DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over El-Hage et al. (US 2003/0127609) hereinafter known as El-Hage.
With regards to claim 1, El-Hage discloses a method [0006] of evenly illuminating [0142] a tissue sample [0147] within Fluorescence Lifetime (FLT) Microscopy [0553]([0594] teaches of a wide area detection device), comprising:
positioning a slide ([0549]; The systems may be used with … microscope slides,…”) containing the tissue sample ([0147]; FIG. 3;123) within the wide field Fluorescence Lifetime (FLT) device ([0032]; FIG. 3; optical analyzer) such that a focal point of an objective lens (FIG. 3; top optics 112a;[0153] [1058]) of the Fluorescence Lifetime (FLT) device is within the tissue sample contained within the slide [0164][0174];
illuminating a top surface of the slide with an excitation light source [0140][0141];
illuminating a bottom surface of the slide with the excitation light source [0140][0141]; and
capturing an image of a portion of the tissue sample from the top surface of the slide and an image of a portion of the tissue sample from the bottom surface of the slide for diagnosis [0155][0167][0181][0578][0682].
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US 2007/0057198) hereinafter known as Wilson, and further in view of Ozcan et al. (US 2023/0030424) hereinafter known as Ozcan.
With regards to claim 2, Wilson discloses a method of measuring fluorescence lifetime ([0001]; fluorescence lifetime imaging measurement (FLIM)) that includes illuminating a sample (Abstract) and utilizing a scanning microscope [0044], comprising:
positioning a specimen ([0044]; specimen 14) containing the specimen sample [0056] within the wide field FLIM device such that a focal point of an objective lens (FIG. 1; objective 12) of the wide field FLIM device is within the sample contained within the specimen [0044],
illuminating a top surface of the specimen with an excitation light source emitting a square wave [0017][0048][0059]; and
capturing an image of a portion of the specimen from the top surface of the slide [0001][0046][0074].
Wilson teaches that the specimen may include two or more fluorophores [0056], however, the reference does not specifically disclose the use of a slide, tissue samples and performing a diagnosis.
In the same field of endeavor, Ozcan discloses the use of a FLIM microscope [0055]. The reference further teaches of tissue samples disposed on a glass or plastic slide and the samples includes one or more naturally occurring or endogenous fluorophores [0047]. Finally, the reference teaches that the system utilizes computer software and a trained, deep neural network to perform disease diagnosis on the tissue samples [0051][0079].
In view of Ozcan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of Wilson perform disease diagnostics on tissue samples that are being analyzed by the FLIM device. The motivation is to diagnose diseases by observing the lifetime fluorescence of the excited/illuminated fluorophore in the tissue sample.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Neilson et al. (US 2023/0256435)
Zhao et al. (US 2023/0160806)
/HUGH MAUPIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884