DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1, Species B in the reply filed on 9/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-7, 12, and 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/25/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarnowsky et al. (US 2008/0079388, hereinafter ‘Sarnowsky’).
Sarnowsky discloses a system comprising: a cupholder (12) of a vehicle configured to receive and provide power to an accessory device (30), the cupholder comprising electrical contacts (64) configured to engage electrical contacts (66) of the accessory device; and control circuitry capable of determining whether to provide power to the electrical contacts of the cupholder (power supplies, para 0028).
Sarnowsky further discloses the cupholder further comprises: a retaining frame forming a cup well to secure sides of the accessory device (14s, Fig. 7); and a movable base to support the bottom of the accessory device (16), wherein: the movable base is movable in relation to the retaining frame (functional recitation, base 16 slides, arms 14 pivot); and the electrical contacts of the cupholder are disposed in the movable base (see Fig. 7); the control circuitry is capable of providing the power to the electrical contacts of the cupholder for a predetermined amount of time (functional recitation); and the control circuitry is configured to provide the power to the electrical contacts of the cupholder until the accessory device is fully charged (functional recitation); and the control circuitry of the system is communicatively coupled to vehicle control circuitry that performs vehicle functions; and the vehicle control circuitry provides the power from the vehicle to the electrical contacts.
Regarding claim 15, in light of the claims failing to require the accessory device itself as part of the structural limitations of the claims, further details as to what the accessory device is are not patentably defining.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarnowsky et al. (US 2008/0079388, hereinafter ‘Sarnowsky’) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Marcusen (US 5171061).
Sarnowsky discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the base moving towards and away from the retaining frame as claimed.
However, Marcusen teaches a retractable cup holder wherein the movable base (70)is configured to: move towards the retaining frame (20) when the cupholder is retracted into a compartment of the vehicle; and move away from the retaining frame when the cupholder is extended from the compartment; and the movable base is configured to stow inside the retaining frame when stowed in the compartment (Fig. 3; col. 3, ll. 45 – col. 4, ll. 6).
Because Sarnowsky and Marcusen both teach retractable cup holders, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the retractable base cupholder structure taught by Marcusen for the pivotable retaining frame cupholder structure taught by Sarnowsky to achieve the predictable result of allowing the cupholder to retract and stow within a compartment as taught by both references.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarnowsky et al. (US 2008/0079388, hereinafter ‘Sarnowsky’) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bowles et al. (US 2023/0411998, hereinafter ‘Bowles’).
Sarnowsky discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the sealing element as claimed.
However, Bowles teaches providing a similar device with a sealing element (24) surrounding at least one electrical contact of the cupholder, wherein the sealing element is configured to form a seal between the cupholder and the accessory device when the accessory device is retained.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the seal taught by Bowles to the cupholder taught by Sarnowsky, in order to provide a water-tight seal around the charging element as taught by Bowles (para 0033).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
November 22, 2025