthi, col. 1, lines 7-45).
Regarding claim 18, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Claims 5-6, 12-13, 15, 17 and 19-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelo et al. (US 2003/0105971 hereinafter Angelo) in view of Desai (US 2014/0331285) and Maruyama et al. (US 2020/0394326 hereinafter Maruyama) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2009/0170532 hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 5, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the system of claim 1.
Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to: configure, by a configuration module, the false desktop system to disable specified ports associated with the computing device.
However, Lee discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to: configure, by a configuration module, the false desktop system to disable specified ports associated with the computing device (¶ [0113], [0119], Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s teaching into Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi in order to automatically enable or disable certain functions of the electronic device depending on location or environment (Lee, ¶ [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the system of claim 1.
Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to: configure, by a configuration module, the false desktop system to erase specified content located in a plurality of storage drives of the computing device.
However, Lee discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to: configure, by a configuration module, the false desktop system to erase specified content located in a plurality of storage drives of the computing device (¶ [0056]-[0057], Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s teaching into Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi in order to automatically enable or disable certain functions of the electronic device depending on location or environment (Lee, ¶ [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 12, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 13, see claim 6 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 15, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the computing platform of claim 8.
Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing platform to: disable, based on a configuration of the false desktop system, a communication interface of the computing platform.
However, Lee discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing platform to: disable, based on a configuration of the false desktop system, a communication interface of the computing platform (¶ [0113], [0119], Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s teaching into Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi in order to automatically enable or disable certain functions of the electronic device depending on location or environment (Lee, ¶ [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: enabling, during the login to the computing platform and by the desktop management system, a non-default mode of the computing platform based on a received input of a third security key (Desai, ¶ [0018], [0020], [0030]).
Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi does not explicitly disclose disabling, based on use of the third security key, at least one system driver for a port within the non-default mode of the computing platform.
However, Lee discloses disabling, based on use of the third security key, at least one system driver for a port within the non-default mode of the computing platform (¶ [0113], [0119], Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s teaching into Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi in order to automatically enable or disable certain functions of the electronic device depending on location or environment (Lee, ¶ [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 19, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the method of claim 16.
Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi does not explicitly disclose configuring, by a configuration module of the desktop management system, the false desktop system to disable specified ports associated with the computing platform.
However, Lee discloses configuring, by a configuration module of the desktop management system, the false desktop system to disable specified ports associated with the computing platform (¶ [0113], [0119], Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s teaching into Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi in order to automatically enable or disable certain functions of the electronic device depending on location or environment (Lee, ¶ [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi discloses the method of claim 16.
Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi does not explicitly disclose configuring, by a configuration module of the desktop management system, the false desktop system to erase specified content located in a plurality of storage drives of the computing platform.
However, Lee discloses configuring, by a configuration module of the desktop management system, the false desktop system to erase specified content located in a plurality of storage drives of the computing platform (¶ [0056]-[0057], Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s teaching into Angelo in view of Desai, Maruyama and Pruthi in order to automatically enable or disable certain functions of the electronic device depending on location or environment (Lee, ¶ [0002]-[0005]).
Conclusion
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435