DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 111403751 A). It is noted that the disclosures of Zhao et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference included with this action.
Regarding claim 1:
Zhao et al. teaches a current collector, i.e. connector, with a protective layer, i.e. functional layer, containing a phthalocyanine compound on at least one surface of a conductive layer, i.e. current collecting layer, of the current collector (0020). Zhao et al. also teaches a lithium-ion battery that includes an electrolyte (0058) and the current collector (0044-0045).
Given that Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as presently claimed, an absorption rate of the protective layer for a laser would necessarily inherently be greater than an absorption rate of the surface of the conductive layer.
Regarding claim 2:
Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
Further, Zhao et al. teaches a thickness of the protective layer in the current collector is 0.01-2 μm, preferably 0.5-1 μm (0047).
Regarding claim 7:
Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
Given that Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as presently claimed, a reflectivity R of the protective layer would necessarily inherently satisfy 5%≤R≤70% and an absorption rate A of the protective layer would necessarily inherently satisfy 30%≤A≤95%.
Claims 9, 11, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 111403751 A).
Regarding claim 9:
Zhao et al. teaches a current collector, i.e. connector, with a protective layer, i.e. functional layer, containing a phthalocyanine compound on at least one surface of a conductive layer, i.e. current collecting layer, of the current collector (0020). Zhao et al. also teaches a lithium-ion battery that includes an electrolyte (0058) and the current collector (0044-0045).
Zhao et al. also teaches positive electrode plates and negative electrode plates, i.e. an electrode assembly (0057), and are wound together into a bare cell, placed into a battery casing, and injected with electrolyte, i.e. the electrode assembly is at least partially immersed in the electrolyte (0107).
Zhao et al. also teaches a copper foil current collector is in the negative electrode plate and an aluminum foil current collector is in the positive electrode plate, i.e. the electrode assembly is electrically connected to the connector (0101).
Given that Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as presently claimed, an absorption rate of the protective layer for a laser would necessarily inherently be greater than an absorption rate of the surface of the conductive layer.
Regarding claim 11:
Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
Further, Zhao et al. teaches a thickness of the protective layer in the current collector is 0.01-2 μm, preferably 0.5-1 μm (0047).
Regarding claim 16:
Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
Given that Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as presently claimed, a reflectivity R of the protective layer would necessarily inherently satisfy 5%≤R≤70% and an absorption rate A of the protective layer would necessarily inherently satisfy 30%≤A≤95%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 111403751 A).
Regarding claim 20:
Zhao et al. teaches a battery as set forth above.
There is no explicit disclosure of an electricity-consumption device and a battery wherein the battery is configured to power the electricity-consumption device body, however, given that Zhao et al. discloses that lithium-ion batteries are widely used in electronic products, electric vehicles, and energy storage due to their advantages such as high energy density, high power density, and low environmental pollution (0004), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an electricity-consumption device and a battery wherein the battery is configured to power the electricity-consumption device body.
Claims 3-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 111403751 A) in view of Tian et al. (US 20180375154 A1).
Regarding claim 3, 5, and 8:
Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
Further, Zhao et al. teaches the protective layer may contain polymers, i.e. resins, in addition to phthalocyanine compounds, thereby improving the tightness between the protective layer and the conductive layer; the polymer can be at least one of phenolic resin or epoxy resin (0037-0038).
Zhao et al. also teaches metals contained in metal phthalocyanine compounds, i.e. metal complex, can be iron, zinc, and titanium, etc. (0034).
However, Zhao et al. does not explicitly disclose that the metal complex is soluble in the electrolyte.
Tian et al. teaches a lithium-ion battery and an electrolyte comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent which further comprises a mixture of a cyclic carbonate ester and a chain carbonate ester, i.e. ester-based electrolyte, so that the conductivity and the viscosity of the electrolyte can be adjusted by changing the components of the non-aqueous organic solvent so as to better improve the low temperature performance, the cycle performance and the rapid charging performance of the lithium-ion battery (0016).
In light of the motivation for using a non-aqueous organic solvent which comprising a mixture of a cyclic carbonate ester and a chain carbonate ester disclosed by Tian et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a non-aqueous organic solvent comprising a mixture of a cyclic carbonate ester and a chain carbonate ester in the electrolyte of the current collector of Zhao et al. in order to better improve the low temperature performance, the cycle performance and the rapid charging performance of the lithium-ion battery.
Given that Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. discloses a metal complex and an ester-based electrolyte identical to that used in the present invention, the metal complex would necessarily inherently be soluble in the electrolyte.
Regarding claim 4:
Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
Further, Zhao et al. teaches a mass content of the polymer in the protective layer is generally controlled to be greater than 0.1% (0039). Therefore, the mass of metal complex is less than 99.9%, meeting the claimed range.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 111403751 A) in view of Tian et al. (US 20180375154 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20140072879 A1).
Regarding claim 6:
Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
However, Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. does not teach wherein an average particle size D50 of the metal complex satisfies: 5 nm ≤ D50 ≤ 20 nm.
Chen et al. teaches a rechargeable lithium ion cell with core shell particles where the core-shell structure has a phthalocyanine compound core, and a protective material shell containing an intrinsically conductive polymer, wherein the core has a size no greater than 100 nm to obtain an exceptionally high and cycling-stable lithium-storing capacity (0034-0039, 0041, 0069).
Although Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose a D50 of the metal complex, if the core has a size no greater than 100 nm, given the broad range disclosed by Chen et al., the values would necessarily overlap the D50 of the metal complex presently claimed.
In light of the motivation for using a core size no greater than 100 nm disclosed by Chen et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a core size no greater than 100 nm in the current collector of Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. in order to obtain an exceptionally high and cycling-stable lithium-storing capacity.
Claims 10, 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 111403751 A) in view of Tian et al. (US 20180375154 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 12, 14, and 17:
Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
Further, Zhao et al. teaches the protective layer may contain polymers, i.e. resins, in addition to phthalocyanine compounds, thereby improving the tightness between the protective layer and the conductive layer; the polymer can be at least one of phenolic resin or epoxy resin (0037-0038).
Zhao et al. also teaches metals contained in metal phthalocyanine compounds, i.e. metal complex, can be iron, zinc, and titanium, etc. (0034).
However, Zhao et al. does not explicitly disclose that the metal complex is soluble in the electrolyte.
Tian et al. teaches a lithium-ion battery and an electrolyte comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent which further comprises a mixture of a cyclic carbonate ester and a chain carbonate ester, i.e. ester-based electrolyte, so that the conductivity and the viscosity of the electrolyte can be adjusted by changing the components of the non-aqueous organic solvent so as to better improve the low temperature performance, the cycle performance and the rapid charging performance of the lithium-ion battery (0016).
In light of the motivation for using a non-aqueous organic solvent which comprising a mixture of a cyclic carbonate ester and a chain carbonate ester disclosed by Tian et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a non-aqueous organic solvent comprising a mixture of a cyclic carbonate ester and a chain carbonate ester in the electrolyte of the current collector of Zhao et al. in order to better improve the low temperature performance, the cycle performance and the rapid charging performance of the lithium-ion battery.
Given that Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. discloses a metal complex and an ester-based electrolyte identical to that used in the present invention, the metal complex would necessarily inherently be soluble in the electrolyte and a mass content C of a metal cation in the electrolyte would necessarily inherently satisfy: 1 ppm≤C≤70 ppm.
Regarding claim 13:
Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
Further, Zhao et al. teaches a mass content of the polymer in the protective layer is generally controlled to be greater than 0.1% (0039). Therefore, the mass of metal complex is less than 99.9%, meeting the claimed range.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 111403751 A) in view of Tian et al. (US 20180375154 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20140072879 A1).
Regarding claim 15:
Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. teaches a current collector as set forth above.
However, Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. does not teach wherein an average particle size D50 of the metal complex satisfies: 5 nm ≤ D50 ≤ 20 nm.
Chen et al. teaches a rechargeable lithium ion cell with core shell particles where the core-shell structure has a phthalocyanine compound core, and a protective material shell containing an intrinsically conductive polymer, wherein the core has a size no greater than 100 nm to obtain an exceptionally high and cycling-stable lithium-storing capacity (0034-0039, 0041, 0069).
Although Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose a D50 of the metal complex, if the core has a size no greater than 100 nm, given the broad range disclosed by Chen et al., the values would necessarily overlap the D50 of the metal complex presently claimed.
In light of the motivation for using a core size no greater than 100 nm disclosed by Chen et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a core size no greater than 100 nm in the current collector of Zhao et al. in view of Tian et al. in order to obtain an exceptionally high and cycling-stable lithium-storing capacity.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 111403751 A) in view of Xu et al. (CN 104117776 A) and Yang et al. (US 20230330945 A1). It is noted that the disclosures of Xu et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference included with this action.
Regarding claim 18:
Zhao et al. teaches a current collector, i.e. connector, with a protective layer, i.e. functional layer, containing a phthalocyanine compound on at least one surface of a conductive layer, i.e. current collecting layer, of the current collector (0020). Zhao et al. also teaches a lithium-ion battery that includes an electrolyte (0058) and the current collector (0044-0045).
Zhao et al. also teaches positive electrode plates and negative electrode plates, i.e. and electrode assembly (0057), and are wound together into a bare cell, placed into a battery casing, and injected with electrolyte, i.e. the electrode assembly is at least partially immersed in the electrolyte (0107).
Zhao et al. also teaches a copper foil current collector is in the negative electrode plate and an aluminum foil current collector is in the positive electrode plate, i.e. the electrode assembly is electrically connected to the connector (0101).
Given that Zhao et al. teaches a current collector as presently claimed, an absorption rate of the protective layer for a laser would necessarily inherently be greater than an absorption rate of the surface of the conductive layer.
However, Zhao et al. does not teach a battery pack comprising a box and a plurality of batteries, wherein the plurality of batteries are received in the box and electrically connected in series and/or in parallel.
Xu et al. teaches single cell batteries have a limited capacity and that it is difficult for a single cell battery to meet the energy design capacity requirements of an electric vehicle. Xu et al. also teaches in order to achieve a higher energy capacity, multiple batteries are typically connected in series and/or parallel to form a battery pack (0005).
In light of the motivation for using a battery pack comprising multiple batteries connected in series and/or parallel disclosed by Xu et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a battery pack connected in series and/or parallel in the battery of Zhao et al. in order to achieve a higher energy capacity and to meet the design capacity for electrical vehicles.
Yang et al. teaches a battery pack typically includes a box configured to enclose one or more battery cells. The box can prevent liquids or other foreign matters from affecting charging or discharging of the battery cell. Most existing battery packs are formed by assembling various control and protection systems such as a battery management system (BMS) and a thermal management component on one or more battery modules. With the development of technologies, the battery module may be omitted, that is, the battery pack is directly formed using battery cells. With this improvement, weight energy density and volumetric energy density of the battery system are improved, and a quantity of components is remarkably reduced (0023).
In light of the motivation for using a battery pack including a box disclosed by Yang et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a battery pack including a box with the battery pack of Zhao et al. in view of Xu et al. order to prevent liquids or other foreign matters from affecting charging or discharging, improved weight and volumetric energy density, and reduce the quantity of components.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 111403751 A) in view of Xu et al. (CN 104117776 A), Yang et al. (US 20230330945 A1) and Tian et al. (US 20180375154 A1).
Regarding claim 19:
Zhao et al. in view of Xu et al. and Yang et al. teach a current collector as set forth above.
Further, Zhao et al. teaches the protective layer may contain polymers, i.e. resins, in addition to phthalocyanine compounds, thereby improving the tightness between the protective layer and the conductive layer; the polymer can be at least one of phenolic resin or epoxy resin (0038).
Zhao et al. also teaches metals contained in metal phthalocyanine compounds, i.e. metal complex, can be iron, zinc, and titanium, etc. (0034).
However, Zhao et al. does not explicitly disclose that the metal complex is soluble in the electrolyte.
Tian et al. teaches a lithium-ion battery and an electrolyte comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent which further comprises a mixture of a cyclic carbonate ester and a chain carbonate ester, i.e. ester-based electrolyte, so that the conductivity and the viscosity of the electrolyte can be adjusted by changing the components of the non-aqueous organic solvent so as to better improve the low temperature performance, the cycle performance and the rapid charging performance of the lithium-ion battery (0016).
In light of the motivation for using a non-aqueous organic solvent which comprising a mixture of a cyclic carbonate ester and a chain carbonate ester disclosed by Tian et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a non-aqueous organic solvent comprising a mixture of a cyclic carbonate ester and a chain carbonate ester in the electrolyte of the current collector of Zhao et al. in view of Xu et al. and Yang et al. in order to better improve the low temperature performance, the cycle performance and the rapid charging performance of the lithium-ion battery.
Given that Zhao et al. in view of Xu et al., Yang et al., and Tian et al. discloses a metal complex and an ester-based electrolyte identical to that used in the present invention, the metal complex would necessarily inherently be soluble in the electrolyte and a mass content C of a metal cation in the electrolyte would necessarily inherently satisfy: 1 ppm≤C≤70 ppm.
Conclusion
/MADISON ELIZABETH BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787