DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirita (US 2021/0070166).
Regarding claim 1, Kirita discloses a fluid supply system, comprising:
a first container (32);
a second container (34); and
a fluid transfer passage (33), wherein the first container and the second container are adapted to retain fluid (Paragraphs 25 and 27), wherein the first container and the second container are connected to each other through the fluid transfer passage (Figure 3), wherein the first container comprises a fluid inlet (38) to receive the fluid (Paragraph 25), wherein the first container comprises an air evacuation element (50a), and wherein the air evacuation element is configured to limit a rate at which air is released from the first container when the fluid is added into the first container (The sizing of the element is capable of limiting the rate at which air is released from the container, dependent upon the amount of air in the container) in order to increase inner pressure in the first container and transfer the fluid into the second container through the fluid transfer passage (Paragraph 42, the element is capable of limiting flow in such a fashion to uniformize pressure in the tank, in order to provide for satisfactory flow of fluid from the first to the second tank through the transfer passage).
Regarding claim 2, Kirita discloses the fluid supply system according to claim 1, wherein the second container does not comprise a fluid inlet (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kirita discloses the fluid supply system according to claim 1, wherein the second container comprises an air vent element (50b) dimensioned to provide ambient pressure inside the second container (Paragraph 41, the element is capable of providing an environment where a generated ambient pressure may be maintained, prior to the element being open to the atmosphere).
Regarding claim 4, Kirita discloses the fluid supply system according to claim 3, wherein the air vent element (50b) is arranged at a top portion of the second container (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kirita discloses the fluid supply system according to claim 1, wherein the air evacuation element is arranged at a top portion of the first container (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Kirita discloses the fluid supply system according to claim 1, wherein the air evacuation element is separated from the fluid inlet (The air evacuation element is connected to a piping connected to the fluid inlet 38).
Regarding claim 8, Kirita discloses the fluid supply system according to claim 1, wherein the fluid transfer passage (33) is connected to a bottom portion of the first container and a bottom portion the second container (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kirita discloses the fluid supply system according to claim 1, wherein the first container or the second container comprise a fluid outlet (43) for providing fluid to a neighboring system (Paragraph 31, engine).
Regarding claim 10, Kirita discloses a vehicle, comprising:
A fluid supply system (30), comprising:
a first container (32);
a second container (34); and
a fluid transfer passage (33), wherein the first container and the second container are adapted to retain fluid (Paragraphs 25 and 27), wherein the first container and the second container are connected to each other through the fluid transfer passage (Figure 3), wherein the first container comprises a fluid inlet (38) to receive the fluid (Paragraph 25), wherein the first container comprises an air evacuation element (50a), and wherein the air evacuation element is configured to limit a rate at which air is released from the first container when the fluid is added into the first container (The sizing of the element is capable of limiting the rate at which air is released from the container, dependent upon the amount of air in the container) in order to increase inner pressure in the first container and transfer the fluid into the second container through the fluid transfer passage (Paragraph 42, the element is capable of limiting flow in such a fashion to uniformize pressure in the tank, in order to provide for satisfactory flow of fluid from the first to the second tank through the transfer passage).
Regarding claim 11, Kirita discloses the vehicle according to claim 10, wherein the first container is arranged separated from the second container in the vehicle (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Kirita discloses the vehicle according to claim 10, wherein the second container does not comprise a fluid inlet (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kirita discloses the vehicle according to claim 10, wherein the second container comprises an air vent element (50b) dimensioned to provide ambient pressure inside the second container (Paragraph 41, the element is capable of providing an environment where a generated ambient pressure may be maintained, prior to the element being open to the atmosphere).
Regarding claim 14, Kirita discloses the vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the air vent element (50b) is arranged at a top portion of the second container (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Kirita discloses the vehicle according to claim 10, wherein the air evacuation element is arranged at a top portion of the first container (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 17, Kirita discloses the vehicle according to claim 10, wherein the air evacuation element is separated from the fluid inlet (The air evacuation element is connected to a piping connected to the fluid inlet 38).
Regarding claim 18, Kirita discloses the vehicle according to claim 10, wherein the fluid transfer passage (33) is connected to a bottom portion of the first container and a bottom portion the second container (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Kirita discloses the vehicle according to claim 10, wherein the first container or the second container comprise a fluid outlet (43) for providing fluid to a neighboring system (Paragraph 31, engine).
Regarding claim 20, Kirita discloses a manufacturing method for a fluid supply system, comprising:
providing a first container (Paragraph 24) comprising a fluid inlet (Paragraph 25) and an air evacuation element (Paragraph 39);
providing a second container (Paragraph 24); and
connecting the first container and the second container through a fluid transfer passage (Paragraph 34), wherein the first container (Paragraph 25) and the second container are adapted to retain fluid (Paragraph 27), and wherein the air evacuation element is configured to limit a rate at which air is released from the first container when the fluid is added into the first container (The sizing of the element is capable of limiting the rate at which air is released from the container, dependent upon the amount of air in the container) in order to increase inner pressure in the first container and transfer the fluid into the second container through the fluid transfer passage (Paragraph 42, the element is capable of limiting flow in such a fashion to uniformize pressure in the tank, in order to provide for satisfactory flow of fluid from the first to the second tank through the transfer passage).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirita.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kirita discloses the fluid supply system and vehicle according to claims 3 and 13, but fails to disclose wherein the air evacuation element of the first container comprises a smaller cross-sectional area than the air vent element of the second container.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kirita to have the air evacuation element of the first container comprising a smaller cross-sectional area than the air vent element of the second container, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Kirita would not operate differently with the claimed diameter and since the air evacuation unit is intended to function, providing venting, the device would function appropriately having the claimed diameter. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the element “may” be sized as claimed (specification, paragraph 23).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752