DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/636,843, “SECONDARY BATTERY”, was filed with the USPTO on 4/16/2024 and has a foreign priority document of KR10-2023-0082636 filed on 6/27/2023 and a foreign priority document of KR10-2023-0172088 filed on 12/1/2023.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 4/16/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed on 5/28/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/16/2024, 9/18/2024, 12/31/2024, 4/14/2025, and 9/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “a center” twice. Claim 7 is indefinite because “a center” in “has a disc shape with a center” is unclear if a center of a disc shape is the same center as in a planar circular sector shape. For examination purposes, “has a disc shape with a center” has been interpreted as “has a disc shape with the center”.
Claim 9 recites “a center” twice. Claim 9 is indefinite because “a center” in “has a semi-circular ring plate shape with a center” is unclear if a center of a semi-circular ring plate shape is the same center as in a planar circular sector shape. For examination purposes, “has a semi-circular ring plate shape with a center” has been interpreted as “has a semi-circular ring plate shape with the center”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (CN 218887468 U, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. teaches a secondary battery (Fig. 18) comprising:
a case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19) having a cylindrical shape (cylindrical shape see 1 in Figs. 3 and 4);
an electrode assembly (31/32/33, Figs. 15 and 18) accommodated in the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19) and comprising a plurality of first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18) protruding in a first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15) and a plurality of second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18) protruding in the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15);
a first current collector plate (42, Figs. 15 and 18) accommodated (see Fig. 18) in the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19) and connected (see Fig. 18; also see “welding 42 and 32”, [n0301]) to the plurality of first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18);
a second current collector plate (43, Figs. 15 and 18) configured to connect the plurality of second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18) to the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19) (431 of 43 connected to 33, see Fig. 18; 432 of 43 connected to 212 of 21, see Fig. 19);
a rivet terminal (22, Fig. 18; note: 22 is an electrode terminal, see [n0149]) connected (see Fig. 18; also 422 of 42 is electrically connected to 22, see [n0293]) to the first current collector plate (42, Figs. 15 and 18) and passing through the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19) (22 passing through 21, see Fig. 18; 21 see Fig. 19); and
an insulating member (41, Fig. 15; 41 made of an insulating material, see [n0163]) in contact (after assembly, 41 directly or indirectly in contact with a perimeter of 31/32/33, a perimeter of 42 and a perimeter of 43, see Figs. 15-18) with a perimeter of each of the electrode assembly (31/32/33, Figs. 15 and 18), the first current collector plate (42, Figs. 15 and 18), and the second current collector plate (43, Figs. 15 and 18).
Regarding claim 2, Sun et al. teaches wherein each of the plurality of first tabs (32, Figs. 15) has a planar circular sector shape (32 and 421 have same planar circular sector shape, see Fig. 15; the shape and geometry of 421 see Fig. 16) with a center (311, Fig. 15), an outer arc (outer arc wall of 421, see Fig. 16), and an inner arc (inner arc wall of 421 (where 426 sits), see Fig. 16) or a rectangular planar shape.
Regarding claim 3, Sun et al. teaches wherein an interior angle of each of the plurality of first tabs (interior angle of first tabs, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 15) is less than 180° (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 4, Sun et al. teaches wherein the plurality of second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18) is spaced apart from and facing the plurality of first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18), and wherein each of the plurality of second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18) has a planar circular sector shape (33 and 431 have same planar circular sector shape, see Fig. 15; the shape and geometry of 431 see Fig. 16) with a center (311, Fig. 15), an outer arc (outer arc wall of 431 (where 432 sits), see Fig. 16), and an inner arc (inner arc wall of 431 (close to 422’), see Fig. 16), or a rectangular planar shape.
Regarding claim 5, Sun et al. teaches wherein an interior angle of each of the plurality of second tabs (interior angle of second tabs, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 15) is less than 180° (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 6, Sun et al. teaches wherein the first current collector plate (42, Fig. 17) comprises:
a first current collector plate first connection region (421, Fig. 17) connected (421 connected to 32, see Fig. 18) to the plurality of first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18);
a first current collector plate connection region (426, Fig. 17) extending in the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15) from the first current collector plate first connection region (421, Fig. 17); and
a first current collector plate second connection region (422, Fig. 17) extending from the first current collector plate connection region (426, Fig. 17) and configured to be connected (422 connected to 22, see Fig. 18) to the rivet terminal (22, Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 7, Sun et al. teaches wherein:
the first current collector plate first connection region (421, Fig. 16) has a planar circular sector shape (shape of 421, Fig. 16) with a center (422’, Fig. 16), an outer arc (outer arc wall of 421, see Fig. 16), and an inner arc (inner arc wall of 421 (where 426 sits), see Fig. 16), and
the first current collector plate second connection region (422, Fig. 16) has a disc shape (shape of 422, see Fig. 16) with a center (422’, Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 8, Sun et al. teaches wherein the second current collector plate (43, Figs. 15 and 18-19) comprises:
a second current collector plate first connection region (431, Figs. 15-19) connected (431 connected to 33, see Fig. 18) to the plurality of second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18);
a second current collector plate connection region (second current collector plate connection region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19) extending in the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15) from the second current collector plate first connection region (431, Fig. 19); and
a second current collector plate second connection region (second current collector plate second connection region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19) extending from the second current collector plate connection region (second current collector plate connection region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19) and configured to be connected to the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19; note: second current collector plate second connection region connected to 212, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 9, Sun et al. teaches wherein:
the second current collector plate first connection region (431, Figs. 15-18) has a planar circular sector shape (shape of 431, Figs. 15-18) with a center (422’, Fig. 16), an outer arc (outer arc wall of 431 (where 431 and 432 connected), see Fig. 16), and an inner arc (inner arc wall of 431 (close to 422’), see Fig. 16), and
the second current collector plate second connection region (second current collector plate second connection region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19) has a semi-circular ring plate shape (circular ring plate shape (same shape as 432 when look down along F-F), see Fig. 16; note: a full circular ring plate shape comprises at least two semi-circular ring plate shapes) with a center (422’, Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 10, Sun et al. teaches wherein a portion (411, Fig. 15) of the insulating member (41, Fig. 15) supports (411 supports 432, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 17; second current collector plate second connection region is part of 432, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19; therefore 411 supports second current collector plate second connection region) the second current collector plate second connection region (second current collector plate second connection region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 13, Sun et al. teaches wherein:
the first current collector plate (42, Fig. 17) comprises
a first current collector plate first connection region (421, Fig. 17) connected (421 connected to 32, see Fig. 18) to the plurality of first tabs (32, Figs. 15 and 18),
a first current collector plate connection region (426, Fig. 17) extending in the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15) from the first current collector plate first connection region (421, Fig. 17), and
a first current collector plate second connection region (422, Fig. 17) extending from the first current collector plate connection region (426, Fig. 17) and configured to be connected (422 connected to 22, see Fig. 18) to the rivet terminal (22, Fig. 18), and
the second current collector plate (43, Figs. 15 and 18-19) comprises
a second current collector plate first connection region (431, Figs. 15-19) connected (431 connected to 33, see Fig. 18) to the plurality of second tabs (33, Figs. 15 and 18),
a second current collector plate connection region (second current collector plate connection region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19) extending in the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 15) from the second current collector plate first connection region (431, Fig. 19), and
a second current collector plate second connection region (second current collector plate second connection region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19) extending from the second current collector plate connection region (second current collector plate connection region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19) and configured to be connected to the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19; note: second current collector plate second connection region connected to 212, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 14, Sun et al. teaches wherein:
the first current collector plate first connection region (421, Fig. 17) and the second current collector plate first connection region (431, Figs. 15-18) are located substantially on a same plane (plan of 421 and 431, see Fig. 17), and
the first current collector plate second connection region (422, Fig. 18) is located closer to the electrode assembly (31, Fig. 18) than the second current collector plate second connection region (second current collector plate second connection region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 18 (claim 14)) is (422 is below the “line”; second current collector plate second connection region is above the “line”, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 18 (claim 14)).
Regarding claim 15, Sun et al. teaches wherein the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19) comprises a rivet plate (21, Fig. 19) to which the rivet terminal (22, Fig. 18) is coupled, a sidewall (side wall 11, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 18) welded (by welding, see [n0160]) to the rivet plate (21, Fig. 19) and extending in a second direction (top to bottom along 31, see Fig. 18) opposite to the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 18), and a finishing plate (end wall 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 18) integrally extending from the sidewall (side wall 11, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 17, Sun et al. teaches wherein the case (1/21, Figs. 18 and 19) comprises a rivet plate (21, Fig. 19) to which the rivet terminal (22, Fig. 18) is coupled, a sidewall (side wall 11, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 18) integrally extending (by welding, see [n0160]; after welding side wall 11 is integrally extending from 21) in a second direction (top to bottom along 31, see Fig. 18) opposite to the first direction (bottom to top along 31, see Fig. 18) from the rivet plate (21, Fig. 19), and a finishing plate (end wall 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 18) configured to close an end of the sidewall (side wall 11, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 218887468 U, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 11, Sun et al. does not teach further comprising one or more insulating plates between the first current collector plate and the second current collector plate, wherein the one or more insulating plates have a planar circular sector shape with a center, an outer arc, and an inner arc.
Different embodiment of Sun et al. teaches further comprising one or more insulating plates (6, Fig. 4; 6 made of insulating materials, see [n0182]) between (6 is between 42 and 432 of 43, see Fig. 7) the first current collector plate (42, Fig. 4) and the second current collector plate (43, Fig. 4),
wherein the one or more insulating plates (6, Fig. 4) have a planar circular sector shape (see Fig. 4) with a center (center, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4), an outer arc (outer arc, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4), and an inner arc (inner arc, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sun et al. by adding the insulating sheet between the first current collector and the second current collector as taught by Sun et al. to ensure insulation performance, prevent short circuits, and thus improve the reliability and safety of the battery cell (see Sun et al. [n0183]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 218887468 U, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024, citations see machine translation) in view of Kohira et al. (US 20220077527 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Sun et al. does not teach further comprising a conductive ring plate attached to a portion of the case extending around a periphery of the rivet terminal.
Kohira et al. teaches further comprising a conductive ring plate (360, Fig. 1; note: 360 is conductive, and has the same polarity as that of battery can 100, see [0057]; ring plate see Fig. 5) attached to a portion (110, Fig. 1) of the case (100, Fig. 1) extending around a periphery (311, Fig. 1) of rivet terminal (310, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sun et al. by adding the fixing member taught by Kohira et al. to have the fixing member function as the other terminal having a polarity different from that of the terminal portion, therefore, both electrodes of battery collect current from the same upper surface (see Kohira et al. [0057]).
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 218887468 U, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024, citations see machine translation) in view of Lee et al. (US 20240088425 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Sun et al. does not teach wherein the finishing plate comprises a safety vent.
Lee et al. teaches wherein the finishing plate (bottom plate of 142, see Fig. 17) comprises a safety vent (152, Fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the end wall of the receiving part taught by Sun et al. by adding the venting portion taught by Lee et al. to have the venting portion ruptured when an abnormality occurs in the cylindrical battery and the internal pressure increases to a predetermined level or more, so that the gas generated inside the battery housing 142 is discharged to the outside (see Lee et al. [0432]).
Regarding claim 18, Sun et al. does not teach wherein the finishing plate comprises a safety vent.
Lee et al. teaches wherein the finishing plate (bottom plate of 142, see Fig. 17) comprises a safety vent (152, Fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the end wall of the receiving part taught by Sun et al. by adding the venting portion taught by Lee et al. to have the venting portion ruptured when an abnormality occurs in the cylindrical battery and the internal pressure increases to a predetermined level or more, so that the gas generated inside the battery housing 142 is discharged to the outside (see Lee et al. [0432]).
Regarding claim 19, Sun et al. does not teach the finishing plate is fixed to the sidewall by a beading portion and a crimping portion on the sidewall.
Lee et al. teaches wherein the finish plate (178a, Fig. 18) is fixed (see Fig. 18; note: a crimping portion 181 fixes the edge of the cap plate 178a and the first gasket 178 b together, see [0450]) to the sidewall (171, Fig. 18) by a beading part (180, Fig. 18) and a crimping part (181, Fig. 18) provided on the sidewall (171, Fig. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the side wall taught by Sun et al. by adding the beading portion, the crimping portion, and the first gasket taught by Lee et al. to have the crimping portion fixes the edge of the plate and the first gasket together (see Lee et al. [0450]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 218887468 U, provided on IDS filed on 12/31/2024, citations see machine translation) in view of Ray et al. (US 20070275295 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Sun et al. does not teach wherein the finishing plate is fixed to the sidewall by a weld.
Ray et al. teaches wherein the finishing plate (18, Fig. 4) is fixed to the sidewall (12/16, Fig. 4) by a weld (welded, see [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the side wall and the end wall taught by Sun et al. to be welded taught by Ray et al. because such welded configuration is known in the art to connect the closed end wall to the bottom end of the cylindrical side wall to form the battery can (see Ray et al. [0025]).
Conclusion
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723