DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-24 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/17/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elischer et al. European Patent Document EP 866535 A2 (hereinafter “Elischer”).
Regarding claim 1, Elischer teaches a ground fault monitoring and detection system (i.e. residual current circuit breaker 20)(fig.2), comprising: a current interrupt switch (i.e. switching unit 15)(fig.2) configured to be connected to power supply lines (i.e. phase conductors L1-3 and neutral conductor N)(fig.2); a first leakage sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 21 and signal circuit 23)(fig.2) connected to the current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to common triggering mechanism 24)(fig.2), the first leakage sensor configured to detect a leakage current in the power supply lines (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]) and to control the current interrupt switch to interrupt current through the power supply lines if the leakage current exceeds a first current threshold (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]); and a second leakage sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 12 and signal circuit 13)(fig.2) connected to the current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to common triggering mechanism 24)(fig.2), the second leakage sensor configured to detect the leakage current in the power supply lines (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]) and to control the current interrupt switch to interrupt current through the power supply lines if the leakage current exceeds a second current threshold (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]); wherein the first current threshold is a let-go current (refer to [0014] and [0018]) and the second current threshold is greater than the let-go current by a predefined amount (refer to [0016] and [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Elischer teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first leakage sensor comprises a first ground fault interrupt device (GFID) (i.e. signal circuit 23)(fig.2) connected to a first current sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 21)(fig.2), and the second leakage sensor comprises a second GFID (i.e. signal circuit 13)(fig.2) connected to a second current sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 11)(fig.2).
Regarding claim 3, Elischer teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the power supply lines include a first ungrounded conductor (i.e. phase conductors L1-3)(fig.2), a second ungrounded conductor (i.e. neutral conductor N)(fig.2), and a grounding conductor (i.e. protective conductor PE)(fig.2), and wherein the second leakage sensor is configured to detect the leakage current via the first and second ungrounded conductors (implicit)(refer to summation current transformer 11)(fig.2)(refer also to [0015]), while the first leakage sensor is configured to detect the leakage current via the first and second ungrounded conductors and also the grounding conductor (implicit)(refer to summation current transformer 21)(fig.2)(refer also to [0015]).
Regarding claim 9, Elischer teaches a method of providing ground fault monitoring and detection (refer to residual current circuit breaker 20)(fig.2), the method comprising: providing a current interrupt switch (i.e. switching unit 15)(fig.2) configured to be connected to power supply lines (i.e. phase conductors L1-3 and neutral conductor N)(fig.2); connecting a first leakage sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 21 and signal circuit 23)(fig.2) to the current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to common triggering mechanism 24)(fig.2), the first leakage sensor configured to detect a leakage current in the power supply lines (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]) and to control the current interrupt switch to interrupt current flow through the power supply lines if the leakage current exceeds a first current threshold (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]); and connecting a second leakage sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 11 and signal circuit 13)(fig.2) to the current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to common triggering mechanism 24)(fig.2), the second leakage sensor configured to detect the leakage current in the power supply lines (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]) and to control the current interrupt switch to interrupt current flow through the power supply lines if the leakage current exceeds a second current threshold (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]); wherein the first current threshold is a let-go current (refer to fig.2 and [0014] and [0018])and the second current threshold is greater than the let-go current by a predefined amount (refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]).
Regarding claim 10, Elischer teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the first leakage sensor comprises a first ground fault interrupt device (GFID) (i.e. signal circuit 23)(fig.2) connected to a first current sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 21)(fig.2), and the second leakage sensor comprises a second GFID (i.e. signal circuit 13)(fig.2) connected to a second current sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 11)(fig.2).
Regarding claim 11, Elischer teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the power supply lines include a first ungrounded conductor (i.e. phase conductors L1-3)(fig.2), a second ungrounded conductor (i.e. neutral conductor N)(fig.2), and a grounding conductor (i.e. protective conductor PE)(fig.2), and wherein the second leakage sensor is configured to detect the leakage current via the first and second ungrounded conductors (implicit)(refer to summation current transformer 11)(fig.2)(refer also to [0015]), while the first leakage sensor is configured to detect the leakage current via the first and second ungrounded conductors and also the grounding conductor (implicit)(refer to summation current transformer 21)(fig.2)(refer also to [0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 12, 14, 17-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elischer as applied to claims 1 or 9 above, and further in view of Thompson et al. U.S. Patent Application 2014/0211345 (hereinafter “Thompson”).
Regarding claim 4, Elischer teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the current interrupt switch is a load side current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to device 1 and switching unit 15)(fig.2); however, Elischer does not teach the system further comprising a line side current interrupt switch configured to be connected to the power supply lines. However, Thompson teaches the system further comprising a line side current interrupt switch (i.e. overload circuit breaking function 6”)(fig.3) configured to be connected to the power supply lines (implicit)(Refer to phases 12A-C)(fig.3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elischer to include the line side current interrupt switch of Thompson to provide the advantage of providing further protection function for the system, thereby better protecting a device and/or operator.
Regarding claim 6, Elischer and Thompson teach the system of claim 4, further comprising a local disconnect handle mechanically coupled to the line side current interrupt switch (refer to handle 66)(fig.4A)(handle 642)(fig.12)(refer to fig.20)(refer to [0008]), the local disconnect handle configured to be operated by a user to manually interrupt current flow through the power supply lines (implicit)(refer to [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, Elischer teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the current interrupt switch is a load side current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to device 1 and switching unit 15)(fig.2); however, Elischer does not teach the method further comprising connecting a line side current interrupt switch to the power supply lines. However, Thompson teaches the method further comprising connecting a line side current interrupt switch (i.e. overload circuit breaking function 6”)(fig.3) to the power supply lines (implicit)(Refer to phases 12A-C)(fig.3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Elischer to include the line side current interrupt switch of Thompson to provide the advantage of providing further protection function for the system, thereby better protecting a device and/or operator.
Regarding claim 14, Elischer and Thompson teach the method of claim 12, further comprising a mechanically coupling a local disconnect handle to the line side current interrupt switch (refer to handle 66)(fig.4A)(handle 642)(fig.12)(refer to fig.20)(refer to [0008]), the local disconnect handle configured to be operated by a user to manually interrupt current flow through the power supply lines (implicit)(refer to [0008]).
Regarding claim 17, Elischer teaches a system (refer to fig.2), the system comprising: a source (implicit)(refer to PE, N, and L1-3 at the top of the figure)(fig.2); power supply lines (i.e. phase conductors L1-3 and neutral conductor N)(fig.2) connected to the source (implicit); a load (i.e. device 1)(fig.2) connected to the power supply lines (implicit); a current interrupt switch (i.e. switching unit 15)(fig.2) connected to the power supply lines (implicit) between the source and the load (implicit); a first leakage sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 21 and signal circuit 23)(fig.2) connected to the current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to common triggering mechanism 24)(fig.2), the first leakage sensor configured to detect a leakage current in the power supply lines (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]) and to control the current interrupt switch to interrupt current to the load if the leakage current exceeds a first current threshold (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]); and a second leakage sensor (i.e. summation current transformer 12 and signal circuit 13)(fig.2) connected to the current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to common triggering mechanism 24)(fig.2), the second leakage sensor configured to detect the leakage current in the power supply lines (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]) and to control the current interrupt switch to interrupt current to the load if the leakage current exceeds a second current threshold (implicit)(refer to fig.2 and [0016] and [0018]); wherein the first current threshold is a let-go current (refer to [0014] and [0018]) and the second current threshold is greater than the let-go current by a predefined amount (refer to [0016] and [0018]); however, Elischer does not teach wherein the system is a heating, ventilating, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, the source is an electrical panel, and the load is HVAC equipment. However, Thompson teaches wherein the system is a heating, ventilating, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (refer to claim 27), the source is an electrical panel (refer to [0129] and [0160]), and the load is HVAC equipment (refer to claim 27). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elischer to include the HVAC system of Thompson to provide the advantage of protecting expensive equipment from damage as well as protecting a person from a common piece of equipment which can easily be contacted.
Regarding claim 18, Elischer and Thompson teach the HVAC system of claim 17, wherein the first leakage sensor comprises a first ground fault interrupt device (GFID) (i.e. Elischer signal circuit 23)(fig.2) connected to a first current sensor (i.e. s Elischer summation current transformer 21)(fig.2), and the second leakage sensor comprises a second GFID (i.e. Elischer signal circuit 13)(fig.2) connected to a second current sensor (i.e. Elischer summation current transformer 11)(fig.2).
Regarding claim 19, Elischer and Thompson teach the HVAC system of claim 17, wherein the power supply lines include a first ungrounded conductor (i.e. Elischer phase conductors L1-3)(fig.2), a second ungrounded conductor (i.e. Elischer neutral conductor N)(fig.2), and a grounding conductor (i.e. Elischer protective conductor PE)(fig.2), and wherein the second leakage sensor is configured to detect the leakage current via the first and second ungrounded conductors (implicit)(refer to Elischer summation current transformer 11)(fig.2)(refer also to Elischer [0015]), while the first leakage sensor is configured to detect the leakage current via the first and second ungrounded conductors and also the grounding conductor (implicit)(refer to Elischer summation current transformer 21)(fig.2)(refer also to Elischer [0015]).
Regarding claim 20, Elischer and Thompson teach the HVAC system of claim 17, wherein the current interrupt switch is a load side current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to Elischer device 1 and switching unit 15)(fig.2); however, Elischer does not teach the HVAC system further comprising a line side current interrupt switch configured to be connected to the power supply lines between the electrical panel and the HVAC equipment. However, Thompson teaches the HVAC system further comprising a line side current interrupt switch (i.e. overload circuit breaking function 6”)(fig.3) configured to be connected to the power supply lines between the electrical panel and the HVAC equipment (implicit)(Refer to phases 12A-C)(fig.3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elischer to include the line side current interrupt switch of Thompson to provide the advantage of providing further protection function for the system, thereby better protecting a device and/or operator.
Regarding claim 22, Elischer and Thompson teach the HVAC system of claim 20, further comprising a local disconnect handle mechanically coupled to the line side current interrupt switch (refer to handle 66)(fig.4A)(handle 642)(fig.12)(refer to fig.20)(refer to [0008]), the local disconnect handle configured to be operated by a user to manually interrupt current flow through the power supply lines (implicit)(refer to [0008]).
Claim(s) 5, 8, 13, 16, 21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elischer and Thompson as applied to claims 4, 12, and 20 above, and further in view of Michalko et al. U.S. Patent Application 2006/0087782 (hereinafter “Michalko”).
Regarding claim 5, Elischer and Thompson teach the system of claim 4; however, they do not teach the system further comprising a supervisory controller connected to the line side current interrupt switch, the supervisory controller configured to control the line side current interrupt switch to interrupt current flow through the power supply lines upon occurrence of a predefined current interrupt event. However, Michalko teaches the system further comprising a supervisory controller (i.e. control system 3000)(fig.7B) connected to the line side current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to main contact 2100)(fig.7B)(control system is connected to the main breaker 2100 which is analogous to the line side current interrupt switch 6” of Thompson), the supervisory controller configured to control the line side current interrupt switch to interrupt current flow through the power supply lines upon occurrence of a predefined current interrupt event (refer to figure 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elischer and Thompson to include the supervisory controller of Michalko to provide the advantage of ensuring disconnection of the source from the load in the case of a failure of the protection module, thereby better protecting the equipment from damage and an operator from injury.
Regarding claim 8, Elischer, Thompson, and Michalko teach the system of claim 5, wherein the supervisory controller is coupled to the first and second leakage sensors (refer to step S504)(Fig.10)(refer also to [0049]), the supervisory controller configured to perform diagnostics on the leakage current detected by the first and second leakage sensors (refer to [0043]) and provide status and diagnostic information to a user (refer to [0049] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Elischer and Thompson teach the system of claim 12; however, they do not teach the method further comprising connecting a supervisory controller to the line side current interrupt switch, the supervisory controller configured to control the line side current interrupt switch to interrupt current flow through the power supply lines upon occurrence of a predefined current interrupt event. However, Michalko teaches the method further comprising connecting a supervisory controller (i.e. control system 3000)(fig.7B) to the line side current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to main contact 2100)(fig.7B)(control system is connected to the main breaker 2100 which is analogous to the line side current interrupt switch 6” of Thompson), the supervisory controller configured to control the line side current interrupt switch to interrupt current flow through the power supply lines upon occurrence of a predefined current interrupt event (refer to figure 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elischer and Thompson to include the supervisory controller of Michalko to provide the advantage of ensuring disconnection of the source from the load in the case of a failure of the protection module, thereby better protecting the equipment from damage and an operator from injury.
Regarding claim 16, Elischer, Thompson, and Michalko teach the method of claim 13, further comprising coupling the supervisory controller to the first and second leakage sensors (refer to step S504)(Fig.10)(refer also to [0049]), the supervisory controller configured to perform diagnostics on the leakage current detected by the first and second leakage sensors (refer to [0043]) and provide status and diagnostic information to a user (refer to [0049] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 21, Elischer and Thompson teach the HVAC system of claim 20; however, they do not teach the HVAC system further comprising a supervisory controller connected to the line side current interrupt switch, the supervisory controller configured to control the line side current interrupt switch to interrupt current flow to the HVAC equipment upon occurrence of a predefined current interrupt event. However, Michalko teaches the HVAC system further comprising a supervisory controller (i.e. control system 3000)(fig.7B) connected to the line side current interrupt switch (implicit)(refer to main contact 2100)(fig.7B)(control system is connected to the main breaker 2100 which is analogous to the line side current interrupt switch 6” of Thompson), the supervisory controller configured to control the line side current interrupt switch to interrupt current flow to the HVAC equipment upon occurrence of a predefined current interrupt event (refer to figure 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HVAC system of Elischer and Thompson to include the supervisory controller of Michalko to provide the advantage of ensuring disconnection of the source from the load in the case of a failure of the protection module, thereby better protecting the equipment from damage and an operator from injury.
Regarding claim 24, Elischer, Thompson, and Michalko teach the HVAC system of claim 21, wherein the supervisory controller is coupled to the first and second leakage sensors (refer to step S504)(Fig.10)(refer also to [0049]), the supervisory controller configured to perform diagnostics on the leakage current detected by the first and second leakage sensors (refer to [0043]) and provide status and diagnostic information to a user (refer to [0049] and [0055]).
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elischer as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Simmons U.S. Patent No. 5,932,939 (hereinafter “Simmons”).
Regarding claim 7, Elischer teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a housing (implicit)(refer to fig.2) configured to enclose the current interrupt switch and the first and second leakage sensors (implicit)(refer to fig.2); however, Elischer does not teach the housing providing weather protection for the current interrupt switch and the first and second leakage sensors. However, Simmons teaches the housing providing weather protection for the current interrupt switch and the first and second leakage sensors (refer to col. 3 lines 35-42). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elischer to include the housing of Simmons to provide the advantage of using an appropriate housing for the environmental conditions the system will be subjected to in order to prevent damage to the system.
Regarding claim 15, Elischer teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising enclosing the current interrupt switch and the first and second leakage sensors in a housing (implicit)(refer to fig.2); however, Elischer does not teach the housing configured to provide weather protection for the current interrupt switch and the first and second leakage sensors. However, Simmons teaches the housing configured to provide weather protection for the current interrupt switch and the first and second leakage sensors (refer to col. 3 lines 35-42). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Elischer to include the housing of Simmons to provide the advantage of using an appropriate housing for the environmental conditions the system will be subjected to in order to prevent damage to the system.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elischer and Thompson as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Simmons.
Regarding claim 23, Elischer and Thompson teach the HVAC system of claim 17, further comprising a housing (implicit)(refer to fig.2) configured to enclose the current interrupt switch and the first and second leakage sensors (implicit)(refer to fig.2); however, they do not teach the housing providing weather protection for the current interrupt switch and the first and second leakage sensors. However, Simmons teaches the housing providing weather protection for the current interrupt switch and the first and second leakage sensors (refer to col. 3 lines 35-42). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HVAC system of Elischer and Thompson to include the housing of Simmons to provide the advantage of using an appropriate housing for the environmental conditions the system will be subjected to in order to prevent damage to the system.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838