DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2024, 09/05/2024, 10/31/2024, and 06/04/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below.
Reference US 2019/0356791 A1 is a general background reference covering: A first processing module receives image data transferred from a controller, and executes image processing and a second processing module receives the image data transferred from the controller via the first processing module and executes image processing on the image data. The controller determines color components, of the plurality of color components of the image data, to be processed by the first processing module and the second processing module, based on at least communication amounts produced between the first processing module and the second processing module. Processed data having undergone the image processing performed by the first processing module based on the determined color components is transferred to the controller, and processed data having undergone the image processing performed by the second processing module based on the determined color components is transferred to the controller via the first processing module. (see abstract).
Reference US 2012/0069359 A1 is a general background reference covering An image forming apparatus includes recording heads for ejecting recording liquids of colors onto a recording medium. The apparatus includes a reference-patch forming unit that records a reference patch, the reference patch being formed by overlaying dot array patterns recorded with the recording liquids of different colors, the dot array patterns having no correlation therebetween; a detection-patch-group forming unit that records a detection patch group including detection patches, each of the detection patches being formed by overlaying dot array patterns recorded with the recording liquids of the different colors, the dot array patterns having a same cycle of regular dot array, the detection patches being allocated with different misregistration amounts of the dot array patterns; and a color-misregistration correcting unit that corrects color misregistration based on results of comparison between color tone of the reference patch and color tone of each of the detection patches. (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an obtaining unit configured to obtain color information indicating a color of a sheet to be used in printing from a scan image of the sheet in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
the inspecting unit 27 checks whether the printing has been made on the roll paper 111 without displacement of the color reg. That is, the inspecting unit 27 prints, on the roll paper, a pattern which is a pattern represented by pattern data received via the communicating unit for detecting color misregistration which would occur in an image formed by the image forming unit 22. The inspecting unit 27 checks whether there is misregistration in the color reg by analyzing a scan image of the pattern, which is obtained by reading the printed pattern with the connection scanner apparatus 107 described in the specification [see Applications Specification, paragraph 36.
Claims 2-24 are rejected as they depend on rejected independent claim 1.
Claims 25, 26 have similar of limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 25, 26 are rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Claims 1, 25, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim limitation(s) (placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an obtaining unit configured to obtain color information indicating a color of a sheet to be used in printing from a scan image of the sheet in claim 1) invoke(s) 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions of the (an obtaining unit configured to obtain color information indicating a color of a sheet to be used in printing from a scan image of the sheet in claim 1). Therefore, the claim(s) is/are indefinite and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 with limitation “prints the background and then prints the predetermined pattern in accordance with a relation between the calculated Euclidean distance and a predetermined threshold” is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, because “a predetermined threshold” is not defined and thus it is indefinite value.
Claims 4 and 5 are also rejected because they depend on claim 3.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 with limitation “a color difference between color information indicating a color of the background and color information indicating a color of the predetermined pattern is larger than a predetermined threshold.” is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, because “a predetermined threshold” is not defined and thus it is indefinite value.
Claims 2-24 are rejected as they depend on rejected independent claim 1.
Claims 25, 26 have similar of limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 25, 26 are rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim(s) so that the claim limitation(s) will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 17-22, 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2016/0239728 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a printing apparatus comprising:
an obtaining unit configured to obtain color information indicating a color of a sheet to be used in printing from a scan image of the sheet (e.g., In this process, the control section 21 obtains a list of registered paper types (which including color of a paper) from image forming apparatus 30. FIG. 11 illustrates an example of the setting screen 60 of conditions of color verification, and the screen shows, as conditions of color verification, a device type, a paper type, a target, a judgment level so as to allow a user to set these conditions, paragraph 71).
Suzuki, in one embodiment does not specifically disclose an image forming unit configured to print, based on the color information, a background for a predetermined pattern to be formed on the sheet and then print the predetermined pattern on the sheet.
Suzuki, in another embodiment, discloses an image forming unit configured to print, based on the color information, a background for a predetermined pattern to be formed on the sheet and then print the predetermined pattern on the sheet (e.g., when a paper type has been changed in an image forming apparatus, color verification is performed on printed colors. To perform the color verification, the image forming apparatus performs color management by using a printer profile and then outputs a color chart, and the output color chart is measured. If a result indicating unacceptable color reproduction accuracy is obtained as a result of color verification, execution of color calibration, output of a color chart after the color calibration and color measurement of the color chart are needed until a verification result indicating acceptable color accuracy is obtained, paragraph 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki, in one embodiment to include an image forming unit configured to print, based on the color information, a background for a predetermined pattern to be formed on the sheet and then print the predetermined pattern on the sheet as taught by Suzuki in another embodiment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki in one embodiment by the teaching of Suzuki in another embodiment to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki discloses wherein the obtaining unit obtains the scan image while the printing apparatus is printing an image (e.g., Scanner section 37 is a section which reads out an image optically from a document placed on a document stage to obtain image data, and is optionally disposed in the color printing system 10 illustrated in FIG. 2. This scanner section 37 includes a light source which scans a document, an image sensor, such as a CCD (Charge Coupled Devices), which converts light reflected on a document into electrical signals, and an A/D converter which performs A/D conversion on the electrical signals, paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki discloses further comprising: a first analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the sheet by using the color information and color information of the predetermined pattern, wherein the image forming unit prints the background and then prints the predetermined pattern in accordance with an analysis result obtained by the first analyzing unit through the analysis (e.g., Scanner section 37 is a section which reads out an image optically from a document placed on a document stage to obtain image data, and is optionally disposed in the color printing system 10 illustrated in FIG. 2. This scanner section 37 includes a light source which scans a document, an image sensor, such as a CCD (Charge Coupled Devices), which converts light reflected on a document into electrical signals, and an A/D converter which performs A/D conversion on the electrical signals, paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki discloses further comprising: a storing unit configured to store the analysis result (e.g., FIG. 4B illustrates a control program and data which are memorized in the storage section 34. Storage section 34 memorizes a device correcting program, a list of registered paper types, and the like. The device correcting program causes control section 31 to execute a correction operation, such as calibration and a highest density adjustment, paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses wherein the storing unit stores the analysis result for each type of the sheet (e.g., Storage section 34 memorizes a device correcting program, a list of registered paper types, and the like, paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki discloses wherein the obtaining unit obtains, as the scan image of the sheet, a scan image of the predetermined pattern obtained by scanning the predetermined pattern printed by the image forming unit (e.g., Scanner section 37 is a section which reads out an image optically from a document placed on a document stage to obtain image data, and is optionally disposed in the color printing system 10 illustrated in FIG. 2. This scanner section 37 includes a light source which scans a document, an image sensor, such as a CCD (Charge Coupled Devices), which converts light reflected on a document into electrical signals, and an A/D converter which performs A/D conversion on the electrical signals, paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki discloses further comprising: a controlling unit configured to adjust printing by the printing apparatus, wherein the obtaining unit obtains a scan image of the predetermined pattern obtained by scanning the predetermined pattern printed on the sheet by the image forming unit, and the controlling unit adjusts the printing by the printing apparatus in accordance with an analysis result obtained by analyzing the scan image of the predetermined pattern obtained by the obtaining unit (e.g., Scanner section 37 is a section which reads out an image optically from a document placed on a document stage to obtain image data, and is optionally disposed in the color printing system 10 illustrated in FIG. 2. This scanner section 37 includes a light source which scans a document, an image sensor, such as a CCD (Charge Coupled Devices), which converts light reflected on a document into electrical signals, and an A/D converter which performs A/D conversion on the electrical signals, paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki discloses wherein the image forming unit prints the predetermined pattern for detecting color misregistration on the sheet, and the controlling unit performs adjustment to eliminate the color misregistration in accordance with an analysis result obtained by analyzing the scan image of the predetermined pattern obtained by the obtaining unit (e.g., The paper type designates a classification of paper on which images are formed. When the ‘paper type list’ button is depressed, display section 26 displays a list of paper types registered in the database (alternatively, after a user inputs a name of paper type in the box of the paper type in the screen 60 and then depress the ‘paper type list’ button, display section 26 displays a list of paper types registered in the database in the order of similarity to the name), and a user choses a desired paper type from the paper type list. Alternatively, if a paper type to be used is not registered in the paper type list, a user inputs a name of the paper type. The target designates a standard color to be used as a target of color verification (for example, colors of “Japan Color”, “Fogra”, “GRACoL”, etc. enacted based on ISO-12647-2). When the ‘target list’ button is depressed, display section 26 displays a target list registered beforehand, and a user choses a desired target from the target list. The judgment level represents a criterion or a judgement standard of judging color reproduction accuracy of color verification, and has plural options, such as “lax”, “medium”, and “strict” levels. A user choses a desired judgment level from the options, paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki discloses wherein the image forming unit prints the predetermined pattern for detecting color unevenness on the sheet, and the controlling unit performs adjustment to eliminate the color unevenness in accordance with an analysis result obtained by analyzing the scan image of the predetermined pattern obtained by the obtaining unit (e.g., The judgment level represents a criterion or a judgement standard of judging color reproduction accuracy of color verification, and has plural options, such as “lax”, “medium”, and “strict” levels. A user choses a desired judgment level from the options. Then, the control section 21 (when executing color verification result estimating program 21a) sets conditions of color verification in accordance with conditions on the screen 60 of conditions of color verification (at least, a device type, a standard color to be used as a target, paper type and a judgment level of color verification), and stores the conditions of color verification in storage section 24, paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 20, Suzuki discloses wherein the image forming unit includes a print head corresponding to a color of the predetermined pattern, the image forming unit prints the predetermined pattern for detecting an ejection defect of the print head on the sheet, and the controlling unit performs the adjustment to eliminate the ejection defect in accordance with an analysis result obtained by analyzing the scan image of the predetermined pattern obtained by the obtaining unit (e.g., The method further comprises obtaining an estimated result of the color verification on a basis of comparison between a preset standard value and each of first to third color differences, where the first to third color difference each represents a difference between the theoretical reference values and corresponding one of the first theoretical color values, the second theoretical color values and the third theoretical color values. The method further comprises outputting the estimated result through the output unit of the control device, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 21, Suzuki discloses wherein the image forming unit prints the predetermined pattern for detecting color tone on the sheet, and the controlling unit adjusts the color tone in accordance with an analysis result obtained by analyzing the scan image of the predetermined pattern obtained by the obtaining unit (e.g., The processing further includes calculating first theoretical color values, second theoretical color values and third theoretical color values from the theoretical reference values by using the first to third printer-profiles. The processing further includes obtaining an estimated result of the color verification on a basis of comparison between a preset standard value and each of first to third color differences, where the first to third color difference each represents a difference between the theoretical reference values and corresponding one of the first theoretical color values, the second theoretical color values and the third theoretical color values. The processing further includes outputting the estimated result through the output unit., paragraph 9).
Regarding claim 22, Suzuki discloses further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze a scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein
the image forming unit prints the backgrounds in a plurality of forms which are different in at least one of size and cover rate on the sheet and prints the predetermined pattern on each of the backgrounds in the plurality of forms and the sheet as patterns in a plurality of forms, the second analyzing unit analyzes the patterns in the plurality of forms to select a pattern in a form to be used in the printing, and the image forming unit prints the background corresponding to the pattern in the form thus selected and then prints the predetermined pattern (e.g., The control device obtains a first set of color values which are measured color values of a color chart printed by a printer without performing color management, and calculates a second set of color values and a third set of color values which correspond to the first set of color values and are obtained in consideration of conditional changes (predetermined device variation) of the printer. The second set of color values represent colors to be printed by the printer having a color gamut increased with a conditional change of the printer. The third set of color values represent colors to be printed by the printer having a color gamut increased with a conditional change of the printer. The control device further creates first to third printer-profiles by using the first set of color values, the second set of color values and the third set of the color value, paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is a printing method with limitations of limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 25 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is a non-transitory computer readable medium with limitations of limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 26 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Claims 10-16, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2016/0239728 A1) as applied to claims 1, 9 above, and further in view of Shimura (US 2017/0064096 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki does not specifically disclose further comprising:
a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and the background is not printed, the image forming unit prints the background and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet.
Shimura discloses further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and the background is not printed, the image forming unit prints the background and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet (e.g., subsequently, the printed chart is scanned by an inline sensor or a colorimeter, the scanned image and the standard about the color management are compared, and the color difference information is acquired and is displayed on the operation/display unit (step s5). Subsequently, from the displayed color information, for example, a user can judge whether to use the paper sheet (step s6). Subsequently, whether to use the paper sheet is decided (step s7). In the case of not using the paper sheet (step s7, No), the return to step s1 is made, and another paper sheet is prepared, paragraph 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and the background is not printed, the image forming unit prints the background and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet as taught by Shimura. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Shimura to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki does not specifically disclose further comprising:
a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and the background is printed, the image forming unit prints the background which is relatively expanded and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet.
Shimura discloses further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and the background is printed, the image forming unit prints the background which is relatively expanded and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet (e.g., subsequently, the printed chart is scanned by an inline sensor or a colorimeter, the scanned image and the standard about the color management are compared, and the color difference information is acquired and is displayed on the operation/display unit (step s5). Subsequently, from the displayed color information, for example, a user can judge whether to use the paper sheet (step s6). Subsequently, whether to use the paper sheet is decided (step s7). In the case of not using the paper sheet (step s7, No), the return to step s1 is made, and another paper sheet is prepared, paragraph 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and the background is printed, the image forming unit prints the background which is relatively expanded and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet as taught by Shimura. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Shimura to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki does not specifically disclose further comprising:
a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit can recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and there was no failure in a previous analysis by the second analyzing unit, the image forming unit prints the background which is relatively contracted and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet.
Shimura discloses further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit can recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and there was no failure in a previous analysis by the second analyzing unit, the image forming unit prints the background which is relatively contracted and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet (e.g., subsequently, the printed chart is scanned by an inline sensor or a colorimeter, the scanned image and the standard about the color management are compared, and the color difference information is acquired and is displayed on the operation/display unit (step s5). Subsequently, from the displayed color information, for example, a user can judge whether to use the paper sheet (step s6). Subsequently, whether to use the paper sheet is decided (step s7). In the case of not using the paper sheet (step s7, No), the return to step s1 is made, and another paper sheet is prepared, paragraph 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit can recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and there was no failure in a previous analysis by the second analyzing unit, the image forming unit prints the background which is relatively contracted and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet as taught by Shimura. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Shimura to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki does not specifically disclose further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern, the image forming unit prints the background which is relatively expanded and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet.
Shimura discloses further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern, the image forming unit prints the background which is relatively expanded and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet (e.g., subsequently, the printed chart is scanned by an inline sensor or a colorimeter, the scanned image and the standard about the color management are compared, and the color difference information is acquired and is displayed on the operation/display unit (step s5). Subsequently, from the displayed color information, for example, a user can judge whether to use the paper sheet (step s6). Subsequently, whether to use the paper sheet is decided (step s7). In the case of not using the paper sheet (step s7, No), the return to step s1 is made, and another paper sheet is prepared, paragraph 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern, the image forming unit prints the background which is relatively expanded and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet as taught by Shimura. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Shimura to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki does not specifically disclose further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and the background is printed, the image forming unit prints the background which has a relatively increased cover rate and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet.
Shimura discloses further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and the background is printed, the image forming unit prints the background which has a relatively increased cover rate and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet (e.g., subsequently, the printed chart is scanned by an inline sensor or a colorimeter, the scanned image and the standard about the color management are compared, and the color difference information is acquired and is displayed on the operation/display unit (step s5). Subsequently, from the displayed color information, for example, a user can judge whether to use the paper sheet (step s6). Subsequently, whether to use the paper sheet is decided (step s7). In the case of not using the paper sheet (step s7, No), the return to step s1 is made, and another paper sheet is prepared, paragraph 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and the background is printed, the image forming unit prints the background which has a relatively increased cover rate and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet as taught by Shimura. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Shimura to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki does not specifically disclose further comprising:
a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit can recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and there was no failure in a previous analysis by the second analyzing unit, the image forming unit prints the background which has a relatively reduced cover rate and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet.
Shimura discloses further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit can recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and there was no failure in a previous analysis by the second analyzing unit, the image forming unit prints the background which has a relatively reduced cover rate and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet (e.g., subsequently, the printed chart is scanned by an inline sensor or a colorimeter, the scanned image and the standard about the color management are compared, and the color difference information is acquired and is displayed on the operation/display unit (step s5). Subsequently, from the displayed color information, for example, a user can judge whether to use the paper sheet (step s6). Subsequently, whether to use the paper sheet is decided (step s7). In the case of not using the paper sheet (step s7, No), the return to step s1 is made, and another paper sheet is prepared, paragraph 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit can recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern and there was no failure in a previous analysis by the second analyzing unit, the image forming unit prints the background which has a relatively reduced cover rate and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet as taught by Shimura. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Shimura to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki does not specifically disclose further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern, the image forming unit prints the background which has a relatively increased cover rate and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet.
Shimura discloses further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern, the image forming unit prints the background which has a relatively increased cover rate and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet (e.g., subsequently, the printed chart is scanned by an inline sensor or a colorimeter, the scanned image and the standard about the color management are compared, and the color difference information is acquired and is displayed on the operation/display unit (step s5). Subsequently, from the displayed color information, for example, a user can judge whether to use the paper sheet (step s6). Subsequently, whether to use the paper sheet is decided (step s7). In the case of not using the paper sheet (step s7, No), the return to step s1 is made, and another paper sheet is prepared, paragraph 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include further comprising: a second analyzing unit configured to analyze the scan image of the predetermined pattern, wherein in a case where the second analyzing unit cannot recognize the predetermined pattern in the scan image of the predetermined pattern, the image forming unit prints the background which has a relatively increased cover rate and then prints the predetermined pattern on a subsequent page of the sheet as taught by Shimura. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Shimura to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 23, Shimura discloses wherein the image forming unit prints the background on a margin region in the sheet and then prints the predetermined pattern (e.g., the adjustment about the color is performed, the image formation apparatus is put into the best state, and thereafter, a chart is printed on a paper sheet. The printed chart is measured by a colorimeter, and the color difference information is acquired. The acquired color difference information is displayed on the operation/display unit, and a user can judge whether to use the paper sheet while looking at the displayed color difference information. In the case of judging that it is used, the color difference information is saved while being associated with the information about the paper type of the paper sheet. Here, in the measurement for the acquiring the color difference information, for example, an inline sensor included in the image formation apparatus can be used, or an external colorimeter independent from the image formation apparatus can be used. Further, the colorimeter can be included in the image formation apparatus, paragraph 92).
Conclusion
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683