DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to application filed on 04/16/2024 in which claim 1-18 are presented for examination.
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-18 are pending, of which claim 1, 17 and 18 are in independent form.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 7 and 9-16are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Gourlay(US PG Pub 2014/0319232) published on October 30, 2014 in view of Matsuoka et al. (US PG Pub 2014/0058567) published on February 27, 2014.
As per claim 1, 17 and 18, Gourlay teaches A method, comprising: at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices(Fig 6C shows connected device, as taught by Gourlay):
displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface that includes:
an indication of a current selected environmental value for a setting of a device(Para[0067-0068] Fig 7A-D the user finishes the dragging gesture at finger position shown. Note that the setpoint caret 680 now corresponds to a setpoint temperature of 61 degrees, as taught by Gourlay);
an indication of a current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(Para[0058][0066-0068] Fig 7A-D shows current ambient temperature, as taught by Gourlay); and
a first set of one or more indications at a first set of one or more positions between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(fig 5A, 7A-B and 9A Para[0058][0066-0070] discloses ambient temperature and selected temperature and shows indicator between those selected and ambient temperature, as taught by Gourlay);
while displaying the first set of one or more indications at the first set of one or more positions(Para[0066] e.g. tick mark, as taught by Gourlay), detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to change the current selected environmental value for the setting(fig 5A, 7A-B and 9A-G Para[0058][0066-0073] discloses ambient temperature and selected temperature and shows indicator between those selected and ambient temperature. In response to the "touch and hold" gesture on the tic-mark circle 670, the caret 680 begins to move towards the location 900 as shown by arrow 910, as taught by Gourlay); and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to change the current selected environmental value for the setting:
moving display of the indication of the current selected environmental value from a first position to a second position(fig 5A, 7A-B and 9A-G Para[0058][0066-0073] In response to the "touch and hold" gesture on the tic-mark circle 670, the caret 680 begins to move towards the location 900 as shown by arrow 910, as taught by Gourlay); and
Gourlay does not explicitly teach displaying, via the display generation component, a second set of one or more indications at a second set of one or more positions between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device, wherein at least one indication in the second set of one or more indications was not previously displayed before the input directed to the indication of a current selected environmental value for the setting was detected.
On the other hand, Matsuoka teaches displaying, via the display generation component, a second set of one or more indications at a second set of one or more positions between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(fig 3A-K Para[0065-0072] displays trailing icon between selected and ambient temperature, as taught by Matsuoka), wherein at least one indication in the second set of one or more indications was not previously displayed before the input directed to the indication of a current selected environmental value for the setting was detected(fig 3A-K Para[0065-0072] displays trailing icon between selected and ambient temperature. The trailing icon does displays before user makes an input. Trailing icon being displayed as the rotate the thermostat for turn the outer ring increasing or decreasing value of the setpoint temperature, as taught by Matsuoka).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the
invention to modify Gourlay invention with the teaching of Matsuoka because doing so would
result in effectively notifying the user regarding amount of time left to reach the desired temperature.
As per claim 2, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches wherein: the first set of one or more indications at the first set of one or more positions is displayed in a first area of the user interface having a length that corresponds to a difference between the current selected environmental value at the first position and the current detected environmental value(fig 3A-K Para[0065-0072], as taught by Matsuoka); and
the second set of one or more indications at the second set of one or more positions is displayed in a second area of the user interface having a length that corresponds to a difference between the current selected environmental value for the setting at the second position and the current detected environmental value(fig 3A-K Para[0065-0072] e.g. 310, as taught by Matsuoka).
As per claim 3, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches wherein the current selected
environmental value is a first temperature value, and the current detected environmental value is a
second temperature value(fig 3A shows set and current temp, as taught by Matsuoka).
As per claim 7, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches wherein the user interface includes a representation of a control, the method further comprising:
while displaying the user interface that includes the representation of the control, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to a first location on the representation of the control(Para[0071-0073], as taught by Gourlay); and
in response to detecting the second input directed to the first location of the representation of the control, moving the indication of the current selected environmental value to a third position, wherein the third position corresponds to a first environmental value(fig 9-10Para[0071-0073], as taught by Gourlay).
As per claim 9, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches further comprising: in response to detecting the second input directed to the first location of the representation of the control, providing haptic output(Para[0072], as taught by Gourlay).
As per claim 10, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches wherein another set of one or more indications are not displayed in an area that is between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device while the first set of one or more indications is displayed(Para[0065-0074], as taught by Matsouka).
As per claim 11, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches wherein: while displaying the user interface that includes the first set of one or more indications at the first set of one or more positions between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device, detecting a first change in the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(Para76-0079], as taught by Gourlay); and
in response to detecting the first change in the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device, updating display of the first set of one or more indications to a different number of indications(Para76-0079] fig 14a-b e.g. 67-78 degree, as taught by Gourlay).
As per claim 12, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches wherein: while displaying the user interface that includes the first set of one or more indications at the first set of one or more positions between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device, detecting a second change in the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(Para76-0079], as taught by Gourlay).
in response to detecting the second change in the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device, moving display of the current selected environment value towards or away from a position corresponding to the current detected environmental value(Para66-73], as taught by Matsuoka).
As per claim 13, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches wherein: after displaying the second set of one or more indications at the second set of one or more positions between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting(fig 3C shows ambient temp 71, as taught by Matsuoka) and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device, detecting a request for the computer system to transition to operate in a first respective mode(fig 5C Para[0078], as taught by Matsouka); and
in response to detecting the request for the computer system to transition to operate in the first respective mode:
in accordance with a determination that the current detected environmental value is a second environmental value and the first respective mode is a third mode, displaying, via the display generation component, a fifth set of one or more indications between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(Para[0073-0082], as taught by Matsouka); and
in accordance with a determination that the current detected environmental value is the second environmental value and the first respective mode is the fourth mode different from the third mode, forgoing displaying, via the display generation component, the fifth set of one or more indications between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(MPEP 2111.04 states, "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed because the claimed condition would not ever reasonably occur in the prior art reference").
As per claim 14, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches further comprising: after displaying the second set of one or more indications at the second set of one or more positions between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device, detecting a request for the computer system to transition to operate in a second respective mode(Para[0073-0085], as taught by Matsuoka); and in response to detecting the request for the computer system to transition to operate in the second respective mode:
in accordance with a determination that the second respective mode is a fifth mode and the indication of the current selected environmental value is in a first direction relative to the indication of the current detected environmental value, displaying, via the display generation component, a sixth set of one or more indications between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(Para[0059][0076-0085] a heating mode, when VSCU unit 100 determines that an ambient temperature is below a lower threshold value equal to a setpoint temperature minus a swing value, the heating cycle will be actuated until the ambient temperature rises to an upper threshold value equal to the setpoint value plus the swing value. For a cooling mode, when VSCU unit 100 determines that an ambient temperature is above an upper threshold value equal to a setpoint temperature plus a swing value, the cooling cycle will be actuated until the ambient temperature lowers to a lower threshold value equal to the setpoint value minus the swing value, as taught by Matsuoka);
in accordance with a determination that the second respective mode is the fifth mode and the indication of the current selected environmental value is in a second direction relative to the indication of the current detected environmental value, forgoing displaying, via the display generation component, the sixth set of one or more indications between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device, wherein the second direction relative to the indication of the current detected environmental value is different from the first direction relative to the indication of the current detected environmental value(MPEP 2111.04 states, "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed because the claimed condition would not ever reasonably occur in the prior art reference");
in accordance with a determination that the second respective mode is a sixth mode different from the fifth mode and the indication of the current selected environmental value is in the first direction relative to the indication of the current detected environmental value, forgoing displaying, via the display generation component, the sixth set of one or more indications between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(MPEP 2111.04 states, "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed because the claimed condition would not ever reasonably occur in the prior art reference"); and
in accordance with a determination that the second respective mode is the sixth mode and the indication of the current selected environmental value is in the second direction relative to the indication of the current detected environmental value, displaying, via the display generation component, the sixth set of one or more indications between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device(MPEP 2111.04 states, "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed because the claimed condition would not ever reasonably occur in the prior art reference").
As per claim 15, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches further comprising: after displaying the second set of one or more indications at the second set of one or more positions between the indication of the current selected environmental value for the setting and the indication of the current detected environmental value for the setting of the device, detecting a request for the computer system to transition to operate in a third respective mode(fig 5C para[0067-0079], as taught by Matsuoka); and
in response to detecting the request for the computer system to transition to operate in the third respective mode:
in accordance with a determination that the third respective mode is a seventh mode, displaying, via the display generation component, a seventh set of one or more indications on a first side of the indication of the current selected environmental value without displaying one or more indications on a second side of the indication of the current selected environmental value(Para[0066-0072] discloses ambient temperature without displaying selected temperature, as taught by Gourlay); and
in accordance with a determination that the third respective mode is an eighth mode different from the seventh mode, displaying, via the display generation component, an eighth set of one or more indications on the second side of the indication of the current selected environmental value without displaying one or more indications on the first side of the indication of the current selected environmental value(MPEP 2111.04 states, "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed because the claimed condition would not ever reasonably occur in the prior art reference").
As per claim 16, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches wherein the user interface includes an indication of a terminal environmental value that corresponds to a terminal operating state of the device(fig 3C-E and 4A-D shows ambient temp and HVAC in operating state, as taught by Matsupka).
6. Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Gourlay(US PG Pub 2014/0319232) published on October 30, 2014 in view of Matsuoka et al. (US PG Pub 2014/0058567) published on February 27, 2014 in further view of Coffman (US PG PUB 2018/0335903) published on November 22, 2018.
As per claim 4, the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka teaches the method further comprising:
detecting, via the one or more input devices, the input corresponding to the request to change the current selected environmental value for the setting(fig 7A-B shows changing temperature, as taught by Gourlay);
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to change the current selected environmental value for the setting(fig 7A-B shows changing temperature based on drag gesture, as taught by Gourlay),
the combination of Gourlay and Matsuoka does not teach while displaying the user interface that includes the first content in the third area,
wherein the user interface includes a first content in a third area of the user interface,
displaying, via the display generation component, second content different from the first content in the third area of the user interface.
On the other hand, Coffman teaches while displaying the user interface that includes the first content in the third area(fig 6T-6AC content being played in another device, as taught by Coffman),
wherein the user interface includes a first content in a third area of the user interface(fig 6T-6AC content
being played in another device, as taught by Coffman),
displaying, via the display generation component, second content different from the first content in the third area of the user interface(Para[0365] shows multiple content being displayed in a interface, as taught by Coffman).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the
invention to modify Gourlay and Matsouoka invention with the teaching of Coffman because doing so
would result in effectively allows the user to collectively view a plurality of states for a plurality of available devices in one optimized interface.
As per claim 5, the combination of Gourlay, Matsuoka and Coffman teaches wherein the input corresponding to the request to change the current selected environmental value for the setting is directed to an area outside of the third area(fig 1, 6A-B, 7 Para[0041][0054] shows home(multiple rooms) with thermostat for hvac system. User can change the temperature of the house by manipulating the thermostat. It is obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art since user can change the temperature setting for the whole home which includes multiple area, as taught by Gourlay).
As per claim 6, the combination of Gourlay, Matsuoka and Coffman teaches wherein the second content includes information that is different from the current selected environmental value(Para[0071-0073], as taught by Gourlay).
Conclusion
/RAYEEZ R CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174 Wednesday, March 25, 2026