DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 109352054 A to Wang et al. (hereinafter, ‘Wang’).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a milling cutter (Figs 1-3) comprising: a cutter body 02 rotatable about a rotation axis, the cutter body comprising: a coupling region (outer region where cutters 03 lie) in an outer region of the cutter body 02 based on a radial direction (Figs 1-2); and a flow path 2 configured to communicate with the outside (Figs 1-3) and define a space in which a cooling fluid flows, wherein a part of a region of the flow path is disposed to be directed toward the coupling region (at the outlet of 21, Fig 3), and an insert member 03 is coupled to the coupling region of the cutter body (Figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 1, wherein the flow path 2 includes a region having a curved shape (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 1, wherein an entirety of the flow path 2 has a curved shaped (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 1, wherein the cutter body 02 comprises a structure manufactured by 3D printing ([0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses a milling cutter (Figs 1-3) comprising: a cutter body 02 rotatable about a rotation axis, the cutter body comprising: a coupling region (outer region where cutters 03 lie) in an outer region of the cutter body 02 based on a radial direction (Figs 1-2); and a flow path 2 configured to communicate with the outside (Figs 1-3) and define a space in which a cooling fluid flows, wherein a part of a region of the flow path is disposed to be directed toward the coupling region (at the outlet of 21, Fig 3), wherein a first end portion of the flow path is disposed in an inner surface based on the radial direction (shown in the annotated figure below), and wherein a second end portion of the flow path is disposed in an outer surface based on the radial direction (Figs 1-3); and an insert member 03 is coupled to the coupling region of the cutter body (Figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 5, wherein the flow path comprises a first flow path section extending toward an inside of the cutter body 02 from the first end portion (shown in the annotated figure above); and a second flow path section extending toward the first flow path section from the second end portion (shown in the annotated figure below), the second flow path section including a first end point connected to the first flow path section (shown in the annotated figure above), wherein a curvature of the first flow path section and a curvature of the second flow path section are different from each other (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 6, wherein: the cutter body 02 further comprises a recess section (shown in the annotated figure below) provided in the outer surface based on the radial direction and having a shape recessed inward in the radial direction (Fig 3); and the recess section comprises: a first recess surface in which the coupling region is disposed (shown in the annotated figure below); and a second recess surface in which a second end point of the second flow path section, opposite the first end point, is disposed (shown in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 7, wherein an angle between the first recess surface and the radial direction is smaller than an angle between the second recess surface and the radial direction (as there is no indication of where the radial direction lies relative to the cutter body, it can be arbitrarily drawn to extend outward from the center of the cutter body, forming a smaller angle with the first recess surface than the second recess surface).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 6, wherein a tangential line of a region (shown in the annotated figure below), in which the second end portion of the flow path (shown in the annotated figure below claim 5) is defined in the inner surface of the cutter body 02 in which the second flow path section is defined, is disposed in a space of a figure defined by a group of line segments that connect the second end portion (shown in the annotated figure below claim 5) of the flow path and boundaries of the coupling region (outer region where cutters 03 lie).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 6, wherein a plane defined by connecting the first end portion of the flow path, the first end point of the second flow path section, and the coupling region has a predetermined angle with respect to a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis (all shown in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 6, wherein a plane defined by connecting the first end portion of the flow path, the second end portion of the flow path, and the coupling region has a predetermined angle with respect to a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis (all shown in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the milling cutter of claim 6, wherein a plane defined by connecting the first end portion of the flow path, the first end point of the second flow path section, and the coupling region is consistent with a plane defined by connecting the first end portion of the flow path, the second end portion of the flow path, and the coupling region (as described in [0054] of the specification of the present invention, the entirety of the flow path is intersected by either of the two planes defined above).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses a method of providing a milling cutter (Figs 1-3), the method comprising: manufacturing a cutter body by a 3D printing method ([0031]), the cutter body 02 rotate about a rotation axis, the cutter body comprising: a coupling region (outer region where cutters 03 lie) in an outer region of the cutter body 02 based on a radial direction (Figs 1-2); and a flow path 2 configured to communicate with the outside (Figs 1-3) and define a space in which a cooling fluid flows, wherein a part of a region of the flow path is disposed to be directed toward the coupling region (at the outlet of 21, Fig 3), and joining an insert member to the cutter body by welding ([0023]).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200230716 A1 to Henry et al. (hereinafter, ‘Henry’).
Regarding claim 5, Henry discloses a milling cutter 10 ([0018] discusses milling being a possible configuration for the tool) comprising: a cutter body 12,14,40 rotatable about a rotation axis 20, the cutter body comprising: a coupling region 24 disposed in an outer region of the cutter body based on a radial direction (Fig 1); and a flow path 54 configured to communicate with the outside (at 56) and define a space in which a cooling fluid flows ([0031]), wherein a part of a region of the flow path is disposed to be directed toward the coupling region (Figs 6-8), wherein a first end portion 50 of the flow path is disposed in an inner surface based on the radial direction (Fig 8), and wherein a second end portion 56 of the flow path is disposed in an outer surface based on the radial direction (Fig 8); and an insert member 26 coupled to the coupling region of the cutter body ([0029], Figs 1-2,6-7).
Regarding claim 6, Henry discloses the milling cutter of claim 5, wherein the flow path comprises: a first flow path section extending toward an inside of the cutter body from the first end portion; and a second flow path section extending toward the first flow path section from the second end portion, the second flow path section including a first end point connected to the first flow path section, wherein a curvature of the first flow path section and a curvature of the second flow path section are different from each other (all shown in the annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry.
Regarding claim 13, Henry discloses the milling cutter of claim 6. Henry also discloses an angle defined between a plane defined by connecting the first end portion of the flow path, the first end point of the second flow path section, and the coupling region (Fig 8 depicts a plane with all of the features listed) and a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis (plane perpendicular to the axis when viewing Figure 8) is 0 degrees or more and 90 degrees or less (the intersection of the two planes described above is at an angle of 90 degrees).
Henry does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the flow path is 0.5 mm or more and 2 mm or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the diameter of the flow path between 0.5 mm and 2 mm in order to create the desired flow rate for the fluid, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 14, Henry disclose the milling cutter of claim 6. Henry also discloses an angle defined between a plane defined by connecting the first end portion of the flow path, the second end portion of the flow path, and the coupling region (Fig 8 depicts a plane with all of the features listed) and a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis (plane perpendicular to the axis when viewing Figure 8) is 45 degrees or more and 90 degrees or less (the intersection of the two planes described above is at an angle of 90 degrees).
Henry does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the flow path is more than 2 mm and equal to or less than 5 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the diameter of the flow path between 2 mm and 5 mm in order to create the desired flow rate for the fluid, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 15, Henry discloses the milling cutter of claim 6, wherein in a view in which the cutter body is cut in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the flow path extends (Fig 8), a cross-section of the flow path comprises: a curved area section including a convex curved periphery (shown in the annotated figure below); and an apex area section (shown in the annotated figure below) configured to communicate with the curved area section.
Henry does not explicitly disclose having a pointy shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the shape of the apex to have a point in order to create the desired flow of the fluid, since it has been held that the configuration of an object is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration claimed was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 16, Henry teaches the milling cutter of claim 15. Henry also teaches the curved area section has a part of a circular shape ([0034]).
Regarding claims 17-18, Henry teaches the milling cutter of claim 15.
Henry does not explicitly disclose the apex area section has a triangular shape. Henry also does not explicitly disclose the triangular shape has an angle of 45 degrees or more in a region of the triangular shape connected to the curved area section. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the shape of the apex to be triangular with a 45 degree angle in order to create the desired flow of the fluid, since it has been held that the configuration of an object is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration claimed was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 19, Henry teaches the milling cutter of claim 15. Henry also teaches the plane defined by connecting the first end portion of the flow path, the second end portion of the flow path, and the coupling region includes a part of the inner surface (shown in the annotated figure below claim 6).
Conclusion
/ERIC DANIEL WHITMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722