DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2020/0077253).
Consider claim 1; Kim discloses a method for a relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE, comprising:
receiving a first paging message or information for the remote UE from the network node (e.g. eNB) on a dedicated downlink channel or a paging channel (par. 552, lines 1-8); and
transmitting a second paging message or information (e.g. PC5) to the remote UE (par. 574, lines 1-4) in response to reception of the first paging message or information for the remote UE (par. 552, lines 1-8), wherein the second paging message or information (e.g. PC5) is generated (par. 574, lines 1-4) based on the first paging message or information (par. 552, lines 1-8), and
wherein the second paging message or information sent to the remote UE includes one paging record which includes a first identification or a second identification of the remote UE only (par. 547, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 2; Kim discloses the first paging message or information for the remote UE includes one or more paging records (par. 547, lines 1-4), and one of the paging records includes the first identification or the second identification of the remote UE (par. 547, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 3; Kim discloses receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from the network node (e.g. eNB) (par. 571, lines 1-6), wherein the RRC message includes the first paging message or information for the remote UE (par. 571, lines 1-6).
Consider claim 4; Kim discloses the RRC message is included in a downlink transmission (par. 581, line 1 – par. 582, line 4) scrambled by or addressed to an identification or a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE [e.g. via the dedicated signaling (par. 552, lines 1-8)].
Consider claim 5; Kim discloses the RRC message is a RRC reconfiguration message (par. 115, lines 3-9).
Consider claim 6; Kim discloses the network node is a gNB or a base station (par. 552, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 7; Kim discloses the second paging message or information sent to the remote UE is included in a PC5 Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC) message (par. 573, line 1 – par. 574, line 4).
Consider claim 9; Kim discloses a relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE, comprising:
a control circuit (par. 675);
a processor installed in the control circuit (par. 675); and
a memory installed in the control circuit and operatively coupled to the processor (par. 676); wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code stored in the memory (par. 676) to:
receive a first paging message or information for the remote UE from the network node (e.g. eNB) on a dedicated downlink channel or a paging channel (par. 552, lines 1-8); and
transmit a second paging message or information (e.g. PC5) to the remote UE (par. 574, lines 1-4) in response to reception of the first paging message or information for the remote UE (par. 552, lines 1-8), wherein the second paging message or information (e.g. PC5) is generated (par. 574, lines 1-4) based on the first paging message or information (par. 552, lines 1-8), and
wherein the second paging message or information sent to the remote UE includes one paging record which includes a first identification or a second identification of the remote UE only (par. 547, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 10; Kim discloses the first paging message or information for the remote UE includes one or more paging records (par. 547, lines 1-4), and one of the paging records includes the first identification or the second identification of the remote UE (par. 547, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 11; Kim discloses receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from the network node (e.g. eNB) (par. 571, lines 1-6), wherein the RRC message includes the first paging message or information for the remote UE (par. 571, lines 1-6).
Consider claim 12; Kim discloses the RRC message is included in a downlink transmission (par. 581, line 1 – par. 582, line 4) scrambled by or addressed to an identification or a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of the relay UE [e.g. via the dedicated signaling (par. 552, lines 1-8)].
Consider claim 13; Kim discloses the RRC message is a RRC reconfiguration message (par. 115, lines 3-9).
Consider claim 14; Kim discloses the network node is a gNB or a base station (par. 552, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 15; Kim discloses the second paging message or information sent to the remote UE is included in a PC5 Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC) message (par. 573, line 1 – par. 574, line 4).
Consider claim 17; Kim discloses the first identification of the remote UE is a NG- 5G-S-TMSI (par. 571, lines 1-6; par. 678, lines 1-5), and the second identification of the remote UE is a I-RNTI (par. 192, lines 1-3; par. 277, line 1 – par. 278, line 8).
Consider claim 18; Kim discloses the first identification of the remote UE is a NG- 5G-S-TMSI (par. 571, lines 1-6; par. 678, lines 1-5), and the second identification of the remote UE is a I-RNTI (par. 192, lines 1-3; par. 277, line 1 – par. 278, line 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2020/0077253) in view of Hong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2019/0373652).
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 7; Kim discloses the claimed invention except: the PC5-RRC message is included in a sidelink transmission with a Layer-2 Identity (ID) of the relay UE as Source Layer-2 ID, and a Layer-2 ID of the remote UE as Destination Layer-2 ID.
In an analogous art Hong discloses the PC5-RRC message is included in a sidelink transmission (par. 77, lines 32-47) with a Layer-2 Identity (ID) of the relay UE as Source Layer-2 ID, and a Layer-2 ID of the remote UE as Destination Layer-2 ID (par. 132, lines 1-10).
It is an object of Kim’s invention to provide a method for transmitting and receiving. It is an object of Hong’s invention to provide a method for receiving/transmitting uplink/downlink data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kim by including a layer-2 ID, as taught by Hong, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 16, as applied in claim 15; Kim discloses the claimed invention except: the PC5-RRC message is included in a sidelink transmission with a Layer-2 Identity (ID) of the relay UE as Source Layer-2 ID, and a Layer-2 ID of the remote UE as Destination Layer-2 ID.
In an analogous art Hong discloses the PC5-RRC message is included in a sidelink transmission (par. 77, lines 32-47) with a Layer-2 Identity (ID) of the relay UE as Source Layer-2 ID, and a Layer-2 ID of the remote UE as Destination Layer-2 ID (par. 132, lines 1-10).
It is an object of Kim’s invention to provide a method for transmitting and receiving. It is an object of Hong’s invention to provide a method for receiving/transmitting uplink/downlink data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kim by including a layer-2 ID, as taught by Hong, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646