DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and response filed on August 18, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 22, 2026. Claim 1-19 are directed to the elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 16, line 2, the term “a similar polymer” is indefinite as to scope. Specifically, it is unclear whether “a similar polymer” includes polyethylene, polyolefin, or some other specific scope. Claims 17-19 are rejected as indefinite due to their dependence upon a rejected claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 19/039,280. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘280 overlap with the present claims. Specifically, the claims of US ‘280 are directed to a composition comprising a blend 20-95 wt% of a recyclable high density polyethylene having a density and melt index that overlaps with the present claims and 5-80 wt% of a virgin polyethylene having a density and melt index that overlaps with the present claims (claim 1). The claimed blended composition of US ‘280 has a melt index and molecular distribution that overlaps with the present claims (claims 1 and 9). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dow Global Technologies (WO2022/031398).
Regarding claim 1, Dow discloses a compounded polymer comprising (a) 25-99.5 wt% of virgin polyethylene having a melt index within the presently claimed range ([0097]-[0098], Table 2) and (b) 0.5-75 wt% of a post-consumer recyclate polyethylene (PCR PE) having a melt index from 0.3-3 dg/min (Table 6, blends 3 and 6; Table 7, blend 8). The PCR PE can be a high density polyethylene (Table 2). The compounded polymer can have a melt index and density within the presently claimed range (Table 6, blends 3 and 6; Table 7, blend 8). Dow measured the melt index at 190ᵒC under 2.16 kg load [0126]. The Mw/Mn of blends 3, 6, and 8 are not disclosed in Dow, but all of the polyethylene components that make up the blend have a Mw/Mn of at least 7.4. Thus, it logically flows that the blend formed from the polyethylene components all having a Mw/Mn of at least 7.4 would implicitly have a Mw/Mn above 6 (Tables 3, 6, and 7). Moreover, since Dow discloses a blend containing the same polyethylene blends as the present claims, it is reasonable to conclude that the blended composition of Dow would exhibit the same Mw/Mn as the present claims. See MPEP 2112, which states “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112 further states “Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. ‘There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102.’" In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Dow discloses compounding the polymer using a twin-screw extruder at a temperature within the claimed ranges [0161]. However, Dow is silent as to mixing using a mechanical energy greater than 0.05 kW-hr/kg at a temperature over 125ᵒC. As set forth in MPEP 2113, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Accordingly, it is reasonable to conclude that the claimed compounded composition is either the same or obvious as the composition disclosed in Dow, since Dow uses the same materials and extrusion process.
Regarding claim 6, blend 10 of Dow discloses an example wherein the density of component (a), component (b), and the compounded blend are within the presently claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 9, Dow discloses various food safe articles [0118].
Regarding claim 12, Dow discloses that the composition can be formed into a film having a thickness of 0.2 mils [0152].
Regarding claims 13-15, Dow does not specifically disclose the defect count of the polymeric film. However, since Dow discloses a blended composition containing the same components and processes the composition in the same way, i.e., compounding the polymer using a twin-screw extruder at a temperature within the range of claim 3 [0161], it is reasonable to conclude that this property limitation is inherent. See MPEP 2112, which states “Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dow Global Technologies (WO2022/031398).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the Mw/Mn of blends 3, 6, and 8 are not disclosed in Dow, but all of the polyethylene components that make up the blend have a Mw/Mn of at least 7.4. For example, blend 3 contains 47.05 wt% of a PE having a Mw/Mn of 12.9 and 47.05 wt% of a PE having a Mw/Mn of 27.9 (Tables 3 and 6). Thus, it logically flows that blend 3 would implicitly have a Mw/Mn above 12.9. Thus, it is reasonable to conclude that Dow overlaps with the claimed Mw/Mn ranges. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the Mw/Mn range through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 7-8 and 10-11, Dow does not exemplify an embodiment having the claimed ratios virgin polyethylene to PCR HDPE of claim 7 and 8 or the embodiments of claims 10 and 11. However, these ratios and embodiments fall within the claimed ranges set forth in Dow. Thus, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claims 16-19, Dow discloses that the composition can be formed into a film having a thickness of 0.2 mils [0152], but does not disclose the property that the film has at least 90% fewer gels than a similar polymer compounded with a single screw extruder. However, since Dow discloses a blended composition containing the same components and processes the composition in the same way, i.e., compounding the polymer using a twin-screw extruder at a temperature within the range of claim 3 [0161], it is reasonable to conclude that this property limitation is inherent. See MPEP 2112, which states “Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. "There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 18, 2026 have been fully considered. In view of the present amendment and arguments the rejections of claims 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) are withdrawn. Additionally, the prior art rejection over Dow has been modified as detailed above to rely upon different examples/blends, particularly see paragraph #12 above.
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781