DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pass et al. (US 9,385,413) in view of Vanover (US 8,534,622).
(1) regarding Claims 1 and 15:
Figures 7A and B of Pass discloses:
a cellular communication assembly (Col 2 lines 40-43) comprising:
a support mast (64) having a first diameter;
a mast bracket (68) coupled to the support mast,
the mast bracket comprising:
a central body (68) including a w-shaped geometry and defining a central a groove;
a device bracket (46-s) coupled to the mast bracket.
However Pass does not disclose the first and second support tabs.
Figures 2 and 3 of Vanover, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
a first support tab (74) extending from the central body (24) opposite the groove (shown in a first direction as shown in Fig 2), the first support tab defining a first elongated slot (hole shown); and
a second support tab (a second 74 parallel to the first 74) extending from the central body opposite the groove, the second support tab substantially parallel to the first support tab and defining a second elongated slot (a second hole aligned with the first hole where a spacer 76 is located).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the mast mount system for mounting accessories on a mobile elevated pole or mast comprising a pole mount assembly of Vanover into the device of Pass in order to provide a more secure accessory.
(2) regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
further comprising a transceiver radio unit coupled to a mating surface of the device bracket (Col 1 lines 19-30 of Pass).
(3) regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the mast bracket further comprises: a first weld joint between the central body and the first support tab (See Fig 2 of Vanover); and a second weld joint between the central body and the second support tab (See Fig 2 of Vanover).
(4) regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the central body of the mast bracket defines a first opening through a first end of the mast bracket and a second opening through a second end of the mast bracket opposite the first end (See Fig 2 of Vanover).
(5) regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
further comprising a spacer disposed between the first support tab and the second support tab with a fastener extending through the spacer (See Fig 2 of Vanover).
(6) regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the device bracket is formed by stamping a sheet of metal and bending a third support tab of the device bracket orthogonal to an elongated body of the device bracket (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(7) regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the device bracket defines a third slot and a fourth slot having a minimum mounting pitch and a maximum mounting pitch (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(8) regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the device bracket defines a third slot in a third support tab, wherein a fastener translates within the first elongated slot, the second elongated slot, and the third slot to adjust a position of the device bracket (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(9) regarding Claim 9:
Figures 7A and 7B disclose:
A mounting assembly (62) comprising:
a mast bracket (68) having a w-shaped geometry and comprising:
a central body (68) including a w-shaped geometry and defining a central a groove;
However Pass does not disclose the first and second support tabs.
Figures 2 and 3 of Vanover, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
a first support tab (74) extending from the central body (24) opposite the groove, the first support tab defining a first elongated slot; and
a second support tab (a second 74 parallel to the first 74) extending from the central body opposite the groove, the second support tab substantially parallel to the first support tab and defining a second elongated slot (a second hole aligned with the first hole where a spacer 76 is located);
a spacer (76) disposed between the first support tab (74) and the second support tab (74); and
a fastener (78) extending through the spacer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the mast mount system for mounting accessories on a mobile elevated pole or mast comprising a pole mount assembly of Vanover into the device of Pass in order to provide a more secure accessory.
(10) regarding Claim 10:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
further comprising a device bracket (46-S in Fig 7A of Pass) coupled to the mast bracket.
(11) regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the device bracket comprises: an elongated body defining a third slot through a first end of a mating surface of the elongated body, the elongated body defining a fourth slot through a second end of the mating surface opposite the first end; and a third support tab extending from the elongated body opposite the mating surface (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(12) regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the mast bracket further comprises: a first weld joint between the central body and the first support tab (See Fig 2 of Vanover); and a second weld joint between the central body and the first support tab (See Fig 2 of Vanover).
(13) regarding Claim 13:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the fastener translates along the first elongated slot and the second elongated slot to adjust a position of the fastener relative to the central body (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(14) regarding Claim 14:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the first support tab is pressed between a head of the fastener and the spacer (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(16) regarding Claim 16:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
further comprising a spacer disposed between the first support tab and the second support tab, the spacer defining a passage (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(17) regarding Claim 17:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
further comprising a fastener extending through the first elongated slot, the passage, and the elongated second slot (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(18) regarding Claim 18:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the fastener translates along the first elongated slot and the second elongated slot to adjust a position of the fastener and the spacer relative to the central body (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(19) regarding Claim 19:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the first support tab is pressed between a head of the fastener and the spacer (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
(20) regarding Claim 20:
The combination of Pass and Vanover further discloses:
wherein the second support tab is pressed between a nut of the fastener and the spacer (See Figs 2 and 3 of Vanover).
Remarks
The Office has cited particular columns, line numbers, paragraph numbers, references, or figures in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses to fully consider the reference in entirety, as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2141.02 and § 2123.
Conclusion
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845