DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2018/0353139 to Speier et al. “Speier”.
As for Claims 1, 10, 17 and 19, Speier discloses an MRI system and method for generating image data of a moving part of the human body (e.g. heart) with a triggered acquisition (Abstract). Speier discloses steps to receive by a control unit a raw data signal acquired by a magnetic resonance receiver coil assembly (Paragraphs [0018] and [0021]); extracting a pilot tone raw signal from the raw signal (Paragraph [0022]); extract a subsequent pilot tone signal (PT-CC) from the raw pilot tone signal which is considered to read on at least one first motion component from the pilot tone raw signal in its broadest reasonable interpretation (Paragraph [0023]); determine a first motion signal based on the PT-CC (Paragraph [0024]); determining activity indicator values (e.g. physiological phases; Paragraphs [0024]-[0025]) in order to determine a predicted activity indicator value and a motion pattern for triggered acquisition (Paragraphs [0026], [0030], [0032] and [0039]). In one embodiment, Speier utilizes the slope of a first motion signal to determine trigger points (Paragraphs [0070], [0072]).
As for Claims 2-3, Speier discloses where the first and/or second derivative of the filtered (e.g. cleaned up; Paragraph [0082]) movement signal are calculated an automatically analyzed to extract time points for triggering (Paragraphs [0045]-[0046]). Examiner notes the maximum derivatives are derived from a plot of amplitude which includes a maximum and/or mean value of the motion signal of the first current motion period in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claim 4, Speier discloses wherein the system’s control unit can use a filter trained or adapted to the cardiac component derived from a calibration portion (Paragraph [0035]). In addition, template base feature detection or data from a current or previous scan may be used (Paragraph [0067]).
With respect to Claim 5, Speier discloses identifying characteristics of the motion patterns (e.g. phases) (Paragraph [0042]) and normalizing phases to reference phases (Paragraph [0082]).
As for Claims 6-8, Speier discloses utilizing a threshold-based triggering to approximate trigger points (Paragraphs [0046] and [0093]). Examiner notes that use of a threshold would include a step of comparing in order to determine activity indicators for triggered acquisition of subsequent motion periods as claimed in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to Claim 9, Speier’s trigger point for a subsequent motion period is based on a function of length (e.g. time length) in the plotted movement signals (Figs. 2; Paragraphs [0093]).
Regarding Claims 11-12, Speier discloses assigning at least two phases the PT-CC components (Paragraphs [0023]-[0025]) which is considered to read on at least two motion components phase shifted from one another in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speier in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0377051 to Bacher et al. “Bacher”.
As for Claim 13, Speier discloses an MRI system and method for determining motion patterns used to trigger acquisition as described above. While the PT-CC includes a plurality of motion components phase shifted from one another, it is not clear if the second first motion parameter is processed by shifting the phase of the first motion component as claimed.
Bacher teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI triggered acquisitions using pilot tones (Abstract; Paragraph [0039]) where phase offsets to a reference signal are considered to avoid aliasing of high frequency noise (Paragraph [0042]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have considered phase shifted motion components as described by Bacher in order to avoid aliasing and enhance the accuracy of the acquisition trigger.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 14-16, 18 and 20 are considered to be allowable over the prior art of record as the art of record fails to disclose all the correcting steps as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As for the prior art rejections of Claims 1, 17 and 19, Applicant argues Speier does not teach the claimed step of "determining, by the control unit, a determined activity indicator value of the current first motion period, depending on a slope of the respective first motion signal of the current first motion period" "determining, by the control unit, a predicted activity indicator value of the subsequent first motion period based on the determined activity indicator value of the current first motion period" and "identifying, by the control unit, the first motion pattern of the subsequent first motion period as a function of the predicted activity indicator value of the subsequent first motion period” because Speier’s continuously changing spatial positions or instantaneous physiological phase within a single cycle, such as systole and diastole in Speier are not equivalent to Applicant’s defined motion patterns in the specification (REMARKS, Pages 9-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes while claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification (MPEP 2111.01). Furthermore, Applicant’s definition of a motion pattern that “may” relate to breathing (REMARKS, Page 10) is not considered a special definition that may depart from common usage understood by those skilled in the art.
Applicant also argues the claims require deriving a single activity indicator value for the entire current period based on a slope (e.g. extracting the maximum amplitude of the derivative of the respiratory signal to represent the depth of the current breath) and the Speier’s use of slope is used in a different context (REMARKS, Page 11). Examiner respectfully notes the claim fails to require a step of extracting the maximum amplitude of the derivative of the respiratory signal to represent the depth of the current breath. Thus, Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797