DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/16/2024 and 10/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mook et al (US 2023/0072960).
Regarding Claim 1, Mook teaches an additive manufacturing system for additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object, the additive manufacturing system (abstract; figs. 1-3) comprising:
a beam generation device (fig. 1A, 134; fig. 3B, 300);
a first lens array disposed downstream from the beam generation device, the first lens array positioned to divide an energy beam received from the beam generation device into a plurality of beam segments (fig. 3B, 324; ¶[0070], line 1-30, the beam homogenizer 324 may be configured to provide a plurality of beam segments that have a substantially uniform intensity and/or powder level; beam homogenizer 324 may include one or more microlens arrays in front of a condenser lens);
an optical modulator disposed downstream from the first lens array, wherein the optical modulator is modulated to reflect or transmit one or more beamlets from the plurality of beam segments incident on the optical modulator (fig. 3B, 302; fig. 4A, 144/300, 302, 144/312; ¶[0069], line 1-30, The optical modulator 302 may include a micromirror array 306 that includes a plurality of micromirror elements 308 respectively coupled to an addressable element 310. The optical modulator 302 may be configured to direct cross-sectional portions of the energy beam 144 incident upon the micromirror array 306 towards a focusing lens assembly 312….);
a focusing lens assembly (fig. 3B, 312),
wherein the focusing lens assembly converges the one or more beamlets in a target plane (fig. 3B, 334, 336, 130).
But Mook in embodiment of fig. 3B does not specifically disclose that wherein a second lens array disposed downstream from the optical modulator, the one or more beamlets incident upon the second lens array; and a focusing lens assembly disposed downstream from the second lens array, wherein the one or more beamlets projected from the second lens array become incident on the focusing lens assembly.
However, in embodiment of fig. 6C, Mook teaches that wherein a second lens array disposed downstream from the optical modulator, the one or more beamlets incident upon the second lens array (fig. 6C, 604, 302, 400); and
a focusing lens assembly disposed downstream from the second lens array (fig. 6C, 606),
wherein the one or more beamlets projected from the second lens array become incident on the focusing lens assembly (fig. 6C, 604, 400, 606), and wherein the focusing lens assembly converges the one or more beamlets in a target plane (fig.6C, 606, 400/408, 334/336, 130; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; the second lens 606 may focus the plurality of beam segments 400 and /or beam segment-subsets 408 in a second direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mook to have a second lens array disposed downstream from the optical modulator and a focusing lens assembly disposed downstream from the second lens array, for a purpose of relatively lower intensity and/or power density associated with conduction irradiation may allow for the use of optical modulators with a relatively large pixel density, thereby allowing for increased resolution (¶[0033], line 1-12).
Regarding Claim 2, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the first lens array comprises a cylindrical lens array or a square lens array (fig. 3B, 324; ¶[0070], line 1-30, beam homogenizer 324 may include one or more microlens arrays in front of a condenser lens; ¶[0101], line 1-21, In some embodiments, a microlens array…; a square array of spherical microlenses; a microlens array with cylindrical microlenses).
Regarding Claim 3, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 2, wherein the second lens array comprises a cylindrical lens array or a square lens array (¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; the second lens 606 may focus the plurality of beam segments 400 and /or beam segment-subsets 408 in a second direction).
Regarding Claim 4, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the optical modulator comprises a reflective optical modulator or a transmissive optical modulator (fig. 3B, 302- reflective).
Regarding Claim 5, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising a controller to modulate the optical modulator according to beam modulation instructions defining a modulation state corresponding to the one or more beamlets (fig. 3B, 104, 302; ¶[0075], line 1-10, The control system 104 may include a controller configured to cause respective ones of the plurality of addressable elements 310 to actuate the corresponding micromirror elements 308 according to the beam modulation instructions).
Regarding Claim 6, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the optical modulator comprises an array of pixels configured to reflect or transmit the one or more beamlets incident upon the second lens array (fig. 4A, 302, 308).
Regarding Claim 7, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 6, further comprising a controller to modulate the array of pixels according to beam modulation instructions defining a modulation state corresponding to the one or more beamlets (fig. 3B, 104, 302; ¶[0075], line 1-10, The control system 104 may include a controller configured to cause respective ones of the plurality of addressable elements 310 to actuate the corresponding micromirror elements 308 according to the beam modulation instructions).
Regarding Claim 10, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the first and second lens arrays each comprise a cylindrical lens array (fig. 3B, 324; ¶[0070], line 1-30, beam homogenizer 324 may include one or more microlens arrays in front of a condenser lens; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; ¶[0101], line 1-21, In some embodiments, a microlens array…; a square array of spherical microlenses; a microlens array with cylindrical microlenses), and
wherein the focusing lens assembly is configured to converge the one or more beamlets into a beam line at the target plane (fig.6C, 606, 400/408, 334/336, 130; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; the second lens 606 may focus the plurality of beam segments 400 and /or beam segment-subsets 408 in a second direction).
Regarding Claim 11, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 10, wherein the optical modulator comprises a plurality of pixels (fig. 4A-B, 302, 308), and wherein the beam line comprises a varying intensity distribution across the beam line based on a modulation state of select pixels of the plurality of pixels (fig. 4A-B, 302, 308, 144; ¶[0076], line 1-14, an optical modulator 302 may include a micromirror array 306 that includes a plurality of micromirror elements 308. An energy beam 144 may have a cross-sectional profile configured to become incident on all or substantially all of the micromirror elements 308 of the micromirror array 306. For example, the energy beam 144 may have a rectangular cross-sectional profile, which may correspond to a rectangular profile of the micromirror array 306. The energy beam 144 may have a nominal amount of underlap and/or overlap with the micromirror array 306, which may be determined by way of a calibration procedure ….).
Regarding Claim 12, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the first and second lens arrays each comprise a square lens array (fig. 3B, 324; ¶[0070], line 1-30, beam homogenizer 324 may include one or more microlens arrays in front of a condenser lens; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; ¶[0101], line 1-21, In some embodiments, a microlens array…; a square array of spherical microlenses; a microlens array with cylindrical microlenses), and
wherein the focusing lens assembly is configured to converge the one or more beamlets into at least one of a square beam spot or a rectangular beam spot (fig.6C, 606, 400/408, 334/336, 130; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; the second lens 606 may focus the plurality of beam segments 400 and /or beam segment-subsets 408 in a second direction).
Regarding Claim 13, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 12, wherein the optical modulator comprises a plurality of pixels (fig. 4A-B, 302, 308), and wherein the rectangular beam spot comprises a varying intensity distribution across the rectangular beam spot based on a modulation state of select pixels of the plurality of pixels (fig.6C, 606, 400/408, 334/336, 130; ¶[0074], line 1-26, The optical modulator 302 may be configured to actuate respective addressable elements 310 according to beam modulation instructions from a control system 104 associated with the irradiation device 142. Addressable elements 310 of the optical modulator 302 corresponding to respective ones of the plurality of modulation groups may be actuated according to the beam modulation instructions to irradiate powder material 120 at the build plane with the specified pattern of combination zones 334. The combination of the beam segments may provide a plurality combination zones 334 that respectively exhibit an increased intensity and/or power density relative to a point upstream from the optical modulator 302, such as relative to the intensity and/or power density of the energy beam 144 when emitted from the beam generation device 300 and/or when incident upon the optical modulator 302. The intensity and/or power density of the plurality of combination zones may correspond to a conduction irradiation regime).
Regarding Claim 14, Mook teaches method of additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object (abstract; figs. 1-3), the method comprising:
generating an energy beam with a beam generation device (fig. 1A, 134; fig. 3B, 300);
dividing, with a first lens array, the energy beam into a plurality of beam segments incident upon an optical modulator disposed downstream from the first lens array (fig. 3B, 324; ¶[0070], line 1-30, the beam homogenizer 324 may be configured to provide a plurality of beam segments that have a substantially uniform intensity and/or powder level; beam homogenizer 324 may include one or more microlens arrays in front of a condenser lens);
directing, via the optical modulator, the plurality of beam segments received by the optical modulator (fig. 3B, 302; fig. 4A, 144/300, 302, 144/312; ¶[0069], line 1-30, The optical modulator 302 may include a micromirror array 306 that includes a plurality of micromirror elements 308 respectively coupled to an addressable element 310. The optical modulator 302 may be configured to direct cross-sectional portions of the energy beam 144 incident upon the micromirror array 306 towards a focusing lens assembly 312….); and
converging the one or more beamlets in a target plane (fig. 3B, 312, 334, 336, 130).
But Mook in embodiment of fig. 3B does not specifically disclose that wherein directing, via the optical modulator, one or more beamlets incident on a second lens array disposed downstream from the optical modulator from the plurality of beam segments received by the optical modulator.
However, in embodiment of fig. 6C, Mook teaches that wherein directing, via the optical modulator, one or more beamlets incident on a second lens array disposed downstream from the optical modulator from the plurality of beam segments received by the optical modulator (fig. 6C, 302, 400, 604, 606; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; the second lens 606 may focus the plurality of beam segments 400 and /or beam segment-subsets 408 in a second direction);
converging the one or more beamlets in a target plane (fig.6C, 606, 400/408, 334/336).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mook to have a second lens array disposed downstream from the optical modulator and a focusing lens assembly disposed downstream from the second lens array, for a purpose of relatively lower intensity and/or power density associated with conduction irradiation may allow for the use of optical modulators with a relatively large pixel density, thereby allowing for increased resolution (¶[0033], line 1-12).
Regarding Claim 15, Mook teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the optical modulator comprises a plurality of pixels (fig. 4A-B, 302, 308), and further comprising modulating select pixels of the plurality of pixels according to beam modulation instructions to create the one or more beamlets (4A-B, 144/300, 302, 308, 144/312; ¶[0074], line 1-26, The optical modulator 302 may be configured to actuate respective addressable elements 310 according to beam modulation instructions from a control system 104 associated with the irradiation device 142. Addressable elements 310 of the optical modulator 302 corresponding to respective ones of the plurality of modulation groups may be actuated according to the beam modulation instructions to irradiate powder material 120 at the build plane with the specified pattern of combination zones 334. The combination of the beam segments may provide a plurality combination zones 334 that respectively exhibit an increased intensity and/or power density relative to a point upstream from the optical modulator 302, such as relative to the intensity and/or power density of the energy beam 144 when emitted from the beam generation device 300 and/or when incident upon the optical modulator 302. The intensity and/or power density of the plurality of combination zones may correspond to a conduction irradiation regime).
Regarding Claim 16, Mook teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the first and second lens arrays each comprise a cylindrical lens array (fig. 3B, 324; ¶[0070], line 1-30, beam homogenizer 324 may include one or more microlens arrays in front of a condenser lens; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; ¶[0101], line 1-21, In some embodiments, a microlens array…; a square array of spherical microlenses; a microlens array with cylindrical microlenses), and
further comprising converging the one or more beamlets into a beam line at the target plane (fig.6C, 606, 400/408, 334/336, 130; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; the second lens 606 may focus the plurality of beam segments 400 and /or beam segment-subsets 408 in a second direction).
Regarding Claim 17, Mook teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the first and second lens arrays each comprise a square lens array (fig. 3B, 324; ¶[0070], line 1-30, beam homogenizer 324 may include one or more microlens arrays in front of a condenser lens; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; ¶[0101], line 1-21, In some embodiments, a microlens array…; a square array of spherical microlenses; a microlens array with cylindrical microlenses), and
further comprising converging the one or more beamlets into at least one of a square beam spot or a rectangular beam spot at the target plane (fig.6C, 606, 400/408, 334/336, 130; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; the second lens 606 may focus the plurality of beam segments 400 and /or beam segment-subsets 408 in a second direction).
Regarding Claim 18, Mook teaches an additive manufacturing system for additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object (abstract; figs. 1-3), the additive manufacturing system comprising:
a beam generation device (fig. 1A, 134; fig. 3B, 300);
a first lens array disposed downstream from the beam generation device, the first lens array comprising a first plurality of lenses to divide an energy beam received from the beam generation device into a plurality of beam segments (fig. 3B, 324; ¶[0070], line 1-30, the beam homogenizer 324 may be configured to provide a plurality of beam segments that have a substantially uniform intensity and/or powder level; beam homogenizer 324 may include one or more microlens arrays in front of a condenser lens);
an optical modulator disposed downstream from the first lens array to receive the plurality of beam segments, the optical modulator comprising a plurality of pixels (fig. 3B, 302; fig. 4A, 302, 308, 144/300,144/312; ¶[0069], line 1-30, The optical modulator 302 may include a micromirror array 306 that includes a plurality of micromirror elements 308 respectively coupled to an addressable element 310. The optical modulator 302 may be configured to direct cross-sectional portions of the energy beam 144 incident upon the micromirror array 306 towards a focusing lens assembly 312….);
a focusing lens assembly (fig. 3B, 312),
a controller configured to modulate select ones of the plurality of pixels (fig. 3B, 104, 302; ¶[0075], line 1-10, The control system 104 may include a controller configured to cause respective ones of the plurality of addressable elements 310 to actuate the corresponding micromirror elements 308 according to the beam modulation instructions).
But Mook in embodiment of fig. 3B does not specifically disclose that wherein a second lens array disposed downstream from the optical modulator, the second lens array comprising a second plurality of lenses; a focusing lens assembly disposed downstream from the second lens array; and wherein the optical modulator is configured to direct one or more beamlets incident upon the second plurality of lenses based on a modulation state of the select ones of the plurality of pixels; and wherein the focusing lens assembly receives the one or more beamlets from the second plurality of lenses and converges the one or more beamlets in a target plane.
However, in embodiment of fig. 6C, Mook teaches that wherein a second lens array disposed downstream from the optical modulator, the second lens array comprising a second plurality of lenses (fig. 6C, 604, 302, 400; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; the second lens 606 may focus the plurality of beam segments 400 and /or beam segment-subsets 408 in a second direction);
a focusing lens assembly disposed downstream from the second lens array (fig. 6C, 606); and
wherein the optical modulator is configured to direct one or more beamlets incident upon the second plurality of lenses based on a modulation state of the select ones of the plurality of pixels (fig. 6C, 302, 400, 604; fig. 3B, 104, 302); and
wherein the focusing lens assembly receives the one or more beamlets from the second plurality of lenses and converges the one or more beamlets in a target plane (fig.6C, 606, 400/408, 334/336, 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mook to have a second lens array disposed downstream from the optical modulator and a focusing lens assembly disposed downstream from the second lens array, for a purpose of relatively lower intensity and/or power density associated with conduction irradiation may allow for the use of optical modulators with a relatively large pixel density, thereby allowing for increased resolution (¶[0033], line 1-12).
Regarding Claim 19, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 18, wherein at least one of the first lens array or the second lens array comprises a cylindrical lens array or a square lens array (fig. 3B, 324; ¶[0070], line 1-30, beam homogenizer 324 may include one or more microlens arrays in front of a condenser lens; ¶[0101], line 1-21, In some embodiments, a microlens array…; a square array of spherical microlenses; a microlens array with cylindrical microlenses; fig. 6C, 602, 604; ¶[0103], line 1-11, a focusing lens assembly 312 may include a first lens 604 and a second lens 606. The first lens may be configured as a cylindrical lens or a cylindrical lens array, such as a microlens array that includes cylindrical microlenses; the second lens 606 may focus the plurality of beam segments 400 and /or beam segment-subsets 408 in a second direction).
Regarding Claim 20, Mook teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 18, wherein the optical modulator comprises at least one of a reflective optical modulator or a transmissive optical modulator (fig. 3B, 302- reflective; fig. 4A-B, 302).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mook et al (US 2023/0072960) in a view of Kras et al (US 2022/0134660).
Regarding Claim 8, Mook discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising one or more prisms disposed upstream of the second lens array.
However, Kras teaches an apparatus (abstract; fig. 22), wherein further comprising one or more prisms disposed upstream of an optical modulator (fig. 10, 1024/1025--prisms, 1027-- optical modulator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mook by the apparatus of Kras for a purpose to improve energy efficiency of the additive manufacturing process, and improve energy intensity directed at a bed or reduce manufacture time (¶[0095], line 18-22).
Mook – Kras combination teaches that wherein one or more prisms disposed upstream of the second lens array (fig. 6C, 302, 604, as disclosed in Mook; fig. 10, 1024/1025, 1027, as disclosed in Kras).
Regarding Claim 9, Mook – Kras combination teaches that teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more prisms are disposed upstream of the first lens array or downstream of the first lens array (fig. 3B, 324, 302, as disclosed in Mook; fig. 15, 1533-- optical modulator, 1535/1536—prisms, as disclosed in Kras).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872