DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s Remarks filed 24 June 2026 have been received and considered.
The claims 1, 2¸and 16 objections in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 26 March 2026 have been withdrawn.
The 112(b) rejection in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 26 March 2026 has been withdrawn.
Prior to the most recent amendment, claims 1 – 20 were pending.
Claims 1, 2, and 16 – 17 have been amended.
Claims 1 – 20, all of the claims still pending in this application, have been rejected.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
Applicant’s arguments were filed 24 June 2026.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant argues that Asaban does not teach “providing an optical system including an adjustable focusing optics” bur rather suggests it teaches magnification achieved "by using down sampling techniques" and a "user-controlled zoom input," and thus, it is digital magnification/zoom processing. The Applicant further states “…that Asaban does not teach "selecting a region of interest (ROI), the ROI being a region within one of the left side image and the right side image" as recited in claim 11. The Examiner cites Asaban paragraph 0035, which states "the processor is configured to estimate a distance from the head-mounted unit to the ROI based on a disparity between the images captured by both the left and right video cameras, and to adjust the stereoscopic image responsively to the disparity." This passage discusses estimating a distance to the ROI-it does not teach selecting an ROI that is a region within one of the captured images. In Asaban, the ROI is a physical region within the surgical plane at a working distance, not a user-selected sub-region within a captured image. Asaban is solving a fundamentally different problem than is solved by the current disclosure. Asaban appears to determine where, within the physical scene, the region of interest is located by means, presumably, of gaze tracking (see, for example, paragraph 0219).”
Asaban discloses the adjustment of the optics in at paragraph [0243 – 248] of the specification, which correlates with figure 14. Furthermore, “gaze tracking” is in itself a manner of selection as seen in Figure 9B, which displays a region of interest within the captured image selected by analyzing the directional gaze of the user.
Applicant argues that Bickerstaff does not teach ”the optical system configured to obtain a best focus focal plane for both the left side image and the right side image that corresponds to a zero, or near zero, disparity" as recited by claim 11 and suggests that Bickerstaff teaches rather only, "no disparity between the fields of view" at minimum zoom, and that this relates to field-of-view disparity (zoom level matching), not a focus condition tied to stereoscopic disparity, being entirely silent on a best focal plane.
Bickerstaff teaches a camera and imaging method based in part on the determination of the best focal plane by virtue of disparity optimization, wherein paragraphs [0045 – 0053] and [0067] which states “The adjustment process can use a feedback loop to make further adjustments to one or both optical imaging systems until the disparity in field of view between the optical imaging systems falls below a threshold level.”, discloses this. The Examiner recommends amending the claim language if the emphasis is more so on determining how a best focal plan is to be obtained.
Applicant argues that neither Asaban nor Bisckerstaff, alone or in combination, teaches the claimed sequence of "determining a disparity between the left side image and the right side image at the ROI; processing the disparity to determine a depth of the region of interest; processing the depth to set a focus of the adjustable optics," as recited by claim 11.
TheExaminer disagrees as Asaban discloses “In some embodiments, the processor 45, 52 may measure the disparity between the images of ROI 24 captured by left and right cameras 43 based on image analysis and may compute the distance to the ROI 24 based on the measured disparity and the known baseline separation between the cameras 43.” paragraph [0137], wherein the determined disparity is then used to determine the depth. Furthermore, disclosing “In some embodiments, the processor 45, 52 then sets the focusing parameters or values of cameras 43 to match the distance to ROI 24 (e.g., a plane of ROI 24), based on calibration data generated at step 160, at a focusing step 174.”, Paragraph [0216], wherein the depth information is then used for adjusting the focus.
Regarding claim 12, Applicant argues that Bickerstaff does not teach "adjusting the focus until the disparity between the left side image and the right side image is below a predetermined threshold." and that Bickerstaff paragraph [0067] explicitly states: "The adjustment process can use a feedback loop to make further adjustments to one or both optical imaging systems until the disparity in field of view between the optical imaging systems falls below a threshold level." Applicant goes on to further say “This is adjusting zoom/field-of-view until a field-of-view disparity falls below a threshold, not adjusting focus until stereoscopic disparity between left and right images is below a threshold. The Examiner appears to equate "adjustments to optical imaging systems" with "adjusting the focus," but Bickerstaff's context is clearly about correcting zoom/scale mismatches, not focus adjustment based on stereoscopic disparity. Applicant suggests that absent hindsight , there is no reason to presume that any adjustment to the focus of any of Asaban, Bickerstaff, nor any combination…”.
TheExaminer iterates that Bickerstaff does teach that the adjustment to the optical imaging systems does pertain to the focusing by the sensors, specifically “The left and right-mounted optical imaging systems each separately comprise respective lens assemblies (collectively referred to as a lens), an image sensor, and focus and zoom actuators.”, Paragraph [0022] and further elaborated by “The lens 112 visible at the front of the camera is the outermost part of an optical imaging system 110 comprising a lens assembly (represented as a non-limiting example by three schematic lenses 112, 114, 116 in FIG. 1) together with actuators (not shown) to control movable focus and zoom components of the lens assembly. In particular, lenses or lens groups (for example, so-called variator and compensator groups) such as the middle lens 114 in the optical imaging system that are moved in accordance with the level of zoom or focus are typically mounted in a carriage or frame which has rollers or some similar means to move with respect to the rest of the optical imaging system.”, Paragraph [0027].
Regarding claim 13, Applicant argues that cited teachings of Bickerstaff do not teach “the disparity is determined by a horizontal pixel distance between corresponding regions of the left-side image and the right-side image.” and that Bickerstaff determines disparity using only scale/zoom.
As stated in the remarks above, Bickerstaff does teach that the optical systems use adjustable focus actuators. Furthermore, Bickerstaff discloses “Alternatively or in addition, vertical and/or horizontal disparity can be similarly compared anywhere within the pair of captured images by detecting an image feature (for example a distinct colour region) and comparing its relative horizontal and/or vertical extent between the left and right images.”, Paragraph [0051], wherein the disparity is determined comparing pixels of the same region in both images.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites “the correlation is determined based on at least one of (i) a normalized correlation, (ii) a cross correlation, (iii) a normalized cross correlation, and (iv) a zero normalized cross correlation.". Applicant agrees that Bickerstaff teaches zero normalized cross correlation (ZNCC), but that the ZNCC disclosed by Bickerstaff differs from the ZNCC used by applicant.
TheExaminer recommends amending the claim language to specifically explain the type of ZNCC used along with pointing to the areas of the specification that enables the explanation.
The remarks/rational provided by the Applicant are not persuasive to overcome the cited prior art. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the combined teaches of Asaban, Bickerstaff, and Hamzah, do indeed teach the original and newly added features of the claims, as detailed in the following rejections below. Furthermore, with regards to claims 1 – 10 and 16 – 20, the Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections set forth below, in light of the amendment.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The Examiner recommends “STEREOSCOPIC IMAGING SYSTEM FOR AUTO-FOCUSING A USER-SELECTED ROI BY COMPARING THE LEFT AND RIGHT IMAGES TAKEN BY TWO CAMERAS”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 10 and 16 – 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, setting a focus of the ROI by adjusting the adjustable focusing optics based on a condition of a metric, the metric selected from the group consisting of a similarity, and a high frequency content, wherein the focus of the ROI is set when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: (1) the disparity metric between the left side image and the right side image is below a predetermined threshold; (2) the similarity metric in a pixel intensity between the left side image and the right side image is above a predetermined threshold;
(3) the high frequency content metric in the left side image and the right side image [[are]] is above a predetermined threshold.
However, claim 2 recites wherein the focus of the ROI is set by taking a weighted average of the disparity between the left side image and the right side image, the similarity in pixel intensity between the left side image and the right side image, and the high frequency content in the left side image and the right side image.
Examiner notes that claim 1 only needs one condition (metric) to be satisfied to focus the ROI, wherein claim 2 takes a weighted average of all three metrics to focus the ROI. Therefore, it is unclear if only one option is chosen in claim 1 (1, 2 or 3) how are all 3 are needed or can be applied for the proceeding claim. Examiner recommends amending claim 1 to require needing to meet all 3 conditions to set a focus on the ROI, so that it also complies with further needing the weighted averages of all 3 conditions, as required in claim 2
Claims 16 and 17 have similar claim language and are also hereby rejected.
Claims 2 – 10 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 17 – 20 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 6, 9 – 16, 19 – 20 are (As Best Understood) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US Publication No. 2025/0373773 A1) to ASABAN et al. (hereinafter ASABAN) in view of (US Publication No. 2011/0285826 A1) to Bickerstaff et al. (hereinafter Bickerstaff).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, an independent method claim, ASABAN teaches a method for focusing a stereoscopic imaging system having a left-side image sensor and a right-side image sensor, the left-side image sensor and the right-side image sensor generating a corresponding left-side image and right-side image, the left-side image and the right-side image defining a stereo image (Abstract), the method comprising: providing an optical system including an adjustable focusing optics ("The magnification of these stereoscopic image pairs is set to a desired value, which may be optionally adjusted in accordance with a user-controlled zoom input (block 178).", Paragraph [0220]); and
selecting a region of interest (ROI), the ROI being a region within one of the left-side image and the right-side image ("In some embodiments, the processor is configured to estimate a distance from the head-mounted unit to the ROI based on a disparity between the images captured by both the left and right video cameras, and to adjust the stereoscopic image responsively to the disparity.", Paragraph [0035]).
ASABAN does not teach the optical system configured to obtain a best focus focal plane for both the left side image and the right side image that corresponds to a zero, or near zero, disparity between the right side image and the left side image in the stereo image;
However, Bickerstaff teaches the optical system configured to obtain a best focus focal plane for both the left side image and the right side image that corresponds to a zero, or near zero, disparity between the right side image and the left side image in the stereo image ("It will be appreciated that a zoom lens is a lens with an adjustable focal length; that is, the distance between the lens and the focal plane (the image sensor) can be varied, thereby changing the subtended angle of the visible field of view.", Paragraph [0040]; "Referring now to FIGS. 5A to 7B inclusive, an analysis technique is described. FIGS. 5A and 5B show the left and right images from respective optical imaging systems at a minimum degree of zoom available to those optical imaging systems, giving a maximum wide-angle view of a football stadium. In this case, there is no disparity between the fields of view in the left and right images.", Paragraph [0041]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of ASABAN to incorporate obtaining the best focal plane and adjusting the left and right optics until a near zero disparity is present between the left and right images, as disclosed by Bickerstaff. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to potentially allow medical personnel in the surgical field the ability to be completely hands free, reducing the chances of complications while performing surgical procedures.
ASABAN further teaches setting a focus of the ROI by adjusting the adjustable focusing optics based on a condition of a metric, the metric selected from the group consisting of a similarity, and a high frequency content (Figure 9B), wherein it is known to those skilled in the art the high frequency information relates to edges or an object of interest, as can be seen in 9B, with the ROI containing the bone structure.
However, ASABAN does not explicitly teach setting a focus of the ROI by adjusting the adjustable focusing optics based on a condition of a metric, the metric selected from the group consisting of a similarity, and a high frequency content, wherein the focus of the ROI is set when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: (1) the disparity metric between the left side image and the right side image is below a predetermined threshold;
(2) the similarity metric in a pixel intensity between the left side image and the right side image is above a predetermined threshold;
(3) the high frequency content metric in the left side image and the right side image [[are]] is above a predetermined threshold.
However, Brickstaff further teaches setting a focus of the ROI by adjusting the adjustable focusing optics based on a condition of a metric, the metric selected from the group consisting of a similarity, and a high frequency content, wherein the focus of the ROI is set when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: (1) the disparity metric between the left side image and the right side image is below a predetermined threshold ("The left and right-mounted optical imaging systems each separately comprise respective lens assemblies (collectively referred to as a lens), an image sensor, and focus and zoom actuators.”, Paragraph [0022]; “The lens 112 visible at the front of the camera is the outermost part of an optical imaging system 110 comprising a lens assembly (represented as a non-limiting example by three schematic lenses 112, 114, 116 in FIG. 1) together with actuators (not shown) to control movable focus and zoom components of the lens assembly. In particular, lenses or lens groups (for example, so-called variator and compensator groups) such as the middle lens 114 in the optical imaging system that are moved in accordance with the level of zoom or focus are typically mounted in a carriage or frame which has rollers or some similar means to move with respect to the rest of the optical imaging system.”, Paragraph [0027]; “The adjustment process can use a feedback loop to make further adjustments to one or both optical imaging systems until the disparity in field of view between the optical imaging systems falls below a threshold level.", Paragraph [0067]).
Examiner notes that prior art teachings are not needed for the metric limitation (2) or (3) due to only needing to satisfy just one metric condition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, to incorporate ensuring the disparity between the left and right is below a threshold, as disclosed by Bickerstaff. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to help ensure accuracy when performing surgeries on an object in the ROI.
Claim 3
Regarding Claim 3, dependent on claim 1, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
ASABAN further teaches wherein the ROI is determined based on a user input at one of the left-side image and the right-side image ("The processor(s) of the HMD 28 may be in communication with one or more input devices, such as a pointing device, a keyboard, a foot pedal, or a mouse, to allow the operator to input data into the system. In some embodiments HMD 28 may include one or more input devices, such as a touch screen or buttons. Alternatively or additionally, users of the system may input instructions to the processor(s) using a gesture-based interface. For this purpose, for example, the depth sensors described herein may sense movements of a hand of the healthcare professional. Different movements of the professional's hand and fingers may be used to invoke specific functions of the one or more displays and of the system.", Paragraph [0120]; "In some embodiments, the head-mounted unit is configured to display and magnify an image, assuming the user's gaze would be typically straightforward. In some embodiments, the angular size or extent of the ROI and/or its location is determined, assuming the user's gaze would be typically straightforward with respect to the user's head posture. In some embodiments, the user's pupils' location, gaze and/or line of sight may be tracked. For example, one or more eye trackers 44 may be integrated into head-mounted unit 28, as shown in FIG. 2, for real-time adjustment and possibly for purposes of calibration. Eye trackers 44 comprise miniature video cameras, possibly integrated with a dedicated infrared light source, which capture images of the eyes of the user (e.g., wearer) of head-mounted unit 28. Processor 45 and/or 52 or a dedicated processor in eye trackers 44 processes the images of the eyes to identify the locations of the user's pupils. Additionally or alternatively, eye trackers 44 may detect the direction of the user's gaze using the pupil locations and/or by sensing the angle of reflection of light from the user's corneas."…"In some embodiments, processor 45 and/or processor 52 uses the information provided by eye trackers 44 with regard to the pupil locations in generating an image or a magnified image for presentation on displays 30. For example, the processor 45, 52 may dynamically determine a crop region or an image region on each sensor of each camera to match the user's gaze direction. The location of a sensor image region may be changed, e.g., horizontally changed, in response to a user's gaze current direction. The detection of the user's gaze direction may be used for determining a current ROI to be imaged. According to some embodiments, the image generated based on the part or region of the sensor corresponding to the shifted or relocated crop or image region or ROI 24 may be magnified and output for display.", Paragraph(s) [0134 - 0135]).
Claim 4
Regarding Claim 4, dependent on claim 1, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
ASABANASABAN further teaches wherein the ROI is determined based on a user input at the stereo image (Rejected as applied to claim 3), wherein the user input would be that of the user's gaze, pupils' location and/or line of sight that is tracked, as disclosed in paragraph [0134].
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, dependent on claim 4, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 4.
ASABAN further teaches wherein, based on the user input at the stereo image, a graphic overlay representative of the ROI is displayed at both the left-side image and the right-side image (Figure 2; " FIG. 9A illustrates schematically one display 30 of a head-mounted display unit (such as head-mounted display unit 28 of FIG. 2) and shows a magnified image 37 in first portion 33 of the display 30 and reality 39 somewhat visible through second portion 35 of the display 30. FIG. 9A is similar to FIG. 4, discussed above, and the same or similar reference numbers are used to refer to the same or similar components. One difference from FIG. 4, however, is that in FIG. 9A, the visibility of reality 39 through the display 30 has been reduced. Specifically, the display 30 has been made darker and/or more opaque than in FIG. 4. In a case where the magnified image 37 is projected onto the display 30 (such as via micro-projector 31 of FIG. 2) this can result in the magnified image 37 being significantly brighter than the image of reality 39 seen through the display 30. By changing the relative brightness of the magnified image 37 versus reality 39, specifically by increasing the relative brightness of magnified image 37 versus reality 39, this can result in a reduction of confusion and/or a more optimal magnified image.", Paragraph [0223]).
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, dependent on claim 1, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
ASABAN does not teach wherein the disparity is determined by a distance between portions of the left-side image and the right-side image having the same or similar pixel values.
However, Bickerstaff further teaches wherein the disparity is determined by a distance between portions of the left-side image and the right-side image having the same or similar pixel values (Figures 6A and 6B; "In either case (vertical or horizontal), a comparison of features at the edges of the images can be used to indicate the amount by which the field of view differs between the images (i.e. a disparity value). Thus the feature 420 circled in the bottom left corner of FIG. 6B is (for example) vertically displaced from the corresponding feature in FIG. 6A by 3% of the vertical extent of the image. Similarly, the feature 410 circled at the right of FIG. 6B is (again for example) horizontally displaced from the corresponding feature of FIG. 6A by 3% of the horizontal extent of the image. Consequently the 3D camera can estimate the to disparity in the respective fields of view. Such a disparity value can be expressed as a percentage difference in extent of view in the image (i.e. 3%) based upon the disparity in fields of view, or similarly a ratio between left and right images, or in terms of a number of pixels, or can be expressed in terms of angular field of view itself (for example by multiplying d by 1 and 1/1.03 for the respective optical imaging systems in equation 1)."…"Alternatively or in addition, vertical and/or horizontal disparity can be similarly compared anywhere within the pair of captured images by detecting an image feature (for example a distinct colour region) and comparing its relative horizontal and/or vertical extent between the left and right images. However it will be appreciated that the accuracy of such a comparison is limited by the number of pixels that the image feature occupies; hence use of substantially the whole image as a basis of comparison provides a more sensitive measure of relative field of view.", Paragraph(s) [0050 -0051]).
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, dependent on claim 1, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
ASABAN further teaches wherein the similarity is determined based at least in part on a correlation between the left-side image and the right-side image within the ROI ("According to some embodiments, the stereoscopic tuning may be performed by shifting, relocating, or altering the image sensors' image region to provide a substantially similar or identical images, at least with respect to a determined ROI image (a plane of substantially zero parallax) and to facilitate full overlap between the left and right images.", Paragraph [0219]).
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, dependent on claim 9, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 9.
ASABAN does not teach wherein the correlation is determined based on at least one of (i) a normalized correlation, (ii) a cross correlation, (iii) a normalized cross correlation, and (iv) a zero normalized cross correlation.
However, Bickerstaff further teaches wherein the correlation is determined based on at least one of (i) a normalized correlation, (ii) a cross correlation, (iii) a normalized cross correlation, and (iv) a zero normalized cross correlation ("Similarly, for both still and video imaging, a disparity profile may be compiled to predict the scale disparity between images for each available level of zoom. The profile may contain mean and variance values for the disparities; where a detected disparity exceeds the variance by a threshold amount, it can be assumed that an error in image analysis has occurred. In this case either the mean value may be used instead, or scale correction can be skipped. In the vase of video, optionally the previous video frame's scale correction can be re-used. The profile may be stored in a memory (not shown) available to a processor (150, FIG. 8).", Paragraph [0075]).
Examiner notes the art teaching the limitation with reference to option (iv) a zero normalized cross correlation, wherein Zero Normalized Cross Correlation (ZNCC) specifically adjusts for both differences in mean (zero-mean) and variance (normalized standard deviation) of the signals, which directly aligns with using mean and variance values to normalize the disparities.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, to incorporate determining a correlation using ZNCC, as disclosed by Bickerman. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to show that that using ZNCC doesn’t just allow for the images to be aligned by shifting, but to further align the images based in the pixel values for a more precise alignment of the ROI’s from the images being displayed to a user.
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, an independent method claim, ASABAN teaches a method for focusing a stereoscopic imaging system having a left-side image sensor and a right-side image sensor, the left-side image sensor and the right-side image sensor generating a corresponding left-side image and right-side image, the left-side image and the right-side image defining a stereo image (Abstract), the method comprising: providing an optical system including an adjustable focusing optics ("The magnification of these stereoscopic image pairs is set to a desired value, which may be optionally adjusted in accordance with a user-controlled zoom input (block 178).", Paragraph [0220]);
selecting a region of interest (ROI), the ROI being a region within one of the left-side image and the right-side image ("In some embodiments, the processor is configured to estimate a distance from the head-mounted unit to the ROI based on a disparity between the images captured by both the left and right video cameras, and to adjust the stereoscopic image responsively to the disparity.", Paragraph [0035]);
determining a disparity between the left side image and the right side image at the ROI (Rejected as applied directly above, Paragraph [0035]);
processing the depth to set a focus of the adjustable optics ("These calibration parameters or values serve as inputs for a focus calibration step 154, in which the focusing parameters of cameras 43 are calibrated against the actual distance to a target that is measured by the distance sensor or tracking device 63. A map, mapping possible distance values between the HMD and ROI to corresponding focus values may be then generated. On the basis of this calibration, it may be possible to focus both cameras 43 to the distance of ROI 24 that is indicated by the distance sensor or tracking device 63.", Paragraph [0165]); and
processing the depth to set a focus of the adjustable optics (Rejected as applied directly above, Paragraph [0165]).
ASABAN does not teach the optical system configured to obtain a best focus focal plane for both the left side image and the right side image that corresponds to a zero, or near zero, disparity between the right side image and the left side image in the stereo image.
However, Bickerstaff teaches the optical system configured to obtain a best focus focal plane for both the left side image and the right side image that corresponds to a zero, or near zero, disparity between the right side image and the left side image in the stereo image ("It will be appreciated that a zoom lens is a lens with an adjustable focal length; that is, the distance between the lens and the focal plane (the image sensor) can be varied, thereby changing the subtended angle of the visible field of view.", Paragraph [0040]; "Referring now to FIGS. 5A to 7B inclusive, an analysis technique is described. FIGS. 5A and 5B show the left and right images from respective optical imaging systems at a minimum degree of zoom available to those optical imaging systems, giving a maximum wide-angle view of a football stadium. In this case, there is no disparity between the fields of view in the left and right images.", Paragraph [0041]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of ASABAN to incorporate obtaining the best focal plane and adjusting the left and right optics until a near zero disparity is present between the left and right images, as disclosed by Bickerstaff. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to potentially allow medical personnel in the surgical field the ability to be completely hands free, reducing the chances of complications while performing surgical procedures.
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, dependent on claim 11, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 11.
ASABAN does not teach adjusting the focus until the disparity between the left side image and the right side image is below a predetermined threshold.
However, Bickerstaff further teaches adjusting the focus until the disparity between the left side image and the right side image is below a predetermined threshold ("The adjustment process can use a feedback loop to make further adjustments to one or both optical imaging systems until the disparity in field of view between the optical imaging systems falls below a threshold level.", Paragraph [0067]).
Claim 13
Regarding Claim 13, dependent on claim 12, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12.
ASABAN does not teach wherein the disparity is determined by a horizontal pixel distance between corresponding regions of the left-side image and the right-side image.
However, Bickerstaff further teaches wherein the disparity is determined by a horizontal pixel distance between corresponding regions of the left-side image and the right-side image ("In FIGS. 6A and 6B, the difference in the fields of view (i.e. the disparity in zoom levels) results in the periphery of the right-hand image (FIG. 6B) showing features not present in the left hand image (FIG. 6A), both horizontally 410 and vertically 420. Analysis of these feature disparities provides a means by which the 3D camera can determine the difference in field of view between the two optical imaging means.", Paragraph [0048]; "In either case (vertical or horizontal), a comparison of features at the edges of the images can be used to indicate the amount by which the field of view differs between the images (i.e. a disparity value).", Paragraph [0050]; "The horizontal shifting of the magnified images 37 (e.g., the adjusting of disparity of the images) may be accomplished in a number of ways, including using any of the horizontal shifting techniques discussed above. For example, the crop region or subset of pixels 220 used by each camera may be adjusted (see FIG. 7B).", Paragraph [0230]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, to incorporate using a horizontal pixel distance between corresponding regions of the two images to determine the disparity, as disclosed by Bickerstaff. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have using the disparity for horizontal shifting to align images if/when they are magnified.
Claim 14
Regarding Claim 14, dependent on claim 11, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 11.
ASABAN further teaches wherein the disparity is determined based at least in part on a correlation between the left-side image and the right-side image within the ROI ("According to some embodiments, the stereoscopic tuning may be performed by shifting, relocating, or altering the image sensors' image region to provide a substantially similar or identical images, at least with respect to a determined ROI image (a plane of substantially zero parallax) and to facilitate full overlap between the left and right images.", Paragraph [0219]).
Claim 15
Regarding Claim 15, dependent on claim 14, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14.
ASABAN does not teach wherein the correlation is determined based on at least one of (i) a normalized correlation, (ii) a cross correlation, (iii) a normalized cross correlation, and (iv) a zero normalized cross correlation.
However, Bickerstaff further teaches wherein the correlation is determined based on at least one of (i) a normalized correlation, (ii) a cross correlation, (iii) a normalized cross correlation, and (iv) a zero normalized cross correlation ("Similarly, for both still and video imaging, a disparity profile may be compiled to predict the scale disparity between images for each available level of zoom. The profile may contain mean and variance values for the disparities; where a detected disparity exceeds the variance by a threshold amount, it can be assumed that an error in image analysis has occurred. In this case either the mean value may be used instead, or scale correction can be skipped. In the vase of video, optionally the previous video frame's scale correction can be re-used. The profile may be stored in a memory (not shown) available to a processor (150, FIG. 8).", Paragraph [0075]).
Examiner notes the art teaching the limitation with reference to option (iv) a zero normalized cross correlation, wherein Zero Normalized Cross Correlation (ZNCC) specifically adjusts for both differences in mean (zero-mean) and variance (normalized standard deviation) of the signals, which directly aligns with using mean and variance values to normalize the disparities.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, to incorporate determining a correlation using ZNCC, as disclosed by Bickerman. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to show that that using ZNCC doesn’t just allow for the images to be aligned by shifting, but to further align the images based in the pixel values for a more precise alignment of the ROI’s from the images being displayed to a user.
Claim 16, an independent system claim, is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 1.
Claims 19 – 20 are rejected for the same reasons as applied to the above claims.
Claims 2, 7 – 8 and 17 – 18 are (As Best Understood) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US Publication No. 2025/0373773 A1) to ASABAN et al. (hereinafter ASABAN) in view of (US Publication No. 2011/0285826 A1) to Bickerstaff et al. (hereinafter Bickerstaff) in further view of Non-Patent Literature “A pixel matching process and multiple ROI for stereo images in stereo vision application” to R.A. Hamzah et al. (hereinafter Hamzah).
Claim 2
Regarding Claim 2, dependent on claim 1, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
Neither ASABAN¸ or Bickerstaff, or the combination teach wherein the focus of the ROI is set by taking a weighted average of the disparity between the left side image and the right side image, the similarity in pixel intensity between the left side image and the right side image, and the high frequency content in the left side image and the right side image.
However, Hamzah further teaches (as best understood) wherein the focus of the ROI is set by taking a weighted average of the disparity between the left side image and the right side image, the similarity in pixel intensity between the left side image and the right side image, and the high frequency content in the left side image and the right side image ("Section VI: Result Of Selected Region Of Interest In Disparity Mapping And Pixels Intensities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, to incorporate the weighted average of the metrics, as disclosed by Hamzah. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow the device to display the ROI through the optics as accurately as possible to prevent user dizziness or eye strain.
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, dependent on claim 1, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff and Hamzah, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
Neither ASABAN¸ or Bickerstaff, or the combination explicitly teach wherein the similarity is determined based on a difference in pixel values for corresponding portions of the left-side image and the right-side image.
However, Hamzah further teaches wherein the similarity is determined based on a difference in pixel values for corresponding portions of the left-side image and the right-side image ("The matching process is to determine the difference of intensities of pixel between stereo images while the region of interest ROI works as a reference area to the stereo vision application.", Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, to incorporate determining a similarity based on the difference in pixel values, as disclosed by Hamzah. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to use the values to better align the ROI between the two captured images.
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, dependent on claim 1, ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff and Hamzah, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
Neither ASABAN¸ or Bickerstaff, or the combination teach wherein the similarity is determined based on at least one of a sum of squared differences and a sum of absolute differences of pixel intensity values of the right image relative to the left image within the ROI.
However, Hamzah further teaches wherein the similarity is determined based on at least one of a sum of squared differences and a sum of absolute differences of pixel intensity values of the right image relative to the left image within the ROI ("Absolute differences of pixel intensities are used in the algorithm to compute stereo similarities between points. By computing the sum of the absolute differences SAD for pixels in a window surrounding the points, the difference between similarity values for stereo points can be calculated", Section IV: Software Architecture).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of ASABAN, in view of Bickerstaff, to incorporate determining a similarity based on the sum of squared differences or a sum of absolute differences of pixel intensity values between the captured images, as disclosed by Hamzah. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to use the values to better align the ROI between the two captured images.
Claims 17, dependent on claim 16, is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 2.
Claim 18, dependent on claim 16, is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 8, where even though claim 8 uses "similarity" in the claim language, which differs from "disparity" used in the present claim language…a lower SAD value indicates high similarity (closer match), while a higher value indicates low similarity (i.e disparity, which is defined as calculating the "dissimilarity between two images").
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONDE LEE MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2663
/GREGORY A MORSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698