DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 2, 9-11, 13-14, and 19 are withdrawn, and claims 1, 3-8, 12, and 15-18 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, FIGS 1-4, corresponding to claims 1-8 and 10-18 in the reply filed on 21 November 2025 is acknowledged.
After a review of the disclosure, Examiner finds that the following claims are not drawn to the elected embodiment and so are withdrawn by Examiner.
Claim 2, drawn to gap 30 which is a feature of the FIG 7 embodiment and not the elected embodiment.
Claim 10, drawn to a hand strap which is a feature of the FIGS 9-10 embodiment and not the elected embodiment.
Claim 11 is withdrawn for depending from withdrawn claim 9.
Claims 13-14 are drawn to a fastening strip 24 which is not a feature of this embodiment. A fastening strip is an alternative structure to the oval patch of the elected embodiment.
Claims 2, 9-11, 13-14, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 21 November 2025.
The requirement is made final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the coil (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “the worn glove” in line 7 to –the glove while being worn—for proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “coupling element” in claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 12-16, and 18 and “fastening element” in claims 3-5 and 14-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8, 12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the recitation “a total of at least three first deflection portions” because “total” appears to contradict “at least.” Based on the recitation “total,” one would expect the number of first deflection portions to be limited to exactly three. However, the open recitation “at least” suggests there could be more than three first deflection portions.
Claims 1, 6, 16-17 are indefinite because of the “first finger covering” without any other finger coverings.
Claim 1 is indefinite because of the “first deflection portions” without any other deflection portions being claimed.
Claims 4-5 and 15 are indefinite because it is not clear if the “first reinforcement strip” are included in or in addition to the “at least one reinforcement strip” of claim 1.
Furthermore, claims 4-5 and 15 are indefinite because of the “first reinforcement strip” without any other reinforcement strips being claimed.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “1mm to 5mm”, and the claim also recites “2mm to 3mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “5mm and 20mm”, and the claim also recites “5mm and 10mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
The claims are examined as best understood.
Claims that depend from a rejected claim are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 12, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goode (US 5312134 A) in view of Smith (US-5367712-A) and Gitt (US 1900395 A).
As to claim 1, Goode discloses a glove (glove 10 in FIGS 1-4) having a thumb covering and at least a first finger covering, said glove in a saddle region between the thumb covering and the first finger covering possessing a coupling element which is configured for releasably fastening the glove to a coupling device of a pole handle (40 is capable of and intended to releasably fasten the glove to a coupling device of a pole handle), but does not disclose the glove has a lacing system for selectively setting a width of the worn glove; wherein the lacing system is located on a glove upper side, wherein the lacing system has a tensioning element with a housing, a tensioning wheel and a coil received in said housing; wherein the lacing system furthermore has a tensioning lace which is guided through at least one first guide strap; wherein the tensioning lace, by rotation of said tensioning wheel in a tensioning direction, tensions the tensioning lace in a lace tensioning direction in a tensioning region and the width of the glove is thus decreased; wherein the tensioning lace by rotation of said tensioning wheel in a relaxing direction is relaxed or released in a lace relaxing direction counter to the lace tensioning direction and the width of the glove is thus increased; wherein the tensioning region on the glove upper side is located only to one side of the tensioning element; wherein the tensioning region includes a variable region which is located only to one side of the tensioning element facing said saddle region between the thumb covering and the first finger covering and which is spanned by the tensioning lace; wherein said tensioning lace is emanating from the tensioning element and spans the variable region by travelling in a direction toward the thumb covering and travelling back to the tensioning element; wherein the tensioning lace, between a first end which is fastened to the tensioning element, and a second end which is fastened to the tensioning element, in said at least one first guide strap has a total of at least three first deflection portions which are configured for receiving the tensioning lace, wherein each of the deflection portions is in each case guided through said at least one first guide strap and further guide straps, respectively, and wherein said first guide strap is located adjacent to the tensioning element, and said further guide straps are located opposite to said first guide strap, said tensioning lace travelling, from said tensioning element, to a first of said further guide straps, back to said first guide strap in the direction of said tensioning element, to a second of said further guide straps, and back to said tensioning element; and wherein the lacing system is coupled to the coupling element by way of at least one material band, in the form of at least one reinforcement strip and by way of said at least one first guide strap for guiding through said tensioning lace.
Smith teaches a similar glove (“glove,” title) including the glove has a lacing system for selectively setting a width of the worn glove (FIG 1B);
wherein the lacing system is located on a glove upper side (the claimed upper side corresponds to the Smith “backside”),
wherein the lacing system has a tensioning element with a housing (adjusting mechanism 3), a tensioning wheel (knob 3a) and a coil received in said housing (reel described in col 4 line 5-10);
wherein the lacing system furthermore has a tensioning lace which is guided through at least one first guide strap (the claimed tensioning lace corresponds to 7 in combination with 5, 6, and 6a in FIG 7a; which are guided through guides 14 of which there are three in FIG 7a; Smith discloses the guides are apertures and not straps; see modification below regarding straps);
wherein the tensioning lace, by rotation of said tensioning wheel in a tensioning direction, tensions the tensioning lace in a lace tensioning direction in a tensioning region and the width of the glove is thus decreased (capable of tensioning the lace and intended to tension the lace, see col 3 line 60 – col 4 line 25);
wherein the tensioning lace by rotation of said tensioning wheel in a relaxing direction is relaxed or released in a lace relaxing direction counter to the lace tensioning direction and the width of the glove is thus increased (capable of relacing the lace and intended to relax the lace, see col 3 line 60 – col 4 line 25);
wherein the tensioning region on the glove upper side is located only to one side of the tensioning element (a lower side of the tensioning element, which is the side of the tensioning element between the tensioning element and the glove);
wherein the tensioning region includes a variable region which is located only to one side of the tensioning element facing said saddle region between the thumb covering and the first finger covering and which is spanned by the tensioning lace (12 in FIGS 7a-7b);
wherein said tensioning lace is emanating from the tensioning element and spans the variable region by travelling in a direction toward the thumb covering and travelling back to the tensioning element (FIGS 7a-7b);
wherein the tensioning lace, between a first end which is fastened to the tensioning element (see annotated FIG 7a below), and a second end which is fastened to the tensioning element (see annotated FIG 7a below), in said at least one first guide strap has a total of at least three first deflection portions which are configured for receiving the tensioning lace (see annotated FIG below),
wherein each of the deflection portions is in each case guided through said at least one first guide strap and further guide straps, respectively (the three apertures 14 function as guides, see modification below regarding the guides being straps), and
wherein said first guide strap is located adjacent to the tensioning element (14 from which 5 extends; all of the guide straps are adjacent to the tensioning element), and
said further guide straps are located opposite to said first guide strap (apertures 14 from which 4 and 4a extend),
said tensioning lace travelling, from said tensioning element, to a first of said further guide straps, back to said first guide strap in the direction of said tensioning element, to a second of said further guide straps, and back to said tensioning element (FIG 7a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the glove of Goode with the lacing system taught by Smith, for the purpose of enhancing the fit of the glove on the wearer’s hand (Smith abstract).
Goode as modified by Smith does not disclose the guides are straps. Smith uses apertures 14 to guide the lace.
Gitt teaches a similar glove (FIGS 1-2) including using guide straps 6 and 8 to guide lace 7 The guide straps 6 and 8 have an aperture through which the lace extends.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a guide lace instead of an aperture for the purpose of providing a known means of guiding the lace.
The combination of Goode, Smith, and Gitt obviously results in the lacing system is coupled to the coupling element by way of at least one material band (one of Goode 28, 32, and/ or 34, all of the component parts are coupled together on a single glove), in the form of at least one reinforcement strip (Goode 28) and by way of said at least one first guide strap for guiding through said tensioning lace (Goode in view of Smith and Gitt discloses modifying Smith 4 to be a first guide strap as taught by Gitt 6 and 8).
As to claim 3, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 1, wherein the coupling element is fastened to the glove by way of at least one fastening element (Goode 32, and/ or 34).
As to claim 4, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 3, wherein said at least one first guide strap is fastened or molded to a first reinforcement strip (this is the result of the combination presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, where Smith in view of Gitt’s first guide strap is fastened to Goode’s glove which includes Goode’s reinforcement strip as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above), wherein the first reinforcement strip is fastened or molded to the at least one fastening element for the coupling element (when Goode 32 or 34 is the fastening element for the coupling element 40, then reinforcement strip 28 is fastened to 32/34 as disclosed in Goode col 4 line 50-55).
As to claim 5, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first reinforcement strip at least in part overlaps with the at least one fastening element (Goode 28 overlaps with 32/34 as shown in Goode FIGS 1-4) and/or with a material portion which forms the at least one first guide strap.
As to claim 6, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 1, wherein the coupling element is configured as a movable strap (40 is “not absolutely rigid with respect to the glove,” col 5 line 1-5), and wherein the movable strap is fastened so as to be substantially immovable on the glove (col 5 line 1-5 discloses it is “held tightly” and line 5-10 discloses 38 is intended to prevent sideways shifting), wherein the movable strap is however configured so as to be inherently flexible and movable (all material has at least some degree of flexibility and movability), wherein the movable strap has a sufficient inherent stiffness such that said movable strap is stabilized in a position in the space between the thumb covering and the first finger covering such that the projecting part of the movable strap on the glove is disposed substantially in a plane which in the case of an opened and extended hand of the user is defined by the thumb and the index finger of said user (capable of being stabilized, due to the material disclosed in col 5 line 20-30 and/ or how 40 is attached to the glove as disclosed in col 5 line 1-20).
As to claim 7, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 6, wherein the movable strap in the resting position is configured so as to be substantially semi-circular or semi-oval (FIGS 1-4 show 40 is “substantially… semi-oval”), and/or wherein the movable strap is a strap from a braided plastics material, and/or wherein the movable strap has a thickness of 1 mm to 5 mm (col 5 line 25 discloses a diameter of 0.09 inches which is equivalent to 2.3 mm).
As to claim 8, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 1, wherein the coupling element is configured as a latching tongue which is fastenable in a corresponding recess in a pole handle (according to Applicant’s disclosure, “latching tongue” is not a structure but a function; Goode’s coupling element is structurally identical to the claimed coupling element and is therefore expected to be usable as a “latching tongue”).
As to claim 12, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 1, wherein the variable region has a width which can be variably set by tensioning and relaxing the tensioning lace, wherein the spacing between the tensioning element and the coupling element can be variably set (Smith col 6 line 1-15).
As to claim 15, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 3, wherein said at least one first guide strap is fastened or molded to a first reinforcement strip (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, where all of the component parts are fastened together to form a single glove, Goode 28 is the first reinforcement strip), wherein the first reinforcement strip is fastened or molded to the at least one fastening element for the coupling element (28 is fastened to 32/34), but does not disclose the first reinforcement strip is sewn to the at least one first guide strap.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to sew the first reinforcement strip to the first guide strap, in order to provide a secure attachment.
As to claim 16, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 1, wherein the coupling element is a movable strap (FIGS 1-4) in a form of a cable or a hoop (FIGS 1-4 show 40 is a hoop) or a flexible plastics material lace, and the movable strap is fastened so as to be substantially immovable on the glove (col 5 line 1-15), wherein the movable strap is however configured so as to be inherently flexible and movable (capable of flexing and moving, as all material has at least some degree of flexibility, and col 5 line 1-30 discloses 40 is capable of moving with respect to the glove and the material of 40 is capable of moving), wherein the movable strap has a sufficient inherent stiffness such that said movable strap is stabilized in a position in the space between the thumb covering and the first finger covering such that the projecting part of the movable strap on the glove is disposed substantially in a plane which in the case of an opened and extended hand of the user is defined by the thumb and the index finger of said user (col 5 line 1-30).
As to claim 17, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 6, wherein the movable strap in the resting position is configured so as to be substantially semi-circular or semi-oval (FIGS 1-4 show 40 is “substantially… semi-oval”), and/or wherein the movable strap is a strap from a braided plastics material, based on polyethylene, polyamide, polypropylene, aramid, or a combination of said materials, and/or wherein the movable strap has a thickness of 1 mm to 5 mm, or of 2 mm to 3 mm, wherein the movable strap projects by between 5mm and 20 mm, or between 5 mm and 10 mm, beyond a saddle region of the glove between the first finger covering and the thumb covering.
As to claim 18, Goode as modified discloses the glove as claimed in claim 1, wherein the coupling element is configured as a latching tongue which is fastenable, in a self-latching manner, in a corresponding recess in a pole handle (according to Applicant’s disclosure, “latching tongue” is not a structure but a function; Goode’s coupling element is structurally identical to the claimed coupling element and is therefore expected to be usable as a “latching tongue”).
Conclusion
SALLY HADEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/SALLY HADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732