DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Figs. 1-5) and claims 1-14, 17, 18, and 21-24 in the reply filed on 03-31-2026 is acknowledged.
However, claim 17 recites a package locker which is exclusive to non-elected Species III (Figs. 9-10) see package lockers 730,732, Species IV (Figs. 11-13) see package lockers 820,830, and Species V (Figs. 14-16) see package lockers 930,932. Likewise, claim 18 recites a magnetic centering mechanism which is exclusive to non-elected Species II (Figs. 6-8) see [0075], Species IV (Figs. 11-13) see [0098], and Species V (Figs. 14-16) see [0109].
Claims 17 and 18 are thus withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The five page information disclosure statement filed 03-27-2025 includes numerous previously cited documents denoted as “No” under the column “New Cite”. These redundant citations have been annotated with a line drawn therethrough. The remaining citations have been considered.
The twenty-five page information disclosure statement filed 08-26-2024 includes numerous previously cited U.S. documents. These redundant U.S. citations have been annotated with a line drawn therethrough. The remaining citations have been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7-12, 13, 14, 21, 22, 23, and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 2-7, 11, 12, 8, 1, 1, and 1, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,986,115. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1 and 24 of the instant application and claim 1 of the patent each recite a landing station guidance-and-security system; a parcel receiving device (claim 24 only); a first guide-and-security bar; a second guide-and-security bar; a third guide-and-security bar; and a fourth guide-and-security bar.
Claim 2 of the instant application reads on claim 1, line 4, of the related patent.
Claim 3 of the instant application reads on claim 1, lines 13-16, of the related patent.
Claim 4 of the instant application reads on claim 1, lines 9-12, of the related patent.
Claim 5 of the instant application reads on claim 1, line 1, of the related patent.
Claim 6 of the instant application reads on claim 1, line 1, of the related patent.
Claims 7-12 of the instant application clearly read on claims 2-7, respectively, of the related patent.
Claims 13-14 of the instant application clearly read on claims 11-12, respectively, of the related patent.
Claim 21 of the instant application clearly reads on claim 8 of the related patent.
Claim 1 of the related patent discloses all of the limitations of claim 22 of the instant application except for the material of the environmental cover being canvas. However, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of the related patent such that the cover was made of canvas for the inherent material property advantages thereof as the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 23 of the instant application reads on claim 1, lines 9-12, of the related patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12, 13, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US#2021/0321810).
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses a landing station guidance-and-security system 3 comprising four guide-and-security bars 323 (see Figs. 4-5) comprising: a first guide-and-security bar 323; a second guide-and-security bar 323; a third guide-and-security bar 323; and a fourth guide-and-security bar 323.
Regarding claim 2, further comprising an at least one environmental cover 33.
Regarding claim 3 wherein said first guide-and-security bar and said second guide-and-security bar run perpendicular to said third guide-and-security bar and said fourth guide-and- security bar (see Figs. 4-5). See tic-tac-toe bar pattern in Figs. 4-5 wherein a first pair of parallel bars resides directly above (different plane) a second pair of parallel bars which are perpendicular to the first pair.
Regarding claims 4 and 23, wherein said first guide-and-security bar and said second guide-and-security bar are on a first plane, and wherein said third guide-and-security bar and said fourth guide-and-security bar are on a second plane (see Figs. 4-5). See tic-tac-toe bar pattern in Figs. 4-5 wherein a first pair of parallel bars resides directly above (different plane) a second pair of parallel bars which are perpendicular to the first pair.
Regarding claim 5, wherein said landing station guidance-and-security system is integrated into a parcel-receiving device 1.
Regarding claim 6, wherein said landing station guidance-and-security system is configured to attach to a parcel-receiving device 1.
Regarding claim 7, further comprising: a housing (storage apparatus, [0059], lines 25-33) wherein said at least one environmental cover is configured to be retracted into said housing.
Regarding claim 8, wherein said at least one environmental cover is configured to create a slope (angled, see Fig. 1) when in a closed position.
Regarding claim 12, wherein said first guide-and- security bar comprises (i.e. is defined by) at least one “precision rod” (push rod 323 operated via transmission mechanism 322, [0057], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, further comprising: an at least one guide track defined by mounting frame 321, Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 24, Sun discloses a method of transferring a package (parcel) between a drone (abstract) and a parcel-receiving device 1), wherein said parcel-receiving device includes a landing station guidance-and-security system 3 comprising four guide-and-security bars 323 (see Figs. 4-5) comprising: a first guide-and-security bar 323; a second guide-and-security bar 323; a third guide-and-security bar 323; and a fourth guide-and-security bar 323.
Claims 1-4, 8, 12, 13, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US#2022/0396373).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a landing station guidance-and-security system 2 comprising: a first guide-and-security bar 806; a second guide-and-security bar 807; a third guide-and-security bar 808; and a fourth guide-and-security bar 809.
Regarding claim 2, further comprising an at least one environmental cover 3.
Regarding claim 3, wherein said first guide-and-security bar and said second guide-and-security bar run perpendicular to said third guide-and-security bar and said fourth guide-and- security bar (Fig. 11).
Regarding claims 4 and 23, wherein said first guide-and-security bar and said second guide-and-security bar are on a first plane, and wherein said third guide-and-security bar and said fourth guide-and-security bar are on a second plane (Fig. 11) as the first plane is directly above the second plane (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 8, wherein said at least one environmental cover is configured to create a slope when in a closed position via its sloped top surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, wherein said first guide-and-security bar comprises (i.e. is defined by) at least one “precision rod” (connecting rod 806 operated via motorized transmission mechanism 801-805, [0124]).
Regarding claim 13, further comprising: an at least one guide track, namely the slots defined at top surface of landing station 2 guiding sliding movement of the ends of rods 806-809 (e.g. see Figs. 8 and 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 14, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US#2021/0321810).
Regarding claims 9 and 14, Sun fails to explicitly disclose wherein said at least one environmental cover and said first guide-and-security bar are made of metal. However, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun by utilizing metal for the inherent material properties thereof, such as strength of material, as the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Further, regarding claim 9, Sun fails to explicitly disclose if the cover is made of a unitary structure or a plurality of pieces (i.e. segmented). However, if not segmented, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun such that cover was segmented for assembly purposes, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 21, as discussed above with respect to claim 12, Sun discloses wherein said first guide-and-security bar comprises (i.e. is defined by) at least one “precision rod” (push rod 323 operated via transmission mechanism 322, [0057], lines 1-3). Sun fails to disclose wherein said precision rod is made of a magnetic material. However, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun by such that the precision rod was made of a magnetic material for improved cooperation with the motorized transmission mechanism 322 and/or for improved drone securement, as the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 22, Sun fails to explicitly disclose wherein said at least one environmental cover is made of canvas. However, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun by utilizing canvas for the inherent material properties thereof, such as lightweight and durability, as the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US#2021/0321810) in view of Cantrell et al. (US#2019/0233135).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Sun fails to disclose the landing station guidance-and-security comprising a gutter with downspout. However, as evidenced by Cantrell, such a configuration is known in the landing station art, see [0031], lines 10-13, and the usage of gutters (with inherent downspouts) to guide liquids away from the landing station to a safe containment location. Therefore, as evidenced by Cantrell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun by including a gutter with downspout. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (2007)). The inclusion of a gutter with downspout would enhance the safety of the landing station.
Claims 9, 14, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US#2022/0396373).
Regarding claims 9 and 14, Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein said at least one environmental cover and said first guide-and-security bar are made of metal. However, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by utilizing metal for the inherent material properties thereof, such as strength of material, as the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Further, regarding claim 9, Wang discloses its cover is segmented as it is made of two cooperating segments 31 and 32.
Regarding claim 21, as discussed above with respect to claim 12, Wang discloses wherein said first guide-and-security bar comprises (i.e. is defined by) at least one “precision rod” (connecting rod 806 operated via motorized transmission mechanism 801-805, [0124]). Wang fails to disclose wherein said precision rod is made of a magnetic material. However, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by such that the precision rod was made of a magnetic material for improved cooperation with the motorized transmission mechanism and/or for improved drone securement, as the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 22, Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein said at least one environmental cover is made of canvas. However, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by utilizing canvas for the inherent material properties thereof, such as lightweight and durability, as the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677