DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4-17-2024 and 7-30-2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 27, 28, 32, 38 and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 6 and 5 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,987,278. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the existing patent claims continuous monitoring and it is understood that the radars in the application continuously monitor. It is not normal operation of a radar to detect a target once and turn off.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Examiner’s Note: Several of the claims use the term “operable to” which is intended use and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). The examiner recommends the phrase “configured to” be used instead.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 27, 28, 32-35, 38, 39 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilleary, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2012/0286103, published November 15, 2012.
As per claims 21 and 32, Hilleary discloses a traffic control system comprising:
a pair of radar sensors independently operable from one another, the pair of radar sensors further being operable in combination to detect and confirm a speed of at least a first moving traffic object when approaching a predetermined traffic safety zone (Hilleary, ¶33);
and a controller configured to, based upon the detected and confirmed speed of the first moving traffic object, interrupt a normal traffic control routine to allow a safe passage of the first moving traffic object and a second traffic object through the predetermined safety zone (Hilleary, ¶68).
As per claims 22 and 33, Hilleary further discloses the traffic control system of claim 21, wherein the predetermined safety zone includes a portion of a vehicle roadway (Hilleary, Fig. 1 and ¶48).
As per claims 23 and 34, Hilleary further discloses the traffic control system of claim 22, wherein the portion of the vehicle roadway includes an intersection of travel paths for the first moving traffic object and the second traffic object (Hilleary, Fig. 1).
As per claims 24 and 35, Hilleary further discloses the traffic control system of claim 23, wherein the normal traffic control routine is interrupted to preemptively avoid a possible collision of the first moving traffic object and the second traffic object at the intersection (Hilleary, ¶68).
As per claims 27 and 38, Hilleary further discloses the traffic control system of claim 21, wherein one of the first moving traffic object and the second traffic object is an automotive vehicle (Hilleary, ¶2).
As per claims 28 and 39, Hilleary further discloses the traffic control system of claim 27, wherein the other of the first moving traffic object and the second traffic object is a locomotive train (Hilleary, ¶4).
As per claim 42, Hilleary further discloses the traffic control method of claim 33, wherein the at least one radar sensor comprises a pair of radar sensors independently operable from one another with respect to the safety zone (Hilleary, ¶33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 26, 30, 36, 37 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilleary.
As per claims 25 and 36, Hilleary discloses the traffic control system but fails to expressly disclose a second road which does not intersect the railroad.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have a second road in order to gain the obvious benefit of allowing cars to move in a desired direction which does not cross the railroad.
As per claim 26, Hilleary discloses the traffic control system of claim 25, wherein the normal traffic control routine is applicable to the first roadway and the second roadway (Hilleary, Fig. 1 where traffic operates normally).
As per claims 30 and 40, Hilleary discloses the traffic system of claim 21 but fails to expressly discloses the radars being outside the safety zone.
Hilleary discloses the radars outside of harm’s way (Fig. 1 and ¶33).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the radars outside the safety zone in order to gain the benefit of providing radar coverage throughout the safety zone.
As per claim 37, Hilleary further discloses the traffic control method of claim 36, wherein the preemptive control algorithm causes first a change in regulated traffic flow on the first roadway and a second change in regulated traffic flow on the second roadway (Hilleary, ¶68).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to regulate traffic on the second road in order to gain the obvious benefit of increasing safety around the crossing.
Claim(s) 29, 31 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilleary in view of Blesener, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2004/0249571, published December 9, 2004.
As per claim 29, Hilleary discloses the traffic system of claim 21 but fails to expressly disclose determining heading of an object.
Blesener teaches heading determination (¶55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine heading in order to gain the obvious benefit of realizing which objects are headed towards the intersection.
As per claims 31 and 41, Hilleary discloses the system of claim 21 but fails to expressly disclose signal lights.
Blesener teaches signal lights (¶53).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use signal lights in order to gain the obvious benefit of providing visual clues as to the status of the crossing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646