DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on DE10 2023 203 665.7 filed 20 April 2023.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are in claims 1, 6 and 9: at least one data processing device configured to execute, and the electrical/electronic architecture configured to provide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 6 include “the electrical/electronic architecture configured to provide further vehicle functions and/or vehicle data” however there are no previous or initial vehicle functions and/or vehicle data. Accordingly, there is insufficient antecedent basis for further vehicle functions and/or vehicle data. Note that the language “in addition to the functions and/or data provided by the at least one data processing device” does not require the functions and/or data to be vehicle functions and/or vehicle data. All respective dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim 1 includes “wherein the access interface is defined suitable for the different configurations and independently of a specific configuration of the electrical/electronic architecture”. It is not clear what the scope of “is defined suitable for” is. All respective dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim 6 includes “converting the vehicle signal and/or the vehicle service specification to provide the vehicle signal and/or the vehicle service specification compatible for use in an interface description language”. It is not clear what it means to convert a thing to provide it compatible for use in an IDL? All respective dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-10 are directed to one of the eligible categories of subject matter.
With respect to independent claims 1, 6 and dependent claims 8, 9, 10, the execute, converting, generating covers performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). The providing limitations are recited at a high level of generality and do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea; these limitations are directed to insignificant extra solution activities. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to dependent claim 2, 3, 4, 5 the initiating, reading, controlling, execute, defined cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). The sensor, actuator, device, provide are recited at a high level of generality and do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea; these limitations are directed to insignificant extra solution activities. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to dependent claim 7, the convert, compile, select cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). No additional elements are recited and so the claims do not provide a practical application and are not considered to be significantly more. The claims are not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eggers et al., Pub. No.: DE102004039633A1, hereinafter Eggers (paragraph numbering refers to provided EPO English translation document).
As per claim 1, Eggers discloses method for providing access from at least one vehicle software application to at least one of different vehicle systems, the vehicle systems comprising differently configured electrical/electronic architecture, the electrical/electronic architecture comprises at least one data processing device configured to execute the at least one vehicle software application for providing functions and/or data, and the electrical/electronic architecture configured to provide further vehicle functions and/or vehicle data in addition to the functions and/or data provided by the at least one data processing device (see at least pars. 2-7 of the provided EPO English translation and note that par. 5 discloses access by applications to vehicle information across differing vehicle bus and differing vehicle system technologies), the method comprising:
providing the at least one vehicle software application, the at least one vehicle software application configured to be executed in runtime environments of the at least one data processing device (par. 7: service framework with application programs, par. 108: services, service framework, OSGi framework, etc.); and
providing an access interface to the runtime environments for the at least one vehicle software application, the access interface defined by an interface description language (at least par. 7 discloses VAPI which is an access interface; additionally, and/or alternatively, par. 108 discloses CORBA which utilizes CORBA IDL to specify interfaces, and maps from IDL to implementation in specific programming languages like C++ or Java. Claim interpretation note: par. 11 of the specification defines interface description language as “a declarative formal language and includes language syntax for describing interfaces of a software component”),
wherein the access interface is defined by the interface description language for access to the functions and/or data and the further vehicle functions and/or vehicle data (pars. 100, 101, 107, 108 disclose XML based formal descriptions defining interfaces and metadata which corresponds to an IDL; also, par. 108 discloses CORBA which utilizes CORBA IDL to specify interfaces, and maps from IDL to implementations in specific programming languages), and
wherein the access interface is defined suitable for the different configurations and independently of a specific configuration of the electrical/electronic architecture (see rejection of limitations above including at least pars. 3, 4, 29, 33, 48).
As per claim 6, Eggers discloses a method for providing at least one vehicle software application to at least one of different vehicle systems, the vehicle systems comprising differently configured electrical/electronic architecture, the electrical/electronic architecture comprising at least one data processing device configured to execute the at least one vehicle software application configured to provide functions and/or data, and the respective electrical/electronic architecture configured to provide further vehicle functions and/or vehicle data in addition to the functions and/or data provided by the data processing device (see at least pars. 2-7 and rejection of claim 1 above), the method comprising:
providing a vehicle signal and/or a vehicle service specification (par. 8, 33, 80-81 disclose vehicle signals, defining data objects and mappings in a profile, models, databases and profiles specifying available vehicle data objects which corresponds to vehicle signal and service specifications);
converting the vehicle signal and/or the vehicle service specification to provide the vehicle signal and/or the vehicle service specification compatible for use in an interface description language (pars. 73, 81 disclose vehicle data specifications are formally captured in XML, making them compatible with an interface description syntax; par. 108 includes “…offer an XML format for vehicle API accesses and data. The formats are to be matched to one another.” Par. 9 discloses “Here, the device-local base interface of the vehicle API is converted into an interface based on another target language”. Par. 48 includes “Each basic data type is assigned a mapping (low-level mapping) to a low-level source/sink, which converts the corresponding vehicle datum into the object model of the vehicle API.” See also, pars. 67-78);
generating at least one interface description for at least one access interface using the interface description language, the at least one access interface provided to access the functions and/or data and the further vehicle functions and/or vehicle data (pars. 7, 8, 99, 103, 110 disclose generation of interface descriptions); and
generating the at least one vehicle software application using the at least one interface description generated (par. 79-80 discloses data object mapping to API (connection of manufacturer-specific application) and see par. 108 - note that OSGi is a framework for modular development of applications).
As per claim 2, Eggers discloses The method according to Claim 1, wherein: the electrical/electronic architecture comprises (i) at least one sensor and at least one actuator, and (ii) at least one further data processing device, wherein the at least one further data processing device is used at least in part for at least semi-autonomous driving and/or for controlling the at least one actuator and/or for reading out the at least one sensor, and wherein the at least one vehicle software application initiates control and/or reading (see at least pars. 7, 41, 53, 58, 110 and note that in automotive systems, low-level data sources (sensors, ECUs) generate raw signals, while sinks (actuators, other ECUs, displays) consume them).
As per claim 3, Eggers discloses The method according to Claim 1, wherein: the functions and the further vehicle functions comprise controls, regulations, and/or measurements internal to the vehicle system and/or connected to the vehicle system, and the data and further vehicle data comprise measurement data from at least one sensor internal to the vehicle system and/or a sensor connected to the vehicle system, and the respective electrical/electronic architecture and the runtime environments comprise a switching function, to provide access to the further vehicle functions and/or vehicle data via the access interface defined independently of different configurations of the electrical/electronic architecture (pars. 5, 33, 58-59, 67, 110).
As per claim 5, Eggers discloses The method according to Claim 1, wherein: the access interface is additionally defined by the interface description language using a vehicle signal and/or vehicle service specification for access to the functions and/or data and to the further vehicle functions and/or vehicle data, the vehicle signal and/or vehicle service specification provides a syntax, to structure and standardize vehicle signals and vehicle services within a context of the at least one vehicle software application (pars. 7, 8, 99, 100, 103, 107, 108. XML based interface descriptions define vehicle data objects and access methods constitute a syntax structuring and standardizing vehicle signal/services).
As per claim 7, Eggers discloses The method according to Claim 6, further comprising: converting the interface description to use the interface description in a desired programming language including Java, C, C++, or Rust, to generate the at least one vehicle software application in the desired programming language; compiling the generated vehicle software application; and selecting a runtime environment of the at least one data processing device to execute the compiled vehicle software application on the selected runtime environment (see rejection of claim 6 and at least pars. 107-108. Eggers describes converting the interface for use in Java or C++ and generating applications, by creating local interfaces (mappings) for specific target languages, as well as selecting a runtime environment to execute the applications by means of specific execution environments such as OSGi).
As per claim 8, Eggers discloses The method according to Claim 1, wherein a computer program comprises instructions that, when the computer program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the method (see rejection of claim 1).
As per claim 9, Eggers discloses A device for data processing, configured to perform the method according to Claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
As per claim 10, Eggers discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the method according to Claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eggers in view of Brandel et al., Pub. No.: US 20200410996 A1, hereinafter Brandel.
As per claim 4, Eggers discloses The method according to Claim 1.
Eggers does not expressly disclose, however Brandel discloses wherein the at least one vehicle software application is provided by a WebAssembly byte code, as a Wasm component, to execute the at least one vehicle software application portably on different data processing devices (Brandel, pars. 21, 28-30, 40, 58 and see Eggers as cited in the rejection of claim 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Brandel would have allowed Eggers to execute vehicle application interfaces using WebAssembly based runtime so that the same application logic could be deployed and executed across differing electronic architectures without recompilation, thereby predictably improving portability and maintainability/implementation efficiency in multi-platform vehicle systems.
Pertinent Prior Art
Prior art that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not currently relied upon: WO 2021178979 A1, CN 115328853 A, US 20100292867 A1, US 20120173044 A1, KR 102717895 B1.
Conclusion
/SYED H HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154