DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,990,992 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued patent is directly related to a need for a monitoring system sensor unit that can reliably communicate with a monitoring system during a sensor jamming attack (col. 1 lines 44-46).
Application No. 18/637,119
U.S. Patent No. 11,990,992 B2
2. (New) A computer-implemented method, comprising: determining, for a Wi-Fi network that enables communication between a first device and a second device at a property, that a Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing transmission of at least some of data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network at the property; and in response to determining that the Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing the transmission of the at least some of the data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network, enabling, for the communication between the first device and the second device, a second communication mode that does not use the Wi-Fi network for transmission of the data between the first device and the second device at the property.
20. A computer-implemented method, comprising: determining, by a computing device, to communicate data to a device at a property; determining, by the computing device, that a jamming event is occurring at the property for a first communication mode; and in response to determining that the jamming event is occurring at the property for the first communication mode, using a second communication mode that is different from the first communication mode to communicate, from the computing device, the data to the device at the property.
11. (New) A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: determining, for a Wi-Fi network that enables communication between a first device and a second device at a property, that a Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing transmission of at least some of data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network at the property; and in response to determining that the Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing the transmission of the at least some of the data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network, enabling, for the communication between the first device and the second device, a second communication mode that does not use the Wi-Fi network for transmission of the data between the first device and the second device at the property.
1. A computing device comprising one or more processors and one or more storage media on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: determining to communicate data to a device at a property; determining that a jamming event is occurring at the property for a first communication mode; and in response to determining that the jamming event is occurring at the property for the first communication mode, using a second communication mode that is different from the first communication mode to communicate the data to the device at the property.
20. (New) At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage device storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: determining, for a Wi-Fi network that enables communication between a first device and a second device at a property, that a Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing transmission of at least some of data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network at the property; and in response to determining that the Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing the transmission of the at least some of the data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network, enabling, for the communication between the first device and the second device, a second communication mode that does not use the Wi-Fi network for transmission of the data between the first device and the second device at the property.
20. A computer-implemented method, comprising: determining, by a computing device, to communicate data to a device at a property; determining, by the computing device, that a jamming event is occurring at the property for a first communication mode; and in response to determining that the jamming event is occurring at the property for the first communication mode, using a second communication mode that is different from the first communication mode to communicate, from the computing device, the data to the device at the property.
Claim 3 of current application corresponds to Claim 2 of issued patent.
Claim 4 of current application corresponds to Claim 3 of issued patent.
Claim 5 of current application corresponds to Claim 4 of issued patent.
Claim 6 of current application corresponds to (col. 19 lines 41-44) of issued patent.
Claim 7 of current application corresponds to Claim 8 of issued patent.
Claim 8 of current application corresponds to Claim 10 of issued patent.
Claim 9 of current application corresponds to Claim 11 of issued patent.
Claim 10 of current application corresponds to Claim 16 of issued patent.
Claim 12 of current application corresponds to Claim 2 of issued patent.
Claim 13 of current application corresponds to Claim 3 of issued patent.
Claim 14 of current application corresponds to Claim 4 of issued patent.
Claim 15 of current application corresponds to (col. 19 lines 41-44) of issued patent.
Claim 16 of current application corresponds to Claim 8 of issued patent.
Claim 17 of current application corresponds to Claim 10 of issued patent.
Claim 18 of current application corresponds to Claim 11 of issued patent.
Claim 19 of current application corresponds to Claim 16 of issued patent.
Claim 21 of current application corresponds to Claim 2 of issued patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Krein et al., Pub. No.: US2018/0365969 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Krein discloses A computer-implemented method, comprising: determining, for a Wi-Fi network that enables communication between a first device and a second device at a property, that a Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing transmission of at least some of data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network at the property (par. 0028; an alarm condition triggered by one or more Sensor(s) 111 (with messages potentially relayed by Base Unit 110) may be observed by Monitoring Service(s) 130. Monitoring Service(s) 130 can then take appropriate/responsive actions, for example alerting authorities, contacting the user of the system to confirm the threat, etc.); and in response to determining that the Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing the transmission of the at least some of the data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network, enabling, for the communication between the first device and the second device, a second communication mode that does not use the Wi-Fi network for transmission of the data between the first device and the second device at the property (Fig. 5, par. 0090-0099; Base Unit 110, Sensors 111 with notification to the Base unit 110 runs one or more measurement and evaluation techniques to determine if the selected network or connection is available; step 540, the Base Unit 110 selects the next available Data Network 122 or Telemetry network or connections on a list that is not jammed; for example, if the Wi-Fi Data Network 122 is jammed, the Base Unit selects a second such as a LTE connection which is not jammed for communication to the outside world.).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Krein discloses all the limitations in claims 2 and 11. Krein also discloses wherein the data comprises sensor data generated by a sensor at the property (par. 0021; Sensors 111 including motion, door, pressure, temperature, heat, smoke/ CO, and glass break sensors monitor conditions in and around Premises 105 as motion, door, pressure, temperature, heat, smoke/ CO, glass break sensors.).
Regarding claims 4, 13 and 21, Krein discloses all the limitations in claims 2, 11 and 20. Krein also discloses comprising: selecting, from a plurality of communication modes, the second communication mode for transmission of the data between the first device and the second device at the property in response to determining that no jamming event is likely preventing the transmission of the at least some of the data between the first device and the second device using the second communication mode (par. 0093-0097; at step 540 the next network or connection is selected at step 545 if more networks or connections are available.).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Krein discloses all the limitations in claims 2 and 11. Krein also discloses wherein the first device and the second device at the property are two of a plurality of devices at the property, the method comprising: transmitting, to one of the plurality of devices at the property that uses the Wi-Fi network, instructions to communicate using the second communication mode instead of the Wi-Fi network (par. 0090-0097; the Base Unit and Sensor 111 run one or more measurement and evaluation techniques to determine if the selected network, “the first communication mode” or connection is available; after notification or self-jammed or unjammed determination, the Base Unit selects or assigns the same or next network for communication.).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Krein discloses all the limitations in claims 2 and 11. Krein also discloses wherein the first device and the second device at the property are two of a plurality of devices at the property, the method comprising: transmitting, to one of the plurality of devices at the property that uses the Wi-Fi network, data indicating that the Wi-Fi network is unavailable (par. 0090-0097).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Krein discloses all the limitations in claims 2 and 11. Krein also discloses wherein the second communication mode comprises wired communication (par. 0026-0027; Data Networks 122 including a wireless WiFi and/ or a wired Ethernet network for communication with one another device within the Premises 105 as well as access to the Internet 121.).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Krein discloses all the limitations in claims 2 and 11. Krein also discloses wherein: the Wi-Fi network uses radio frequency communications within a first frequency range, and the second communication mode comprises a communication mode that does not use the Wi-Fi network and uses radio frequency communications within a second frequency range that is different from the first frequency range (par. 0099; another connection including an LTE which is not jammed.).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Krein discloses all the limitations in claims 2 and 11. Krein also discloses comprising: after transmitting at least some of the data between the first device and the second device at the property using the second communication mode, determining that the Wi-Fi jamming event is likely no longer occurring for the Wi-Fi network; and in response to determining that the Wi-Fi jamming event is likely no longer occurring, enabling transmission of additional data between the first device and the second device at the property using the Wi-Fi network (par. 0108-0114; other devices in or about Premises 105 are optionally notified of the jamming condition which has now cleared.).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Krein discloses all the limitations in claims 2 and 11. Krein also discloses comprising: in response to determining that the Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing the transmission of the at least some of the data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network, activating an alarm at the property (par. 0104-0106; local alerts are optionally generate by Base Unit 110 that includes generating a sound which may be a simple notification sound or a full siren like alarm sound.).
Regarding claim 11, Krein discloses A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations (Fig. 1, par. 0020-0021; Base Unit 110 operating as a primary device connected to a Telemetry Network 123 (i.e. Bluetooth) monitors door or other Sensors 111 with connections to the outside word to provide security services for a small office and/or a home with connections to the outside world) comprising: determining, for a Wi-Fi network that enables communication between a first device and a second device at a property, that a Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing transmission of at least some of data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network at the property (par. 0028; an alarm condition triggered by one or more Sensor(s) 111 (with messages potentially relayed by Base Unit 110) may be observed by Monitoring Service(s) 130. Monitoring Service(s) 130 can then take appropriate/responsive actions, for example alerting authorities, contacting the user of the system to confirm the threat, etc.); and in response to determining that the Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing the transmission of the at least some of the data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network, enabling, for the communication between the first device and the second device, a second communication mode that does not use the Wi-Fi network for transmission of the data between the first device and the second device at the property (Fig. 5, par. 0090-0099; Base Unit 110, Sensors 111 with notification to the Base unit 110 runs one or more measurement and evaluation techniques to determine if the selected network or connection is available; step 540, the Base Unit 110 selects the next available Data Network 122 or Telemetry network or connections on a list that is not jammed; for example, if the Wi-Fi Data Network 122 is jammed, the Base Unit selects a second such as a LTE connection which is not jammed for communication to the outside world.).
Regarding claim 20, Krein discloses At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage device storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (par. 0162; Some of the above-described functions may be composed of instructions that are stored on storage media (e.g., computer-readable medium). The instructions may be retrieved and executed by the processor. Some examples of storage media are memory devices, tapes, disks, and the like.), causes the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: determining, for a Wi-Fi network that enables communication between a first device and a second device at a property, that a Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing transmission of at least some of data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network at the property (par. 0028; an alarm condition triggered by one or more Sensor(s) 111 (with messages potentially relayed by Base Unit 110) may be observed by Monitoring Service(s) 130. Monitoring Service(s) 130 can then take appropriate/responsive actions, for example alerting authorities, contacting the user of the system to confirm the threat, etc.); and in response to determining that the Wi-Fi jamming event is likely preventing the transmission of the at least some of the data between the first device and the second device across the Wi-Fi network, enabling, for the communication between the first device and the second device, a second communication mode that does not use the Wi-Fi network for transmission of the data between the first device and the second device at the property (Fig. 5, par. 0090-0099; Base Unit 110, Sensors 111 with notification to the Base unit 110 runs one or more measurement and evaluation techniques to determine if the selected network or connection is available; step 540, the Base Unit 110 selects the next available Data Network 122 or Telemetry network or connections on a list that is not jammed; for example, if the Wi-Fi Data Network 122 is jammed, the Base Unit selects a second such as a LTE connection which is not jammed for communication to the outside world.).
Conclusion
/AYODEJI O AYOTUNDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649